dun ever go to STARTEC(a pc shop in lowyat), a real life tragedy had jus happened!

TSflora02
post Aug 2 2006, 10:52 PM, updated 20y ago

84 posts

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

i've never met such brainless shop!!!! in lowyat somemore!!!

story starts here:
i've bought a new graphic card from them, and it doesnt work...... so i brought me pc back to them together with the graphic card to check out,

they told me that the graphic card is spoil somemore, ask me add another rm20 for a better 1.....

and this is also a new graphic card. we've tested it in the shop, it seems fine.
bad things starts to happen when i got back... graphics and colors all gone case and mixed up~

i started to thing that it should be the card again, so i plug it out and remain in the old condition to use for a period, till i m free to send them back that spoiled card again (which is the second 1 now)

i brought my pc along together with the card, to test the compatibility, cuz i duno much about this hardware stuff....

i was told to go shopping when i put down my pc, i insist that i wanna stay and see wat is wrong, izzit my pc spoil (it was working perfectly fine without the graphic card!!!) or their graphic card spoil now mad.gif

but they told me, "we had alot more pc to service, pls go shopping awhile and come back at about 6pm?? (that time was jus 2pm inthe afternoon)

so i went out... to the alley in 2nd floor, i talk on phone for like 5 minutes, and decided to go in tell them that i'll be back at 6pm (but guess wat i saw??? they already had cable on my pc, it was switched on, and they were doing something)

i thought they say they had SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO many pc to service??? in 5 minutes times my pc was all plugin!

okay, so they saw me, they shut off my pc again, and tell me that, they gonna do it some other time, ask me go back on monday...

i was sosososo mad cuz this was the second time the card had problem, and i felt like they are hiding stuff from me??? it was my PC omg y i cant know wat is wrong with it!!!!!

okay fine, i left my pc there like they said.... and i went home~ at night, they threaten me at 9pm, "if u dun come fetch your pc now, we're going to format your pc" i told them not to do it for my 5 years data is inside~

and they try to convince me that they had to do it for the sake to get the card working....

okay so i let them formatted it~ not knowing, they purposely go and delete my D: drive partition which contains my everything since me 17years old till now!!! which is 5 years time! yyyy???!!!!! y they wanna do it to me!!!!

can they pay all my losses?? my school work, my photos(worst case this 1, can they repay my baby sis's photo since she's a baby till 4 years old now????) , all my other important data that i've been saving for past 5 years!!!

now i m like a lost soul like i m not living in the pass 5 years

vmad.gif yyyyyy??!?!?!?!!!! y me!!!
i was told that, formatting had nothing to do with the D: drive, unless they purposely go and delete it, and they'll also been ask 3 times confirmation that they wanna delete, and this tragedy actually happens......

i kinda feel like this was a planned revenge~
i had my lessons, trying to warn u all about it, there're SOOO many pc shops in lowyat i suppose...

jus dun go to this 1, remember the shop name>>>STARTEC

ps: i already know their skill sux cuz my bf's pc is nothing better when first bought from them, fixing for 2 months the hardware, take for warranty repair, even thought it's all new hardwares..... until we take to frens for fixing and was told that ram goes in wrong slot!!! WTF!!! is that shop really so sux meh???!!!

REASON i bought my last item from them, the graphic card: cuz my aunty, already had 10 years trading with them, and she's too very upset for they did this kinda things to me~!!! my aunty told me "even though their items are more expensive than other shops sometimes, but I still buy from them"
Y??? becuz. this is call relationship trading, and they are so lucky to have my aunty as their long term customer. However, sux means sux.... and she added "i m really upset with your technician's behavious and working attitude, our relationship ends here" on the phone with their manager, Ms Kong.

JUS TO WARN u ALL, there ARE really COUNTLESS PC SHOPS~!!!!!!! dun go to the sux ones pls: who would wanna goto shop that sell expensive wares and extremely brainless + louzy services? whistling.gif

from a very very hurt consumer,
flora

Skylinestar
post Aug 2 2006, 10:59 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

i feel so sorry for u, flora. i think they purposely wanna attack lady. (sometime men too)

i also have bad experience with this shop too. long story...
i never wanna step next to this shop since that inccident.

u put this topic at wrong place already. in czone doh.gif
mod, please join this to the one at price&dealer section

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Aug 2 2006, 11:03 PM
tutiger
post Aug 2 2006, 11:11 PM

415 posts

Why don't you try look for help at the "technical support" to seek help on how to recover your data in the D: drive. I rather not do in details but try not to do anything to your HDD for now. I mean no major writing to your HDD, there are some softwares that can help you recover your some if not all your files

Or can get a friend to recover for you..... If go to shops, might need to get their price first....

