225 Pages « < 199 200 201 202 203 > » Bottom

LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...

+3kk!
post Apr 23 2018, 11:26 AM

8,275 posts

since we are on the topic of this, i just got a suhr reactive load and have been messing with IR's

thing is, i find that when i increase the volume and gain of my amp, the responsiveness doesnt seem to increase. Its kinda like this strange abomination of a well distorted and dirty tone, but having the touch responsiveness of the amp gain at 1-2.

its fine with chords cause i can hit the string hard, but when i go into soft touch shred, the whole thing falls apart.

i suspect its hte line 6 interface i use, the instrument in doesn't have a preamp
pleasuresaurus
post Apr 23 2018, 04:15 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Apr 22 2018, 03:42 PM)
your helix is able to get a dry amp signal yes? are they good?
'
cause you could load a wall of sound into a DAW, they got this free trial for 30 days that lets you messs around with it, then if you wanna buy its RM50 for a cab sim.

it might help with the tele issue tou have
When u say wall of sound, is that the name of a plugin? Or do u mean something like reamping dry signals thru different cab IRs? I was actually doing something similar, but very much dated - I run an old version of NI Guitar Rig for most of my home recording, and it has the option of reamping the tracks I DIed, which I then blend to thicken guitar sounds. Granted, its a really old plugin, pre-IR. I've not actually tried to record dry amp signal via Helix yet, I think it should turn out ok.

QUOTE(LeaSe*lineR @ Apr 23 2018, 12:27 AM)
My mixing also barai smile.gif anyway when using digital amp sim 1 super important thing are the guitar input level,
too low=dull, too loud=clipping/harsh so must find "chill" zone haha

Another is the IR cabinet itself...it didnt provide the "airy feeling" so later on had to add buss/fx.send
for some amount reverb/delay to get the feel like we usually listening to actual guitar amp speaker from 1,5,10 meter.

Someone did mentioned about delay to cover harshness/sharp notes <<< true, chorus pedal with rate,width,intensity knob at 0 also can do the trick smile.gif
Yeah man, I realize in hindsight that I should have prepared a little better for the session we did the other day. Got to get good quality input to be able to generate good quality output. I usually use reverb to kinda round out or blunt the harshness of guitars, but it also has the effect of pushing the instrument a little further back in the mix.

U know, I somehow feel like I would end up having to do what Everdying said and rerecord the offending track myself. That would be the simplest solution to the issue and would make my life easier, but truth be told I really wish I didn't have to, because it doesn't feel nice to just negate the effort my guitarist had put in. I can't use my own instruments to do it cuz all my guitars are H/H configurations that sound distinctly different. I think what I'll end up having to do is telling him I need to borrow the tele to do some minor punching-in / part corrections, then just satu kali settle everything senyap2. And then make sure they never read this post sweat.gif
+3kk!
post Apr 23 2018, 04:31 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 23 2018, 04:15 PM)
When u say wall of sound, is that the name of a plugin? Or do u mean something like reamping dry signals thru different cab IRs? I was actually doing something similar, but very much dated - I run an old version of NI Guitar Rig for most of my home recording, and it has the option of reamping the tracks I DIed, which I then blend to thicken guitar sounds. Granted, its a really old plugin, pre-IR. I've not actually tried to record dry amp signal via Helix yet, I think it should turn out ok.

Yea its a name of a plugin, done by two notes one of hte main guys behind these kinda IR stuff. (they do the torpedo live, you might heard of it) The wall of sound is kinda famous for the cab simulators, since theres a 30 day free trial i thought you might wanna give it a try

I wont call ill re-amping, more "recab" since with the wall of sound you are able to adjust mic placements. So you can put the dry DI amped signal into wall of sound (WOS), put the mic as near as possible and run another dry DI signal into WOS but with the mic further and less centre. Or put a ribbon mic sim infront to make it darker

I just started getting into these shit, so im experimenting on it and thought of that lol

LeaSe*lineR
post Apr 23 2018, 10:22 PM

622 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 23 2018, 04:15 PM)
Yeah man, I realize in hindsight that I should have prepared a little better for the session we did the other day. Got to get good quality input to be able to generate good quality output. I usually use reverb to kinda round out or blunt the harshness of guitars, but it also has the effect of pushing the instrument a little further back in the mix.

