225 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...

lky88
post Jun 19 2014, 11:39 PM

154 posts

Back in malaysia, played my old babies , awyeaaa.

Sometimes drinking cheapass liquor and getting hammered beats a fancy night out with champagne
+3kk!
post Jun 19 2014, 11:53 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(lky88 @ Jun 19 2014, 11:39 PM)
Back in malaysia, played my old babies , awyeaaa.

Sometimes drinking cheapass liquor and getting hammered beats a fancy night out with champagne
pifft

yamazaki + german beer

win
echobrainproject
post Jun 20 2014, 10:43 AM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(ezpoir @ Jun 19 2014, 10:44 PM)
Hey there, I have a question and I'm hoping to get really helpful answers  biggrin.gif

I've learned guitar for about 2 years around 6 years ago, but last year I recently got back into it.
But I only got it to play the bands and songs that I really love (aka playing for fun) and my guitar is in Dropped B tuning
I am very in to Visual Kei, J-Rock, Post Rock and Metal and I got the guitar and just learned off tabs and some parts by hearing (as I have a little guitar knowledge)

Recently I wanted to take guitar seriously and to learn it, as I am planning to take music in the future (I'm still in high school now and that is probably the best choice for me as of now)

I thought that it would be better to learn in standard tuning, of course. So I got a Spear Strat in standard tuning.
My theory and guitar knowledge is pretty low, but I'm not a complete beginner. I know the open chords, minor/major 7ths and some major/minor scales. Pretty basic.

I'm planning to learn by myself, but the thing is that I'm not quite sure how/where to start off and what I should do.

I hope you guys can help me out.

Cheers!
Planning to take music in the future?
I would say gig gig gig and gig.

or if you are going the sesionist route, record record record and record. (though to start recording people have to notice you, know you, before you get a shot at it thats why its back to gig gig and gig. unless of course you are self funded)
plateau
post Jun 20 2014, 12:36 PM

Don't Touch My Stars™
984 posts

QUOTE(ezpoir @ Jun 19 2014, 11:25 PM)
So, to play metal solos what should I learn? What do I do?

I'm trying to get suggestions because I have no idea what to do or where to start
Youtube biggrin.gif

You'd be surprised to see what you can learn from youtube. wink.gif
MikeWJ
post Jun 21 2014, 02:14 AM

80 posts

Hi, I'm new here and here is my guitar!
ESP KH2 neck through body with EMG 81/60.

Anyway, here is a cover by me of a solo from a song by Metallica. Hope to hear your comments!
http://youtu.be/F7ucrSk3N1U
regiuseven
post Jun 21 2014, 04:03 PM

/k/ & /mu/
1,533 posts

Love it when metal bands go on acoustics
SUSPVCpipe
post Jun 21 2014, 11:04 PM

custom made
1,362 posts

QUOTE(MikeWJ @ Jun 21 2014, 02:14 AM)
Hi, I'm new here and here is my guitar!
ESP KH2 neck through body with EMG 81/60.

Anyway, here is a cover by me of a solo from a song by Metallica. Hope to hear your comments!
http://youtu.be/F7ucrSk3N1U
nice....
Kelvw
post Jun 22 2014, 02:56 AM

1,591 posts

amps update... covered for now cool2.gif

jackwylde
post Jun 22 2014, 03:37 AM

575 posts

im pretty much settled with podhd500x but you make me wanna change my setup with. dem marshalls

plateau
post Jun 22 2014, 08:59 PM

Don't Touch My Stars™
984 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Jun 22 2014, 02:56 AM)
amps update... covered for now  cool2.gif

Awesome! A fellow Marshall fan notworthy.gif
xDarkKnightx
post Jun 24 2014, 01:12 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Hey there guys I need some help. My acoustic guitar's bridge popped up from the bottom and is starting to show. I'm afraid I might inflict further damage so I've stopped using it. I can't go out at the moment but would any of you know how much it would cost to fix the bridge? Or is it even fixable at all? Problem arised when I used strings too thick for it. Tension is killing it.
pleasuresaurus
post Jun 25 2014, 12:13 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