This post has been edited by tutiger: Aug 2 2006, 11:13 PM
metalslug
post Aug 2 2006, 11:12 PM

410 posts

=.=" what a comp shop! Try take some photo and post in let me see see. I kinda curious about it. 5 yrs memory lost in few hours. If this happen to me, i going to whack that technician.
exkay
post Aug 2 2006, 11:19 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

Sue them for your loses...

sorry to hear that. but i will not agree to format my pc no matter what.

it's an expensive lesson to learn, but as what tutiger says, DO NOT COPY OR PASTE ANYTHING INTO YOUR HARDDISK NOW!

as there might be softwares that can recover formatted harddisk.
shoei
post Aug 2 2006, 11:20 PM

What a pity... U can try do download and install final data, a desktop recovery software to recover almost very files that u have deleted or formatted, unless it is overwritten by other files or shredded. There are also few other software , just search from yahoo by typing file recovery software. final data works well for me. Formmating D drive WONT solve ur problem..
shoei

What a pity... U can try do download and install final data, a desktop recovery software to recover almost very files that u have deleted or formatted, unless it is overwritten by other files or shredded. There are also few other software , just search from yahoo by typing file recovery software. final data works well for me. Formmating D drive WONT solve ur problem..
shoei

shoei
post Aug 2 2006, 11:22 PM

tutiger
post Aug 2 2006, 11:27 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(shoei @ Aug 2 2006, 11:22 PM)
Seems like you are really concerned, with 4 X posts smile.gif

P/S You can also ask around for Hiren's Boot CD, inside have quite a few handy tools on recovery but I rather not give you the link here coz I don't think I am allowed to do it in here. Good thing about this CD is you can operate programs from the CD/RAM without installing anything onto your HDD. Thus no overwriting!

This post has been edited by tutiger: Aug 2 2006, 11:30 PM
shoei
post Aug 2 2006, 11:39 PM

sorry for multiple post. Handling request error.
tutiger
post Aug 2 2006, 11:42 PM

415 posts

Something wrong with the server/connection a little while ago, I think coz connection was rather choppy
shoei
post Aug 2 2006, 11:45 PM

Ya , of maybe our streamyx connection is rather choppy. haha
supremebeing
post Aug 3 2006, 12:14 AM

I agree, can you post the shop's address as well and a screenshot of the shop, so everyone knows this louzy shop and can avoid all the losses.
steventan85
post Aug 3 2006, 12:45 AM

6,447 posts

yes , i totally agreed wif him..............so that we can boycott the stupid shop ........
dinodog_Jr
post Aug 3 2006, 12:52 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

TO BE HONEST, STARTEC STAFFS GOT ATTITUDE too.. It is the 2nd shops after SRI COMPUTER dat i try to avoid to do business wif them...another shop i dun like is the opposite CyCOM one..

I deeply feel sorry bout ur 5 years old memory.

Me too losing 4 years of memory photos of my lovely nephews... haih.. So many hard-time video editing to compile intoa DVD later on.
IT just gone ...

I understand ur feeling man.. I smashed the walls to release tense.

Maybe u got ur way.
Life still goes on~..
low_nirc7
post Aug 3 2006, 12:55 AM

119 posts

no more startec here..anywhere..say NO to startec..or i'll beat them smoothly..
thivaakar
post Aug 3 2006, 12:59 AM

581 posts

wow..sorry for ur loss..i now i have to avoid sriComp and Startec. anymore shops i should avoid?
k8118k
post Aug 3 2006, 01:01 AM

3,658 posts

i sure therir staf hate this forum very much...

wat to do

tak jiu jor customer

thivaakar
post Aug 3 2006, 01:04 AM

581 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Aug 3 2006, 01:01 AM)
i sure therir staf hate this forum very much...
screw em rclxms.gif
Ash
post Aug 3 2006, 01:05 AM

Legend
1,697 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Aug 3 2006, 12:52 AM)
TO BE HONEST, STARTEC STAFFS GOT ATTITUDE too.. It is the 2nd shops after SRI COMPUTER dat i try to avoid to do business wif them...another shop i dun like is the opposite CyCOM one..

I deeply feel sorry bout ur 5 years old memory.

Me too losing 4 years of memory photos of my lovely nephews... haih.. So many hard-time video editing to compile intoa DVD later on.
IT just gone ...

I understand ur feeling man.. I smashed the walls to release tense.

Maybe u got ur way.
Life still goes on~..
Yes... Staff at StarTec and Sri Comp are known with their "friendly" attitude... I once went to ask for an external hard disk casing and the sales boy looked like he just woke up or something and offered me rm140 for that casing.. so i told him my budget was rm110 and asked him if he could give me cheaper .. he just straight away take back the casing and serve other customer.. I was really shocked to see people like this as a sales boy lol and guess what? 5 mins later i found the same thing for rm105 whistling.gif whistling.gif

btw to threadstarter.. you should post this in price and delers guide forum... not compuzone forum biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ash: Aug 3 2006, 01:06 AM
knight
post Aug 3 2006, 01:09 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

previousely Startec are quite good and OK but now really lousy...pass month wan buy PSU from them..ask them recommendation they show very 'fcuking' attitude..damm..duno thing bout PSU better shut the mouth and ask the expert to recomend me...finnally buy PSU from compuzone..even expensive but can discount....does any1 know that Sri Computer and Startech manager are relatives??lol...giving same bad attitude services...

