Subaru Legacy, Is it worth it compared to Conti?

TSxuzen
post Jun 2 2014, 11:55 AM, updated 11y ago

4,436 posts

Hello,

I am a total noob to this forum.

Here goes my query to all the car enthusiast here. I am ready to upgrade to D-segment by next year June-15, latest. Of course the usual suspects spring to my mind: Camry, Teana and Accord. I have trawling around the internet for a while, reading up on the D-segments' offering in Malaysian market.

However, something caught my mind. Subaru Legacy. Read many good reviews about it but mainly from Ang-mohs or mat-salleh forums. So my question is, is this car so good? For RM 250K price tag, is it better to go Conti?

My requirement:

I) Driving pleasure. It will be more like my weekend car or pleasure car, as my usual day to day wheel will still be my eight year old MYVI.

II) Resale value is not important as I will drive it like for the next 10 or 12 years. (I rarely change car)

III) Spare part easy to get (no need to wait months and months to order in) and will not cost me a bomb.

IV) Fuel consumption reasonable within class expectation.

V) Something that will not be too flashy to potential robber like a Beemer or a Merz.

Thank you all for your input.

Xuzen

SUSSWIZZ
post Jun 2 2014, 12:08 PM

121 posts

Your Requirements

II) Resale value is not important as I will drive it like for the next 10 or 12 years. (I rarely change car)

a. Camry - Good resale value
b. Accord - Good resale value
c. Teana - 2nd car dealer dont even wants it if u selling it after 3months of usage.
d. Subaru - worst than teana

III) Spare part easy to get (no need to wait months and months to order in) and will not cost me a bomb.
a. Camry - Available in massive & easily to find.
b. Accord - Available in massive & easily to find.
c. Teana - Available in massive & easily to find.
d. Subaru - Need to wait for import.

All models are very similar. so no issue here.

V) Something that will not be too flashy to potential robber like a Beemer or a Merz.
Teana & legacy fits in here.

So based of above, Teana is your best choice.
SUSMatrix
post Jun 2 2014, 12:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 2 2014, 12:08 PM)
Your Requirements

c. Teana - 2nd car dealer dont even wants it if u selling it after 3months of usage.

Good analysis. Robbber dun want car which cannot sell. Open door also nobody wants to steal the Teana!!! laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2014, 12:13 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 2 2014, 11:55 AM)
Hello,

Here goes my query to all the car enthusiast here. I am ready to upgrade to D-segment by next year June-15, latest. Of course the usual suspects spring to my mind: Camry, Teana and Accord. I have trawling around the internet for a while, reading up on the D-segments' offering in Malaysian market.

However, something caught my mind. Subaru Legacy. Read many good reviews about it but mainly from Ang-mohs or mat-salleh forums. So my question is, is this car so good? For RM 250K price tag, is it better to go Conti?

My requirement:

I) Driving pleasure. It will be more like my weekend car or pleasure car, as my usual day to day wheel will still be my eight year old MYVI.

Xuzen
bro if you can persuade the sales dude enough, you could probably get it ~210-220k or even less wink.gif

from my VERY limited test driving:
1) most pleasurable ride lol, 400nm torque with CVT that OBEYS your down shift allowing red lines biggrin.gif

3) from my limited knowledge, hard. may want to check out the subaru car club threads
sleepwalker comment?

4) if you're gonna trash the >300hp turbo car around, being a heavy/big d segment, you really will have to forget about having good FC unless you're cruising at optimal/slow high way cruising speed.

5) it's still a d segment, whether it is flashy or not to a robber, hard to say. an expensive car is still an expensive car.

you may have to take note that maintenance won't be cheap. subaru SC uses motul lubricants and they will surely further mark up the price. and that's not taking into account wear and tear replacements.
more so if it's an underutilized weekend car where you'll get wasted km's until it's time to service (10k km/6 months, my sorta weekend car is at 6500km only and it's 1 month left till service sweat.gif)
SUSSWIZZ
post Jun 2 2014, 12:14 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 2 2014, 12:10 PM)
Good analysis. Robbber dun want car which cannot sell. Open door also nobody wants to steal the Teana!!! laugh.gif
Dont be too sure. it just that teana is the one of lowest theft risk among the selection above.
Sometimes crook steals the car just to commit crimes and no intention of selling it.
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2014, 12:15 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 2 2014, 12:08 PM)
Your Requirements

did you deliberately left out 1)?

because i test driven the 2.5l V6 teana, it was AWESOME, everything was smooth.
and then i test drive the legacy and the teana felt like shit laugh.gif

and the new teana will no longer be a 6pot... supposedly better FC/performance/torque etc compared to the v6, but hey, that's the only charm teana had and it's no longer there.
SUSSWIZZ
post Jun 2 2014, 12:18 PM

121 posts

If already can afford RM250K car, actually for myself i would rather top up another 30k (total budget RM280K) and go for current Audi A6 hybrid.
SUSSWIZZ
post Jun 2 2014, 12:20 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 2 2014, 12:15 PM)
did you deliberately left out 1)?

because i test driven the 2.5l V6 teana, it was AWESOME, everything was smooth.
and then i test drive the legacy and the teana felt like shit laugh.gif

and the new teana will no longer be a 6pot... supposedly better FC/performance/torque etc compared to the v6, but hey, that's the only charm teana had and it's no longer there.
based on his requirement ma, for maintenance bills, teana does better than legacy ma. he didnt mentioned anything abt preference on car performance or comfort also.
cokelatpanda
post Jun 2 2014, 12:22 PM

292 posts

mondeo ecoboost la.
vey99
post Jun 2 2014, 12:23 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 2 2014, 11:55 AM)
Hello,

My requirement:

Xuzen
if weekend car, and u can jaga well, get one u will enjoy. i dunno if many ppl buy a d segment just for weekend car tho. usually is sportier drive. if u rly want a legacy u shud check out the local owner car club and get their feedback on ur idea la.
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2014, 12:24 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 2 2014, 12:20 PM)
based on his requirement ma, for maintenance bills, teana does better than legacy ma. he didnt mentioned anything abt preference on car performance or comfort also.
My requirement:

although to be fair, the teana was pretty pleasurable with the v6, and the nvh is definitely nissan's strong point.

so long he never test drive a legacy, teana will be a good choice smile.gif
sleepwalker
post Jun 2 2014, 02:48 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 2 2014, 12:13 PM)
3) from my limited knowledge, hard. may want to check out the subaru car club threads
sleepwalker comment?

Subaru spare parts in Malaysia? What's that? tongue.gif

At least for the Impreza WRX/STi there are numbers from the grey market that makes up a little demand for spares. Of course, XV numbers will also generate spares but that is all new spare parts. Legacy would almost have no demand for spares in Malaysia as there's hardly any on the road. Singapore might have.

xuzen
Which Legacy are you looking at? Grey Import models or local MI model? Local MI model is still the older version of the current model that is using the old EJ25 engine and not the new FB25.

Do keep in mind that the Legacy 2.5GT engine is not tuned like the ones in the Impreza WRX STi, so don't expect it to fly like one.

Also the 6th generation Legacy is suppose to be out this year or next as the current model is 5 years old.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jun 2 2014, 02:49 PM
pai3355
post Jun 2 2014, 04:17 PM

210 posts

Very hard to see this car on the road. I only saw twice, and both are lady drivers.
kob3bryant
post Jun 2 2014, 08:42 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 2 2014, 12:18 PM)
If already can afford RM250K car, actually for myself i would rather top up another 30k (total budget RM280K) and go for current Audi A6 hybrid.
a6 hybrid could be own at this price still?
TSxuzen
post Jun 2 2014, 09:14 PM

4,436 posts

Thanks for all the reply so far. I am still digesting them.

