21,256 posts

hamchinpeng
open a gallery
let us see 400d shots
ac98
post Sep 15 2006, 05:11 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 15 2006, 04:09 PM)
^ ah, u may be right.. the camera might have focused on something darker.. Thanks for the pointer man. Very much appreciated.
You're most welcome. It's has nothing to do if it's 350D or 400D or any SLR for that matter, it's how they seek out brighter sections to focus.

Sometimes we really dunno how a camera thinks ... but it's always true that they have a 'mind of their own' sweat.gif
__kit
post Sep 15 2006, 10:24 PM

98 posts

Hi everyone, wonder if anyone know how much is the 400D body only and 70-300 USM IS? And if there's any stock? rclxms.gif
welwitchia
post Sep 15 2006, 10:56 PM

1,219 posts

Aiyo, why would u wanna look at my pictures?They would probably do the 400D a disjustice, no joke man. (My hands are kinda "shakey" lately, need to get more sleep). If u wanna look at them, I did post some photos at http://welwitchia.multiply.com . They're all resized anyways and most the pics there are taken with my handphone. tongue.gif
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 15 2006, 04:11 PM)
hamchinpeng
open a gallery
let us see 400d shots
taikin
post Sep 27 2006, 10:13 AM

678 posts

i just got myself a 400D, on the very same night, my Auto Dust Cleaning System is spoiled, I discovered it by turning it off holding the shutter button partially, then I can use the camera perfectly

When I try to clean from Menu, Clean Now function, it displays the infamous Error 99 of Canon DSLR

I turned the auto dust cleansing from menu when it's being switched on or off, then my camera turns on perfectly.. or else i will always get error 99 when i switched on because once it's being switched on, the dust cleansing is activated..

sigh!
welwitchia
post Sep 27 2006, 12:00 PM

1,219 posts

^ So if u bring back to the shop..are u getting a 1 to 1 replacement or its going to the factory for warranty? The latter definitely sucks.. I remember buying an Asus PDA that came with a faulty battery and they told me it had to go back to Penang for repairs. After wasting 3 hrs and giving them a piece of my mind, i had a replacement. In Malaysia, we consumers are treated like dirt.
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 12:19 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(taikin @ Sep 27 2006, 10:13 AM)
i just got myself a 400D, on the very same night, my Auto Dust Cleaning System is spoiled, I discovered it by turning it off holding the shutter button partially, then I can use the camera perfectly

When I try to clean from Menu, Clean Now function, it displays the infamous Error 99 of Canon DSLR
Send it back to Canon to have it rectified ASAP. Being a new set, they will give priority to you thumbup.gif
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 12:21 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 27 2006, 12:00 PM)
^ So if u bring back to the shop..are u getting a 1 to 1 replacement or its going to the factory for warranty? The latter definitely sucks.. I remember buying an Asus PDA that came with a faulty battery and they told me it had to go back to Penang for repairs. After wasting 3 hrs and giving them a piece of my mind,  i had a replacement. In Malaysia, we consumers are treated like dirt.
1 to 1 swap is not possible for items costing thousands like a DSLR. Be patient with the rectification, it's just a factory defect and will be solved just like the warranty agreement mentioned.

Aren't you glad you bought a Malaysian set and not a 'AP' set? tongue.gif
lek_e30
post Sep 27 2006, 12:29 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Sep 27 2006, 12:21 PM)
1 to 1 swap is not possible for items costing thousands like a DSLR. Be patient with the rectification, it's just a factory defect and will be solved just like the warranty agreement mentioned.

Aren't you glad you bought a Malaysian set and not a 'AP' set? tongue.gif
to invest sum of more than thousand of ringgit, better opt for ori than AP... thumbup.gif we'll never know wat will turn up to be... sweat.gif
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 01:48 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Sep 27 2006, 12:29 PM)
to invest sum of more than thousand of ringgit, better opt for ori than AP... thumbup.gif we'll never know wat will turn up to be... sweat.gif
... but not everyone thinks like you and I, they rather save hundreds of ringgit and take the risk whistling.gif
lek_e30
post Sep 27 2006, 02:12 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Sep 27 2006, 01:48 PM)
... but not everyone thinks like you and I, they rather save hundreds of ringgit and take the risk whistling.gif
they hv to pay for that price lor.......... whistling.gif
taikin
post Sep 27 2006, 03:25 PM

678 posts

hmmmmm well according to the guy, it's a known issue by Canon and this defect is also present in all the 400D he sold so far..

It will be in the next firmware upgrade so I am fine =D

By the way, when I reached there, I didn't tell him what was wrong but he switched the auto dust cleaning system automatically for me in order to make the camera work. That's what I did too yesterday to make the camera work so he knew what was wrong all while.

Please be informed that some EOS 400Ds out there have bad firmware for now. However the dust cleansing system is not needed so much because I won't be changing lens for now.. =D
ac98
post Sep 27 2006, 03:35 PM

3,758 posts

Hmm ... I won't deny that for now, but having put so many options under the cleaning function, there will be potential problems. Like you said, the next firmware might solve it, alongside some other potential drawbacks.
welwitchia
post Sep 29 2006, 03:25 PM

1,219 posts

Err.. was reading some mag and they recommend this particular lens for EOS Rebel users that are basically pok kai but still wanna upgrade from the kit lens.

Tamron 18-22mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Macro (Supposed to be USD389)

Is it available in KL? If so, how much can i expect it to be?

Thanks!
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 03:33 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 03:25 PM)
Err.. was reading some mag and they recommend this particular lens for EOS Rebel users that are basically pok kai but still wanna upgrade from the kit lens.

Tamron 18-22mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Macro  (Supposed to be USD389)

Is it available in KL? If so, how much can i expect it to be?

About RM1599 on the street, won't run too far from USD.

welwitchia
post Sep 29 2006, 03:34 PM

1,219 posts

ok..ask u one question..where are good places to buy lens?
Also, if the lens says MACRO, will it fare well on taking normal pics? e.g Landscapes?

Thx
shinchan^^
post Sep 29 2006, 03:36 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 03:34 PM)
Also, if the lens says MACRO, will it fare well on taking normal pics? e.g Landscapes?

Thx
>_> sweat
already stated macro u still take landscapes doh.gif doh.gif
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 03:50 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 29 2006, 03:34 PM)
Yes, they can be used on potraits properly but I dun recommend landscapes or anything that require infinity focussing.

Shooting portraits will render the results ultra-sharp (that is more than SUPER sharp) creating highlights to skin texture, colour and dress material, in the case of fashion photography.

I have not tried using a Macro lens on landscapes coz technically, I felt that it's just not right ... dunno.

This post has been edited by ac98: Sep 29 2006, 03:51 PM
ac98
post Sep 29 2006, 03:54 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 29 2006, 03:36 PM)
>_> sweat
already stated macro u still take landscapes doh.gif doh.gif
Can one ... you can drive a Kancil into the jungle also mah ... even so, I dun understand why a Kembara also cannot tahan harsh off-road, already cakap Full Time 4x4 blink.gif doh.gif

Can use Macro for Potrait/Landscape one, since I also use Kit Lens for macro sometimes, hehe ... different results-lah, may not be what you wanted.
welwitchia
post Sep 29 2006, 03:55 PM

1,219 posts

So for an all rounder lens, can i say the best bet is a prime lens?
Sorry ah, stupid ppl always asks lots of questions. tongue.gif

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0204sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:20 AM