Flora, felt sorry for u but really better backup everything b4 sending it to shops for safety...i kena b4 also...sigh....
desmand
post Aug 3 2006, 01:39 AM

394 posts

Wow, that kind of shop still exist? Well, it goes into my blacklisted PC Shop at LYP.
Anyway, there is recovery software that can revive ur data(even formatted).
Try goggle this: PC INSPECTOR FILE RECOVERY (Its free).
SRI Comp is another lousy Comp shop, eventhough its the biggest shop there(am i rite?), but I never ever gonna purchase anything from there. I have no confidence on them.
tutiger
post Aug 3 2006, 02:09 AM

415 posts

Well in my opinion, it is the techie whom is at fault but sometimes company doesn't know what is happening at the front end

(I do not work for them, ok! Merely this sometimes what gets me boiling when my colleagues takes matters in their own hands and get the customers burnt and have to suffer the loss while the company knew nothing of their attitude and have to bear the bad name)

It is the working people attitude that is slacking because the lack of sense of responsiblity. They normally think of their current company as their stepping stones. Since they do not plan to work too long in their current job so they just act tidak apa la. Thus we have to bear the brunt sad.gif

It is those rotten eggs that give companies bad names coz the company fail to have good customer service control (for example: like the problems we get with Streamyx)

This post has been edited by tutiger: Aug 3 2006, 02:30 AM
alextan99
post Aug 3 2006, 02:33 AM

Wassup
2,660 posts

Its advisable to save your stuffs either on an external harddrive or burn them to a disc. I know some of this damm tech on the stores are nothing much than a nobb. They just make things sounds so convincing that its your fault not theirs
goldfries
post Aug 3 2006, 02:54 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

==========REGARDING WHAT WAS POSTED====================

QUOTE(flora02 @ Aug 2 2006, 10:52 PM)
but they told me, "we had alot more pc to service, pls go shopping awhile and come back at about 6pm?? (that time was jus 2pm inthe afternoon)

so i went out... to the alley in 2nd floor, i talk on phone for like 5 minutes, and decided to go in tell them that i'll be back at 6pm (but guess wat i saw??? they already had cable on my pc, it was switched on, and they were doing something)

i thought they say they had SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO many pc to service??? in 5 minutes times my pc was all plugin!

fixing / troubleshooting computer is not easy. they gave you 4 hours buffer time is totally understandable.

and if you pass by and see they've already plugged in your PC - can't you just be grateful that they decided to look into your matter???!!!! perhaps they pity you having to wait and decide to try to settle your case earlier? ever thought of that?

and what they told you is one thing - but can't they change their mind and decide to have a bit of idea on what's going on with your machine?

if i were them i would've take a quick peek to see if i can solve this quick.

okay, so they saw me, they shut off my pc again, and tell me that, they gonna do it some other time, ask me go back on monday...

are you sure they're doing that on purpose? or are you just being paranoid? so happen they look your direction and off the PC at same time leh? ever thought of that?

it was my PC omg y i cant know wat is wrong with it!!!!!

how is someone to tell you what's the problem with your PC without properly diagnosing it? or have they always been parrying your questions thus far?

they could've seen the symptom and suspected that more detailed inspection needed to be done, therefore can't give you conclusive answer.

i know you have some sad case here, but some things you mentioned are totally irrational. so much for someone calling others brainless..........

=======REGARDING WHAT WAS WRITTEN ABOUT THE SHOP==========

1. formatting C drive is sufficient for a fresh install, nothing related to other drives.
2. to wipe out the other drives, you either 1. format/delete contents 2. delete partition
3. no staff in the right mind would do what the customer told NOT TO.
4. no staff in the right mind would do a format / delete / re-partition without backing up contents of the customer.

now having said that, i'd like to know..........

1. who / what is the name of the technician?
2. please describe the technician?

i read your post. i read your story. but like what i pointed out - so many things you mentioned in your story are (at time of this post) without sufficient proof nor evidence.

do you have an actual job-sheet number? or are you telling me you hand it in without an actual sheet from them stating problem and staff handling the matter?

======== MY CONCLUSION (at time of this post)==========

and it's really funny to read even the ensuing posts. looks like readers are damn easy to swallow stories whole-sale. it's like i could cook up a story any time against a shop and they'll avoid whole LY Plaza. LOL.

straightaway enter people into blacklist without even confirmation of such event actually occured......oh how clever........

the story was moving (credits to threadstarter to that), but inconclusive. insufficient proof / details / evidence to make it even look real. IMO the 5 year memory what deleted missing part is just to make every other reader feel pity towards the so-called victim and raise some what 'extreme' hatred and distrust to the shop.

my question now
1. what was your machine specs?
2. what graphic card was the one having problem? - if you bought from them, do you have the receipt and it's number?
3. how long has the 5 year old content been in the hard disk?
4. what HDD model / size / brand is it?
5. what is the total size of your content?
6. how was your partition like?
7. who / what is the name of the technician?
8. please describe the technician?
9. they called you at 9pm - calling your house phone or handphone? if house phone, who you gave the number to? if handphone - kindly tell us which number they call from and exact time (snap pic of your phone, proof of the time call received if needed)

try to answer as best as you can.

i suggest the rest of you hold neutral ground until threadstarter can prove herself and whatever happened.

or else, you are just being really dumb to accept whatever people say without even cross-checking the evidence / events.

shops making mistake - i understand. shops purposely doing things to kacau people, i won't believe unless someone can prove it. why would i want to make my customer angry? attitude is one thing........ but to purposely delete.

LOL. i have better ways of killing your information. i delete, you can say i dumb-ass to my boss and i get firing. but if i spoil your drive, i can claim your drive spoil yet you have nothing against me. so clearly, if a techie really want to 'hurt' you then there's plenty other ways that need not get his(her) own ass fried.

EDITED : any why da heck is this thread in Compuzone anyway?

