4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PC Audio Need Recommendation on Active Studio Speaker 2.0

liquidgal
post Sep 19 2014, 03:16 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Aug 30 2014, 04:28 PM)

So top 3 speakers would be: R2700, M200MKii and D1080-IV.
The R2700 feel more balance in all aspects.
The M200MKii hits the spot with crystal-clear sound but lacks the bass, and the design of the speaker shield doesn't look that appealing.
The D1080-IV is similar to R2700, just sounds less full than it (roughly 65-70%)

p.s. I have also tried the latest model Aune x3 (passive speakers) paired with a dedicated X2 Amplifier, does not perform well compared to the 3 speakers above, even though it cost a combo of RM1000+
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 30 2014, 05:59 PM)

Do not expect a low wattage small full range driver to provide the type of performance that the above speakers can achieve... tongue.gif
asunakirito Agree with Lex. The speakers that you mentioned are indeed very good speakers. But they are having different structure and size, so can't really compare.

There are 4 points that I need to point out here. Firstly, If around the same price range, bigger speaker like 4 or 5 inches will easily produce more bass and all rounded in performance.
Secondly, full range speaker is not technically strong such as details and separations as compare to 2-3 way speakers. But compare to low range multi way speaker below RM1K, multi way speaker might sound separated from different drivers. Full range might sound more harmony and present the frequency range as a whole image.
Thirdly, X3 a passive speaker with very low sensitivity (82db). X2 is a basic amp for the speaker to play but not the best combination. I tried using Musical Paradise MP301 MK3 to drive it, the performance is much better. But of course, it's back to whether you are willing to spend and invest on it.

Lastly, the X3 that you auditioned, is actually considered almost brand new set. Burn in less than 10 hours. smile.gif
All these would affect the sound quality.

X3 is indeed with lesser bass since it's 3 inches. It's suitable for small room and plays well for chamber music, pop, acoustic and so on. Not so good on rock and big production music.

lex
post Sep 20 2014, 02:05 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Sep 19 2014, 03:16 AM)
asunakirito Agree with Lex. The speakers that you mentioned are indeed very good speakers. But they are having different structure and size, so can't really compare.

There are 4 points that I need to point out here. Firstly, If around the same price range, bigger speaker like 4 or 5 inches will easily produce more bass and all rounded in performance.
Secondly, full range speaker is not technically strong such as details and separations as compare to 2-3 way speakers. But compare to low range multi way speaker below RM1K, multi way speaker might sound separated from different drivers. Full range might sound more harmony and present the frequency range as a whole image.
Actually that Edifier Studio 7 does sound much better than most speakers in the same price range (as well as speakers of higher price ranges). And this speaker system uses tri-amp-ing. In other words the woofer, midrange and tweeter are each driven separately by their own amplifier. Thus it does not have the usual analogue crossover circuit (with large air-core coils and capacitors) which can introduce distortions and phase problems (typical of low pass and high pass filters). I don't think Edifier Studio 7 will have much of have those phase problems as the frequency range is controlled digitally (does not use any low pass nor high pass analog circuits). As for single full range speakers, its advantage is that for entire frequency spectrum it can reproduce there will be no phase problems. Only disadvantage (as previously mentioned in another thread) is that its neither good at either extreme ends of the frequency spectrum, mainly the bass and treble performance. Some HiFi full range speakers use "tricks" such as double cone (a.k.a "whizzer") and/or phase plug (very popular among some high end speakers) to try to extend the high frequency performance (especially the treble). The Aune X3 doesn't seem to use this "trick".... hmm.gif

Thirdly, X3 a passive speaker with very low sensitivity (82db). X2 is a basic amp for the speaker to play but not the best combination. I tried using Musical Paradise MP301 MK3 to drive it, the performance is much better. But of course, it's back to whether you are willing to spend and invest on it.

