11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

bb100
post Nov 17 2017, 04:07 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Cloudal @ Nov 17 2017, 03:12 PM)
Gents,
Where would be the best place to get wedding bands? Somewhere that is not too expensive and have wide varieties to choose from? Will need be around KL area. Thanks
Pernah tak hang terpikir untuk mereka bentuk cincin perkahwinan hang dan bakal isteri hang?

Ideanya adalah untuk mencipta sepasang cincin perkahwinan yang unik dan one-of-a-kind.

Saya rasa macam ni akan membawa lebih banyak makna pada cincin tersebut, kerana ia adalah hasil ciptaan si suami dan si isteri berdua.
bb100
post Nov 17 2017, 06:56 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Nov 17 2017, 01:45 PM)
Thanks bro! So far quoted 0.3 diamonds at SGD2k (all SI around 6k~Myr) - everything inclusive including ring works out to be around 8 to 9k myr for a 0.3 SI carat.
Bero, mungkin hang dah silap ni bero.

JannPaul tak carry berlian berkualiti SI bero.

Paling rendah pun VS2.

Seperti yang disarankan oleh Tok Guru kambingkoh, hang patut ketahui gred untuk dua C yang lain kerana mereka banyak mempengaruhi nilai berlian yang hang bakal beli tu bero.
bb100
post Nov 17 2017, 07:04 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Nov 17 2017, 04:26 PM)
why polishing up your malay?
Dah lama tak guna bahasa kebangsaan sejak I menjejak kaki ke Singapura bero.

So I rasa forum LYN ialah satu platfom yang baik sekali untuk I melatih bahasa kebangsaan I menjadi fasih seperti sedia kala.

Diharapkan Tok Guru kambingkoh memberi keizinan untuk I menjawab pertanyaan ahli-ahli forum dalam bahasa Melayu.

Terima kasih.
bb100
post Nov 22 2017, 02:19 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(walaopiangeh07 @ Nov 22 2017, 02:02 PM)
Hi expert! Do you mind giving your opinion on this please?

0.43ct
E colour
VS1
HCA 1.5
Cut score 88.1
Price: RM6,900 (including ring setting)

Is it worth buying? Your advice is much appreciated. Thanks much!
Bero boleh tak kasi nombor sijil GIA untuk berlian tersebut?

Tanpa info-info seperti saiz meja, sudut mahkota dan sudut pavilion, sukar untuk Tok Guru kambingkoh membuat analisa ke atas berlian itu.

Kerjasama anda didahului dengan ucapan ribuan terima kasih.
bb100
post Nov 22 2017, 02:41 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(walaopiangeh07 @ Nov 22 2017, 02:34 PM)
Nyaris-nyaris kecil hati tidak tentu pasal sebab minda mentafsir bero sebagai beruk 😂

No. sijil GIA adalah seperti berikut: 1255569209

Pendapat anda semua yang berharga amat dialu-alukan dan didahului dengan jutaan terima kasih.
Saya takkan panggil orang lain beruk sesuka hati bero.

Tak baik macam tu sebab beruk tu tak bersalah.

Terima kasih di atas nombor sijil GIA anda.

Mari lahh kita menantikan ketibaan Tok Guru kambingkoh untuk memberi pandangan bernas beliau.
bb100
post Dec 20 2017, 06:50 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(AdrianYap13 @ Dec 20 2017, 03:30 PM)
Hi Guys,

My friend just told me about this thread!.

I am the CEO of MoneyMatch and thank you so much for choosing us to pay for your diamonds.

We were noticing a large increase in payments to White Flash and decided to do some digging.

Is there anything I can help you guys with please let me know and thanks for the support!!

Its a real pleasure to know that we are able to assist you guys in making this big step in life.

Cheers and Congratulations!
The least you can do is give master kambingkoh a 10% share of your company.

bb100
post Jun 22 2018, 11:09 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Jun 22 2018, 10:33 AM)
Hi, newbie here, want to choose an engagement ring but don't know where to start from.

Few questions:
1. why people prefer diamond ring instead of gold ring for proposal? isnt that gold have much more value than diamond in long term?

2. recently went to have research on diamonds. the retailer tell me about this 4c and insist that the cutting is the most important element. is that true?

3. how much budget usually people allocate for proposal ring? do guy need proposal ring too? lol
1. Simply because of the tagline "diamonds are forever" created by De Beers.