This post has been edited by goldfries: Aug 3 2006, 02:59 AM
TSflora02
post Aug 3 2006, 02:48 PM

84 posts

i m so sorry i post this first post in the wrong thread of compuzone... i posted the 2nd 1 in Price Dealer guide here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=321972

i was shocked* to hear that i m not the only VICTIM!
thanks for all your replies guys.... i really felt much better after my fren told me to tell out the whole story here...

cuz i went mad~! crying from the whole morning, crying in car, crying in lecture still...
no mood for class.... down for the whole day....
tell all my classmate about it
and some of them did suggest the recovery thing (it was so sososo co-incidence that, my lecturer said that there'd be a trip to a company that've been helping big companies to *recover data*!!!

i felt alittle better hearing that and i actually sign up for the trip which is on 22september

to goldfries,

i'll try my best to answer your questions =.=
TSflora02
post Aug 3 2006, 03:13 PM

84 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...4&#entry8001614

i already answer your question here goldfries
Insydious
post Aug 3 2006, 03:20 PM

Powaaaaah
894 posts

wah if that happened to me I really gonna whack dat technician man. Granted dat he does not work out in a gym laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Insydious: Aug 3 2006, 03:20 PM
Kaydon
post Aug 11 2006, 04:47 AM

845 posts

gosh goldfries... ii somehow got a comment on ur statement.. not to say i am bias to the victim... but in a way why would some1 say such a thing in such a way to sabo a shop.. i mean yea.. mayb its just plain story telling..

but hey.. here is where ppl share information.. and also seems like she's not the only one.. there are some other lowyatians who ended up the same case as well..

coincident ornot.. i would not expect the threadstarter to just create a story just to frame the shop..

mayb u are talkin bout evidence.. n i am sure she got em.. just tat at the time of the threadstarter post.. during when her emotions were down n torn.. u won't expect the threadstarter to include in so many information rite..

1 way or another.. i will still swallow the story.. smile.gif
just my 2 cents...
Mr_47
post Aug 17 2006, 01:26 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,341 posts

your fault in the 1st place!

why give the hdd to them?
SUSRaikkonen
post Aug 17 2006, 01:35 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(flora02 @ Aug 3 2006, 02:48 PM)
i m so sorry i post this first post in the wrong thread of compuzone... i posted the 2nd 1 in Price Dealer guide here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=321972

i was shocked* to hear that i m not the only VICTIM!
thanks for all your replies guys.... i really felt much better after my fren told me to tell out the whole story here...

cuz i went mad~! crying from the whole morning, crying in car, crying in lecture still...
no mood for class.... down for the whole day....
tell all my classmate about it
and some of them did suggest the recovery thing (it was so sososo co-incidence that, my lecturer said that there'd be a trip to a company that've been helping big companies to *recover data*!!!

i felt alittle better hearing that and i actually sign up for the trip which is on 22september
to goldfries,

i'll try my best to answer your questions =.=
I NEVER ask those salesman to test the hardware that I bought.
So far so good.

Maybe since you are a female, then they think they can easily swindle you.
What a jerk huh?

Why didn't you send the card to the manufacturer and not the shop where you
bought it?

I always do price comparing between shops.
So far Cycom has the lowest price compare to Startech and Compuzone.

Yesterday I went there to buy CD-ROM, DVD RW and a Seagate hard disk.

Cycom has the lowest price...RM5 less thumbup.gif

No wonder I saw Cycom so busy with customers and Startech & Compuzone's
salesman busy poking their nose laugh.gif (no customers maa...)
Cycom was so busy, I was standing there for 10 minutes without no Cycom
salesman attending me cry.gif
Finally I touch one of the salesman shoulder...than he attend me thumbup.gif

If we felt that we're being treated badly as a customer, we can report it to
the authorities...the "Persatuan Pengguna".
We have that power.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Aug 17 2006, 01:40 PM
Marvin_86
post Aug 17 2006, 01:44 PM

113 posts

the complain about this shop very hot until now.Scary.Unlucky not all the user will come to forum and check.If not,the shop brankrap lia.
Zack Azhar
post Aug 22 2006, 03:49 PM

sorry to hear that too...
so I will inform all my friends to avoid doing business with this thi 2 lousy
sukun
post Aug 26 2006, 05:19 PM

471 posts

this should be a lesson to everyone. sure the fault should be blame to the careless technician....the way a hardisk is used is not for A LONG DAMN YEARS OF PERMANENT DATA to be stored.... some precious data like childhood pictures or important assigment/documents should be burn to a disc, (mp3/music still can buy through Digital music store=itunes and etc or you can use the FOC illegal way, p2p apps..) (that's one of the way how a blank disc should be used).... never feel too expensive when buying blank cd... that's the path you choose between the value of memories/blank disc....
yes hardisk can be used as LONG-PERMANENT data storage, but i honestly i said, that's not a wise choice/way..... just a words of help.... smile.gif
zombie
post Aug 27 2006, 12:24 AM