Looks like Teana is a good alternative and I will keep her in my radar. I think the price is a good pull factor for me.

I need to add something, speed is not a must have for me, simply because in Malaysia, our highway speed limit is only 110kmh. So to avoid traffic fine, it is no point driving fast or having a fast car.

But I rank driving pleasure and road handling very highly.

I checked out the new Mazda6 out, between the new mazda6, new Teana & Legacy, which one will give the best road handling? Legacy?

Seriously, Legacy price is a huge turn off for me.

@Vey99, you think I would be better to get a real sport car as my weekend car? WRX STI? sweat.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 2 2014, 09:17 PM
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2014, 09:15 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 2 2014, 02:48 PM)
Subaru spare parts in Malaysia? What's that?  tongue.gif
aiks that bad sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2014, 09:19 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 2 2014, 09:14 PM)
I need to add something, speed is not a must have for me, simply because in Malaysia, our highway speed limit is only 110kmh. So to avoid traffic fine, it is no point driving fast or having a fast car.

I checked out the new Mazda6 out, between the new mazda6, new Teana & Legacy, which one will give the best road handling? Legacy?
no comment on the mazda 6, however between teana and legacy, i'd rate the legacy much higher in terms of handling and driving pleasure.

speed aside, the teana is a tad bit boring/numbing steering feel and it is understandably so because nissan is focusing on comfort/luxurious feel within the cabin. legacy is a ways behind the teana (well, sleepwalker mentioned it's a very old model after all)

if anything, may consider waiting for the newer legacy to arrive malaysia, and give the new teana (non v6) and the old teana a try too, not forgetting a try on the mazda6 as well.

when driving pleasure is a top priority to you, my best advise is that you yourself test drive and decide smile.gif

=edit=
just saw your edit:
actually yes, if you're mainly wanting a weekend ride, an actual sports sedan (still able to carry family etc for long distance and having huge luggage space! biggrin.gif) like a WRX STI, or an evolution X would fit PERFECTLY in your need wink.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 2 2014, 09:20 PM
alwinnng
post Jun 2 2014, 10:46 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Jun 2 2014, 08:42 PM)
a6 hybrid could be own at this price still?
Nope

mudah i see last few months going for 330k
OC4/3
post Jun 3 2014, 12:21 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 2 2014, 09:14 PM)
Thanks for all the reply so far. I am still digesting them.

Looks like Teana is a good alternative and I will keep her in my radar. I think the price is a good pull factor for me.

Seriously, Legacy price is a huge turn off for me.

@Vey99, you think I would be better to get a real sport car as my weekend car? WRX STI?  sweat.gif
Xuzen
Actually Malaysia have a lot of avenue to enjoy performance car one
Do trackday(Sepang or MIMC),touge session are some of the best way to enjoy performance car smile.gif
If you intend to buy a weekend car,buy something that is sporty & impractical(Think Lotus,Honda S2000 etc etc)

-speedz-
post Jun 3 2014, 09:51 AM

169 posts

A weekend car should be fun/frivolous to drive and not a boring practical D-segment car like those mentioned. However since you asked, what about a Passat CC? Or the CC R line series?

silkygirl
post Jun 3 2014, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(SWIZZ @ Jun 2 2014, 01:08 PM)
Your Requirements

Where did you find a these info?? My husband just traded in his 2011 Teana 2.5 for a Mercedes E250, and the Teana. Mercedes taken it back for RM91K, the Mercedes salesman told us luckily it is a Japanese "big 3" he called it, others very hard to sell in used car market. You sure what you said is true and reflecting the actual used car market condition?
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2014, 12:36 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(silkygirl @ Jun 3 2014, 11:16 AM)
Where did you find a these info?? My husband just traded in his 2011 Teana 2.5 for a Mercedes E250, and the Teana. Mercedes taken it back for RM91K, the Mercedes salesman told us luckily it is a Japanese "big 3" he called it, others very hard to sell in used car market. You sure what you said is true and reflecting the actual used car market condition?
91k seems awfully low for a Teana though sad.gif

Then again used car dealer and not direct owner sales, I guess can't be helped
Dwango
post Jun 3 2014, 12:48 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2014, 12:36 PM)

Then again used car dealer and not direct owner sales,  I guess can't be helped
I think it is quite okay already. Sometime earlier this month when I was at a used car dealer, a Honda Accord 2.4 was selling at RM85k+ only. Perhaps it was an older 4 to 5 years old model. But then, the original owner would have sold it for even less.

Nowadays when you sell a >RM100k vehicle that is more than 3 years old you would likely lose 60% or more, close to 50% if approaching 5 years old.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2014, 01:07 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jun 3 2014, 12:48 PM)
I think it is quite okay already. Sometime earlier this month when I was at a used car dealer, a Honda Accord 2.4 was selling at RM85k+ only. Perhaps it was an older 4 to 5 years old model. But then, the original owner would have sold it for even less.

Nowadays when you sell a >RM100k vehicle that is more than 3 years old you would likely lose 60% or more, close to 50% if approaching 5 years old.
ah yea you're right, if a honda can be that low, a nissan would typically fare much worse
silkygirl
post Jun 3 2014, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2014, 01:36 PM)

Then again used car dealer and not direct owner sales,  I guess can't be helped
Not really, my husband drove the Teana heavily, every month can clocked up to 2-4k km and the time he traded in his Teana, the odo meter was like around 160,000.00km, even the Mercedes salesman saw the odo meter get shocked because the car only 3yrs ++. The salesman also showed us the other used car price, and we found the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord years 2011 is almost the same, not much difference, the Camry I think is RM94K to 95K, Accord also around that price, but still need to see the car condition first. My husband Teana condition actually is quite bad, only wash when sent in to service, the front bumper got a scratch mark and the back last time hit by motorcycle and dented a little bit, and the car do not have GPS and sport package, so the salesman said max is RM91K only.
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2014, 02:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(silkygirl @ Jun 3 2014, 02:43 PM)
Not really, my husband drove the Teana heavily, every month can clocked up to 2-4k km and the time he traded in his Teana, the odo meter was like around 160,000.00km, even the Mercedes salesman saw the odo meter get shocked because the car only 3yrs ++. The salesman also showed us the other used car price, and we found the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord years 2011 is almost the same, not much difference, the Camry I think is RM94K to 95K, Accord also around that price, but still need to see the car condition first. My husband Teana condition actually is quite bad, only wash when sent in to service, the front bumper got a scratch mark and the back last time hit by motorcycle and dented a little bit, and the car do not have GPS and sport package, so the salesman said max is RM91K only.
Considering what you've described, you've gotten quite a good deal then thumbup.gif
thefryingfox
post Jun 3 2014, 06:36 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Subaru legacy is quite an awesome car. but if u going to keep it for a long time, u got to be damn sure the parts are available else u will be suffering without a transport
TSxuzen
post Jun 3 2014, 09:02 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 2 2014, 02:48 PM)
Subaru spare parts in Malaysia? What's that?  tongue.gif

At least for the Impreza WRX/STi there are numbers from the grey market that makes up a little demand for spares. Of course, XV numbers will also generate spares but that is all new spare parts. Legacy would almost have no demand for spares in Malaysia as there's hardly any on the road. Singapore might have.
xuzen
Which Legacy are you looking at? Grey Import models or local MI model? Local MI model is still the older version of the current model that is using the old EJ25 engine and not the new FB25.

Do keep in mind that the Legacy 2.5GT engine is not tuned like the ones in the Impreza WRX STi, so don't expect it to fly like one.

Also the 6th generation Legacy is suppose to be out this year or next as the current model is 5 years old.
Sleepwalker,

Do you mean it is very difficult to get spare parts of Legacy? That is a huge turn-off then....

I am looking at MI version of course, I am not a car enthusiast hence I know not of grey importers.