Lastly, the X3 that you auditioned, is actually considered almost brand new set. Burn in less than 10 hours.  smile.gif

X3 is indeed with lesser bass since it's 3 inches. It's suitable for small room and plays well for chamber music, pop, acoustic and so on. Not so good on rock and big production music.
The Aune X3 performance may be very similar HiVi Swans X3, except perhaps for the treble (since the HiVi one features a tweeter)... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 20 2014, 02:06 AM
TSasunakirito
post Sep 20 2014, 08:38 AM

1,068 posts

Lastly, the X3 that you auditioned, is actually considered almost brand new set. Burn in less than 10 hours.  smile.gif

Thanks for your enlightenment! It's still quite a big investment to purchase X3 speaker (RM699) + Musical Paradise MP301 MK3 (RM1250) to get a good sound quality.

Around that pricing, can get Edifier R2800 (RM750) = which offers a lot more bang for buck plus provides superb bass, midrange and treble, extra accessories (e.g. remote control, optical cable).

This post has been edited by asunakirito: Sep 20 2014, 08:53 AM
jinggothegreat
post Sep 20 2014, 11:28 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Sep 20 2014, 08:38 AM)
Thanks for your enlightenment! It's still quite a big investment to purchase X3 speaker (RM699) + Musical Paradise MP301 MK3 (RM1250) to get a good sound quality.

Around that pricing, can get Edifier R2800 (RM750) = which offers a lot more bang for buck plus provides superb bass, midrange and treble, extra accessories (e.g. remote control, optical cable).
save abit and get R2800 thumbup.gif
TSasunakirito
post Sep 21 2014, 09:27 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ Sep 20 2014, 11:28 AM)
save abit and get R2800 thumbup.gif
Do you own a R2800? brows.gif
Skylinestar
post Sep 21 2014, 09:46 PM

Mega Duck
10,474 posts

JBL LSR308 . You won't regret.
TSasunakirito
post Sep 26 2014, 11:28 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 21 2014, 09:46 PM)
JBL LSR308 . You won't regret.
How does it compare with Edifier R2800 against JBL LSR308? biggrin.gif
lex
post Sep 26 2014, 11:52 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Sep 26 2014, 11:28 PM)
How does it compare with Edifier R2800 against JBL LSR308?  biggrin.gif
As always, recommend auditioning/testing those speakers first to see if its suites your listening preferences before deciding. For that JBL speaker, you may have to find/search for them (at HiFi shops and showrooms) as its not as common as Edifier Studio speaker series... hmm.gif

TSasunakirito
post Sep 27 2014, 12:03 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 26 2014, 11:52 PM)
As always, recommend auditioning/testing those speakers first to see if its suites your listening preferences before deciding. For that JBL speaker, you may have to find/search for them (at HiFi shops and showrooms) as its not as common as Edifier Studio speaker series... hmm.gif
Do you know who sells them? Seems kinda rare locally. hmm.gif
I couldn't find out the local price, but on ebay.com, its priced at RM3300 shocking.gif
On amazon.com, priced around $200 USD, so it would be approximately RM651 (not including shipping + gov 10% tax)

This post has been edited by asunakirito: Sep 27 2014, 12:04 AM
andrekua2
post Sep 27 2014, 01:46 AM

13,472 posts

If you wanna compare with Swan M200MKii, you need to look at Edifier S2000 series liao. Those R series wont give you the full sound that you get from a proper 5" woofer. For me, they still sound a bit thin.

Back to the sound, the more expensive stereo speakers sometimes may sound a bit lackluster when you compare it to the versatility of having a subwoofer to thump the bass note. Its a different way to enjoy music really.

When I was younger, 10-15 years ago, I enjoyed the sound of thumping bass more, with Altec Lansing ACS48 and with MX5021 later. When I moved on to S2000, it all changed. Even the music changed. Even when you buy a RM500 soundcard like Xonar Essence, it may or may not appeal to your ears.

