Chipset cooler, discussion and suggestion

sHawTY
post Jan 19 2007, 01:12 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 19 2007, 12:09 AM)
errr, if Noctua do make an SLI version for their chipset heatsink, i think they have to make like Thermalright lor, 2 heatpipe only nod.gif
Not really...
They can still do what they did like the NC-U6 smile.gif

2 Dual heatpipes that resolves to 4 heatpipes...
But the heatsink base is going to be a lil' bit bigger la... laugh.gif

Seriously, i'm really satisfied with my NC-U6 wub.gif

Wait, where's the other buyer for the NC-U6?
Not going to give any comments about the superb chipset heatsink?

Come here lo, give us you're opinion... thumbup.gif
lolhalol
post Jan 19 2007, 09:00 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

man..still the best ever is the hr-05/sli.... i still use it no matter wat..and best of all its compatible to almost any mobo.
Kataro
post Jan 19 2007, 11:09 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

Wanna ask something. NB temp and mobo temp is different right? Speedfan only show my proc temp, mobo temp and hdd temp, no NB temp...is there other software that can show chipset temp...? unsure.gif I am using Via chipset...

Please help. I wanna to know my NB temp before and after installing the Noctua NC-U6... icon_question.gif

lolhalol
post Jan 19 2007, 01:15 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

if speed fan cant detect then there might not be a sensor there for tep of nb. neway i was just at lowyat, and u know wat i spent 39 bucks on a zalman chipset hsf... will do a full reiew, and compare to hr-05 very very soon

Kataro
post Jan 19 2007, 02:04 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 19 2007, 01:15 PM)
if speed fan cant detect then there might not be a  sensor there for tep of nb.  neway i was just at lowyat, and u know wat i spent 39 bucks on a zalman chipset hsf... will do a full reiew, and compare to hr-05 very very soon
if like that maybe I need to study the mobo manual again to see whether it got sensor for the NB... hmm.gif

Wow...so many reviews you wanna do...maybe next time those manufacturer will just give you free set to do review... brows.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 19 2007, 02:15 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Jan 19 2007, 02:04 PM)
if like that maybe I need to study the mobo manual again to see whether it got sensor for the NB... hmm.gif

Wow...so many reviews you wanna do...maybe next time those manufacturer will just give you free set to do review... brows.gif
hopefully, anyway wanna ask, does some mobo really doesn't have those chipset temp monitor, what i mean is that, my mobo got the default application for reading temp, but only for proc, does this mean that it got no nb temp, or if i install those third party, i will display the temp, cause all i know if that the mobo's application doesn't display any nb temp, that means no temp reader for chipset, correct me if i'm wrong sweat.gif
lolhalol
post Jan 19 2007, 02:20 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

wah that was confusing but ok... try speed fan.... if it detects ur temps, then it is fine, but if speed fan cant detect there is not many softwares out there that will support you....
E-J@1
post Jan 19 2007, 03:48 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 19 2007, 02:20 PM)
wah that was confusing but ok... try speed fan.... if it detects ur temps, then it is fine, but if speed fan cant detect there is not many softwares out there that will support you....
confused laugh.gif i just wanna know if the default application provided in the cd driver does not have nb temp reader, only have proc temp, will installing the speed fan solve it blink.gif will this speedfan work on an old mobo unsure.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Jan 19 2007, 03:50 PM
vassalle
post Jan 19 2007, 03:52 PM

610 posts

im still confused.. maybe becoz of the rainy friday afternoon..

im using ds3. in easytunes, theres a motherboard temperature which usually hovers between 30c - 40c depending on load and ambient temperature.

In speedfan reports exactly the same temperature as temp1. Am i to assume that as my northbridge temperature?
E-J@1
post Jan 19 2007, 04:21 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Jan 19 2007, 03:52 PM)
im still confused.. maybe becoz of the rainy friday afternoon..

im using ds3. in easytunes, theres a motherboard temperature which usually hovers between 30c - 40c depending on load and ambient temperature.

In speedfan reports exactly the same temperature as temp1. Am i to assume that as my northbridge temperature?
easy liao laugh.gif just unplug ur nb heatsink, then let ur system full load it, see both temp reader, if it increase, then that a nb temp reader smile.gif
vassalle
post Jan 19 2007, 04:24 PM

610 posts

hahaha.. i'll do that at last resort I guess.. want to open my northbridge heatsink need to unmount my mobo sad.gif Hopefully someone using the same mobo can confirm with me.

TScoolice
post Jan 19 2007, 04:41 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

i have done a small tests between the 3 nb cooler i owned,Zalman NBF47,PcCooler NB-400CU and Noctua NC-U6,suprisingly PcCooler win in this roundup,weird is my result diff with shawty's,noctua suppose to outperform PcCooler doh.gif

noctua
idle 46.5c
load 51.7c

zalman
idle 48.5c
load 55.6cc

pccooler
idle 46.2c
load 49.0c

ambient 32c-34c

all cooler blowing with 1 50mm*50mm*10mm fan

fan spec
12vdc
0.14A
1.68W
5000rpm
11.37cfm

Rig spec
E6400 + Asus P5B-E

Overclock and voltage setting

addon:noctua mounting clip is scary..need lotsa pressure to hook it sweat.gif
noctua stated 29 alu cooling fins but mine only got 28