Some respondent suggest me to get the STi instead as a weekend car, if that is the case.... how does this compare to Golf R or Focus ST? I have been trawling the internet so i know little bit but not enough to make informed or definitive decision yet.... They are all in the similar price range.

Xuzen

zenockl85
post Jun 3 2014, 09:11 PM

23 posts

Just search around legacy owner is the car always break down and need to change parts?
Subaru now already different from pass 20years ~ any spare parts unavailable in Malaysia , SG sure got keep stock ~
MI in SG is the HQ for handle Southeast Asia market ~

main different technology in Legacy compare with other Dsegment car in market is symatrical AWD system ~ no any car in market Dsegment car are using it ~
Symatrical AWD naturally already giving u a good handling with minimum electronic parts~ that is what of value u buy a Subaru ~
zenockl85
post Jun 3 2014, 09:15 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 3 2014, 09:02 PM)
Sleepwalker,

Do you mean it is very difficult to get spare parts of Legacy? That is a huge turn-off then....

I am looking at MI version of course, I am not a car enthusiast hence I know not of grey importers.

Some respondent suggest me to get the STi instead as a weekend car, if that is the case.... how does this compare to Golf R or Focus ST? I have been trawling the internet so i know little bit but not enough to make informed or definitive decision yet.... They are all in the similar price range.

Xuzen
This need ur serious take consideration le~ laugh.gif

legacy is family car with performance ~
Impreza WRX STI is performance car can Carrie family ~
TSxuzen
post Jun 3 2014, 09:19 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:11 PM)
Just search around legacy owner is the car always break down and need to change parts?
Subaru now already different from pass 20years ~ any spare parts unavailable in Malaysia , SG sure got keep stock ~

main different technology in Legacy compare with other Dsegment car in market is symatrical AWD system ~ no any car in market Dsegment car are using it ~
Symatrical AWD naturally already giving u a good handling with minimum electronic parts~ that is what of value u buy a Subaru ~
That is the problem, no one around me or my circle of friends has any idea about Subaru. When I tell them about Legacy, they say I crazy liao!

My father in his 70's said Subaru of yesteryears were good car, problem in Malaysia cannot get parts, that is why they lost market share here.

But the saving grace is if I have a Legacy, I know that I get to drive a luxury marque without advertising to the world I am rich hence rob me, and that is something comforting to know. To the unknown, a Legacy is just another car....

Xuzen

zenockl85
post Jun 3 2014, 09:38 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 3 2014, 09:19 PM)
That is the problem, no one around me or my circle of friends has any idea about Subaru. When I tell them about Legacy, they say I crazy liao!

My father in his 70's said Subaru of yesteryears were good car, problem in Malaysia cannot get parts, that is why they lost market share here.

But the saving grace is if I have a Legacy, I know that I get to drive a luxury marque without advertising to the world I am rich hence rob me, and that is something comforting to know. To the unknown, a Legacy is just another car....

Xuzen
Then u new ask oversea owner le ~ owner in Malaysia for buying a legacy all are experience a Subaru car before ~ normally customer buying without asking to much question cos their already know what their are buying ~

stormlcc
post Jun 3 2014, 09:49 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

since u already got a daily driver, why stick with conventional 4 door sedan? and since u want it as a weekend 'pleasure' car, get a coupe, get a sports car, get a RWD machine

BMW or Merc 2nd hand

BMW or Merc 2nd hand. don't believe people's BS about conti spare parts expensive, they are actually not that different from Jap. and they stock spare parts for decades, compared to japan parts which are only 10 years or so only. u can find and buy a 30 year old BMW NEW part from any well known distributor easily (i just bought my E30 radiator last week, brand new and original for less than 1k). u can even get a brand new VW beetle (the ori beetle, not the pathetic new one aka girl's car) engine from Germany and ship it here. Jap cars? u can't even find a new clock after 20 years.

BMW or Merc 2nd hand

errrr.......u do know all the cars are POTENTIAL target right? should i mention to u that the Civic EG, the Satria GTI, Myvi and even a Toyota LE (30 year old car) are the HOTTEST target now.

to prevent your car from getting stolen, u have to be aware of where u park it in the first place. but this also doesn't deter thieves from getting their hands on it. My dad's CRV was stolen few years back and the car was parked at a VERY busy section of road in the afternoon near his shop. the thieves probably got to know his daily routine because he parks near that area every day to go for work.

This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jun 3 2014, 09:49 PM
sleepwalker
post Jun 4 2014, 10:39 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 3 2014, 09:02 PM)
Sleepwalker,

Xuzen
I drive an Impreza WRX as my daily car. Clocking almost 170000km (just a few more KM to go) so it is not a weekend car. MI will be launching the new 2015 WRX soon. The car is already in Malaysia but they haven't done the pricing or put it up for test drive yet but soon.. very soon. The new WRX 2105 might be a better choice since it is whole new version of the WRX series. However, the STi version will still be using the old technology which is quite a let down.

However, do keep in mind the really poor resale value of the WRX/STi if you buy it first hand from MI. That is why after hearing that the new 2015 WRX STi is going to be using the old engine and drivetrain, I've decided to look for a V10 hatch STi later in the year to replace my aging WRX. I'm not going to get brand new WRX/STi and then lose more than 1/3 in 3 years and up to half its value in 5 years. A 5 year old V10 hatch is going for almost half it's original price in 2009/2010.

As for the legacy.. I always see it on the road.. it's a Legacy Wagon.. it's white.. and wait.. it's the same white legacy that I always see... yeah.. so far I've only seen one white legacy and that's because we both go to the same workshop. Have you seen any other legacy? Would anybody stock parts for a car that you don't see on the road? Even MI does not stock all parts for the WRX/STi because only 1 out of 5 WRX/STi that you see on the road is from MI. The rest are from grey importers and we don't go back to MI to service. Any STi you see on the road before the V10 hatch are from grey imports since MI didn't bring any STi into Malaysia then (only WRX). However there is a big enough community of WRX/STi out there that we have specialist workshops that can service our cars in KL/PJ. Outside Kelang valley might be an issue.

sleepwalker
post Jun 4 2014, 10:53 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:11 PM)

It is not about always breaking down. Car parts will eventually breakdown whether it is a Subaru or a Proton. Parts will also wear out like the dampers/suspension and brake pads. Air con compressors will fail in the long run and steering racks will leak. Broken windscreen takes MI weeks to get from SG or even Japan. My leaky steering rack was quoted about RM8000 and about one week to get from MI but I managed to source from halfcut for much much less. My car could no longer be driven since all the power steering fluid will leak out in 10 mins of driving. Luckily managed to get from half cut in half a day.

If the TS were to get anything from MI, I would suggest that a written guarantee is to be drafted between him and MI so that in the event that parts are not available, MI will provide a substitute car if his car needs to wait for parts. Imagine the outcry if Toyota and Honda owners had to wait for parts. Even if MI SG is available, the parts are not hand carried in and takes time.
TSxuzen
post Jun 4 2014, 01:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 4 2014, 10:53 AM)
It is not about always breaking down. Car parts will eventually breakdown whether it is a Subaru or a Proton. Parts will also wear out like the dampers/suspension and brake pads. Air con compressors will fail in the long run and steering racks will leak. Broken windscreen takes MI weeks to get from SG or even Japan. My leaky steering rack was quoted about RM8000 and about one week to get from MI but I managed to source from halfcut for much much less. My car could no longer be driven since all the power steering fluid will leak out in 10 mins of driving. Luckily managed to get from half cut in half a day.

If the TS were to get anything from MI, I would suggest that a written guarantee is to be drafted between him and MI so that in the event that parts are not available, MI will provide a substitute car if his car needs to wait for parts. Imagine the outcry if Toyota and Honda owners had to wait for parts. Even if MI SG is available, the parts are not hand carried in and takes time.
Thanks for your honest feedback, really appreciate it man. I will stay far far away from MI products now.