Died
685 posts

Startech is banned! from my list! Fedup with their lansee staff also.
itscheryl
post Aug 28 2006, 12:19 AM

want to create awareness can complain here also

http://consumer.com.my/
chris2k4
post Aug 28 2006, 11:06 AM

S0 FaR S0 GooD!
1,184 posts

never deal them before so better not if that the case unsure.gif

cheers,
swlong
post Sep 8 2006, 11:18 PM

548 posts

I bought my Rig at that shop last year also......and the first day i bought it.....my rig keep restarting non stop if i run graphical program.........when i bring back....they say nothing wrong it is my windows problem...ask me go reformat...okay then when i go back and reformat....problem still same...bring back to them again....and they also tell me....they got alot pc to service...ask me to put there and collect after a week...i am like so *&%&*....in the end i take back my pc.....and i end up using my pc as normal internet PC.....
super macgyver
post Sep 9 2006, 12:22 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

tis is not startec section sub forum, y not at czone section? =_="
Daywalker
post Sep 14 2006, 05:52 PM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

Hmmm..... both of them also fault, i guess...... sweat.gif
End User - Didn't backup all importance data (like using DVD Burner or External USB HDD/thumbdriver)...... doh.gif (If data loss, gonna to blame who? whistling.gif)

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ post Aug 17 2006, 01:26 PM)

Yeah..... I'm also agree that Mr_47 say..... But i wanna to know why? sweat.gif

Computer Shop staff - Technician never ask customer whether got any importance data...... that why some careless technician didn't have customer experience..... (must understand & know what is their need & also self abalities also limited too)...... some more those technician are disqualify in IT service...... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Daywalker: Sep 15 2006, 12:02 AM
^666^
post Sep 16 2006, 12:26 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

if i were the gurl, i wont let them do squat. formating windows for graphic card woes. ask them to eat shit. bring back the whole thing and find a freind to help you. never ever trust people with ur data or hardisk unless manage service like hp, dell or ibm.

like going to the mechanic under the tree one, small problem also wanna do a whole engine overhold. sorry for you lost, next time get a super It savy bf like me (promoting myself) hahaha. :-P

This post has been edited by ^666^: Sep 16 2006, 12:27 AM
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Sep 30 2006, 06:23 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(^666^ @ Sep 16 2006, 01:26 AM)
... manage service like hp, dell or ibm.

like going to the mechanic under the tree one, small problem also wanna do a whole engine overhold. sorry for you lost, next time get a super It savy bf like me (promoting myself) hahaha. :-P
My boss leh... he will ask customer 1st lor... than put tat HDD as slave in other PC and back up which ever important data we can by either transfering it to our primary drive or burn to CD/DVD... if the HDD is not faulty tat is...

Note: HP, Dell or IBM are not responsible for data loss or damage... my boss's customer experienced tat... now not so sure la...

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Sep 30 2006, 06:27 PM
rooonie
post Oct 5 2006, 03:07 AM

290 posts

i have been to this sri comp for few times... and bought something there.. but one day when i was asking for a loko at a AGP card and a sound card( intention to get 1)... a semi long hair guy come and serve me in a very terrible manner(he is not advising me, his face looks like i'm owing him few millions of dollar) and the way he say to us... my fren and me was piss off with his attitude.. and 1 thing his wearing style was suxxx( now a bit satisfy lioa)... even though it juz a small better, but do u think that u r da onli 1 who sell components parts???(juz to remind da worker there) icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by rooonie: Oct 5 2006, 03:11 AM
super macgyver
post Oct 5 2006, 01:59 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

QUOTE(rooonie @ Oct 5 2006, 03:07 AM)
i have been to this sri comp for few times... and bought something there.. but one day when i was asking for a loko at a AGP card and a sound card( intention to get 1)... a semi long hair guy come and serve me in a very terrible manner(he is not advising me, his face looks like i'm owing him few millions of dollar) and the way he say to us... my fren and me was piss off with his attitude.. and 1 thing his wearing style was suxxx( now a bit satisfy lioa)... even though it juz a small better, but do u think that u r da onli 1 who sell components parts???(juz to remind da worker there) icon_rolleyes.gif
tis is czone, not the sri com section. doh.gif
Winfeel
post Oct 5 2006, 02:15 PM

"The road to disaster is often paved with good intentions
Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 5 2006, 01:59 PM)
tis is czone, not the sri com section.  doh.gif
Czone's thread has been so nice for such a long time. notworthy.gif
I just dun understand why people brought stactec into this thread tongue.gif
dokidoki
post Oct 5 2006, 03:37 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Oct 5 2006, 02:15 PM)
Czone's thread has been so nice for such a long time. notworthy.gif
I just dun understand why people brought stactec into this thread tongue.gif
blah...czone thread is no more la...here all those newbie come in to ask price quote then only know there are nobody to layan them... whistling.gif
john_jay2
post Mar 13 2009, 03:20 PM

Your Trusted Friend
4,496 posts

wow ... sad to hear ts stories ... though ... ~
durfzstonez
post Mar 13 2009, 03:28 PM

340 posts

Kami benci STARTEC!
Shevchenko9
post Mar 13 2009, 09:22 PM

34 posts

i always prefer my favourite service viewnet or all-it
amyhs99
post Mar 13 2009, 10:20 PM

3,807 posts

Why don't the idiotic technician just use another piece of hdd and install a fresh os and test. Why must he format customer's hdd? sigh....
Calvin_PB
post Mar 16 2009, 05:58 PM

LaGGard'S
2,476 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Mar 13 2009, 10:20 PM)
Why don't the idiotic technician just use another piece of hdd and install a fresh os and test. Why must he format customer's hdd? sigh....
this what we call no experience...
Bibinoob
post Mar 20 2009, 09:37 AM