This post has been edited by coolice: Jan 19 2007, 04:43 PM
sHawTY
post Jan 19 2007, 05:29 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jan 19 2007, 04:41 PM)
i have done a small tests between the 3 nb cooler i owned,Zalman NBF47,PcCooler NB-400CU and Noctua NC-U6,suprisingly PcCooler win in this roundup,weird is my result diff with shawty's,noctua suppose to outperform PcCooler doh.gif

noctua
idle 46.5c
load 51.7c

zalman
idle 48.5c
load 55.6cc

pccooler
idle 46.2c
load 49.0c

addon:noctua mounting clip is scary..need lotsa pressure to hook it sweat.gif
noctua stated 29 alu cooling fins but mine only got 28
Bro, have you fixed any fan on the Noctua NC-U6?
If not, then, you see that the PC-Cooler NB-400 CU fixed with a 40MM fan right?
So, the PC-Cooler NB-400 CU needs a fan to cool it out, to 46.2 degrees while the NC-U6 is able to cool you're chipset to 46.5 degrees without a fan attached to it...

If my assumptions is right, then clearly that the NC-U6 is the winner loo...
I'm still searching for the right fan to fit on the NC-U6...

And i believe after i put a fan on the NC-U6, then the NC-U6 is able to cool down my chipset more...

About the mounting pressure, yes, it is a bit scary, so hard to push, but that's a great thing too, as this will put a good pressure to the chipset, leaving no free way for the NC-U6 to move around. smile.gif

Another thing about the fins, i've just calculated the amount of fins, yes, only 28fins is on my NC-U6 too!!! mad.gif
Damn, why does noctua states that there is 29fins? mad.gif
TScoolice
post Jan 19 2007, 06:13 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 19 2007, 05:29 PM)
Bro, have you fixed any fan on the Noctua NC-U6?
If not, then, you see that the PC-Cooler NB-400 CU fixed with a 40MM fan right?
So, the PC-Cooler NB-400 CU needs a fan to cool it out, to 46.2 degrees while the NC-U6 is able to cool you're chipset to 46.5 degrees without a fan attached to it...

If my assumptions is right, then clearly that the NC-U6 is the winner loo...
I'm still searching for the right fan to fit on the NC-U6...

And i believe after i put a fan on the NC-U6, then the NC-U6 is able to cool down my chipset more...

About the mounting pressure, yes, it is a bit scary, so hard to push, but that's a great thing too, as this will put a good pressure to the chipset, leaving no free way for the NC-U6 to move around. smile.gif

Another thing about the fins, i've just calculated the amount of fins, yes, only 28fins is on my NC-U6 too!!! mad.gif
Damn, why does noctua states that there is 29fins? mad.gif
all cooler blowing with 1 50mm*50mm*10mm fan biggrin.gif
need someone else to post the result pls
Kataro
post Jan 19 2007, 08:07 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

I will post my after I install it on Sunday...tomorrow still need to work untill 6 pm...then still need to go out to eat with my friends... doh.gif got no time...btw...the cooler will get tomorrow as irangan just pos it today... drool.gif

I just read my mobo manual...on the hardware monitor, only got CPU Temp Sensing and Chassis temp sensing...mean no NB temp sensing... ohmy.gif doh.gif how I going to measure it ler... unsure.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 19 2007, 08:53 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Jan 19 2007, 08:07 PM)
I will post my after I install it on Sunday...tomorrow still need to work untill 6 pm...then still need to go out to eat with my friends... doh.gif got no time...btw...the cooler will get tomorrow as irangan just pos it today... drool.gif

I just read my mobo manual...on the hardware monitor, only got CPU Temp Sensing and Chassis temp sensing...mean no NB temp sensing... ohmy.gif  doh.gif  how I going to measure it ler... unsure.gif
no need to measure the temp one, it will not overheat punye, don't worry, i pretty sure it will perform it's best...

unless u doing a review for it laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 19 2007, 09:38 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jan 19 2007, 06:13 PM)
all cooler blowing with 1 50mm*50mm*10mm fan biggrin.gif
need someone else to post the result pls
Now that's weird... sweat.gif
My NC-U6 works better than the NB-400CU even when the NC-U6 is run in passive mode... smile.gif
TScoolice
post Jan 19 2007, 10:27 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 19 2007, 09:38 PM)
Now that's weird... sweat.gif
My NC-U6 works better than the NB-400CU even when the NC-U6 is run in passive mode... smile.gif
did u oc ur rig?if yes,can state the setting and voltage also? wink.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 19 2007, 11:38 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Jan 19 2007, 10:27 PM)
did u oc ur rig?if yes,can state the setting and voltage also? wink.gif
Yes!!!

Pentium D 930 [Super hot!!!] overclocked to 3.75GHz, but the vcore i don't touch woo, tried 4GHz also stable with stock voltage... smile.gif

But still, i don't think by adjusting voltages will affect the differences in heatsink performances right? blink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 19 2007, 11:40 PM
TScoolice
post Jan 19 2007, 11:56 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 19 2007, 11:38 PM)
Yes!!!

Pentium D 930 [Super hot!!!] overclocked to 3.75GHz, but the vcore i don't touch woo, tried 4GHz also stable with stock voltage... smile.gif

But still, i don't think by adjusting voltages will affect the differences in heatsink performances right? blink.gif
voltage for NB does smile.gif

50 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:20 PM