BTW, I got a PM from a MI salesperson and he/she is offering the 2011 Legacy wagon at clearance price of RM215K. Nearly tempted. After hearing this from a real owner, I will run far far way!

Looks like it will be a Teana 2.5XV for me then.

Xuzen
sleepwalker
post Jun 4 2014, 02:14 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 4 2014, 01:48 PM)
Thanks for your honest feedback, really appreciate it man. I will stay far far away from MI products now.

BTW, I got a PM from a MI salesperson and he/she is offering the 2011 Legacy wagon at clearance price of RM215K. Nearly tempted. After hearing this from a real owner, I will run far far way!

Xuzen
Well, the new Teana is here. I have also mentioned that the current legacy is already at the end of life. Next generation will be out latest next year, so the Teana might be a better choice.
zenockl85
post Jun 4 2014, 05:32 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 4 2014, 10:53 AM)

that I can't say le ~ for CBU car parts wait 1week also can't wait ,if compare to other brand need 1month then That brand can't buy le ~ maybe that ur daily car u can't wait and have to find half cut ~ yes half cut is cheap but is already use ,lucky u get good condition ,bad luck 1month need change again ~

Is good if MI got provide car for customer if wait for parts ~ currently I know is without that service la~ I think for honda and Toyota CBU car parts also need wait 1~2 weeks to get it if without stock ~
zenockl85
post Jun 4 2014, 05:37 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 4 2014, 01:48 PM)

Xuzen
wait 1week time also can't and give out ,I also can't say anything le ~

Any where my offer for 2013 legacy sedan 207k OTR la ~
ReVolVolution
post Jun 4 2014, 06:34 PM

311 posts

Coming from another Subaru owner that bought new from MI :

Buy Subaru if:
- you want terrible after sales service
- get inexperience technician handling your car (at MI!)
- high price parts (don't complain as you are buying over rm200k car)

On the bright side:
- great handling car (comparable with contis without the contis normal problems)
- TUUUUUUURBO!
- parts are available but have to wait from SG.

For myself, I love my scooby but I hate MI. Thus, buy new and don't expect a red carpet or even on par with Proton (yes PROTON!) treatment when servicing and warranty claims.

joker98
post Jun 4 2014, 08:22 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jun 4 2014, 06:34 PM)

Buy Subaru if:

On the bright side:
- great handling car (comparable with contis without the contis normal problems)
- TUUUUUUURBO!

For myself, I love my scooby but I hate MI. Thus, buy new and don't expect a red carpet or even on par with Proton (yes PROTON!) treatment when servicing and warranty claims.
Hmm...I actually have a very different experience of after sales for my second Subaru, which is the current new Forester turbo.

My first Forester was from 2009 till 2013. Nothing to shout about at MI during my 3 year warranty period. Well then again, there was nothing wrong with my car during the whole warranty tenure. So just regular servicing at the old MI HQ back then.

But with the new Forester I actually had pretty good after sales treatment from Subaru MI. 8 months into ownership and my engine BLEW. That's right, new subaru DIT engine. Same as the one in the coming new WRX.

There was some slight issues already. But it was not regular. But the engine knocks (very loudly) when accelerating at low speeds or up gradients from low speed and loses power for half second. For example from traffic lights or up a bridge from a merging lane. Not during high speed pushes. During very normal accelerating scenarios.

Research, research online...found Australians also facing same issues. Initially aussie owners found that the air intake clamps seem to be the culprit. But apparently Subaru sent engineers over to Aussie to test and figured out that it was the engine tuning issue. So new maps, new spark plugs. Problem solved.

Subaru MI replaced my whole engine. Brought in from land of rising sun, gave me an XV to use (which they offered me after I mentioned how I needed a high riding car for my work) and now I have back my Forester and loving the new engine with the brand new tune. No more problems. And apparently they are applying this new tune update to the WRXs as well according to some of the Aussies.

Another FXT owner that I met also had the knocking problem, but his engine did not blow. They also gave him a courtesy car while updating his tune.

The engine replacement under warranty was really no fuss at my end. Only needed to hand over the documents to them for the car registration update and reinspection, which MI handled everything. Whole process including testing, inspections etc. took about just over a month from the day it was decided that the engine needs to be replaced.

All the while the attitude I got from MI was generally good and friendly.

For my previous Forester, my review of MI after sales would be neutral.

But this time round, I think they are trying hard to please and making changes and I am happy with the way they took responsibility and dealt with the problem. Of course not the record breaking award winning red carpet service, but definitely much better than some other car brands that my company owns.
ReVolVolution
post Jun 4 2014, 08:41 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(joker98 @ Jun 4 2014, 08:22 PM)
Hmm...I actually have a very different experience of after sales for my second Subaru, which is the current new Forester turbo.

My first Forester was from 2009 till 2013. Nothing to shout about at MI during my 3 year warranty period. Well then again, there was nothing wrong with my car during the whole warranty tenure. So just regular servicing at the old MI HQ back then.

But with the new Forester I actually had pretty good after sales treatment from Subaru MI. 8 months into ownership and my engine BLEW. That's right, new subaru DIT engine. Same as the one in the coming new WRX.

There was some slight issues already. But it was not regular. But the engine knocks (very loudly) when accelerating at low speeds or up gradients from low speed and loses power for half second. For example from traffic lights or up a bridge from a merging lane. Not during high speed pushes. During very normal accelerating scenarios.

Research, research online...found Australians also facing same issues. Initially aussie owners found that the air intake clamps seem to be the culprit. But apparently Subaru sent engineers over to Aussie to test and figured out that it was the engine tuning issue. So new maps, new spark plugs. Problem solved.

Subaru MI replaced my whole engine. Brought in from land of rising sun, gave me an XV to use (which they offered me after I mentioned how I needed a high riding car for my work) and now I have back my Forester and loving the new engine with the brand new tune. No more problems. And apparently they are applying this new tune update to the WRXs as well according to some of the Aussies.

Another FXT owner that I met also had the knocking problem, but his engine did not blow. They also gave him a courtesy car while updating his tune.

The engine replacement under warranty was really no fuss at my end. Only needed to hand over the documents to them for the car registration update and reinspection, which MI handled everything. Whole process including testing, inspections etc. took about just over a month from the day it was decided that the engine needs to be replaced.

All the while the attitude I got from MI was generally good and friendly.

For my previous Forester, my review of MI after sales would be neutral.

But this time round, I think they are trying hard to please and making changes and I am happy with the way they took responsibility and dealt with the problem. Of course not the record breaking award winning red carpet service, but definitely much better than some other car brands that my company owns.
Wow... That's interesting. I purchased my first scooby in jan 2010. I have to say that it's a great car. No headaches but towards the end of the warranty period, I experienced some slight knocking sound coming from the front suspension. I went to MI and ask them to check. Once I reached there, they said all the ram have been used and I need to wait for about 30-40 mins. I agreed and waited. When e ram was free, they didn't bother to check and I had to ask the technician in charge. He asked the problem again and I told him about the slight knocking sound. Guess what he said after that! He told me that he needs at least 1/2 day to check the knocking sound and asked me to come back 2 days later in the morning for checking. No guarantees that the correction / repairs could be done that day coz they might not have the part!!!!

Argghhh.... My frustrations was, if you need half a day to check at least let me know earlier so that I don't have to wait there for 1 hour like I have nothing better else to do!!!!! mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Left MI and vowed never to return again as my warranty has ended. I don't mind paying for the overcharged service and parts and I only use MOTUL oil. But it's another thing if you don't respect me as a paying customer.

doh.gif
OC4/3
post Jun 4 2014, 09:10 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jun 4 2014, 06:34 PM)

Buy Subaru if:

On the bright side:
- TUUUUUUURBO!