I still remembered when I paid a forumer RM200++ to mod my EMU0404, only to sold it soon after finding it too bland. Before the mod, it was still acceptable to me. After the mod, it sounds a lot clearer, but at the same time, sounds a lot more darker. Its missing the lively sound.

Music really has a lot of similarities when compared to foods. Foods that are tasty, definitely contains much more harmful ingredients, like salt, oil, sugar etc. Foods that are good for your body, on the other hand taste like crap most of the time.

Finally gotten myself an used Xonar Essence ST, and find myself again, undecided between the lively sound on LME49720 vs the dull but pure sounding JRC4556. The sole popularity of LME49720 opamp just tell you what kind of sound people are looking forward to in their music.

No doubt that once in a while, you get the opportunity to test thousands ringgit worth of audio products and were mesmerized by the sweetness of the vocals etc. At the end of the day, we, who are more bugged down by working pressure, tends to prefer something cheerful, lively to drag us out of slump, instead of listening to boring pure sounding music.
wim1983
post Sep 27 2014, 02:14 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 27 2014, 02:46 AM)
If you wanna compare with Swan M200MKii, you need to look at Edifier S2000 series liao. Those R series wont give you the full sound that you get from a proper 5" woofer. For me, they still sound a bit thin.

Back to the sound, the more expensive stereo speakers sometimes may sound a bit lackluster when you compare it to the versatility of having a subwoofer to thump the bass note. Its a different way to enjoy music really.

When I was younger, 10-15 years ago, I enjoyed the sound of thumping bass more, with Altec Lansing ACS48 and with MX5021 later. When I moved on to S2000, it all changed. Even the music changed. Even when you buy a RM500 soundcard like Xonar Essence, it may or may not appeal to your ears.

I still remembered when I paid a forumer RM200++ to mod my EMU0404, only to sold it soon after finding it too bland. Before the mod, it was still acceptable to me. After the mod, it sounds a lot clearer, but at the same time, sounds a lot more darker. Its missing the lively sound.

Music really has a lot of similarities when compared to foods. Foods that are tasty, definitely contains much more harmful ingredients, like salt, oil, sugar etc. Foods that are good for your body, on the other hand taste like crap most of the time.

Finally gotten myself an used Xonar Essence ST, and find myself again, undecided between the lively sound on LME49720 vs the dull but pure sounding JRC4556. The sole popularity of LME49720 opamp just tell you what kind of sound people are looking forward to in their music.

No doubt that once in a while, you get the opportunity to test thousands ringgit worth of audio products and were mesmerized by the sweetness of the vocals etc. At the end of the day, we, who are more bugged down by working pressure, tends to prefer something cheerful, lively to drag us out of slump, instead of listening to boring pure sounding music.
Hmm I'd rather blind about that haha, let's insist a pair of good speakers deliver the most transparent sound to your ears, no matter flaws or noises, you need to hear it properly, also be decisive that music itself that contains color and the delicious ingredients, then you won't need too much seasoning stuff, you still need but not over just nice and good amount of it will be good enough, I got listen to Swan M200MKii hmm the bass is not really good overall it works in some but not others maybe sth close to 60% of your music, though it quite strong in overall music. How about Edifier R1900TV anybody going to try it?
andrekua2
post Sep 27 2014, 02:20 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Sep 27 2014, 02:14 AM)
Hmm I'd rather blind about that haha, let's insist a pair of good speakers deliver the most transparent sound to your ears, no matter flaws or noises, you need to hear it properly, also be decisive that music itself that contains color and the delicious ingredients, then you won't need too much seasoning stuff, you still need but not over just nice and good amount of it will be good enough, I got listen to Swan M200MKii hmm the bass is not really good overall it works in some but not others maybe sth close to 60% of your music, though it quite strong in overall music. How about Edifier R1900TV anybody going to try it?
There is a way to boost the bass but since I tried, I must say its better to keep it as it is. There is a reason why the bass is being subdued.
wim1983
post Sep 27 2014, 02:23 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 27 2014, 03:20 AM)
There is a way to boost the bass but since I tried, I must say its better to keep it as it is. There is a reason why the bass is being subdued.
Actually after a long period of listening, I suddenly facing bass resonance problem in my room, so mad about it haha, end up I take out soft foam from the main tweeter and plug into the bass ports, reduce bass resonance better, now it is sitting in my hometown tv at sides for normal listening biggrin.gif
lex
post Sep 27 2014, 03:17 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Sep 27 2014, 12:03 AM)
Do you know who sells them? Seems kinda rare locally.  hmm.gif
I couldn't find out the local price, but on ebay.com, its priced at RM3300  shocking.gif
On amazon.com, priced around $200 USD, so it would be approximately RM651 (not including shipping + gov 10% tax)
You may also want to consider warranty issues, especially when it comes to shipping costs (to send the speakers back)... sweat.gif

