Hobbies The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V21

paanjang16
post Jul 24 2014, 01:57 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Jul 24 2014, 01:11 PM)
Spotted 2 boxes of lego technic Volvo 42030 at the curve also 2 boxes of Parisian restaurant, PAB pretty empty what time do they restock normally?
**** yell like an excited little boy ****

Omg omg omg :-():-():-():-():-()

thanks for the update bro.
paanjang16
post Jul 24 2014, 10:11 PM

335 posts

What a day today. Here's what happened:-
1) Was on the way to MV at KL Sentral waiting for the Komuter to arrive. Since nothing to do decided to check LOM, Lowyat etc
2) Saw a post in Lowyat that the Volvo has arrived in Curve. Nearly pengsan when I heard about it
3) During lunch at MV decided to call BVII to see if it has arrive in BVII as well. Was happy to hear that it has arrived! So ask the person on the other end to reserve 1 for me. I didn't call Curve coz I didn't have their number.
4) After work went all the way back to Kelana Jaya (my car is parked there, usually take LRT to work) to collect my car then drove all the way to BVII.
5) I dunno why but tonight Bangsar was congested!!! Cannot even enter BVII basement coz it is full.
6) Then somehow managed to find a parking spot along the shops.
7) Terus masuk BVII to collect my Volvo then balik after that

Needless to say, I'm very surprised it came this early. Last year the MK2 arrived in August. In fact I got my MK2 in late July/very early August last year and that is through a FB seller. This time Lego themselves ship the Volvo early. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Now regarding the box, it is HUGE. As you can see when I compared it to the box of the MK2. The difference almost equal to 1 Emmet.
BTW, the red technic truck and bulldozer is also there. The red Technic truck is RM399.99 and the bulldozer RM 199.90. The Volvo cost RM 1049.90.
Looks like Raya arrived early for me this year again!

To Lego_Jason, hope you dun mind since I already gotten my Volvo already. The desire to have the Volvo was too great. I'm still thinking if to get another 1 or not. icon_question.gif

QUOTE(heng84 @ Jul 24 2014, 01:11 PM)
Spotted 2 boxes of lego technic Volvo 42030 at the curve also 2 boxes of Parisian restaurant, PAB pretty empty what time do they restock normally?
Thank you for your tip-off bro. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Ebilgen @ Jul 24 2014, 08:11 PM)
Hi all, my first post to say hi to all the Lego enthusiasts out there.

Just recently got out of my dark ages, mostly because of the lovely modular buildings. Have been working on getting my hands on all the modulars but still missing the first 3. Agree with the previous comments - been quite a challenge to catch up coz they’re really hard to find.

Any advice for ways to populate my modular street? Currently thinking of picking the Lego movie vehicles – already have the ice cream machine but the garbage truck and plumber van look interesting. Somehow, they seem more appealing and realistic vs all the very emergency-themed city vehicles.
Welcome to Lego!

Ya, the movie themed vehicles seem better proportioned to the modular buildings than some City vehicles. Also some city sets like Police and Fire tend to repeat year after year.

paanjang16
post Jul 24 2014, 10:48 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Jul 24 2014, 10:41 PM)
rclxm9.gif the red truck is here rclxm9.gif
and the bulldozer as well biggrin.gif

thanks for the info notworthy.gif
but i will tahan first, wait until my wallet recover from the damage of volvo nod.gif

BTW, for the price, is it retail price?
Ya, price is retail price. I'm sure some of our sellers here can get cheaper, but heck, I can't wait!!! icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
paanjang16
post Jul 26 2014, 04:56 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(Ultraman the great @ Jul 26 2014, 03:21 PM)
Volvo already got liao in LLM. 20% off. Damn good deal!! biggrin.gif
holy smokes, whoever go there now and sapu can make a clean profit ;P

I already opened my Volvo, the contents use less than half a box, but the huge bucket need the space provided by the deep depth of the box.

About 50% done already, now with family outside. To continue tonight.
paanjang16
post Jul 27 2014, 01:47 AM

335 posts

Some photos I took of my Volvo wheel loader. Took me about 6 hours to build it.

Before building, have to organize all the parts for easier assembly. Quite alot of parts since it is a flagship model and no numbered bags. MK2 is easier since got numbered bags.

The completed Volvo with Emmet and Lord Business posing next to it for scale. It is quite large, but still....

.. the Mercedes Unimogs is taller. Length wise almost the same. Both are using the same tires FYI.

But when compared to anything other than Technic flagship, it is a MONSTER! Hulk is pissed that there is something bigger and stronger than him.

paanjang16
post Aug 22 2014, 11:48 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(tass @ Aug 22 2014, 09:07 AM)
That's my Vintage Lego collection in my storage box!  blush.gif
I must admit, your vintage collection is in alot better condition than mine. You even have the boxes for some of the sets. I also have the elevated car park with petrol station and the holiday home with the camper van.

QUOTE(anak kenyalang @ Aug 22 2014, 09:53 AM)
lol yea. Maybe her way of revenge as before, I'm the one who build Gundam, and all she can do is watch. Haha

Yea thinking of adding more Technic set. I have few in mind, mainly 42026 and 42027. Maybe will throw in 75040 as well.

Will collect money to buy bigger set later! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

-edited- Just wondering, based on your experience, does the price for the Lego set sold at Lego shop (Bangsar and Curve) is cheaper or more expensive than normal shop? I'm very sure the  re will be a lot of varieties at the Lego Shop, but how about price wise? From what I scout, the price is more or less the same for shops at Amcorp and Bricksmore.
Lego shop in BVII and Curve - Retail Price, no VIP points, not really good polybag offer. Last time you need to spend RM 150, then RM 300, now need RM 500 then only they give you free polybag. doh.gif Also as a Lego shop their principal in Denmark does not seem to supply this shop with sets like Ecto-1, Mini, Mixer, Maersk, unlike the Lego shops overseas. Something very wrong with Lego trading. The only saving grace is that the one in Curve has a PAB which is quite worth it for bricks provided you take your time to stuff your cup as creatively as possible. Other than that better source from other places. For me I bought my Volvo wheel loader from BVII because it was available sooooo much earlier than anticipated.

If possible try visiting those independant Lego shops, they tend to offer discount and cheaper pricing. So far there is:-
1) Bricksmore (Sunway Pyramid)
2) Brick Santuary (Amcorp)
3) Uncle Seat (Amcorp - currently share a shop named Pretty Women on 1st floor)
4) Mightly Utan (Dataran Prima)
5) Brickplay (Paradigm Mall - opposite TRU, also on LOM someone mentioned in Subang Skypark airport too)
So far no. 1, 2 & 4 have PAB.
paanjang16
post Oct 25 2014, 10:47 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(dumdum89 @ Oct 24 2014, 05:09 PM)
Thanks~ it took me some time to find that last set in Jusco few years back.  nod.gif

i like Lego vehicle especially those big big truck.

Welcome to this forum! thumbup.gif

Since you like big trucks, do you collect Technic too since there are many big trucks with steering in Technic?
Example is like this:

For me I collect modular and Technic. Now mostly MOC since got a local source of bricks such as PAB. Recently went crazy and bought alot of bricks to keep building shophouses. doh.gif Running out of space very fast!
paanjang16
post Oct 26 2014, 11:38 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(ilfort @ Oct 26 2014, 09:56 AM)
this round i no chance. Haha
Me too, got no chance to go over to Tesco. The Tesco I usually go which is the one in Paradigm Mall don't carry much Lego doh.gif I read all the posting in FB, people were sapu-ing habis and filling their trolleys full of Lego in Tesco doh.gif

0.0178sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:29 PM