People who drive these sort of car usually will DIY or have their own workshop that does maintenance/mod on car like that
Driving enthusiast car & go back SC is rclxub.gif

joker98
post Jun 4 2014, 09:13 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jun 4 2014, 08:41 PM)
Wow... That's interesting. I purchased my first scooby in jan 2010. I have to say that it's a great car. No headaches but towards the end of the warranty period, I experienced some slight knocking sound coming from the front suspension. I went to MI and ask them to check. Once I reached there, they said all the ram have been used and I need to wait for about 30-40 mins. I agreed and waited. When e ram was free, they didn't bother to check and I had to ask the technician in charge. He asked the problem again and I told him about the slight knocking sound. Guess what he said after that! He told me that he needs at least 1/2 day to check the knocking sound and asked me to come back 2 days later in the morning for checking. No guarantees that the correction / repairs could be done that day coz they might not have the part!!!!

Argghhh.... My frustrations was, if you need half a day to check  at least let me know earlier so that I don't have to wait there for 1 hour like I have nothing better else to do!!!!!  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

Left MI and vowed never to return again as my warranty has ended. I don't mind paying for the overcharged service and parts and I only use MOTUL oil. But it's another thing if you don't respect me as a paying customer.

doh.gif
Yah that sounds frustrating. But I can see their efforts to improve the after sales recently. I believe they are really trying to penetrate the market. Whether they succeed or not is a different discussion. But I honestly am quite glad with their improvement and hope they continue to improve.

I mean even with the DIT engine problem, which I expected anyway. New engine and all. Now that they figured it out the DIT engine with their CVT is really really something. At first I thought damn....CVT.....sure feel sluggish even compared to the ancient 4At on the previous forester. But I am never happier to be proven wrong by subaru. Its lovely. During the month that I did not get to drive my Fxt, i really felt lethargic each time I needed to drive. Life is good again now smile.gif
wayfeel
post Jun 4 2014, 09:57 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

get how about a v10 recon...alot cheaper, got dual transmission, family type hatch...and performance

ReVolVolution
post Jun 4 2014, 11:43 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 4 2014, 09:10 PM)
People who drive these sort of car usually will DIY or have their own workshop that does maintenance/mod on car like that
Driving enthusiast car & go back SC is  rclxub.gif
Really depends on the drivers. For some drivers, scoobies are all about mods and more mods! To others, scoobies are just the right car to have fun without going through those extensive mods!

chinteck79
post Jun 5 2014, 04:41 AM

59 posts

New Teana owner will get priority service in Nissan SC. Much like vip customer. U can have access to their service manager, priority service bay and guaranteed time to get back your car. But teana is just like normal passenger car with soft suspension n normal engine performance as compared to legacy.

I like legacy as well but thinking of the number of that model on the road really spook me about the availability of parts. If warranty still ok but after warranty it will be a nightmare. Really hate it when u got no choice and everything have to go back to authorizes SC. No problem if u got deep pocket.

There is another car is in high demand now, the merc cla. But problem is the waiting list is 1 year at the moment.
sleepwalker
post Jun 5 2014, 09:02 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jun 4 2014, 05:32 PM)
that I can't say le ~ for CBU car parts wait 1week also can't wait ,if compare to other brand need 1month then That brand can't buy le ~ maybe that ur daily car u can't wait and have to find half cut ~ yes half cut is cheap but is already use ,lucky u get good condition ,bad luck 1month need change again ~

Is good if MI got provide car for customer if wait for parts ~ currently I know is without that service la~ I think for honda and Toyota CBU car parts also need wait 1~2 weeks to get it if without stock ~
Please note that most parts that wear out are 'CBU' parts. If you understand what CKD means, you'd know that important parts and parts that are difficult to source locally are knocked down and sent here for reassembly. Almost all the parts that I mentioned in my previous post are not CKD parts that is sourced locally. So that makes no difference whether the car is CKD or CBU.

Just like the XV now, it is CKD but majority of the parts under the hood like air-con compressor, steering rack, suspension, windscreen (low volume sales, very good chance it is not made locally) are very likely to be 'CBU' parts since it is not replaced with a locally made version.

CKD does not automatically means that most parts are local. You can knockdown the entire car, send it to Malaysia's assembly plant and just use local tyre and seats and that is considered as CKD while the rest of the car is original from overseas.
sleepwalker
post Jun 5 2014, 09:10 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jun 4 2014, 09:57 PM)
get how about a v10 recon...alot cheaper, got dual transmission, family type hatch...and performance
I'm thinking exactly the same thing but what the heck do you mean by 'dual transmission'? tongue.gif
ReVolVolution
post Jun 5 2014, 11:07 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jun 4 2014, 09:57 PM)
v10 does not have "dual transmission". I believe you meant DSG type but still not available on v10 or even v11. v11s are now using CVTs. Anyway, the v10s are using 5 speed autos.

It is a great car as it does fill all the criteria - family hatchback, performance based and practical for daily use. Been using it since 2010. The only downside is the FC. Don't expect good / great fuel economy from a 300bhp vehicle! I believe same goes with the Legacy too.

I had a call from a subaru SA to sell me a 2013 Legacy at a good price. Was tempted to change but... second thought, I decided to keep my v10 and be happy about it!

Why?

Simply because I love my v10 and I have 2nd and 3rd car to satisfy me on other areas such as FC, comfort etc.

Also, when I asked the SA about trade ins, he said he'll get high price trade ins. When he asked what car, and I replied v10, the next statement he made was hilarious - "Erm... better you sell it yourself lah". Being a scooby SA and not willing to take the challenge to get the high trade in price says a lot on the brand and the quality of their SAs.

cheers!

zenockl85
post Jun 5 2014, 01:38 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 5 2014, 09:02 AM)
Please note that most parts that wear out are 'CBU' parts. If you understand what CKD means, you'd know that important parts and parts that are difficult to source locally are knocked down and sent here for reassembly. Almost all the parts that I mentioned in my previous post are not CKD parts that is sourced locally. So that makes no difference whether the car is CKD or CBU.

Just like the XV now, it is CKD but majority of the parts under the hood like air-con compressor, steering rack, suspension, windscreen (low volume sales, very good chance it is not made locally) are very likely to be 'CBU' parts since it is not replaced with a locally made version.

CKD does not automatically means that most parts are local. You can knockdown the entire car, send it to Malaysia's assembly plant and just use local tyre and seats and that is considered as CKD while the rest of the car is original from overseas.
bro as ur mention parts in ur wrs sti sure hard get in malaysia ,dun forget ur car is a CBU & performance car ~ is a good news for u also still can get at nearest country even though cant get in malaysia ~ at least u know where can find the new 1 and period to waiting ~ try compare with other brand CBU performance car see how long u need to wait ~

for XV as CKD car ~ yes majority parts is from japan ~ but for parts as u mention about as i know windscreen , absorbers, break pad , etc majorlity wear and tear parts also supply by local ~ all the CBU parts sure can least long time ~

u think go get a CKD project so easy meh ~ government so eazy approve u do CKD just import the parts and assembly here then sold as CKD price?? sure got some term and condition ~ if not XV can sell with current price with full spec version le ~

zenockl85
post Jun 5 2014, 01:55 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jun 5 2014, 11:07 AM)
v10 does not have "dual transmission". I believe you meant DSG type but still not available on v10 or even v11. v11s are now using CVTs. Anyway, the v10s are using 5 speed autos.

It is a great car as it does fill all the criteria - family hatchback, performance based and practical for daily use. Been using it since 2010. The only downside is the FC. Don't expect good / great fuel economy from a 300bhp vehicle! I believe same goes with the Legacy too.