614 posts

thank you for sharing
i will avoid sriComp and Startec.
before getting cheater by them
super macgyver
post Mar 22 2009, 01:02 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Mar 13 2009, 03:20 PM)
wow ... sad to hear ts stories ... though ... ~
y sudden dig out such old topic ar? sweat.gif
wcsaw87
post Mar 25 2009, 02:27 PM

64 posts

Hey...There is a new shop is Gat Lebuh Macallum in penang. He is a Computer Technician but doing dealer job. He is very nice person. All the price for service can be negotiate. Last time i buy laptop from him, he let me owe him money but not more...cause that time not very rich yet.. so hutang him 200++... He also say no problem. But he only do business through telephone. He will come out to meet you if u need the stock. But you need to pay him deposit first before you get the stock. You can call him Alvin 0164420614 if you need help from him.
sebz
post Apr 1 2009, 07:53 AM

331 posts

thx for sharing,ll take note!!

QUOTE(rooonie @ Oct 5 2006, 03:07 AM)
yalo y suddenly sri comp laugh.gif wrong over wrong....
but nvm since talk bout sri computah..hey i noe who u r talkin bout tat semi-long haired guys...now he come bac 2 short d....
wad to say...his attitude is extremely suCKS!no manners...dun be sales assit la...rubbish dumper suitable for him...zzz
Kelv
post Apr 8 2009, 09:12 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Apr 1 2009, 07:53 AM)
thx for sharing,ll take note!!
yalo y suddenly sri comp  laugh.gif wrong over wrong....
but nvm since talk bout sri computah..hey i noe who u r talkin bout tat semi-long haired guys...now he come bac 2 short d....
wad to say...his attitude is extremely suCKS!no manners...dun be sales assit la...rubbish dumper suitable for him...zzz
Post pic rclxms.gif So, the rest can aware of him.
gjaren
post Apr 9 2009, 09:17 PM

I really feel sorry for you..
Can u put the picture of this shop on the forum??
Let's boycott this shop..
Lousy service and rude staff..

Damn..i feel like whacking up the staff after reading what you wrote...
They threaten to reformatt your Hard Disk??
Diao la...if they tell me that I will surely sue them..
Throw acid into their shop ==

Why are they acting so suspiciously??
Tinkering with your hardwares...
You are the owner of the PC and u can surely choose not to go their shop for service..
Just seek a refund for the graphic card or wait for the warranty..so that the manufacturer will send you a new one..
Damn...
I feel very sorry for you..

My pictures lost before because of corrupted PC kena virus..
But it was my fault..

This is not your fault...
STARTEC...is a very very lousy shop with uncivilise dog staffs
dlight
post Apr 20 2009, 11:26 AM

42 posts

well USUALLY HDD's have nothing to do with hardware failures, unless the HDD itself is faulty then change/replace it.

otherwise when sending the computer in for repairs/diagnosis, unplug it and leave it at home. that way sensitive data is never at risk.
CarroTT
post Apr 20 2009, 01:51 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

Putting a note stick on my pc

BAN STARTEC
DO NOT GO THERE

thank you TS
taitianhin
post Apr 20 2009, 02:03 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Apr 20 2009, 01:51 PM)
Putting a note stick on my pc

BAN STARTEC
DO NOT GO THERE

thank you TS
I dont see any point ban those shops anywhere...
the problem is the people not the shop. somemore the turnover rate should be high in these shops.
You can blame those who did wrong, but you cannot complain the shop. smile.gif
Get their boss awareness on this issue. you may get something out from it wink.gif

well....
hanieyf
post Jun 28 2009, 07:32 AM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Apr 20 2009, 02:03 PM)
I dont see any point ban those shops anywhere...
the problem is the people not the shop. somemore the turnover rate should be high in these shops.
You can blame those who did wrong, but you cannot complain the shop.  smile.gif
Get their boss awareness on this issue. you may get something out from it      wink.gif 

well....
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

u from startec?
AlexLee277
post Jun 30 2009, 12:36 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

i'll sue them if i kena con
Darren
post Jul 2 2009, 04:32 PM

1,324 posts

I still buy from Startec but I too had a bad experience with them. Bought a P3 600MHz EB from them few years back and they confirmed that it will work with my MB. Went back plugin, nothing works. Return and wanna top up for P3 700MHz non EB but was told that restocking fees is 20% of the item value. WTF!!! Walk across to Compuzone bought a new mobo and it runs just fine. They are really a bunch of non friendly staffs, thats it. Nowadays I only buy stuffs like RAM, DVDRW etc that doesnt really require compatibility check and drivers, ONLY WHEN THEIR PRICE IS REALLY CHEAPER THAN OTHERS.
chewchew
post Jul 2 2009, 10:30 PM

545 posts

goldfries in the earlier part ask so many smart quesdtion....where the fcuk is he now??????????!!!!!....

if u cant offer any sympathy, then fcuk off lah, dumbass goldfries!!!!!~~~

idiot!!~~

atomik
post Jul 2 2009, 11:48 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(chewchew @ Jul 2 2009, 10:30 PM)
goldfries in the earlier part ask so many smart quesdtion....where the fcuk is he now??????????!!!!!....
if u cant offer any sympathy, then fcuk off lah, dumbass goldfries!!!!!~~~
idiot!!~~
bro, calm down. not only TS had bad experience like this. try PM (goldfries) him if u thing this is really emergency case to u. otherwise take back ur words,

respect.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by atomik: Jul 2 2009, 11:48 PM
abubin
post Jul 2 2009, 11:48 PM

10,429 posts

Sad story you got there but your mistake is saying yes for them to format your PC. The technical level of technicians in lowyat have the mentality of solving problems by formatting. Rules number 1 is never allow them to format or leave your PC overnight there. Especially if you have important data in your HDD.

