191 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 175 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 05:05 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(JkzsBlog @ Mar 5 2015, 04:36 PM)
It's actually him. Looks like he's the veteran around here, huh?
Well he got a lot of jalan. Just ask him got i7 unit or not lo. I personally prefer i7 since I multi task a lot (mobile programming). With virtual machine and IDE running. I need quite an amount of ram and processing power.
ApostLes`
post Mar 5 2015, 05:31 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Mar 3 2015, 03:41 PM)
Hey ApostLes',

How come you don't poison your cousin and intro illegear to him? Anyways, got issue with your z5 like the hinge cover, speakers pecah or spacebar?
Read that some other user had minor issues with their illegear notebooks.

For your cousin, he should look out for all the old 800M stock thats clearing now. At last PIKOM Fair, MSI selling GP6060 2PE for RM2,999 with RM99 for 128GB SSD upgrade.

the GP60 2PE is using Intel i7-4710HQ processor and Nvidia 840M GPU
Sorry late reply my illegear z5 seems fine for now although having some difficulty installig windows 8.1 but its all good now
I thought it still under warranty u can send back to illegear hq and they will replace or fix it on the spot?

Btw that msi is really good wondering if i can get that spec and price from garage sales?

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 3 2015, 06:09 PM)
Is it possible for your cousin to top up to 4k ? So he can get Z5, with the CNY promotion (till 5 March). It is quite a good deal, got free SSD + wifi card upgrade + ic thermal
Currently for RM3k range gaming laptop, the best bang of buck is Acer V Nitro, but since you don't want Acer then no choice.
gtx860m laptop mostly is >RM3k
gtx850m laptop mostly is RM2.5-RM3k
If he just want an entry level gpu, get Inspiron 7447.

Just make sure, if you're getting >RM3k laptop, it is i7 quad core, 860m or abv gpu and doesn't have heat issue.

Btw, Gratz on your Z5. I'm a Z5 user also biggrin.gif
Ya i bought mine with cny promotion but his budget a little tight only max 3k so i guess maybe inspiron 7447?

Is inspiron 7447 good for gaming? It comes with gtx860 4gb iinm

Tq all dor ur feedback
miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 05:38 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(ApostLes` @ Mar 5 2015, 05:31 PM)
Sorry late reply my illegear z5 seems fine for now although having some difficulty  installig  windows 8.1 but its all good now
I thought it still under warranty u can send back to illegear hq and they will replace or fix it on the spot?

Btw that msi is really good wondering if i can get that spec and price from garage sales?
Ya i bought  mine with cny promotion but his budget a little tight only max 3k so i guess maybe inspiron 7447?

Is inspiron 7447 good for gaming?  It comes with gtx860 4gb iinm
Tq all dor ur feedback
GTX840m or 850m is entry level GPU. So maybe it can play on low/medium settings on those demanding game. Maybe some can play on 1080p, but mostly can't.
I personally won't go for MSI low end model as it is too OP. MSI low end model tend to have heat issue.
Dell Inspiron 7447 is okay, but try to get i7 quad core if possible, or i7 U series.
damianlyy
post Mar 5 2015, 06:00 PM

I have quite some requirements I want to meet for my laptop which I will state below.

Preferred brand - Lenovo (if other brands also ok, i want sleek design tongue.gif)

budget - 2.5k max

preferred size - 13"

Usage - work (travel often so need it be lightweight), game dota2 and if possible GTA5.

Addtional reqs - I want a lightweight, thin and sleek design laptop but able to support the abovementioned.

Thank you!

miong93
post Mar 5 2015, 07:18 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(damianlyy @ Mar 5 2015, 06:00 PM)
I have quite some requirements I want to meet for my laptop which I will state below.

Preferred brand - Lenovo (if other brands also ok, i want sleek design tongue.gif)

budget - 2.5k max

preferred size - 13"

Usage - work (travel often so need it be lightweight), game dota2 and if possible GTA5.

Addtional reqs - I want a lightweight, thin and sleek design laptop but able to support the abovementioned.

Thank you!
Dota 2 on medium or low settings is possible, but if it is GTA 5 I'm not sure cause it is a demanding game.
You can get Lenovo y400p if there is sales.

Your demand is quite high, thin and sleek design doesn't exist in low end laptop. If you want the laptop which is as thin as MBA or MSI GS60 or 20mm+, it is quite impossible

This post has been edited by miong93: Mar 5 2015, 07:19 PM
debo_ling
post Mar 6 2015, 12:32 AM

1. Preferred Brand : any
2. Budget : <3000
3. Usage : normal use for assignment, movie
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 or 15", 1tb, with cd room(<2kg), without cd room(as light as possible)

thank you very much😊😊
myway1985
post Mar 6 2015, 01:03 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(debo_ling @ Mar 6 2015, 12:32 AM)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 or 15", 1tb, with cd room(<2kg), without cd room(as light as possible)

thank you very much😊😊
forget bout dell wif ur budget.. mayb acer
ashraf095
post Mar 6 2015, 01:25 AM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(debo_ling @ Mar 6 2015, 12:32 AM)

thank you very much😊😊
Dell Vostro 5480, i5-5200u, gt830m, 4gb ram, 14' hd, win8.1, 1.6kg. Upgrade warranty to 3 years.