I had a call from a subaru SA to sell me a 2013 Legacy at a good price. Was tempted to change but... second thought, I decided to keep my v10 and be happy about it!

Why?

Simply because I love my v10 and I have 2nd and 3rd car to satisfy me on other areas such as FC, comfort etc.

Also, when I asked the SA about trade ins, he said he'll get high price trade ins. When he asked what car, and I replied v10, the next statement he made was hilarious - "Erm... better you sell it yourself lah". Being a scooby SA and not willing to take the challenge to get the high trade in price says a lot on the brand and the quality of their SAs.

cheers!
not the scooby SA dun wan sell at high price their also base by user car pricing ~ yes we have high trade in price ~ but not enough to cover ur expecting price ~

subaru legacy sure better FC if compare with WRX STI ~ legacy is a family car with performance ~ fuji heavy industry sure will consider about the FC of legacy ~
TSxuzen
post Jun 5 2014, 02:34 PM

4,436 posts

If buy from grey mkt or second hand car dealer e.g. a used Legacy/WRX Sti ... MI will service or not? If not, go where for servicing?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 5 2014, 02:34 PM
pai3355
post Jun 5 2014, 02:52 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 5 2014, 02:34 PM)
If buy from grey mkt or second hand car dealer e.g. a used Legacy/WRX Sti ... MI will service or not? If not, go where for servicing?

Xuzen
they sure will do. I saw a few old subarus at HQ n dat means MI still can do servicing and supply parts even for old vehicles
ReVolVolution
post Jun 5 2014, 03:29 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jun 5 2014, 01:55 PM)
not the scooby SA dun wan sell at high price their also base by user car pricing ~ yes we have high trade in price ~ but not enough to cover ur expecting price ~

subaru legacy sure better FC if compare with WRX STI ~ legacy is a family car with performance ~ fuji heavy industry  sure will consider about the FC of legacy ~
Let me put it this way. Subaru is a cold brand in Malaysia. As a cold brand, the SAs need to be 200% better than those hot selling brands like H or T. You'll need to take the extra mile to satisfy your customers. Am sure that Subaru is giving higher commissions than those hot brands.

When I bought my scooby in 2010, I had a great SA. He went to the extra mile to ensure that I had a great trade in price. He called a few dealers and got me a great price on trade in and a good discount on the scooby. He ensured that I receive the best value and service. He did outshine as a SA. As a reward, I tipped him RM 500 on the day of my car collection! Yes, RM 500 in CASH for him! I know he had gotten commissions from the sale of the car as well as the 3M tint that I installed. However, good SAs like this is hard to find and I'm one who likes to reward people like this!

For the recent scooby SA, he didn't even bother to get quotations from other dealers and just say it's better for me to sell on my own. Come on. We are buying a car that's over RM 200k! This is the range of Mercedes and Beemers. People who buys this brand should come from above average income. At least show some courtesy by checking on the price OR at least be hungry for your own sales!

Anyway, I decided to keep my scooby and am now thinkiing of changing one of my other car to the new Merc W205. Sorry Motor Image Malaysia, you've lost a potential REPEAT customer.

sleepwalker
post Jun 5 2014, 03:31 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jun 5 2014, 01:38 PM)
bro as ur mention parts in ur wrs sti sure hard get in malaysia ,dun forget ur car is a CBU & performance car ~ is a good news for u also still can get at nearest country even though cant get in malaysia ~ at least u know where can find the new 1 and period to waiting ~ try compare with other brand CBU performance car see how long u need to wait ~

for XV as CKD car ~ yes majority parts is from japan ~ but for parts as u mention about as i know windscreen , absorbers,  break pad , etc majorlity wear and tear parts also supply by local ~ all the CBU parts sure can least long time ~

u think go get a CKD project so easy meh ~ government so eazy approve u do CKD just import the parts and assembly here then sold as CKD price?? sure got some term and condition ~ if not XV can sell with current price with full spec version le ~
Dude.. my WRX is from MI so there's no excuse from MI to not have parts to service a car that they sold. I don't blame them if they don't have STi parts in which is why NONE of my STi buddies would even bother to go to MI.

The terms and conditions are not difficult, the more local parts used, the higher the rebate the gov gives back as incentives. It is not difficult to setup shop in Malaysia. It is just that people don't want to do it because there are better alternatives in Thailand (that is until they lost their gov). They also don't want to open shop here due to the 'unfair' incentives that Proton/Perodua gets form the Gov. The NAP also create havoc when the Gov changes their mind every 1-2 years. The recent removal of hybrid incentives for CKD hybrid at the end of 2015 was one of them and pretty much screwed up Honda as they are assembling the Jazz here. Mercedes just launched their CKD hybrid but that would meant they were setting their CKD hybrid in Malaysia last year before they announcement. I guess they are also screwed after 2015.
Xu3r
post Jun 5 2014, 03:35 PM

134 posts

The WRX STI 2015 is awesome
zenockl85
post Jun 5 2014, 03:35 PM

23 posts

Xuzen
service is available for recond legacy ~ cos parts and oil are using same ~ should be no problem ~
sleepwalker
post Jun 5 2014, 03:46 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jun 5 2014, 03:29 PM)
Let me put it this way. Subaru is a cold brand in Malaysia. As a cold brand, the SAs need to be 200% better than those hot selling brands like H or T. You'll need to take the extra mile to satisfy your customers. Am sure that Subaru is giving higher commissions than those hot brands.

When I bought my scooby in 2010, I had a great SA. He went to the extra mile to ensure that I had a great trade in price. He called a few dealers and got me a great price on trade in and a good discount on the scooby. He ensured that I receive the best value and service. He did outshine as a SA. As a reward, I tipped him RM 500 on the day of my car collection! Yes, RM 500 in CASH for him! I know he had gotten commissions from the sale of the car as well as the 3M tint that I installed. However, good SAs like this is hard to find and I'm one who likes to reward people like this!

For the recent scooby SA, he didn't even bother to get quotations from other dealers and just say it's better for me to sell on my own. Come on. We are buying a car that's over RM 200k! This is the range of Mercedes and Beemers. People who buys this brand should come from above average income. At least show some courtesy by checking on the price OR at least be hungry for your own sales!

Anyway, I decided to keep my scooby and am now thinkiing of changing one of my other car to the new Merc W205. Sorry Motor Image Malaysia, you've lost a potential REPEAT customer.
You can always sell me your scooby if you don't want it and I promise I won't take it back to MI for servicing. tongue.gif

My friends recent encounter with a Honda SA reflects your sentiment of a good SA. She's trying to trade in her old Myvi (9 years) for the new City. Honda SA said their own ' Honda secondhand dealers' has no market for old Myvi but outstation might have. So they put in the extra effort to try to sell the car in Melaka, anywhere as long as it is outside of Kelang Valley to get a better trade-in price. At least they did not stuck up their noses and said that Myvi has no value go sell it yourself. Even H and T SAs are working extra hard to push their cars.

