224 Pages « < 198 199 200 201 202 > » Bottom

LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...

quarantined
post Apr 19 2018, 04:01 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

lol i bet these problems came up often..

How do you tell your guitarist that his tone/effect/guitar sounds bad?? hahaha
led_zep_freak
post Apr 19 2018, 04:09 PM

5,231 posts

Teles have been around for a long time and loved, recorded, played live by countless professional guitarists of wide ranging genres.

If you don't like it, that's fine.
But if you can't dial a decent tone, that's probably you. biggrin.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Apr 19 2018, 11:17 PM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Apr 19 2018, 04:01 PM)
lol i bet these problems came up often..

Kan? Its like catch 22 - hurt their pride or hurt ur ears. I feel bad la dictating these kinds of things to others and coming across as bossy or even going as far as being a killjoy - some ppl get really demotivated when u tell them stuff like this. I'm sure there is a polite and delicate way to handle this, and that I would be a better human being if I were able to accomplish it. Unfortunately I haven't got the script biggrin.gif

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Apr 19 2018, 04:09 PM)
Teles have been around for a long time and loved, recorded, played live by countless professional guitarists of wide ranging genres.

If you don't like it, that's fine.
But if you can't dial a decent tone, that's probably you. biggrin.gif
There is a distinction between "dialling" good sound and "capturing" good sound. Recording is a great learning experience, it sheds light on a lot of things. Like how much I hate Teles. Its just my personal experience. Chill la bro, no need to butthurt.

led_zep_freak
post Apr 20 2018, 01:01 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 19 2018, 11:17 PM)
There is a distinction between "dialling" good sound and "capturing" good sound. Recording is a great learning experience, it sheds light on a lot of things. Like how much I hate Teles. Its just my personal experience. Chill la bro, no need to butthurt.
It doesn't change my point, teles have been recorded by engineers and producers in countless classic recordings. So one has to wonder, is it the failure of the player in dialing a good tone or the engineer in capturing it?

On a side note, don't just tag people as 'butthurt' just because they disagree with you. I'm don't own a tele and neither am I a fan of its piercing bridge tone. But I would never question its ability to produce great tones because many of my favourite guitar tones were incidentally recorded with a tele. This includes stuff ranging from the Stones to Led Zep I to Jeff Buckley. So, after reading a full page of harsh opinions, it's just a thought that jumped out to me. Pardon me if I should have put a 'tame' filter, but my point still stands.
pleasuresaurus
post Apr 20 2018, 10:26 AM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

Previous forumers so far have given constructive comments: add this, tweak that, use another tool etc. I appreciate these suggestions, and intend to try them out.

U, on the other hand, compare me to industry professionals (I'm obviously not) and essentially scoff at my attempts. Ur defending a piece of wood like its a mark of ur honor, u've contributed nothing positive and u've chided me in the process. And when I call u out ur, wat, upset?

Sorry, not sorry.

Like I said, its my personal opinion, I'm not trying to convince anyone. Dont butthurt la, lets just agree to disagree.

led_zep_freak
post Apr 20 2018, 12:36 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 20 2018, 10:26 AM)
Previous forumers so far have given constructive comments: add this, tweak that, use another tool etc. I appreciate these suggestions, and intend to try them out.

U, on the other hand, compare me to industry professionals (I'm obviously not) and essentially scoff at my attempts. Ur defending a piece of wood like its a mark of ur honor, u've contributed nothing positive and u've chided me in the process. And when I call u out ur, wat, upset?

Sorry, not sorry.

Like I said, its my personal opinion, I'm not trying to convince anyone. Dont butthurt la, lets just agree to disagree.
First of all, it wasn't a comment directed specifically at you. It was a light-hearted jab at all the negative comments on the guitar, yet you seem to have taken it as a personal scoff. It's not. Siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedas. Relax.

From what I gathered from the last few posts, I get the impression that you lot are saying that that the guitar is the problem. All I'm saying is the problem isn't in the guitar, but the users. That's all.

Lastly, what constructive comments?
Has anyone actually ask you what genre you were recording? Or what tone your guitarist was trying to achieve? What amp and amp setting was he using? What mic was being used? What is it in the track that doesn't sit right in the mix? Without all these information, how could any suggestion be considered constructive? All posts were just off-handed light-hearted comments like "icepick", "get a superior guitar" and "campak jauh jauh" etc. You seemed to accept those comments, so why is it that I semi-jokingly question the users, it doesn't sit right with you?

