Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

TSRegentCid
post Oct 19 2014, 11:13 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(azamen87 @ Oct 19 2014, 07:03 AM)
hi there everyone, going to japan on january and sorry if my question a bit noobish~

1. read about pasmo and suica card. do i need to have both? only for travel around tokyo only due to time restriction.

2. tax. do i get tax by the malaysian custom if i were to bring a lot of goodies from japan? being a gunpla nerd etc.

thanx everyone! smile.gif
1. You just need either 1
2. Start from 2015 April. Yes. Once over RM400 above you need pay Tax
azamen87
post Oct 19 2014, 11:26 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 19 2014, 11:13 AM)
1. You just need either 1
2. Start from 2015 April.  Yes. Once over RM400 above you need pay Tax
Really appreciate the reply. So i can slash out the 1st item.

The 2nd item start next year april. So, the things dat will be tax are items on hand n checked luggage as well?

Or just items on hand. This got me really confuse, as i imagine our msian custom open our bags and check every item, lol.
JooSeng
post Oct 19 2014, 11:35 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 18 2014, 11:49 PM)
Hmm, photos by JooSeng shows the people are wearing down jackets in early december  hmm.gif i am only bringing a fleece jacket..
i think should be ok. if not just buy from there lor hehehe biggrin.gif
when u r going anyway?

This post has been edited by JooSeng: Oct 19 2014, 11:36 AM
Human Nature
post Oct 19 2014, 11:49 AM

- student of human nature -
26,504 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Oct 19 2014, 11:35 AM)
i think should be ok. if not just buy from there lor hehehe biggrin.gif
when u r going anyway?
end of nov biggrin.gif
JooSeng
post Oct 19 2014, 12:05 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 19 2014, 11:49 AM)
end of nov biggrin.gif
wah...really!!! same here
im going from 29/11 - 7/12
Human Nature
post Oct 19 2014, 12:10 PM

26,504 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Oct 19 2014, 12:05 PM)
wah you are going again for autumn ar..which place are you visiting this time?
JooSeng
post Oct 19 2014, 12:19 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 19 2014, 12:10 PM)
wah you are going again for autumn ar..which place are you visiting this time?
gunma, nikko n yamanashi.
im using the jr kanto pass
n maybe some other place around kanto
but i hv not completed research.
Human Nature
post Oct 19 2014, 12:21 PM

26,504 posts

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Oct 19 2014, 12:19 PM)
gunma, nikko n yamanashi.
im using the jr kanto pass
n maybe some other place around kanto
but i hv not completed research.
mine will be kansai area biggrin.gif my planning already done, started 1 year ago haha
wyen
post Oct 20 2014, 12:28 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 19 2014, 11:11 AM)
Yes. Hiroshima are Sanyo Shinkanshen.  The Shinkansen Line are parallel to JR Sanyo main Line
Hi RC, May I know is my route below is correct? Thanks

Okunoshima (Rabbit Island)
• Check out from hotel 9.00am
• Hiroshima station->Mihara->Tadanoumi 1320 yen + 320 yen
• Tadanoumi ->port (10 mins walk)
• Tadanoumi port->Okunoshima port ferry 10 mins 300 yen
Back from port
• Okunoshima port 4.13pm->Tadanoumi port 4.25pm
• Tadanoumi port->Okunoshima station (kure)->Mihara->Hiroshima

TSRegentCid
post Oct 20 2014, 08:50 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(azamen87 @ Oct 19 2014, 10:26 AM)
Really appreciate the reply. So i can slash out the 1st item.

The 2nd item start next year april. So, the things dat will be tax are items on hand n checked luggage as well?

Or just items on hand. This got me really confuse, as i imagine our msian custom open our bags and check every item, lol.
All luggage. I think the only way to avoid tax are unboxing everything and throw away the box.
TSRegentCid
post Oct 20 2014, 08:51 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Oct 19 2014, 11:28 PM)
Hi RC, May I know is my route below is correct? Thanks

Okunoshima (Rabbit Island)
• Check out from hotel 9.00am
• Hiroshima station->Mihara->Tadanoumi  1320 yen + 320 yen
• Tadanoumi ->port (10 mins walk)
• Tadanoumi port->Okunoshima port ferry 10 mins 300 yen
Back from port
• Okunoshima port 4.13pm->Tadanoumi port 4.25pm
• Tadanoumi port->Okunoshima station (kure)->Mihara->Hiroshima
What is Okunoshima Station?

How you come, Just reverse the it only. then you will back to Hiroshima

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 20 2014, 08:52 AM
Hazimo
post Oct 20 2014, 03:57 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Oct 17 2014, 08:36 PM)
Nice weather in Tokyo now. Cooling... Took the sweater out today and had to remove it as I was sweating from all that walking... Visited Ueno Park and Sensoji today.. only had a short time in Ginza as son was exhausted and had to carry him back to Shinjuku.
how old is you son bro? i will be travelling with my 2 y/o daughter next year. is it tough?