I always thought that trading up will always give better price when you bring the car back and trade it for a newer or better model. I guess that does not apply to Subaru. I guess my business is also going to grey importers too.
sleepwalker
post Jun 5 2014, 03:47 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Jun 5 2014, 03:35 PM)
The WRX STI 2015 is awesome
The new 2015 WRX is awesome... the 2015 WRX STi is not that awesome as it is using the old engine and drivetrain from the old Subaru WRX STi.
Xu3r
post Jun 5 2014, 03:53 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 5 2014, 03:47 PM)
The new 2015 WRX is awesome... the 2015 WRX STi is not that awesome as it is using the old engine and drivetrain from the old Subaru WRX STi.
its from 2008 still the power is there

OC4/3
post Jun 5 2014, 04:51 PM

4,746 posts

Xuzen
Find the best workshop that specialize in servicing/modding Subaru
MI will service yes but maybe extra price because you does not buy a car from them
Typically people who own car like STI/EVO are performance junkie & have their own contact or they will learn to DIY
For weekend car why don't you consider something that really give you sense of occasion like a Lotus Exige S or something along the line of that
Those are what i call weekend car
ReVolVolution
post Jun 5 2014, 05:57 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 5 2014, 03:46 PM)
You can always sell me your scooby if you don't want it and I promise I won't take it back to MI for servicing. tongue.gif

My friends recent encounter with a Honda SA reflects your sentiment of a good SA. She's trying to trade in her old Myvi (9 years) for the new City. Honda SA said their own ' Honda secondhand dealers' has no market for old Myvi but outstation might have. So they put in the extra effort to try to sell the car in Melaka, anywhere as long as it is outside of Kelang Valley to get a better trade-in price. At least they did not stuck up their noses and said that Myvi has no value go sell it yourself. Even H and T SAs are working extra hard to push their cars.

I always thought that trading up will always give better price when you bring the car back and trade it for a newer or better model. I guess that does not apply to Subaru. I guess my business is also going to grey importers too.
haha... will consider bro rolleyes.gif

Anyway, yes.... most of the SAs are really pushing hard on their sales nowadays. So if Motor Image is serious on making a big impact on Malaysian market, the Subaru SAs should be working harder to improve their service and sales quality. Same goes to their Service Centers as well.

ReVolVolution
post Jun 5 2014, 05:58 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 5 2014, 04:51 PM)
Find the best workshop that specialize in servicing/modding Subaru
MI will service yes but maybe extra price because you does not buy a car from them
Typically people who own car like STI/EVO are performance junkie & have their own contact or they will learn to DIY
For weekend car why don't you consider something that really give you sense of occasion like a Lotus Exige S or something along the line of that
Those are what i call weekend car
Lotus is nice. You should also consider Cayman S as a weekend car too! biggrin.gif
sleepwalker
post Jun 5 2014, 06:28 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jun 5 2014, 05:58 PM)
Lotus is nice. You should also consider Cayman S as a weekend car too!  biggrin.gif
How did a topic that started with Camry, Accord, Teana and Legacy ended up with Cayman S? rclxub.gif

Hahahhahaha....

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jun 5 2014, 06:28 PM
wayfeel
post Jun 5 2014, 09:04 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 5 2014, 09:10 AM)
I'm thinking exactly the same thing but what the heck do you mean by 'dual transmission'?  tongue.gif
QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Jun 5 2014, 11:07 AM)
Oooo I look. I thought is a 'shiftronic' type/ala dsg biggrin.gif sowri...

ya, fc is a serious concern if for daily ride Especially for those do sale one unless deep pocket.

Frens said scooby wrx /evo about to a little over 200km/fulltank on light weight foot?

zenockl85
post Jun 6 2014, 12:29 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jun 5 2014, 09:04 PM)
Oooo I look. I thought is a 'shiftronic' type/ala dsg biggrin.gif sowri...

ya, fc is a serious concern if for daily ride Especially for those do sale one unless deep pocket.

Frens said scooby wrx /evo about to a little over 200km/fulltank on light weight foot?
I pervious look around WRX STI ~ using ron97 around 45cent ~50cent per KM ~

Try ask bro sleepwalker
hawkl
post Jun 6 2014, 12:34 AM

317 posts

how bout think about Kia Optima.... I drove once... the experience is like driving a BMW...
OC4/3
post Jun 6 2014, 01:37 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 5 2014, 06:28 PM)
How did a topic that started with Camry, Accord, Teana and Legacy ended up with Cayman S?  rclxub.gif

Hahahhahaha....
TS want a weekend car leh laugh.gif
Weekend car=Something terrible impractical in my book
sleepwalker
post Jun 6 2014, 09:15 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 6 2014, 01:37 AM)
TS want a weekend car leh laugh.gif
Weekend car=Something terrible impractical in my book
TS wanted D-Segment.. then got rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif by everybody here until Porsche Cayman S came out. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jun 6 2014, 09:23 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 6 2014, 02:06 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 5 2014, 03:47 PM)
is there specific reason why the new STI is using back old engine/drive train? not enough confidence for the new DIT/drivetrain systems?
Quazacolt
post Jun 6 2014, 02:09 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 6 2014, 09:15 AM)
TS wanted D-Segment.. then got  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif by everybody here until Porsche Cayman S came out.  rclxms.gif
yeah, since some of the weekend stuff does include long distance iinm
right xuzen ?

with that the legacy is one of the better choice, or a teana v6 (can't comment on the newer teana with inline 4 sorry)

if the budget can stretch, obviously the likes of a evo/wrx sti can be a better candidate albeit the ride comfort/long distance will have to compromise a bit.
and by budget stretching, it goes long term too as maintaining an actual sports car is no simple (and no doubt expensive) task smile.gif
sleepwalker
post Jun 6 2014, 03:45 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 6 2014, 02:06 PM)
is there specific reason why the new STI is using back old engine/drive train? not enough confidence for the new DIT/drivetrain systems?
Good question.. only Subaru can answer that. As for the drivetrain, there's always been a big difference between the WRX and WRX STi in the form of 2 LSDs and the DCCD. So you can almost say that the entire drivetrain is different from the standard WRX even in previous generations.

The 2015 WRX gets a new FA engine and gearbox but I guess they haven't have the chance to incorporate that into the STi.

Just like how they went from the GC8 to the New Age scooby. The DCCD wasn't incorporated in the V7 Bugeye STi except for the special types like S202, RA and Spec-C I think. However from V8 onwards all STi have the DCCD as standard.

So I guess we'd just have to wait and see. Maybe the S207 will have it..
Quazacolt
post Jun 6 2014, 03:52 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 6 2014, 03:45 PM)
Good question.. only Subaru can answer that. As for the drivetrain, there's always been a big difference between the WRX and WRX STi in the form of 2 LSDs and the DCCD. So you can almost say that the entire drivetrain is different from the standard WRX even in previous generations.

The 2015 WRX gets a new FA engine and gearbox but I guess they haven't have the chance to incorporate that into the STi.

Just like how they went from the GC8 to the New Age scooby. The DCCD wasn't incorporated in the V7 Bugeye STi except for the special types like S202, RA and Spec-C I think. However from V8 onwards all STi have the DCCD as standard.

So I guess we'd just have to wait and see. Maybe the S207 will have it..
aye, hopefully my career can allow me to own one in ~7 years time (after i pay off my new inspira lol)
TSxuzen
post Jun 6 2014, 03:58 PM

4,436 posts

Trawling and trawling the internet and the 2015 WRX is really cool. Actually more than cool! Darn itchy to get it, feels like want to go to MI this weekend and place my deposit liao. But after hearing the bad MI service and expensive maintanence... scare liao. Bola kecut!

Should I stay safe and just get the F3cking New Teana 2.5XV and be just an ordinary and regular Mat Joe.

Xuzen

P/S I F3cking want the red one!

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 6 2014, 03:59 PM
Quazacolt
post Jun 6 2014, 04:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 6 2014, 03:58 PM)

brows.gif rolleyes.gif

it'll come down to my advice previously: go test drive yourself and you'll get your answer smile.gif
TSxuzen
post Jun 6 2014, 04:14 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 6 2014, 04:01 PM)

brows.gif  rolleyes.gif

it'll come down to my advice previously: go test drive yourself and you'll get your answer smile.gif
Arggggggghhhhhh! I warn you my dear good sir, I would have reported you to the admin for propagating automotive p0rn. But then, I am off weak and feeble mind and cannot resist looking at such wonderful p0rn. Hence, let's indulge in this automotive p0rn together.