Your story might not have much credibility (as pointed by goldfries) but it does seems real. The reason is a lot of people agree with the description of the services Startec is providing.

But I also agree with goldfries to take this kind of story at it's face value. It could always some exaggeration and putting all the blame on one side.

Just take this as a lesson not to leave your important hdd with computer shops. As for banning Startec, I have not done it but this is the last shop that I am going to buy items from if others does not have stock.
47th
post Jul 3 2009, 12:05 AM

133 posts

As a pc troubleshooter, they should got ethics. They should treat all customer pc as their pc. So in that case, when it comes to a situation that they need to do something related to the hard disk, they should do backup first.

In this case, we cannot blame TS due to she admit she know nothing regarding pc. So the one that claimed they KNOWS (the shop) but do a 'cincai' job like this is totally unacceptable.

Peace smile.gif
gerykhkc
post Jul 4 2009, 06:10 PM

135 posts

hope the shopkeeper get A(H1N1)

most of the technicians are just Form-5 graduate or Form-3.

This post has been edited by gerykhkc: Jul 4 2009, 06:15 PM
chewchew
post Jul 6 2009, 09:05 AM

545 posts

LOL....of cuz lah...form 3 and form 5 dropout and dun even know any english word...but wanna become technician konon!!!...lol...

such a moron....LOL...
azrilyp
post Jul 6 2009, 09:14 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(chewchew @ Jul 6 2009, 09:05 AM)
LOL....of cuz lah...form 3 and form 5 dropout and dun even know any english word...but wanna become technician konon!!!...lol...

such a moron....LOL...
wait till you hear them speaks in Malay. "kalau tulun halga saya makan tahik lor".

but as Darren said, i will still buy from them those small items if their price is the cheapest but so far other shops beat them to it.
Silverfire
post Jul 6 2009, 10:00 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

There's another to avoid: atom PC or something... Writing and uploading photos now. I'm sure you guys will WTF!
POKAUS
post Jul 6 2009, 08:11 PM

182 posts

hangat ni...must choose carefully the shop after this sweat.gif
badtrans2020
post Jul 12 2009, 12:03 PM

15 posts

probably u can try search software called "Recover My Files", it will definitely help u to recover back all your data.

I've done this before.

Remember, it will take a long time to recover all data.
jujubeans
post Jul 12 2009, 04:11 PM

Wow.. kind of bad men.

first time in my life see this type of pattern. anyway you should have backup important stuff before sending it over.

sad.gif
redhotpepper
post Jul 13 2009, 02:15 PM

48 posts

hmmm, bad workmenship. Without customer, they won't have business at all.
Clonolyxn
post Jul 13 2009, 03:47 PM

too bad...dun worry.
they will get punisment.. mad.gif

p.s:dun ever do like that to lady..
Serpentarius
post Jul 13 2009, 03:54 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Aug 17 2006, 01:26 PM)

+1

yeah ... you should NOT give your hard disk to anyone ....... remember Edison Chen case?

but i do pity TS .... such cases seems to happen everywhere .... ppl with no pc experience tends to get "Baptize" by these unscrupulous ppl ... why cant the owners hire more reliable ppl?
valentine1666
post Jul 15 2009, 12:34 AM

551 posts

pity u ts

i think since u r a lady they tried to cheat u

but format ur d drive is something that i can nvr understand for a gc some more

ban the shop from now on
anthonyhee86
post Jul 19 2009, 06:03 PM

19 posts

dont blame each other anymore, if they r expert so much they wont work they anymore. they just a normal dealer and seller ok. we buy hardware coz we r familiar or expert to configure and maintain all those staff.
cliffang83
post Jul 20 2009, 10:06 PM

801 posts

I used to have bad experience with them too... ever since that i never go to them again...
The quality of services is so bad... i doubt if the boss know it or the boss is the same...
SUS-YellowSn0w-
post Jul 20 2009, 10:39 PM

You Are the Chosen One !
716 posts

QUOTE(cliffang83 @ Jul 20 2009, 10:06 PM)
I used to have bad experience with them too... ever since that i never go to them again...
The quality of services is so bad... i doubt if the boss know it or the boss is the same...
da boss is mrs kong tongue.gif
kywong5005
post Jul 25 2009, 09:52 AM

u can use certain prograam to retrieve files in hdd, but not all files are retrievable.
hoei
post Jul 25 2009, 04:32 PM

25 posts

STARTEC SUCK!!!
i also dun like that shop!!!
item faulty request change or refund will lost 20% money as restocking! WTF!!!!
kill11
post Aug 5 2009, 12:26 PM

Go complain at this website

PUSAT KHIDMAT ADUAN PENGGUNA NASIONAL
http://nccc.org.my/index.php

Tell all the story and let them to do the investigation, because this was your right.

