11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

bb100
post Aug 8 2017, 07:33 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 7 2017, 08:57 PM)
Diamonds not sure, but her signature design looks pretty good from the picture: http://froufrou.my/crest-of-the-maison/

The lady owner also looks gorgeouswub.gif

Just pay a visit and see her work. Good luck!
Got the 四叶草 Joyce Chu feel.

brows.gif
bb100
post Aug 8 2017, 08:08 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(tatshark @ Aug 7 2017, 09:26 PM)
CODE
[color=gray]When I was looking for a engagement ring, I was recommended to look for one at a pawn shop. It does have a good selection of rings. I know at least two people who have [url=https://pawnbat.ca/jewelry/rings/engagement-rings/][color=gray]engagement rings[/color][/url] from there. My gf didn't really care about how much it costed, and wouldn't have been the one for me if she had that as a priority. [/color]

I remember seeing this post here somewhere... hmm.gif This looks rather suspicious with the gray font and hidden link in your post. Some more Joined: Yesterday, 08:19 PM.

Not many can accept second hand stuff when it comes to jewelleries, let alone an engagement ring. It is like telling your girlfriend that she is as good as a used piece of jewellery, and can be easily traded for cash during times of difficulty. shakehead.gif

Besides, you do not know the history behind a pawned jewellery. The owner might have pawned it cuz s/he really needed the money for whatever reasons, or it might have brought bad luck to the owner. Yea I may sound stupid with my speculations, but you can never be too careful when it comes to things like this.

Ohh, by the way...

This post has been edited by bb100: Aug 8 2017, 08:08 AM
bb100
post Aug 8 2017, 09:51 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 8 2017, 09:28 AM)
i tot your gf hotter?  devil.gif oh... wait, is your gf's sister.  brows.gif
Absolutely harom bero!!

By the way bero, fiancée liao.

rclxm9.gif
bb100
post Aug 10 2017, 09:30 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 9 2017, 02:24 PM)

Feeling curious, I have messaged Enchanted Diamonds and see if I can get the diamond images, fingers crossed. At the same time, feel free to check with your vendor and see if he/she can get the images as well.

Good luck.
Forget it bro. They will take years to respond to your image request.
bb100
post Sep 26 2017, 07:43 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(chuckiee @ Sep 25 2017, 08:21 PM)
Yes i am able to view the diamond in real life. 7k for the whole ring together. So preferably not to take this diamond?
Of course skip lahh bro. This diamond cannot make it.

Although it has a 3Ex grade in the report, this belongs to the lower tier of 3Ex. Yes, you heard me right! There are good 3Exes and bad 3Exes out there bro. So don't get fooled by this 3Ex marketing tactic many salesperson use to push their not-so-good diamonds out. They will tell you that GIA already gave it a 3Ex grading, so confirm it will have very good light performance, good proportions, bla bla bla, yadda yadda yadda, roller coaster.

The best way to check if a 3Ex you are looking at is indeed a top range one is by examining the stone under different scopes - ASET and Idealscope for light return, and H&A scope for symmetry.
bb100
post Sep 26 2017, 10:26 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Sep 26 2017, 08:57 AM)
oh you're alive.
Of course I am alive bro! Just seldom visit this thread cuz the hype for me is gone liao. Engagement ring settled, proposal done, wedding bands design almost complete, some more what? Now left house and ROM planning je.
bb100
post Sep 26 2017, 10:55 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Sep 26 2017, 10:54 AM)
staying in SG?
Yes bro. PR liao. Why ask?
bb100
post Sep 26 2017, 07:00 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Sep 26 2017, 11:22 AM)
Curious to know. Not all Msians will stay in SG even if they work there. One of the reasons is probably due to the affordability of the houses there. So, good for you!  :thumbsup:
I will go crazy if I ulang alik from Singapore to JB everyday man cuz of the traffic.
bb100
post Oct 2 2017, 10:59 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(DjS @ Sep 30 2017, 09:44 PM)

but this ring bigger 4 sizes...which i also worry the resizing issue...
i saw my friends after resize become a bit odd shape...like cut at bottom and force clip the cutting end...
while left and right case looks bending and not round curve already

wondering do really the width & length different 0.25mm very much? if nt comparing side by side...
If resize like half size or one size then OK. Resize sampai 4 sizes better not man. Cuz someone posted on this thread a few months ago about a terribly done resizing job by a local jeweller. Totally ruined his ring design and on top of that, his ring became like an egg shape.
bb100
post Oct 3 2017, 07:53 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(DjS @ Oct 2 2017, 10:49 PM)
yes bro...i also quite worry on this.
So i will give up the ring 2 & ring 3 alrd.
Hopefully Ring 1 fire brilliance excellent so blink till cant notice the size of the stone  biggrin.gif 
Dont know why D&P dont sale their "estrella stone" in loose and giving the flexibility for ring matching
Like being force to buy the diamond due to the ring only.  ranting.gif

just dont get it, why the SA over there very confident keep on saying no worries abt resizing, ring its even can reduce to size 7 also no problem.
then i start wondering must b sifu inside very pro  bruce.gif 
heard they not using burn while they using latest laser. so no worry on the sizing matters.