U know, I somehow feel like I would end up having to do what Everdying said and rerecord the offending track myself. That would be the simplest solution to the issue and would make my life easier, but truth be told I really wish I didn't have to, because it doesn't feel nice to just negate the effort my guitarist had put in. I can't use my own instruments to do it cuz all my guitars are H/H configurations that sound distinctly different. I think what I'll end up having to do is telling him I need to borrow the tele to do some minor punching-in / part corrections, then just satu kali settle everything senyap2. And then make sure they never read this post sweat.gif
too many trick and sorcery in song mixing lol, you can always high shelf/boost to increase the high frequency again
or blending with another same track with less reverb.
rock/hardrock/metal guitar is all about 1 khz to 6 khz biggrin.gif people/human ears more sensitive on this frequencies

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Apr 23 2018, 04:31 PM)
Yea its a name of a plugin, done by two notes one of hte main guys behind these kinda IR stuff. (they do the torpedo live, you might heard of it) The wall of sound is kinda famous for the cab simulators, since theres a 30 day free trial i thought you might wanna give it a try

I wont call ill re-amping, more "recab" since with the wall of sound you are able to adjust mic placements. So you can put the dry DI amped signal into wall of sound (WOS), put the mic as near as possible and run another dry DI signal into WOS but with the mic further and less centre. Or put a ribbon mic sim infront to make it darker

I just started getting into these shit, so im experimenting on it and thought of that lol
try guitarrig5 and th3 overloud demo version as well bro smile.gif they allow free 15 to 30 minutes on each sessions hehe

LeaSe*lineR
post Apr 29 2018, 02:33 PM

622 posts

sharing IR smile.gif

+3kk!
post May 3 2018, 04:35 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(LeaSe*lineR @ Apr 29 2018, 02:33 PM)
sharing IR smile.gif

hahahah thanks man,

unfortunately i dont think i can use atm, friend came over the weekend so i tested his focusrite through my suhr reactive load

turns out i need the interface, my line 6 studio GX is hopeless
LeaSe*lineR
post May 10 2018, 04:01 AM

622 posts

heheh im using gx too lol crappy interface
+3kk!
post May 10 2018, 09:37 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(LeaSe*lineR @ May 10 2018, 04:01 AM)
heheh im using gx too lol crappy interface
yea, not even applicable

it just make everything sound and feel like shit
LeaSe*lineR
post May 10 2018, 04:17 PM

622 posts

for practice² ok lah l6 gx haha which focusrite model u test?
+3kk!
post May 11 2018, 05:03 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(LeaSe*lineR @ May 10 2018, 04:17 PM)
for practice² ok lah l6 gx haha which focusrite model u test?
actually its bad enough that i wont even consider it for practice, its one of the reasons i asked my firend to bring his interface to test

it was a focusrite solo
LeaSe*lineR
post May 11 2018, 08:37 PM

622 posts

haha to me gx if clean² channel/modulation ok la...when letak gain amp semua jadi teruk lol
+3kk!
post May 14 2018, 09:44 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(LeaSe*lineR @ May 11 2018, 08:37 PM)
haha to me gx if clean² channel/modulation ok la...when letak gain amp semua jadi teruk lol
yea that

but it also cuts off the higher registers and sensitivity, kinda like the gain is set to 0 then an eq cuts off anything trebly

its almost unplayable when you are soloing, the notes dont ring and decays faster than overripe fruit

LeaSe*lineR
post May 15 2018, 02:59 AM

622 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ May 14 2018, 09:44 AM)
yea that

but it also cuts off the higher registers and sensitivity, kinda like the gain is set to 0 then an eq cuts off anything trebly

its almost unplayable when you are soloing, the notes dont ring and decays faster than overripe fruit
hehe the only way my crappy guitar can get clarity with higher gain by doing crazy lowpass slope around 3khz before hitting any ampsim

ariffdude
post May 18 2018, 11:16 AM

630 posts

New guitar day (after 1 year), left one. Just a cheap one, need something as a guitar belasahan.
quarantined
post May 31 2018, 04:04 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Any happening guitar places to recommend in Tokyo? live venues? Besides Ochanomizu?

heading there soon..
+3kk!
post May 31 2018, 04:36 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ May 31 2018, 04:04 PM)
Any happening guitar places to recommend in Tokyo? live venues? Besides Ochanomizu?

heading there soon..
go watch NIN lol
quarantined
post May 31 2018, 05:04 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ May 31 2018, 04:36 PM)
go watch NIN lol
not unfortunately, im going there next month. you going?

Im thinking about the bangkok one.. too fucking awesome concert to miss
+3kk!
post May 31 2018, 06:34 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ May 31 2018, 05:04 PM)
not unfortunately, im going there next month. you going?

Im thinking about the bangkok one.. too fucking awesome concert to miss
was thinking about it, but its like 2k to go, then another k for hotels and im like maybe not

so yea thinking about the bangkok one also
quarantined
post Jun 4 2018, 04:25 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ May 31 2018, 06:34 PM)
was thinking about it, but its like 2k to go, then another k for hotels and im like maybe not

so yea thinking about the bangkok one also
Didn't you just went there before? Any nice hidden place to recommend?

Any good pub/ live venues.. for metal, avant garde or fusion jazz...
+3kk!
post Jun 4 2018, 04:35 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Jun 4 2018, 04:25 PM)
Didn't you just went there before? Any nice hidden place to recommend?

Any good pub/ live venues.. for metal, avant garde or fusion jazz...
osaka lol, but even then im sorry man, went there with ahmoi and ahmoi took up like 90% of my time

225 Pages « < 199 200 201 202 203 > » Top

0.0229sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:09 PM