LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...

lky88
post May 8 2014, 07:46 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Barbossa @ May 8 2014, 06:53 PM)
Is this about guitar talks? Include me pleasee. And I am just beginner. Just started to learn guitar few weeks ago.
yup, but loads of them are uncle talking about uncle guitars ....

feel free to ask any questions though.
lky88
post May 8 2014, 09:25 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 8 2014, 08:22 PM)
ya man...shes sooo uncle biggrin.gif
oi, leave taylor alone! later she write gammy winning album about you ..
lky88
post May 9 2014, 12:19 AM

154 posts

Sg petani black metal? ???

Bring you song titles such as,
I summon the dark lord among fields of rice.
Bleed into the soil for a better harvest.

lky88
post May 9 2014, 12:29 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ May 9 2014, 12:27 AM)
Guys, regarding pickup pole pieces and string spacing, is it best if each string is right above the pole pieces?
Yup, so it sounds balanced, try to make sure the space between string and pole piece itself not too near or far as well
lky88
post May 9 2014, 12:38 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ May 9 2014, 12:33 AM)
If that's the case, what could I do to resolve this? Definitely not a good balance, too much volume variations on each string. sweat.gif

[attachmentid=3963059]
thats ... quite obvious... you didnt check for f spacing kah?

Maybe you can raise the pickup so its all loud? haha

lky88
post May 9 2014, 01:05 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ May 9 2014, 01:04 AM)
Wait. F-space is the term used by DiMarzio only. SD uses trembucker or something like that for the same thing.

I guess trem = Tremolo = Vintage trem on strat = Same string spacing on Tele = Bla bla bla I'm still Fked-up.

WTS - SD P-Rail Bridge Zzzz
make sure you say mention the spacing when selling =p
lky88
post May 9 2014, 09:53 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ May 9 2014, 06:46 PM)
Imma replace the input jack with a new Switchcraft. If that doesn't work too, Imma give up and send it to tech LoL.
why so many tech problems one?
lky88
post May 9 2014, 10:53 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(regiuseven @ May 9 2014, 10:27 PM)
lessons learnt: buy high ends, look for more moolahs
agreed !! already hunting for my next 6 string huehuehue.

lky88
post May 9 2014, 11:45 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 9 2014, 11:29 PM)
Leave us a hint on what you lookin for?
Can't decide between going for a custom build or just go high end production guitars...

If brit then : http://www.jadenroseguitars.com/guitars/original-series maybe one of these?
if polish then plenty of choices...

if aussie then most likely ormsby ...

Or could just play safe and get a suhr modern ...

so many choicessss so little moneyyy

lky88
post May 10 2014, 12:50 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ May 10 2014, 12:10 AM)
but that is well................GIM ma
6 months is very very short for a custom, most 'hot' luthier are running 1-2 year wait lists.
I think Ola strandbergs waiting list is around 300 people with less than 10 made a year ..

I think the forerunners for me now is Jaden Rose or Skervensen =p

yet I can't shake the fear of not liking them since i've tried neither ...
lky88
post May 10 2014, 01:12 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 10 2014, 12:53 AM)
Hey hey hey!
Go skervy go!!!
If i get one i might get one almost identical to Misha Mansoors one ... without the silly inlay and split fretboard.
lky88
post May 10 2014, 02:41 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 10 2014, 01:46 AM)
Duuude ud be like the few ppl who owns a skervy in sea.

Misha is such a crazy guitar snob.
Blackmachine n jackson cs if his is crazy lookin.
you get one la, then i join you. Start Skervy owners club malaysia
lky88
post May 10 2014, 06:46 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 10 2014, 09:09 AM)
fml. i don't even think i'll be joining your mayones club to begin with.
hows the neck on those thing?
delicious to play?
diff to other superstrats necks?
vs charvel, jackson and ibanez wizards?
The neck is amazing, for my taste at least, very very smooth and the thickness + radius just nice , very very accessible high frets . It's a setius its more like a prs than the regius . It's doesn't feel super thin like charvel/ jackson and ibanez , feels more .. sleek ? I prefer it to prestige 7 necks.
I suck at describing, but it's good . Can try in thailand i think they bring in ....

