126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V21

anak kenyalang
post Aug 22 2014, 06:47 PM

85 posts

I see. So this new hobby of mine need more scouting and more alert to sales. Unlike Gundam, where I can happily shop at one shop only coz it gave the cheapest price. Haha.
So basically not much difference in prize. Just that major retailers have sale, which I need to focus more to get more bricks with cheaper price. biggrin.gif
Now my wife is asking me to buy for her Lego LOTR: Pirate Ambush. Die lah me.
kelvinlym
post Aug 22 2014, 06:57 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

My Research Institute has changed to "In Process". Woohoo...

Exo Suit still backordered sad.gif

This post has been edited by kelvinlym: Aug 22 2014, 06:57 PM
littleprawn
post Aug 22 2014, 07:09 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 22 2014, 06:47 PM)
I see. So this new hobby of mine need more scouting and more alert to sales. Unlike Gundam, where I can happily shop at one shop only coz it gave the cheapest price. Haha.
So basically not much difference in prize. Just that major retailers have sale, which I need to focus more to get more bricks with cheaper price. biggrin.gif
Ur wife like pirates ships?
That pirate ambush set is nice.. Got so many minifigs also...
Try get it below rm400 haha~

zemperor
post Aug 22 2014, 07:19 PM

QUOTE(tass @ Aug 21 2014, 11:33 PM)
Iol, of course am not selling mine. Not only those two I like, one of model team "truck", also I like. Parents bought them as birthday presents during I was back in secondary school. Nostalgic.
i can only drool at catalog when i was prinary school...
if those sets still available, it probably cost a 'liver' or 'kidney' now laugh.gif

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 22 2014, 08:35 AM)
So yeah, finally went to Bricksmore last night and manage to get Lego Technic 42022 as my first Lego set. Agreed with my wife that we will put it together. woke up this morning, bam!, the completed Lego is on the table already.

Overall the set is a nice one (according to my wife). Just that she have to reassemble the whole thing as the gear is not running as it should. Supposedly, the piston bar will move when the car move, but in this case, its not. Overall, nice set.

Makes me think, maybe after this my wife and I should buy different Lego for each other.
nice first set thumbup.gif
it's good to start at small set, then slowly become bigger and bigger laugh.gif

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 22 2014, 09:53 AM)
lol yea. Maybe her way of revenge as before, I'm the one who build Gundam, and all she can do is watch. Haha

Yea thinking of adding more Technic set. I have few in mind, mainly 42026 and 42027. Maybe will throw in 75040 as well.

Will collect money to buy bigger set later! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

-edited- Just wondering, based on your experience, does the price for the Lego set sold at Lego shop (Bangsar and Curve) is cheaper or more expensive than normal shop? I'm very sure the  re will be a lot of varieties at the Lego Shop, but how about price wise? From what I scout, the price is more or less the same for shops at Amcorp and Bricksmore.
just take your time to save and survey brows.gif
i found that physical shop normally more expensive than online seller biggrin.gif
but sometimes shop may suddenly do sales...

it will be good if lego price is same as gundam biggrin.gif
nickygin
post Aug 22 2014, 07:58 PM

240 posts

Welcome to this new hobby!

Personally, I think that online sellers normally offer lower prices than retail shops. Having said that, sometimes the prices in retail shops can be lower or the difference might not be that much. You would need to check around... But to me, that's part of the fun smile.gif

Looks at the signatures of some of the taikors in this forum as some of them are online sellers and some of them are able to do bulk orders so that those interested can get it at a potentially lower price (or faster) rclxm9.gif I've gotten many many items from them before... notworthy.gif

Also, occasionally there'll be some taikor sharing news on the latest sales around town in the forum thumbup.gif

Oh... Please also spam your pictures of those sets that you've done. Thanks! rclxms.gif
zemperor
post Aug 22 2014, 09:08 PM

just to share some poison here biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zemperor: Aug 22 2014, 09:09 PM
sheemmet
post Aug 22 2014, 09:10 PM

380 posts

research institute looks good too !
TSilfort
post Aug 22 2014, 09:28 PM

glad to see here is active again. biggrin.gif
nickygin
post Aug 22 2014, 09:46 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 22 2014, 09:08 PM)
just to share some poison here biggrin.gif
Thanks... Sadly I can't see any images ... 😭