2. Yes, cut is king.

3. This is really subjective. It all depends on how much you can afford without burning a hole in your wallet. Do not believe the crap that the diamond on your engagement ring must be >3 times your monthly salary.
bb100
post Jun 22 2018, 11:37 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Jun 22 2018, 11:21 AM)
Heard the "diamonds are forever" marketing strategy. feel quite stupid but yea, usually girl like it sad.gif

let say, i have rm5k budget, any diamond ring to intro? can i use gold ring + diamond instead of the silver ones?
Also, don't forget "diamonds are a girl's best friend". Otherwise, our Kak Ros won't risk it all to get herself a cincin berlian.

I will leave the recommendation part to kambingkoh.

Yellow gold does not really go well with diamonds -- more so if your stone is given a D-F grading -- as it introduces unwanted yellow tone into your otherwise colourless diamond. If you intend to set it with yellow gold, I would advise you to opt for a diamond with lower colour grade.
bb100
post Jun 25 2018, 03:43 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(001hp @ Jun 23 2018, 12:42 AM)

Currently JannPaul offer me
0.52 G VS1 3900SGD
0.43 E VS2 2750SGD

Those two JannPaul stones belong to their signature series or just their 3Ex stocks? If you ask me, I personally do not recommend their signature cuts, although they are the best of the best, cream of the crop kind of stuff. The reason is very simple. Their price per carat is simply too high. You are better off with getting a top tier 3Ex stone and max out your carat weight.
bb100
post Jun 26 2018, 08:59 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(001hp @ Jun 26 2018, 07:58 AM)
That's why I looking for alternative, their price for 0.4 I can get a ideal at 0.5 in WF. Is either I send to Malaysia or Singapore now.
Your answer is right below bro.

For such an important purchase, I would not mind paying the 7% GST and have it shipped directly to me just for a peace of mind. Who knows what might happen after the package is delivered to your friend/relative in Malaysia? I am not saying that bad things WILL happen, but, you know...just in case.

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 26 2018, 08:41 AM)
I would send to Malaysia to avoid the 7% VAT. How frequent your come back to Malaysia? Or are you Singaporean?
bb100
post Jun 28 2018, 08:08 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(001hp @ Jun 27 2018, 11:58 PM)
Seem like we both looking for the same things  rclxms.gif
Checked the hardwarezone, all either point you to JannPaul or don't bother to reply.

Have you come across any shop that offer ring setting only?

BTW, i think they do carry less then super ideal diamond which from HOH. I have given them a GIA cert number from Audrey's Diamond and they say they able to get it and the price is almost same as Malaysia if exclude the 7% GST.
This is because JP is the one-stop location for most Singaporeans to get their engagement rings and wedding bands.

Try Artisan Jewellery. They do offer design and crafting services as well as sale of diamonds.
bb100
post Jun 28 2018, 03:04 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(bHappyz @ Jun 28 2018, 02:53 PM)

We can order from any shop where they can get it from source ?
since GIA number must be unique and distinct.
No harm trying with JP. In case you have not already known, JP do not do ring settings for stones purchased elsewhere.

You can tell them directly that you are not looking for their signature series and you just want a good performing 3Ex stone. They have quite a lot to offer. They also have an extensive range of fancy shaped diamonds to choose from.
bb100
post Jun 30 2018, 09:29 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(NYC @ Jun 30 2018, 03:33 AM)

Where should i heading to?
Online (local or oversea)? or just walk in to any jewelry store for options.

Your advice is very much appreciated.
My advice is first look around your local jewellery stores to get their offers before checking online. This will enable you to make comparisons and ultimately, an informed decision.
bb100
post Jun 30 2018, 09:35 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Coming back after a long disappearance from this topic, I found that round brilliants are still the to-go shape for Malaysians for their engagement rings, despite having higher price per carat.

No love for fancy shapes?
bb100
post Jul 2 2018, 12:34 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 1 2018, 12:08 AM)
Haha. Round is still the top performer mah. Fancy shape is hard to get performance details online. The only jeweller I know who put some online is Brian Gavin Diamonds. There is one cushion shape lying around with some decent performance. For other shapes, what will be your recommendation?
I don't know much about other shapes except for princess cut and heart shape.

Ideal proportions for princess cut are more or less standard and they are widely available online so it is not a mystery.