Xuzen

p/s Motor Image said stock coming end of Dec. Launching and booking starts in Jul-14.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 6 2014, 04:15 PM
sleepwalker
post Jun 6 2014, 04:39 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 6 2014, 04:14 PM)
Arggggggghhhhhh! I warn you my dear good sir, I would have reported you to the admin for propagating automotive p0rn. But then, I am off weak and feeble mind and cannot resist looking at such wonderful p0rn. Hence, let's indulge in this automotive p0rn together.

Xuzen

p/s Motor Image said stock coming end of Dec. Launching and booking starts in Jul-14.
And it will be on the high end of 200K.. numbers are being thrown around at 276k to 296k... we'd just have to wait and see. Anything less than that will be a bonus.
ReVolVolution
post Jun 6 2014, 04:46 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 6 2014, 04:39 PM)
And it will be on the high end of 200K.. numbers are being thrown around at 276k to 296k... we'd just have to wait and see. Anything less than that will be a bonus.
To me, that's way over priced.V10 Sti is selling at rm260k and that's without discount yet. The V11 WRX should be selling at rm200k or so.

anyway, if they are selling higher, the our scoobies should not depreciate that much! wink.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 6 2014, 05:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 6 2014, 04:14 PM)

Xuzen

unsure.gif

but yea what sleepwalker said, new car release, can't expect much discount. the older ones however, cold door brand, HUGE discounts tongue.gif
zenockl85
post Jun 7 2014, 01:41 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 6 2014, 03:58 PM)
Trawling and trawling the internet and the 2015 WRX is really cool. Actually more than cool! Darn itchy to get it, feels like want to go to MI this weekend and place my deposit liao. But after hearing the bad MI service and expensive maintanence... scare liao. Bola kecut!

Should I stay safe and just get the F3cking New Teana 2.5XV and be just an ordinary and regular Mat Joe.

Xuzen

Normal service and maintenance is quiet reasonable price la for performance car~ if some thing parts broken or damage still can enjoy 5years warranty ~

try consider the 2015 Subaru WRX ~ sure different experience compare with normal sedan car ~
TSxuzen
post Jun 7 2014, 10:44 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 6 2014, 04:39 PM)
Anything above RM250k mad.gif and I am heading towards the Nissan showroom blush.gif

Xuzen
zenockl85
post Jun 7 2014, 07:53 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 7 2014, 10:44 AM)
Anything above RM250k  mad.gif and I am heading towards the Nissan showroom  blush.gif

Xuzen
below 250k car u just can go to legacy le~ new WRX and STI will be more then than ~
TSxuzen
post Jun 13 2014, 11:52 PM

4,436 posts

Golf GTI Tech Spec dropped RM 20K to be around RM 210K.... bye bye Subaru, if their WRX 2015 launch price is RM 250K.

VWM service center dekat dekat aje... no need for me to drive all the way to PJ for MI service center.

Xuzen

zenockl85
post Jun 14 2014, 12:01 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 13 2014, 11:52 PM)
Golf GTI Tech Spec dropped RM 20K to be around RM 210K.... bye bye Subaru, if their WRX 2015 launch price is RM 250K.

VWM service center dekat dekat aje... no need for me to drive all the way to PJ for MI service center.

Xuzen
Ooooo Noooooo doh.gif ~ im still wait the price come out ~
TSxuzen
post Jun 14 2014, 06:46 AM

4,436 posts

VWM people pandai do marketing, if MI want to do sell, they have to work harder to chase customers like me.

I love competition.... Makes buyers like me fell so Shiok!

Xuzen
pai3355
post Jun 14 2014, 08:57 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 14 2014, 06:46 AM)
VWM people pandai do marketing, if MI want to do sell, they have to work harder to chase customers like me.

I love competition.... Makes buyers like me fell so Shiok!

Xuzen
so now u going for teana or golf gti ? smile.gif
TSxuzen
post Jun 14 2014, 11:42 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Jun 14 2014, 08:57 AM)
so now u going for teana or golf gti  ? smile.gif
Test drived the Teana liao. OK lar... still el cheapo. Test drived the new Mazda6 also. It has more Wow factor. But Mazda6 price is also WOW!

I am torn between being a responsible family man (and go for comfort & prestige ala Teana 2.5XV) or to satisfy my inner boy-racer persona and go for Golf GTI.

That is why still undecided.

Xuzen
joker98
post Jun 14 2014, 03:30 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 13 2014, 11:52 PM)

Xuzen
Golf gti was overpriced in the first place in my opinion.

I would think the wrx 2015 with CVT would be tagged around low 240ish k and possibly with some early bird discount like when I bought the Fxt, which was 10k. Till today they reduced the discount and replaced with some free stuff.

I feel you should give wrx a go. After all it is more powerful than gti with awd and definitely more practical in terms of space. As in another thread sleepwalker mentioned about putting down more than 200hp on 2wd and compared to awd is a different world. And also as he mentioned, if you move to sti its a different universe, which I totally agree.

This post has been edited by joker98: Jun 14 2014, 03:31 PM
TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:02 PM

4,436 posts

So far in my journey towards a fun/weekend car I have test driven three cars, namely Teana 2.5XV, 2014 Mazda6 & Golf GTI (MK-VII). I am waiting to test drive the 2015 WRX when she comes to Malaysia (circa end of 2014). For some Kopitiam flavour I will try to match the female celebrities to these car:

Let's start with the Teana 2.5XV:

Safe, comfort, motherly.... like the decent looking dame Susan Sarandon

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 22 2014, 02:10 PM
TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:07 PM

4,436 posts

Next up: The new 2014 Mazda6

Sexy, drop dead gorgeous, head turner...just like the ultimate trophy wife

Fan Bingbing.

TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:13 PM

4,436 posts

Next's up the Golf GTI MK-VII:

Chic, sophisticated, urban, go-getter, the ultimate date....Emma Watson.

TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:21 PM

4,436 posts

And finally... something on my bucket list and I have not test driven yet: The REX!

She's tough, strong, muscular, agile. She looks hot even when she's down, dirty, sweaty and covered in dirt and grime. She's a fighter... Emily Blunt as Rita Vrataski (Edge of Tomorrow)

and Michelle Rodriguez as Letty Ortiz (Fast & Furious)

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 22 2014, 02:23 PM
ReVolVolution
post Oct 27 2015, 11:31 AM

311 posts

Bring up this thread as it's been more than 1 year, but TS didn't mention whether he bought the Legacy or other makes?

TSxuzen
post Oct 27 2015, 01:10 PM

4,436 posts

tak ada beli.... instead bought a Honda City Full spec. Sorry....
subaru555
post Oct 27 2015, 04:07 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 27 2015, 01:10 PM)
tak ada beli.... instead bought a Honda City Full spec. Sorry....
Wow! From legacy to Honda city is a very very big difference!
McFD2R
post Oct 27 2015, 05:35 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Oct 27 2015, 04:07 PM)
Wow! From legacy to Honda city is a very very big difference!
Yup, based on his earlier choices of Camry, Teana and Accord. That's a big difference. But probably a smart choice. We men tend to want what we desire, rather than what we can actually afford or what we actually need. Maybe he realise he doesn't need a bigger capacity car based on how he travels and the size of his family. No point stretching the budget.
TSxuzen
post Oct 27 2015, 09:36 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Oct 27 2015, 05:35 PM)
Yup, based on his earlier choices of Camry, Teana and Accord. That's a big difference. But probably a smart choice. We men tend to want what we desire, rather than what we can actually afford or what we actually need. Maybe he realise he doesn't need a bigger capacity car based on how he travels and the size of his family. No point stretching the budget.
My accountant brain overide my boy-racer brain....

Xuzen

0.0456sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:26 PM