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 27 2014, 01:46 AM)
That Edifier S2000 also uses a 5.5" woofer, thus do not expect lots of bass from it. Can see that from this review: iXBT.com: Активные стереоколонки Edifier S2000 at frequency response graph in that article. For good bass, woofer of bigger size is required. The R series (especially those models starting from R2600 and higher) are a different animal altogether. They have 6.5" woofers, just like most subwoofers. The effect of having bigger woofers can be seen in measurements here: iXBT.com: Измерения Edifier R2700 (original review here: iXBT.com: Обзор и тестирование активных стереоколонок Edifier R2700). Also the size of the speaker enclosure can determine the bass response... wink.gif

Those Altec Lansing speakers do not have flat (un-coloured) sound profile, compared to a studio monitor. They have slightly brighter sound (as with most 2.1 speaker systems) and with the addition of a subwoofer generates ambient bass effects (more very low frequency response easily without the need to turn the bass up too much). Their actual main strengths is in movies (thanks to the subwoofer)... cool.gif

Could try the OPA series, or use back the old NE5532 series. Besides the opamp, any capacitors in the audio signal path may need to be changed... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 27 2014, 03:18 PM
Skylinestar
post Sep 27 2014, 09:14 PM

Mega Duck
10,474 posts

Do you know who sells them? Seems kinda rare locally.  hmm.gif
I couldn't find out the local price, but on ebay.com, its priced at RM3300  shocking.gif
You can try to contact Mahajak Trio, our local JBL distributor.
TSasunakirito
post Sep 28 2014, 08:30 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 27 2014, 09:14 PM)
You can try to contact Mahajak Trio, our local JBL distributor.
Thanks for the contact! smile.gif
jchong
post Oct 3 2014, 11:56 AM

5,989 posts

That's probably price for ONE LSR308 speaker only.
lex
post Oct 3 2014, 05:56 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 3 2014, 11:56 AM)
That's probably price for ONE LSR308 speaker only.
Looking at this: Amazon.com: JBL LSR308 Studio Monitor, I have to agree with you. Note that there is one speaker shown only and does not mention "PAIR" at all. For one pair of those speakers, the price is different (much higher): Amazon.com: JBL Pro LSR308-PAIR... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Oct 3 2014, 06:31 PM
jchong
post Oct 3 2014, 10:01 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Oct 3 2014, 05:56 PM)
Looking at this: Amazon.com: JBL LSR308 Studio Monitor, I have to agree with you. Note that there is one speaker shown only and does not mention "PAIR" at all. For one pair of those speakers, the price is different (much higher): Amazon.com: JBL Pro LSR308-PAIR...  sweat.gif
Usually most of these pro active monitors are sold as singles, unless clearly stated as a PAIR.

Anyway the JBL LSR3 series are very good for the price. I know, I'm using the LSR305 myself.
abai2k
post Oct 3 2014, 10:40 PM

22 posts

Edifier R1900TV

This post has been edited by abai2k: Oct 3 2014, 10:52 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0347sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:04 AM