Other topics ,
Blackmachines are not only expensive but doug build ones are no longer available . (B2/B7 FF8)

The only ones available are B6s which are those swamp ash 6 strings . Build by Feline Guitars London with Doug. I think the waiting list is 1.5 years?

thats why soo many luthier shops are popping left right and centre making BM copies.

I don't think Dano will cabut with your money la.. The entire bernie rico jr episode has made everyone jumpy. For a right cause though.

Skerversen is pretty safe as they are going in the direction of Mayones / Carvin ( semi custom) .

I think extended wait times on customs are better than a rushed and botched job? The wait makes the first time you plug her in and make sweet love to here even better!

lky88
post May 10 2014, 08:49 PM

154 posts

[quote=+3kk!,May 10 2014, 08:18 PM]
not really boutiques cabut with peoples money, too long production time, false promises is more common than you think its normally the smaller ones that do it but still i can name a few off my head

even suhr had issues in meeting production promises

owh and since we are on the blackmachine topic, i saw this today
[/quote]
aye that one, quite good specs i dare say. looks green in real life

but something at the back of my head tells me something wrong is with that guitar
stirng your guitar as usual, but before you put the ends in, use a plier and twist the string to the direction you want to go in. then use your finger to press it down and turn

it will come out if you dont turn the string 90 degrees

[/quote]

Really ? That blackmachine story sounds very dodgy as doug doesn't take requests for his build , only small stuff like pickups and bridges as choices.
His guitars are basically build to what he wants to achieve in a guitar ( from what I've heard from BM owners)

But yea, the world of custom guitars oh so appealing but the delays and inevitable ...
Problem is most luthiers are guitarist who build guitars, not businessmen = shitty shitty business models and overbooking and shit .

lky88
post May 10 2014, 10:42 PM

154 posts

I'd buy a BM on moments notice.. ..
I can't imagine myself buying a boutique vintage guitar though, like LP or strat, like ever ever.
If i'm gonna spend 10k on a guitar I'd want it to be exactly what I like(modern) or really vintage stuff.

lky88
post May 11 2014, 12:10 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 11 2014, 12:01 AM)
I am sensing our taste is not so diff.
Though i myself would get all types of guitars
Eg lp. Strat. Superstrats. Super lps lols.
Whats your take on caparisons though.
Sad to say I've never tried them but
1. Superstrat
2. japanese
3. looks amazing
4. Japanese superstrat.

Would probably love them? Heard the necks are on the chunkier end of the skinny neck spectrum, which sounds like my sweet spot.

Did i mention awesome looking jap superstrats? hahaa
The 7 string horus really GAS-worthy

Pricey though ...
lky88
post May 11 2014, 08:08 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ May 11 2014, 01:38 AM)
True that.
They look mighty awesome.
Very hard to come by la 2nd hand. If pop up
At sub 5 k nabbed so fast. Even in japan market.
under... 5k? Dream on bro... dream on haha.

Well , while i'm saving up I should really be practicing much more, it's quite embarrassing playing high-end shit sloppily .. haha .

ps; anyone knows where to get cubase for free??? can't find a good crack leh, malaysia fake software shops sell ar?

pps : oh damn siggi brauns so soooo fineeeee
lky88
post May 11 2014, 07:16 PM

154 posts

All need to buy stuff =c

Eh i want capsicum guitar! no olives please extra cheese
lky88
post May 12 2014, 08:05 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 12 2014, 03:08 PM)
why wanna love inferior product when got gibsons/fenders/prs/charvels/jacksons/esps/cort/carvin out there? tongue.gif
all overrated . Sell all, acquire custom shop . PROFIT!!
lky88
post May 12 2014, 10:34 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(regiuseven @ May 12 2014, 10:05 PM)
I was soo caught up with work and..
wait what ? 7 string Horus ?? holy..
currently using the 9VDC outputs from my Fryette buffer, not sure how brands come into play when comparing these power devices..

my bad its the dellinger, the one i saw was a endorsees one so it had a diff finish, thought it was a horus ...

0.0881sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:14 PM