The same, however, cannot be said for heart shape, as it is very much dependable on personal preferences. Some might like a fatter heart (also called a happy heart) with a L/W ratio of less than 1 while some might prefer an elongated heart shape. There are some general guidelines to adhere to when browsing for heart shape diamonds. These are what I learnt during my hunt.

- table: 55% to 60%
- depth: 58% to 62%
- girdle: medium to slightly thick. Thin girdles are not recommended as chipping might occur at the pointed tip.
- symmetry and polish: excellent. DO NOT SETTLE FOR ANYTHING LESS THAN EXCELLENT as the diamond might look lopsided. For example, one lobe might be larger than the other, or the cleft and point might not be aligned, etc. Symmetry also refers to the view of the internal reflections on each half of the diamond from the top. One half must be a mirror image (well, not exactly, but almost there) of the other for the diamond to have excellent symmetry.
- clarity: eye-clean VS1 and above. As the facets on a heart shaped diamond are larger than RBs, eye cleanliness is very important. A speck of black crystal inclusion inside the diamond, for example, might be reflected and magnified by the various facets and into the viewer's eyes, thus making the stone look very unsightly.
- colour: G and above. Heart shaped diamonds tend to retain body colour, no thanks to its large facets. So if you would like to have your stone appear colourless, do not go lower than G.
- L/W: between 0.8 to 0.95 for ring settings.

Things to look out for:
- bow-tie effect underneath the table. A bow-tie like dark appearance from the top view is a no-no. Common occurrence for other fancy shapes like pear, marquise and oval.
- bulged wings. A bulging heart shape at the sides of the stone makes it look rounded. Not very appealing.
- badly defined cleft. The cleft (notch which separates the lobes) must be well defined from the top. A badly defined cleft makes your heart look like a round diamond minus the sparkle.

Hope whoever interested in heart shaped diamonds for their engagement rings would find these comments helpful.

This post has been edited by bb100: Jul 2 2018, 12:37 PM
bb100
post Jul 4 2018, 09:46 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(xerofear @ Jul 4 2018, 02:59 PM)

Comments appreciated
Diamonds 1, 2 and 3 are of VVS clarity. Need or not? Why pay extra for something which you can't see?
bb100
post Jul 5 2018, 10:32 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 5 2018, 12:43 AM)
WhiteFlash pricing is abit funny. If you see the 0.305ct F VS2, it is more expensive than the 0.304ct  F VVS2. Don't ask me why lol. hmm.gif
0.304 F VVS2 $872.00

Very small inclusions visible at the 2 o'clock and 5 o'clock hearts.
Separation between the hearts and the arrowheads are not even throughout.

0.305 F VS1 $922.00

No visible inclusions although it is a VS1 stone.
Separation between hearts and arrowheads are very distinct and even.

Maybe this explains the price difference.

xerofear Something for you to consider.

This post has been edited by bb100: Jul 5 2018, 10:39 AM
bb100
post Jul 7 2018, 04:37 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 6 2018, 11:59 PM)
however I think there is some discount now for World Cup, so it is good to ask Brian Gavin's team.
Haha World Cup also got discount?
bb100
post Jul 10 2018, 04:35 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 8 2018, 01:27 AM)
It is actually splitting hairs, but I usually advise based on proportions first, followed by images and will also take a look at the videos.

I have some comments regarding your statement above for discussion purposes.

Any reasons for you to evaluate a diamond based on its proportions first and then only its scope images? If I have access to scope images, I would not even bother to look at the diamond proportions. Here is why.

In research terms, to study something based on numbers and subsequently arrive to a conclusion using a well-defined model is called "numerical analysis". On the other hand, to test something using available hardware and conclude the test outcomes based on the results generated is termed "experimental evidence". More often than not, numerical analyses have to be experimentally validated regardless of how established a numerical model is, because modelling is an ideal representation of our real world.
bb100
post Mar 13 2019, 05:41 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(tianleong88 @ Mar 12 2019, 07:00 PM)
@kambingkoh, need your advice whether this 0.3ct diamond is worth to buy @ price of RM3900 with casing.
Judging by the look of that attachment, I believe you were quoted by Tailored Jewel?

That E VVS2 quality is a tad overkill for a 0.3 RB. I would suggest to drop the colour and clarity by one grade to maximise your carat weight. If the diamond is well cut, a layman would not be able to tell the difference between an E and an F. Likewise, a VVS2 would appear as eyeclean as a VS1. So why pay more for something which you can't see?

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.2205sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:32 AM