But even so...i still worry...base on the egg shape in previous pages the apparent... doh.gif
Let's say you want Diamond A but prefer Ring B design, but Diamond A is currently set on Ring A. Can't they dismount the diamond and mount it on Ring B instead? If cannot then really strange cuz most shops did offer this option the last time I went and make enquiries.

Bro, let's look at it from the salesperson's perspective. In order to close the deal, they can anyhow tell you anything under the sun. It is up to you to analyse what they say and see if it makes sense. Reduce 7 sizes man! You think what, can just use scissors and trim ahh bro? Impossible this can be done without ruining the design of the ring. So always take the salesperson's words with a pinch of salt, unless you know him/her personally.
bb100
post Oct 5 2017, 08:12 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 5 2017, 04:40 PM)

Ahh, JannPaul. Their Super Ideals are very nice! But if you have a tight budget, I don't really recommend getting one cuz you would not be able to maximise carat weight. Since you ranked carat behind cut, it would be wise to find the perfect balance in between, i.e. the biggest stone with a good enough cut grade.

JannPaul (House of Hung, to be exact) do carry what I call near-Super-Ideal diamonds. These diamonds missed the cut due to one or two flaws in them, be it the HCA score, clarity characteristics, slight arrow misalignment, etc., but they are priced in their Ideal price bracket. My friend got one such diamond for quite a steal, and that particular piece was demoted from Super Ideal because it missed by a mere 0.1 in the HCA score! Yes, everything was of Super Ideal quality except that damn HCA haha.

I got my customised engagement ring from JannPaul as well but it was a heart shaped diamond on a Verragio. I thought that a round brilliant was too mainstream, that's why I opted for something unconventional. Moreover, my SO very subtly hinted that she prefers fancy shapes to round haha. Seriously, that saved me plenty of headache on diamond selection and I was able to really bump my carat weight up by a full 10 points with the heart shape based on my budget. My friend was quoted S$3,900 for his near-Super-Ideal 0.63 F VS1 round brilliant, while my 0.74 E IF heart was S$4,100! That's S$200 for an additional 0.11 carat, but I had to sacrifice on the bling factor. Fancy shapes have no match with their round counterparts in the bling department.

Haha I am sorry for this super long winded reply bro. Ohh yes, forgot to mention that you can actually deal with JannPaul via email instead of going all the way to Singapore. Once you have set your 4Cs requirement and a budget, they will search for a few diamond choices based on these guidelines and email you their scope images without any obligations. But bro, if you are customising your setting from scratch, you need to act fast bro, cuz you only have slightly more than 2 months to work on.

So yea, let me know if you need more details on JannPaul, and feel free to PM me if you would like me to link you to one of their salespersons. Again, sorry for this long reply!
bb100
post Oct 6 2017, 12:56 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 6 2017, 08:55 AM)
No worries bro! Your advice is what I needed now and long winded reply or not, it doesn't matter for me.  thumbup.gif  Ya. I saw your previous post and you got it from JannPaul too. So I am sure your experience with JannPaul has to be good. Whiteflash, Brian Gavin, JannPaul, I have look at their diamonds through picture and videos and is amazing. My only worry about Whiteflash and Brian Gavin is the delivery time. That is why I look at JannPaul too since is just in SG and my little brother and some close friends are working in SG too.

I am sure you been to their shop and viewed their diamonds and rings. Do you think around ~RM7k (~SG$2.2k) I can get my minimum round diamond specs (G, SI1, ~0.4 carat, H&A cut) together with the ring? To bad they don't have website like Brian Gavin and Whiteflash... If not, I can view them all, choose and ask for you guys sifu's opinion on the diamond.
Delivery time is an issue bro, you are right. If I am not wrong, both Whiteflash and Brian Gavin ship with FedEx, one of the most reliable couriers worldwide. But that does not mean the risk of your shipment being delayed is not there, you see. Your package might be the unlucky one which is held at customs for examination. For an urgent purchase like yours, I don't really recommend getting it online just because of the additional risks involved. Sorry ya master kambingkoh.

If you are getting it from JannPaul, it would be better if you can personally go down there for collection cuz of the 7% GST refund for tourists. With regards to your budget, I am not too sure of the current prices at JannPaul. But I can tell you that a simple solitaire setting costs about S$550-600.
bb100
post Oct 6 2017, 03:51 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(annann91 @ Oct 6 2017, 02:32 PM)

Another way is you could ask her good friend about her likings. Girls always talk about it to their girlfriends about weddings/rings etc. Especially if you've been with her for awhile. Berpakat-ing with her good friends is always the best way, be it ring selection or proposal.

e.g. Ring: Some ladies prefer solitaires, some ladies prefer more complex.
Proposal: It can be done privately or with friends/family around.