This post has been edited by kill11: Aug 5 2009, 12:28 PM
Blu3-Ic3
post Aug 14 2009, 12:15 PM

5 years memory loss...if it happen to me i gona burn that shop @@
milo89
post Aug 19 2009, 11:29 PM

15 posts

very sad tragedy sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

we all must do this

'ANTI-STARTEC'

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by milo89: Aug 19 2009, 11:46 PM
schivookh
post Aug 21 2009, 09:50 PM

21 posts

If you still have the hardisk and its still working you can actually retrieve the file, not all but at least some, there are some app that can do the job.
SUSbabyrabies
post Aug 21 2009, 09:58 PM

281 posts

to be honest, i dun think its wise to store any important data on hdd for a long period of time.
Even Servers have backup drives. Anyway, i learnt not to rely or trust most shop in LYP long time ago,
I trust dealers here, LYN more than any tomdickshop in LYP.
Turnip
post Aug 22 2009, 12:28 AM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

Someone from the 'suratkhabar' should do something about this matter...like putting a section of complaints in NST or malay mail or something...so people will know! kasi boycott smpai tutup kdai.Sorry had bad experienced with Startec also. sleep.gif
hKz
post Aug 22 2009, 03:04 PM

81 posts

thanks for ur attention. STARTEC banned. screw them
SUS-YellowSn0w-
post Aug 22 2009, 11:01 PM

You Are the Chosen One !
716 posts

Startec ada 2 kedai if i not mistaken Aforce and Startec if someone knoe got other but is under same company i dont know as i know their price list is 100% the same as Startec
customer2
post Aug 27 2009, 06:24 PM

823 posts

http://www.startec.com.my/

@.@
br3aker
post Aug 30 2009, 05:09 PM

hurm.. no good laa treating other people like this...
JusticeDeserves
post Aug 30 2009, 05:13 PM

1,914 posts

cool story, but maybe he did it by mistake?
mapTray
post Sep 1 2009, 11:58 AM

36 posts

-ignore- wrong section.

This post has been edited by mapTray: Sep 1 2009, 11:59 AM
gtlung1984
post Sep 24 2009, 08:35 AM

48 posts

I also dont like startec coz it's tauke so langsi and no discount even buy a lots whereby others shop can do it ??!!
papermun
post Oct 4 2009, 11:54 AM

102 posts

Hah i met with these kind of shops b4.
SCREW THEM THEY ARE IDIOTS!!
what does formatting have to do with d drive??
and worst still what does graphic card have to do with formatting?!

these kind of attitude.i hope they go bankrupt.
tempxyz
post Oct 16 2009, 02:55 PM

19 posts

Tks for the advise, I also experience some lowsy service in comp shops in Low Yat some time ago, will avoid startec forever, no matter how they've changed. come on it's a competitive market, it's not like the only place to buy pc is at startec....
beatlesalbum
post Oct 16 2009, 03:00 PM

1,711 posts

ATOM PC is pretty bad shop too. the owner/tauke has rooster hair cut style LCLY face.
blackgod911
post Oct 28 2009, 02:02 PM

just sue them..
i bought a set of pc from startec
but they gv me a spoilt ram...
caused me to take back to them
for ram exchange.

this also another case.
http://community.startec.com.my/forums/thread/12.aspx

greatlander
post Nov 16 2009, 05:14 AM

Feel sorry for you .. but you should get a mac for a good deal and probably you get serious and more enjoyable... using mac than using a pc...
Alex_tan168
post Nov 16 2009, 05:28 AM

367 posts

福京Fuk King Boycott Startec for sure!!! btw C Zone& Jayacom hv gud customer service ^^ thumbup.gif
bryanyeo
post Nov 16 2009, 09:41 AM

Apple rox
1,475 posts

I agree that Startec sux. Their price is expensive.

PC zone and Cycom got good customer service thumbup.gif
I've bought many things from PC zone and Cycom
syazwankiller
post Jan 19 2010, 01:31 AM

70 posts

edit nvm

This post has been edited by syazwankiller: Jan 28 2010, 09:29 PM
galaxy96
post Jan 31 2010, 05:19 PM

23 posts

same thing happen to me =,=
SUSMatrix
post Feb 3 2010, 11:35 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(greatlander @ Nov 16 2009, 05:14 AM)
Feel sorry for you .. but you should get a mac for a good deal and probably you get serious and more enjoyable... using mac than using a pc...
Fanboy detected. Just buy a DELL with on site support. Way better service than your Mac.
adipop
post Feb 8 2010, 02:22 AM

39 posts

no more startec here..anywhere..say NO to startec..or i'll beat them smoothly..
kymanhalim
post Feb 20 2010, 12:56 PM

113 posts

har.... i have no problem with the startec.... dun say like that lar....
veriouze
post Mar 3 2010, 01:47 AM

27 posts

feel sry for u...
ok noted...
ban STARTEC!!
frey_zero
post Mar 3 2010, 08:07 AM

467 posts

ok startec is banned now...

nandayryu
post Mar 30 2010, 01:54 AM

1,072 posts

good info
smartech
post Mar 30 2010, 02:33 PM

good info for all since i always buy stuff from this shop, so after this i'll take noted & mayb will switch to other shop which is recommended by other members.
AlexGTX
post Apr 17 2010, 11:03 AM

335 posts

ok i will never go to this shop anymore btw there's a shop name Compuzone they have good service there go get ur stuff there..xD

0.0469sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:29 PM