Here's something that I found really interesting on technics 😁

http://www.autofixinfo.com/MLBKLHoWfgJJ-Y/...ic-SUV-Mk2.html
zemperor
post Aug 22 2014, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(nickygin @ Aug 22 2014, 09:46 PM)
Thanks... Sadly I can't see any images ... 😭

Here's something that I found really interesting on technics 😁

http://www.autofixinfo.com/MLBKLHoWfgJJ-Y/...ic-SUV-Mk2.html
why can't see images? do i share the link wrongly?

and thanks for your sharing as well notworthy.gif
i like the adjustable suspension thumbup.gif
nickygin
post Aug 22 2014, 10:41 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 22 2014, 09:58 PM)
why can't see images? do i share the link wrongly?

and thanks for your sharing as well notworthy.gif
i like the adjustable suspension thumbup.gif
Ok I can see it already... I think must have been my internet connection... Anyway it looks really really good!
Technic sets really amazes me! 👍

zemperor
post Aug 22 2014, 10:44 PM

QUOTE(nickygin @ Aug 22 2014, 10:41 PM)
Ok I can see it already... I think must have been my internet connection... Anyway it looks really really good!
Technic sets really amazes me! 👍
the review have a lot of pictures and it took me some time to load the page laugh.gif
technic is my favourite, but some moc is more amaze me icon_idea.gif
Bigfoot-X
post Aug 22 2014, 11:42 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Aug 22 2014, 09:28 PM)
glad to see here is active again. biggrin.gif
Here always active - just busy protecting Gotham biggrin.gif

paanjang16
post Aug 22 2014, 11:48 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(tass @ Aug 22 2014, 09:07 AM)
That's my Vintage Lego collection in my storage box!  blush.gif
I must admit, your vintage collection is in alot better condition than mine. You even have the boxes for some of the sets. I also have the elevated car park with petrol station and the holiday home with the camper van.

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 22 2014, 09:53 AM)
lol yea. Maybe her way of revenge as before, I'm the one who build Gundam, and all she can do is watch. Haha

Yea thinking of adding more Technic set. I have few in mind, mainly 42026 and 42027. Maybe will throw in 75040 as well.

Will collect money to buy bigger set later! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

-edited- Just wondering, based on your experience, does the price for the Lego set sold at Lego shop (Bangsar and Curve) is cheaper or more expensive than normal shop? I'm very sure the  re will be a lot of varieties at the Lego Shop, but how about price wise? From what I scout, the price is more or less the same for shops at Amcorp and Bricksmore.
Lego shop in BVII and Curve - Retail Price, no VIP points, not really good polybag offer. Last time you need to spend RM 150, then RM 300, now need RM 500 then only they give you free polybag. doh.gif Also as a Lego shop their principal in Denmark does not seem to supply this shop with sets like Ecto-1, Mini, Mixer, Maersk, unlike the Lego shops overseas. Something very wrong with Lego trading. The only saving grace is that the one in Curve has a PAB which is quite worth it for bricks provided you take your time to stuff your cup as creatively as possible. Other than that better source from other places. For me I bought my Volvo wheel loader from BVII because it was available sooooo much earlier than anticipated.

If possible try visiting those independant Lego shops, they tend to offer discount and cheaper pricing. So far there is:-
1) Bricksmore (Sunway Pyramid)
2) Brick Santuary (Amcorp)
3) Uncle Seat (Amcorp - currently share a shop named Pretty Women on 1st floor)
4) Mightly Utan (Dataran Prima)
5) Brickplay (Paradigm Mall - opposite TRU, also on LOM someone mentioned in Subang Skypark airport too)
So far no. 1, 2 & 4 have PAB.
A4pApEr
post Aug 23 2014, 12:11 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(nuondanet @ Aug 22 2014, 03:24 PM)
I display it  biggrin.gif it's in my study/library area where i have a pigeon hole cabinet. fits just nicely  rclxms.gif
Nice!! rclxms.gif

Should I get it or not... *Checking my wallet*

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 22 2014, 06:57 PM)
My Research Institute has changed to "In Process".  Woohoo...