How fat out did it pop, completely? Got pic? Try glue it back in place n then use lighter strings.
getguitar
post Jun 28 2014, 08:23 PM

For very first timers, it is very important which they are mindful from the particular instrument they are looking for. It is not recommended that you just choose up the very first guitar that appeals to you. You can also visit getguitar.net/
Lucidus
post Jun 28 2014, 11:25 PM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jun 24 2014, 01:12 PM)
Hey there guys I need some help. My acoustic guitar's bridge popped up from the bottom and is starting to show. I'm afraid I might inflict further damage so I've stopped using it. I can't go out at the moment but would any of you know how much it would cost to fix the bridge? Or is it even fixable at all? Problem arised when I used strings too thick for it. Tension is killing it.
Got picture? What guitar is it?
MikeWJ
post Jun 28 2014, 11:25 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jun 21 2014, 11:04 PM)
nice....
thank you!
John6
post Jul 1 2014, 11:17 AM

94 posts

Hi guys, planning to upgrade my amp and wanna hear some suggestions from u guys

Currently using a cheap nux mighty8, wanna upgrade to a tube amp, I'm eyeing on the blackstar ht-5, but its quite expensive, should I just get a cheap small amp like the ibanez valbee and use the spare cash on pedals? My budget is around 1.5k but the cheaper the better lol

Im looking for a more versatile amp, cos I play anything from blues to metal, tried the ux2 but didn't like it, prefer the sound from amps, thanks guys smile.gif
quarantined
post Jul 1 2014, 11:30 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(John6 @ Jul 1 2014, 11:17 AM)

Currently using a cheap nux mighty8, wanna upgrade to a tube amp, I'm eyeing on the blackstar ht-5, but its quite expensive, should I just get a cheap small amp like the ibanez valbee and use the spare cash on pedals? My budget is around 1.5k but the cheaper the better lol

Im looking for a more versatile amp, cos I play anything from blues to metal, tried the ux2 but didn't like it, prefer the sound from amps, thanks guys smile.gif
Versatile amp? Tube amps that are versatile can be very expensive.

Perhaps a clean tube amp with help from pedals will do? Probably over your budget but I'll save more and get the cheapest Ceriatone head (probably a champ clone) with a 12" speaker cab. Your guitars deserves a better amp!
TSEverdying
post Jul 1 2014, 11:35 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

if ur gonna get pedals, better u get a modelling amp.

+3kk!
post Jul 1 2014, 11:47 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(John6 @ Jul 1 2014, 11:17 AM)

first

1. how much noise can you make?
2. what genres do you play most
3. head only or head with cab/combo

generally, if you play in a small flat then 15 watters can cause some problems liao but that depends on what you play too. say if you want to crank out natural OD then yea its loud.

versatility is another point, in your budget msot of the amps i know are quite clean or quite dirty. while added pedals/guitars can change the amp's sound a bit, you wont get 4 channel versatile monsters. also versatile is a word thrown too often these days, a very clean amp can be versatile if u play alternative rock, blues, jazz etc etc just not metal.

based on your budget, id say a used ceriatone princetone (they can do down to about 1k) for a head, and if you want a combo an AC15C1. however be mindful, both amps are quite clean and are quite trebly

if you cant take that much power, AC4tv is quite good, frees you up some space for pedals.

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Jul 1 2014, 11:48 AM
John6
post Jul 1 2014, 11:54 AM

94 posts

Hi thanks for the replies guys, yeap forgot to mention I am staying in a flat so I cannot go too loud, space constrain is an issue as well, the ac4tv looks good, a lot of good reviews online, but how bout the valbee? And any opinions on the blackstar ht-5? If the ht-5 is really good I'll just forget everything and get that instead

225 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:01 AM