Subaru Legacy, Is it worth it compared to Conti?

TSxuzen
post Jun 2 2014, 11:55 AM, updated 11y ago

4,436 posts

Hello,

I am a total noob to this forum.

Here goes my query to all the car enthusiast here. I am ready to upgrade to D-segment by next year June-15, latest. Of course the usual suspects spring to my mind: Camry, Teana and Accord. I have trawling around the internet for a while, reading up on the D-segments' offering in Malaysian market.

However, something caught my mind. Subaru Legacy. Read many good reviews about it but mainly from Ang-mohs or mat-salleh forums. So my question is, is this car so good? For RM 250K price tag, is it better to go Conti?

My requirement:

I) Driving pleasure. It will be more like my weekend car or pleasure car, as my usual day to day wheel will still be my eight year old MYVI.

II) Resale value is not important as I will drive it like for the next 10 or 12 years. (I rarely change car)

III) Spare part easy to get (no need to wait months and months to order in) and will not cost me a bomb.

IV) Fuel consumption reasonable within class expectation.

V) Something that will not be too flashy to potential robber like a Beemer or a Merz.

Thank you all for your input.

Xuzen

TSxuzen
post Jun 2 2014, 09:14 PM

4,436 posts

Thanks for all the reply so far. I am still digesting them.

Looks like Teana is a good alternative and I will keep her in my radar. I think the price is a good pull factor for me.

I need to add something, speed is not a must have for me, simply because in Malaysia, our highway speed limit is only 110kmh. So to avoid traffic fine, it is no point driving fast or having a fast car.

But I rank driving pleasure and road handling very highly.

I checked out the new Mazda6 out, between the new mazda6, new Teana & Legacy, which one will give the best road handling? Legacy?

Seriously, Legacy price is a huge turn off for me.

@Vey99, you think I would be better to get a real sport car as my weekend car? WRX STI? sweat.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 2 2014, 09:17 PM
TSxuzen
post Jun 3 2014, 09:02 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 2 2014, 02:48 PM)
Subaru spare parts in Malaysia? What's that?  tongue.gif

At least for the Impreza WRX/STi there are numbers from the grey market that makes up a little demand for spares. Of course, XV numbers will also generate spares but that is all new spare parts. Legacy would almost have no demand for spares in Malaysia as there's hardly any on the road. Singapore might have.
xuzen
Which Legacy are you looking at? Grey Import models or local MI model? Local MI model is still the older version of the current model that is using the old EJ25 engine and not the new FB25.

Do keep in mind that the Legacy 2.5GT engine is not tuned like the ones in the Impreza WRX STi, so don't expect it to fly like one.

Also the 6th generation Legacy is suppose to be out this year or next as the current model is 5 years old.
Sleepwalker,

Do you mean it is very difficult to get spare parts of Legacy? That is a huge turn-off then....

I am looking at MI version of course, I am not a car enthusiast hence I know not of grey importers.

Some respondent suggest me to get the STi instead as a weekend car, if that is the case.... how does this compare to Golf R or Focus ST? I have been trawling the internet so i know little bit but not enough to make informed or definitive decision yet.... They are all in the similar price range.

Xuzen

TSxuzen
post Jun 3 2014, 09:19 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(zenockl85 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:11 PM)
Just search around legacy owner is the car always break down and need to change parts?
Subaru now already different from pass 20years ~ any spare parts unavailable in Malaysia , SG sure got keep stock ~
MI in SG is the HQ for handle Southeast Asia market ~

main different technology in Legacy compare with other Dsegment car in market is symatrical AWD system ~ no any car in market Dsegment car are using it ~
Symatrical AWD naturally already giving u a good handling with minimum electronic parts~ that is what of value u buy a Subaru ~
That is the problem, no one around me or my circle of friends has any idea about Subaru. When I tell them about Legacy, they say I crazy liao!

My father in his 70's said Subaru of yesteryears were good car, problem in Malaysia cannot get parts, that is why they lost market share here.

But the saving grace is if I have a Legacy, I know that I get to drive a luxury marque without advertising to the world I am rich hence rob me, and that is something comforting to know. To the unknown, a Legacy is just another car....

Xuzen

TSxuzen
post Jun 4 2014, 01:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 4 2014, 10:53 AM)
It is not about always breaking down. Car parts will eventually breakdown whether it is a Subaru or a Proton. Parts will also wear out like the dampers/suspension and brake pads. Air con compressors will fail in the long run and steering racks will leak. Broken windscreen takes MI weeks to get from SG or even Japan. My leaky steering rack was quoted about RM8000 and about one week to get from MI but I managed to source from halfcut for much much less. My car could no longer be driven since all the power steering fluid will leak out in 10 mins of driving. Luckily managed to get from half cut in half a day.

If the TS were to get anything from MI, I would suggest that a written guarantee is to be drafted between him and MI so that in the event that parts are not available, MI will provide a substitute car if his car needs to wait for parts. Imagine the outcry if Toyota and Honda owners had to wait for parts. Even if MI SG is available, the parts are not hand carried in and takes time.
Thanks for your honest feedback, really appreciate it man. I will stay far far away from MI products now.