Exo Suit still backordered sad.gif
Saw Exo Suit can PO here.

However it only available before 15 Sept. sad.gif

This post has been edited by A4pApEr: Aug 23 2014, 12:13 AM
anak kenyalang
post Aug 23 2014, 01:22 AM

85 posts

Nice. Thanks so much for the guidance guys. Actually I prefer real shop rather than online shop, coz I'm very particular about box condition. So far, my fav shop is Bricksmore (very close to my house) and all those at Amcorp mall.

Actually my wife is more interested in the minifig. Me on the hand, more to ship, pirate ship to be precise. QAR is too expensive for me, so maybe I will opt for LOTR Pirate Ambush instead. Most probably will focus more on Technic line, trying to collect the whole series.

I will try to upload the pic when I'm back at office. Currently I'm online using phone. Haha. Computer at house KO already, so I will use my office computer to upload pic later.
nuondanet
post Aug 23 2014, 07:07 AM

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 23 2014, 01:22 AM)
Nice. Thanks so much for the guidance guys. Actually I prefer real shop rather than online shop, coz I'm very particular about box condition. So far, my fav shop is Bricksmore (very close to my house) and all those at Amcorp mall.

Actually my wife is more interested in the minifig. Me on the hand, more to ship, pirate ship to be precise. QAR is too expensive for me, so maybe I will opt for LOTR Pirate Ambush instead. Most probably will focus more on Technic line, trying to collect the whole series.

I will try to upload the pic when I'm back at office. Currently I'm online using phone. Haha. Computer at house KO already, so I will use my office computer to upload pic later.
There's also the Sea Cow if you're into ships biggrin.gif
anak kenyalang
post Aug 23 2014, 07:17 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(nuondanet @ Aug 23 2014, 07:07 AM)
There's also the Sea Cow if you're into ships  biggrin.gif
One of my target too! Haha. But kinda pricey for me. Maybe I'll go for Technic first. Then ships, and some SW sets. Architecture also kinda nice.
Bigfoot-X
post Aug 23 2014, 08:43 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Aug 22 2014, 11:48 PM)
I must admit, your vintage collection is in alot better condition than mine. You even have the boxes for some of the sets. I also have the elevated car park with petrol station and the holiday home with the camper van.
Lego shop in BVII and Curve - Retail Price, no VIP points, not really good polybag offer. Last time you need to spend RM 150, then RM 300, now need RM 500 then only they give you free polybag.  doh.gif Also as a Lego shop their principal in Denmark does not seem to supply this shop with sets like Ecto-1, Mini, Mixer, Maersk, unlike the Lego shops overseas. Something very wrong with Lego trading. The only saving grace is that the one in Curve has a PAB which is quite worth it for bricks provided you take your time to stuff your cup as creatively as possible. Other than that better source from other places. For me I bought my Volvo wheel loader from BVII because it was available sooooo much earlier than anticipated.

If possible try visiting those independant Lego shops, they tend to offer discount and cheaper pricing. So far there is:-
1) Bricksmore (Sunway Pyramid)
2) Brick Santuary (Amcorp)
3) Uncle Seat (Amcorp - currently share a shop named Pretty Women on 1st floor)
4) Mightly Utan (Dataran Prima)
5) Brickplay (Paradigm Mall - opposite TRU, also on LOM someone mentioned in Subang Skypark airport too)
So far no. 1, 2 & 4 have PAB.
QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 23 2014, 01:22 AM)

I've been reading the comments - it looks like Brick Boys (location: The Gardens and Tropicana City Mall) already forgotten tongue.gif

I suppose the new discount structure plus the slow stock updates really affecting them now? I seldom see them updating posts on new arrivals these days ... hmm.gif
TSilfort
post Aug 23 2014, 09:01 AM

QUOTE(A4pApEr @ Aug 23 2014, 12:11 AM)
Nice!! rclxms.gif

Should I get it or not... *Checking my wallet*
Saw Exo Suit can PO here.

However it only available before 15 Sept. sad.gif
we did see someone selling below 200 which is RM198. . .

Here:
https://www.facebook.com/488162584595208/ph...1294477/?type=1

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:34 AM