btw, you can check the specs from dell website. They have many configurations with different price.
myway1985
post Mar 6 2015, 06:59 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Mar 6 2015, 01:25 AM)
Dell Vostro 5480, i5-5200u, gt830m, 4gb ram, 14' hd, win8.1, 1.6kg. Upgrade warranty to 3 years.

btw, you can check the specs from dell website. They have many configurations with different price.
Lol I forget the existence of vostro... my brain auto block it...
JkzsBlog
post Mar 6 2015, 07:55 AM

Stalk me.
710 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 5 2015, 05:05 PM)
Well he got a lot of jalan. Just ask him got i7 unit or not lo. I personally prefer i7 since I multi task a lot (mobile programming). With virtual machine and IDE running. I need quite an amount of ram and processing power.
Again, thanks for your piece of advice. I'm currently in talk with myway1985 to see, if we can work out a deal here. It all depends on the lady now. biggrin.gif
darkmusses
post Mar 6 2015, 11:57 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 5 2015, 12:27 AM)
Well, if you insist on MBA 13'', then we can't do much though, since you already decided.
If you're still willing to change your choice, DEFINITELY DON'T GET MBP or MBA for gaming doh.gif
The price and spec is just too OP.

With about RM4k, you can get Acer V Nitro or ILLEGEAR Z5. Both is better than MBA in term of spec itself. There is still other option like Asus ROG G551 or Lenovo Y50
I personally suggest getting Acer or Z5 as Asus service is not good and Y50 screen is not good.
Reason for Acer is best bang of buck. Z5 is more expensive but the best cooling compared to other same spec laptop.
All these laptop comes with i7 quad core, which is better than i5 or i7 dual core. In term of clockspeed and computation. And all these laptops come with GTX860m which is way better than integrated GPU.
To put it short, all these laptops offered way BETTER spec than MBA. In term of RAM, CPU, GPU, Display etc etc.

If your casual game is Facebook game then MBA is your choice, if you are willing to spend for an OP laptop. If your casual game is those demanding game or any game which requires a discrete GPU, then MBA is a no go.
Even Dota 2 need a discrete GPU to play it decently (min 60fps).

P/S: Get MBA if you're using a lot of Apps Store apps and is familiar with its OS, what is so good about Apple product is their ecosystem. If you're not into it, then better get other brand laptop.
Thank you for your feedback.

Assuming if I leave gaming aside ( I used to play the whole collection of Sims and online games ), is it ok to go for MBA 13". The gaming laptop is really heavy and I do burn the graphic card before as the laptop is on almost for 24-7 and the laptop cost is near to 5k which the laptop bought in last 4 yrs.

I try to constraint my use of laptop which is why I pick MBA 13" as the 11" is kinda small. The prob is I do not know which size to take. 256 or 128 sad.gif
miong93
post Mar 6 2015, 02:15 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Mar 6 2015, 11:57 AM)
Thank you for your feedback.

Assuming if I leave gaming aside ( I used to play the whole collection of Sims and online games ), is it ok to go for MBA 13". The gaming laptop is really heavy and I do burn the graphic card before as the laptop is on almost for 24-7 and the laptop cost is near to 5k which the laptop bought in last 4 yrs. 

I try to constraint my use of laptop which is why I pick MBA 13" as the 11" is kinda small. The prob is I do not know which size to take. 256 or 128 sad.gif
Well as I told you, even if you don't want to play game, it is better to go for other laptop instead of MBA. MBA is just TOO OP. With that price you can get better laptop. Most of today laptop is using aluminum so it won't be too heavy. My ILLEGEAR Z5 is 2.4kg with power adapter and battery. May I know what gender are you ? Sorry no offense but if you're a boy/man, carrying 2.4kg shouldn't be a problem at all. smile.gif

When your laptop is on for 24/7, your GPU won't be on forever as long as you quit your game application. When under normal usage your GPU won't be used (except you explicitly turn it on).
If you're going for SSD, with your RM4k budget, you can get Acer V Nitro with 1TB HDD and add in SSD yourself. And it will be cheaper than MBA also.

IMHO, if you got 4k budget, DEFINITELY get a i7. MBA i7 is just too OP, not worth the price. Acer V Nitro, Lenovo Y50, Asus G551, ILLEGEAR Z5 all of these budget gaming laptop comes with i7 4710HQ which is quad core and way cheaper than MBA i7 version. And these laptop got dGPU somemore. If you really really want light weighted laptop, maybe can go for Lenovo Y50 (but the screen is not good, 40hz only). sweat.gif

P/S: I only encourage Apple product if you're going for its ecosystem, which mean you are mostly using its Apps Store application and familiar with its OS. If you want to play games which is outside from Apps Store, mainly console ported game like BF4 all those, you better get other laptop. (You can still use BootCamp to use Windows OS though, but I'm not sure your hardware can keep up with those game requirement or not, especially MBA doesn't have FAN built in)

P/SS: If you're using Windows OS on MBA, doing heavy multi-tasking or heavy processing may not be as fast as other laptop.