BTW, I got a PM from a MI salesperson and he/she is offering the 2011 Legacy wagon at clearance price of RM215K. Nearly tempted. After hearing this from a real owner, I will run far far way!

Looks like it will be a Teana 2.5XV for me then.

Xuzen
TSxuzen
post Jun 5 2014, 02:34 PM

4,436 posts

If buy from grey mkt or second hand car dealer e.g. a used Legacy/WRX Sti ... MI will service or not? If not, go where for servicing?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 5 2014, 02:34 PM
TSxuzen
post Jun 6 2014, 03:58 PM

4,436 posts

Trawling and trawling the internet and the 2015 WRX is really cool. Actually more than cool! Darn itchy to get it, feels like want to go to MI this weekend and place my deposit liao. But after hearing the bad MI service and expensive maintanence... scare liao. Bola kecut!

Should I stay safe and just get the F3cking New Teana 2.5XV and be just an ordinary and regular Mat Joe.

Xuzen

P/S I F3cking want the red one!

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 6 2014, 03:59 PM
TSxuzen
post Jun 6 2014, 04:14 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 6 2014, 04:01 PM)

brows.gif  rolleyes.gif

it'll come down to my advice previously: go test drive yourself and you'll get your answer smile.gif
Arggggggghhhhhh! I warn you my dear good sir, I would have reported you to the admin for propagating automotive p0rn. But then, I am off weak and feeble mind and cannot resist looking at such wonderful p0rn. Hence, let's indulge in this automotive p0rn together.

Xuzen

p/s Motor Image said stock coming end of Dec. Launching and booking starts in Jul-14.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 6 2014, 04:15 PM
TSxuzen
post Jun 7 2014, 10:44 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jun 6 2014, 04:39 PM)
And it will be on the high end of 200K.. numbers are being thrown around at 276k to 296k... we'd just have to wait and see. Anything less than that will be a bonus.
Anything above RM250k mad.gif and I am heading towards the Nissan showroom blush.gif

Xuzen
TSxuzen
post Jun 13 2014, 11:52 PM

4,436 posts

Golf GTI Tech Spec dropped RM 20K to be around RM 210K.... bye bye Subaru, if their WRX 2015 launch price is RM 250K.

VWM service center dekat dekat aje... no need for me to drive all the way to PJ for MI service center.

Xuzen

TSxuzen
post Jun 14 2014, 06:46 AM

4,436 posts

VWM people pandai do marketing, if MI want to do sell, they have to work harder to chase customers like me.

I love competition.... Makes buyers like me fell so Shiok!

Xuzen
TSxuzen
post Jun 14 2014, 11:42 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Jun 14 2014, 08:57 AM)
so now u going for teana or golf gti  ? smile.gif
Test drived the Teana liao. OK lar... still el cheapo. Test drived the new Mazda6 also. It has more Wow factor. But Mazda6 price is also WOW!

I am torn between being a responsible family man (and go for comfort & prestige ala Teana 2.5XV) or to satisfy my inner boy-racer persona and go for Golf GTI.

That is why still undecided.

Xuzen
TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:02 PM

4,436 posts

So far in my journey towards a fun/weekend car I have test driven three cars, namely Teana 2.5XV, 2014 Mazda6 & Golf GTI (MK-VII). I am waiting to test drive the 2015 WRX when she comes to Malaysia (circa end of 2014). For some Kopitiam flavour I will try to match the female celebrities to these car:

Let's start with the Teana 2.5XV:

Safe, comfort, motherly.... like the decent looking dame Susan Sarandon

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 22 2014, 02:10 PM
TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:07 PM

4,436 posts

Next up: The new 2014 Mazda6

Sexy, drop dead gorgeous, head turner...just like the ultimate trophy wife

Fan Bingbing.

TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:13 PM

4,436 posts

Next's up the Golf GTI MK-VII:

Chic, sophisticated, urban, go-getter, the ultimate date....Emma Watson.

TSxuzen
post Jun 22 2014, 02:21 PM

4,436 posts

And finally... something on my bucket list and I have not test driven yet: The REX!

She's tough, strong, muscular, agile. She looks hot even when she's down, dirty, sweaty and covered in dirt and grime. She's a fighter... Emily Blunt as Rita Vrataski (Edge of Tomorrow)

and Michelle Rodriguez as Letty Ortiz (Fast & Furious)

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 22 2014, 02:23 PM
TSxuzen
post Oct 27 2015, 01:10 PM

4,436 posts

tak ada beli.... instead bought a Honda City Full spec. Sorry....
TSxuzen
post Oct 27 2015, 09:36 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Oct 27 2015, 05:35 PM)
Yup, based on his earlier choices of Camry, Teana and Accord. That's a big difference. But probably a smart choice. We men tend to want what we desire, rather than what we can actually afford or what we actually need. Maybe he realise he doesn't need a bigger capacity car based on how he travels and the size of his family. No point stretching the budget.
My accountant brain overide my boy-racer brain....

Xuzen

0.0228sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:59 PM