This post has been edited by Hazimo: Oct 20 2014, 04:00 PM
azxel
post Oct 20 2014, 09:29 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Hazimo @ Oct 20 2014, 03:57 PM)
how old is you son bro? i will be travelling with my 2 y/o daughter next year. is it tough?
Son is 3 years old but size like 4 years plus. sweat.gif darn heavy...

Not that tough but travelling around to see will take a lot of walking and commuting which can be quite tiring. If the child is light then not so much issues lugging them around... Also depending on how many days... maybe consider to bring a stroller. We only go out 1/2 day (11am - 7pm) , usually come back tired, feet exhausted...

Others to consider is their food when out the whole day.

Get the Suica (or Pasmo) card for convenience.. Can als buy drinks with them at select locations / vending machines.
csrulez
post Oct 20 2014, 10:24 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

Hey guys, planning to travel to tokyo from kota kinabalu for 7 days. MAS return flight 1700plus. Is that okay?

Also how is the weather like in early to mid december? Will there be snowing? What attire would be suitable? And what are the budget like for 2 person excluding flight? Is tokyo a suitable city for free and easy? And last which are the area/hotels with the most convenient location at a budget price?

Thanks so much in advance!
azamen87
post Oct 21 2014, 08:06 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 20 2014, 08:50 AM)
All luggage.  I think the only way to avoid tax are unboxing everything and throw away the box.
awww mann~ sweat.gif

thanx for the reply~
Amatiel
post Oct 21 2014, 09:27 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Amatiel @ Oct 15 2014, 04:29 PM)
On day 1, I'll be taking the direct express from Shinjuku to Gotemba outlet then check in ryokan after shopping.

From gotemba station I take route G bus at bus stop 6 back to hakone-yumoto? http://www.hakone-tozanbus.co.jp/english/s...on/gotenba.html

Day 2 will be doing the hakone loop after check out with hakone free pass then go back to shinjuku.

I'm concerned since I'm not going to use it for Shinjuku -> Hakone Yumoto, will there be any problem if I use it for Hakone Yumoto -> Shinjuku?

Also, can I hop on the train anytime since I have the pass (according to their time table of course) or do I still need to reserve in advance? FYI won't be taking romance car.

Thanks in advance.
hmm. anyone? icon_question.gif notworthy.gif
TSRegentCid
post Oct 21 2014, 09:30 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Oct 20 2014, 09:24 PM)
Hey guys, planning to travel to tokyo from kota kinabalu for 7 days. MAS return flight 1700plus. Is that okay?

Also how is the weather like in early to mid december? Will there be snowing? What attire would be suitable? And what are the budget like for 2 person excluding flight? Is tokyo a suitable city for free and easy? And last which are the area/hotels with the most convenient location at a budget price?

Thanks so much in advance!
No spoon feeding in this thread. Do the homework first.

Go Page 1 and start do your homework.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 21 2014, 09:31 AM
TSRegentCid
post Oct 21 2014, 09:42 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Amatiel @ Oct 21 2014, 08:27 AM)
hmm. anyone? icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif
On day 1, I'll be taking the direct express from Shinjuku to Gotemba outlet then check in ryokan after shopping.

From gotemba station I take route G bus at bus stop 6 back to hakone-yumoto?
Yes. Very Obvious

Day 2 will be doing the hakone loop after check out with hakone free pass then go back to shinjuku.

I'm concerned since I'm not going to use it for Shinjuku -> Hakone Yumoto, will there be any problem if I use it for Hakone Yumoto -> Shinjuku?
No problem.

Also, can I hop on the train anytime since I have the pass (according to their time table of course) or do I still need to reserve in advance? FYI won't be taking romance car.
Hakone Free Pass only works inside Hakone. It do not cover any Odakyu Train from Hakone Yumoto to Shinjuku. You take Odakyu normal local train or Odakyu Limited Express "Romance Car" also have to buy ticket.
BUT; IF you have Hakone FREE PASS...you can buy Romance Car ticket with special Price which is 890 Yen per Head only"

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 21 2014, 09:44 AM
ahchak
post Oct 21 2014, 10:19 AM

Well...
558 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 14 2014, 11:06 PM)
More Expensive sure more comfort. I been try all of them already.

Cheapest was Value. Same as our express bus.
if taking night bus ...best option was Relax. Not so expensive yet the comfort was excellent.
Thanks for your advice.
Shall go for relax since the price more or less same with Value.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Oct 19 2014, 12:05 PM)
same! just that i'm from 28/11 to 7/12.. biggrin.gif exciteddddd... rclxm9.gif
TSRegentCid
post Oct 21 2014, 10:41 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(ahchak @ Oct 21 2014, 09:19 AM)
Thanks for your advice.
Shall go for relax since the price more or less same with Value..  thumbup.gif
same! just that i'm from 28/11 to 7/12.. biggrin.gif exciteddddd...  rclxm9.gif
Make sure you know the rulez inside Bus. Japan are country full of rulez...even inside express bus.

No phone calling.
When listening music or see movie make sure got earphone.
when you going to lowering your seat..make sure get permission for person sit behind you!
No eating

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 21 2014, 10:43 AM

128 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:49 AM