Everyone is different, so making her good friend your confidant would be a good idea  smile.gif
I pakat-ed with her siblings on the ring design and the overall proposal. When the day came, she was "angry" with them for being such great actors and actresses all the while haha!
bb100
post Oct 9 2017, 02:50 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 9 2017, 10:36 AM)
Yesterday, my gf brought up about a proposal ring thingy. Her best friend asked her out to help on wedding gown selection on Saturday and they had a conversation about proposal ring and wedding band. Then she shared it with me about their conversation and gave her honest opinion about the ring. She said she don't want those branded ring coz is too costly and what she prefer is the design of the ring ! Hahaha. At least now I don't need to worry if I need to go for those Le Lumiere or Love&co diamond ring. Can now focus on searching for loose diamonds and go for customise ringicon_rolleyes.gif  brows.gif
You have limited time to go for a fully customised design bro. But it does not mean that you cannot customise; just that you have limited freedom to play around with different designs and themes.

It took me and JannPaul 6 months and 13 revisions to come up with a ring which I am happy with. Maybe because I am fussy, I don't know, but we explored quite a lot.

Bro, just my humble opinion lahh. If your proposal date (mid December) is not a special, not-to-be-missed date, I would suggest to postpone it to give yourself more time for customisation, since you have already decided to take this route. Cuz the ring is a thing which she will wear for life, so it is of utmost importance to get it right once and for all. Imagine rushing through the process and giving her something which she does not really like. It will be a disappointment for her. By giving yourself more time, you can slowly dig info from her and from those around her.

Do think about my suggestion bro. This only applies if the date is not critical.
bb100
post Oct 9 2017, 07:59 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Oct 9 2017, 05:53 PM)
Need some advise here.

D&D (Forevermark) 0.4ct, E or G (i forget dy)/VS1 about MYR 8800++
Goldheart 0.35ct, G/CII aobut MYR 6400++

My budget about 6.5-7k.. What is the best spec recommend?
Seriously, Forevermark is like T&Co, where the price is marked up just because of the brand name. I have seen their diamonds, and they look horrible for a 3Ex stone! Arrows senget like they are drunk.

The best is to get it from Wah Chan, as many guys reported getting good deals there. If you have plenty of time, get the diamond online from Whiteflash or Brian Gavin and have it set locally. Master kambingkoh is very pro with this. Don't know why he is so quiet today...maybe plotting another big buck purchase.
bb100
post Oct 13 2017, 10:50 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 12 2017, 04:13 PM)
Hi guys. I recently received some diamonds info from one of the jewellery store in KL. Need sifus help to determine which is the best diamond. I realised that some of the diamond's score cut is acceptable and also the HCA is good. But still need to ask for the ASET scope results to see if there are good. Not sure if they can provide those thou. Can't just see based on the cut and HCA score only right?

[attachmentid=9230421]
[attachmentid=9230422]
Tailored Jewel.
bb100
post Oct 16 2017, 09:33 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 16 2017, 08:15 AM)
How do you know? Sifu in SG also know his stuff in KL.  :thumbsup:

Ya. The price is still ok. But after looking at Zcova, now I am looking at the ring settings now. Tailored Jewel do not have much choices in terms of ring setting. May be what they shown in their website, that's all? Should I go to their shop if I want to view more of their ring settings?
You can visit their showroom lahh cuz they do customisation as well, but their quality is not consistent. They can do a very good job for one customer but a very bad job for another customer.

Maybe it depends on whether you have faceprob or not.

sad.gif
bb100
post Oct 16 2017, 10:27 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 16 2017, 10:17 PM)
Dear Sifu-sifu,

Can you please help me to evaluate this piece of gem whether it worth 10k? maybe some description whether i should go for it...haha...yeah from one of the shops (buy and go).

F, VS1, 0.41, Excellent, Round
61.5% depth, 56.7% table, 34.5° crown angle, 40.7° pavilion angle
IIDGR certified

Thank you.
Don't have carat weight kahh?
bb100
post Oct 16 2017, 11:59 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 16 2017, 11:43 PM)
0.41 (i did wrote above smile.gif )
Seriously ahh? 0.41 carat for RM10,000??

0.51 is it??
bb100
post Oct 17 2017, 01:21 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 17 2017, 12:30 AM)
yeah...seriously 0.41.
Ok, then I would assume that it is a seriously overpriced piece of "branded" diamond. No point getting a "branded" diamond bro, trust me. It is better to invest that extra hard earned cash of yours in getting a better diamond with a higher 4C grading. Yes, including the C for certificate. Cuz that IIDGR certification is a joke, if you ask me.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1662sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:57 PM