This post has been edited by miong93: Mar 6 2015, 02:16 PM
KamisF
post Mar 6 2015, 03:38 PM

178 posts

Hello guys, help me find a new lappy please, mine is broken.

2. Budget : 2.1k max
3. Usage : assignments, some gaming i guess, online 24/7
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : any

Thx for ur help!
Ikmal91
post Mar 6 2015, 05:40 PM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

1. Preferred Brand : Don't really mind, as long as after sales service are usually very good.

2. Budget : <RM3000

3. Usage : Office work, light gaming (DOTA, some RTS), movies

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14", 15", lightweight. To be lugged around every day.

I've been looking at the Inspiron 14 7000 series, not sure if that'd be the best one for me if there are other alternatives. So let me know what other options I'd have for my requirements. Thanks.
myway1985
post Mar 6 2015, 06:20 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 6 2015, 02:15 PM)
Well as I told you, even if you don't want to play game, it is better to go for other laptop instead of MBA. MBA is just TOO OP. With that price you can get better laptop. Most of today laptop is using aluminum so it won't be too heavy. My ILLEGEAR Z5 is 2.4kg with power adapter and battery. May I know what gender are you ? Sorry no offense but if you're a boy/man, carrying 2.4kg shouldn't be a problem at all. smile.gif

When your laptop is on for 24/7, your GPU won't be on forever as long as you quit your game application. When under normal usage your GPU won't be used (except you explicitly turn it on).
If you're going for SSD, with your RM4k budget, you can get Acer V Nitro with 1TB HDD and add in SSD yourself. And it will be cheaper than MBA also.

IMHO, if you got 4k budget, DEFINITELY get a i7. MBA i7 is just too OP, not worth the price. Acer V Nitro, Lenovo Y50, Asus G551, ILLEGEAR Z5 all of these budget gaming laptop comes with i7 4710HQ which is quad core and way cheaper than MBA i7 version. And these laptop got dGPU somemore. If you really really want light weighted laptop, maybe can go for Lenovo Y50 (but the screen is not good, 40hz only). sweat.gif

P/S: I only encourage Apple product if you're going for its ecosystem, which mean you are mostly using its Apps Store application and familiar with its OS. If you want to play games which is outside from Apps Store, mainly console ported game like BF4 all those, you better get other laptop. (You can still use BootCamp to use Windows OS though, but I'm not sure your hardware can keep up with those game requirement or not, especially MBA doesn't have FAN built in) 

P/SS: If you're using Windows OS on MBA, doing heavy multi-tasking or heavy processing may not be as fast as other laptop.

Bro, u know wat I saw at MMU... alot PPL using mac but window os.. haha.. only use mac os when come to design work... wat wrong wif them now.. style so important meh
aristotletan
post Mar 6 2015, 06:50 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 6 2015, 06:20 PM)
Bro, u know wat I saw at MMU... alot PPL using mac but window os.. haha.. only use mac os when come to design work... wat wrong wif them now.. style so important meh
Which campus? Cyberjaya?

miong93
post Mar 6 2015, 07:02 PM

~ Fulamak ~
1,236 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 6 2015, 06:20 PM)
Ya ke ? Melaka campus still okay. Mostly is international student who is using Mac, cause of its world wide warranty. Most Mac user do hackintosh one. Seldom see people stick to only Mac OS. Too limited liao.
People want spend on Mac we also can't do much what. Just hope when actual performance we won't regret lo.
myway1985
post Mar 6 2015, 07:41 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Mar 6 2015, 06:50 PM)
Which campus? Cyberjaya?
Yea... my bro in law study there... very funny when I saw window logo on their mac
myway1985
post Mar 6 2015, 07:43 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Mar 6 2015, 07:02 PM)
Ya ke ? Melaka campus still okay. Mostly is international student who is using Mac, cause of its world wide warranty. Most Mac user do hackintosh one. Seldom see people stick to only Mac OS. Too limited liao.
People want spend on Mac we also can't do much what. Just hope when actual performance we won't regret lo.
If designer alone yes.. mac best... but if u touch game ah... 2 year gg lo... the cheap mobo can't Tahan... apple known for their cheap parts n expensive price just like iPhone...
b0rhui
post Mar 6 2015, 07:44 PM

689 posts

I need some suggestions guys. My gf is going to start her college life soon. Need a laptop

2. Budget : around 2.5k
3. Usage : normal usage, watching movies, no gaming or maybe damn light
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13-15

want something lighter (~1.5kg) thin if possible, and battery lasts longer

191 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 175 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:29 AM