I'm not upset, I'm just bemused by your reaction. laugh.gif
led_zep_freak
post Apr 20 2018, 12:49 PM

5,231 posts

Anyway for the sake of forum peace, I'll leave it as it is and will not reply any further on the tele discussion. Have a good weekend and rock on folks! thumbsup.gif

PS: I guess this just highlights the difficulty that Quarantined has brought up earlier.

It's much easier to question the equipment than the user. biggrin.gif
+3kk!
post Apr 20 2018, 05:00 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Apr 20 2018, 01:01 AM)
It doesn't change my point, teles have been recorded by engineers and producers in countless classic recordings. So one has to wonder, is it the failure of the player in dialing a good tone or the engineer in capturing it?

On a side note, don't just tag people as 'butthurt' just because they disagree with you. I'm don't own a tele and neither am I a fan of its piercing bridge tone. But I would never question its ability to produce great tones because many of my favourite guitar tones were incidentally recorded with a tele. This includes stuff ranging from the Stones to Led Zep I to Jeff Buckley. So, after reading a full page of harsh opinions, it's just a thought that jumped out to me. Pardon me if I should have put a 'tame' filter, but my point still stands.
its very easy to quote the greats without understanding what tools the great have

can one mellow out a teles ice pick ? yes, bring in a marshall JMP, hook it into the "normal" channel and the tele's ice pick would be drowned under the marshall growl.

or put the mic further, in an iso room, bring up the volume .

or use a ribbon mic

all the above can be found in many bigger studios, or least teh studios that the great reside in

but most of us dont have such equipments, nor the skills to use them (cause dont even have them), what most of us have is kinda like an SM57 (a bright mic) , hook it though a humble interface (like a scarlett or line6) then record it though our respective pirated or freeware DAW. If its a studio? its a marshall MG, not a JMP laugh.gif

likewise even the tele, which sound different from model to model, nocasters have mud wiring, FCS can go from fat to icepick depending on the season, squires which are icepick for all seasons. but i guess you get my point

its a bit wrong to compare our humble selves to the players in Valhalla, we tend to be blinded by why are they diff, kinda like "why employee can, and you cannot?" logic. then you find out, sure she can ma, she sucks diks for sales

quarantined
post Apr 20 2018, 05:36 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

the problem isn't in the guitar, but the users
It's much easier to question the equipment than the user.

Quoted for truth biggrin.gif
led_zep_freak
post Apr 20 2018, 07:00 PM

5,231 posts

Tekki, the comparison to the pros is just an example. I'm sure there are countless amateurs and indie bands who have gotten significant mileage from a Tele, studio or live.

And mind you, many of the classic records were recorded with ancient technology often with strict limitations. Led zep I was recorded in a week, and funded solely by Jimmy Page's earnings from his sessions. (I couldn't remember but I believe he used a small Supro amp for that album?) Still sounds amazing and comparable to his later LP tone. Much of Stones classic songs were recorded even earlier. DAWs, software VST effects, cheap guitars and cheap digital amps these days are far more better than what they had those days IMHO.

To borrow your metaphor, it's more like "Oh I should give up climbing my career ladder since my family didn't have the dough to send me overseas for a PhD". laugh.gif

Having said that, all this Tele chatter makes me wanna go play one. The last time I did was a decade ago when I was deciding if between a Tele and Strat.
+3kk!
post Apr 20 2018, 10:48 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Apr 20 2018, 07:00 PM)
Tekki, the comparison to the pros is just an example. I'm sure there are countless amateurs and indie bands who have gotten significant mileage from a Tele, studio or live.

And mind you, many of the classic records were recorded with ancient technology often with strict limitations. Led zep I was recorded in a week, and funded solely by Jimmy Page's earnings from his sessions. (I couldn't remember but I believe he used a small Supro amp for that album?) Still sounds amazing and comparable to his later LP tone. Much of Stones classic songs were recorded even earlier. DAWs, software VST effects, cheap guitars and cheap digital amps these days are far more better than what they had those days IMHO.

To borrow your metaphor, it's more like "Oh I should give up climbing my career ladder since my family didn't have the dough to send me overseas for a PhD". laugh.gif

Having said that, all this Tele chatter makes me wanna go play one. The last time I did was a decade ago when I was deciding if between a Tele and Strat.
well they all have different teles, setups , and understanding on how to work with a tele. I like the tele, been my go to for a while now, but i recognize that trying to get a heavy djent tone out of it is near impossible with the hardware i use it with. Likewise i know it tends to icepick for fun, dislikes heavy attacks and pierces like no tomorrow. Its just the nature of the beast

I think some perspective is needed, this is the studio that recorded Led Zep 1, Stones, and many other records in rock history

Page Recording Led Zep 2 - 1969

this is how big it is

BBKing

I dont know about you, but id willingly give away every new and cheap effects, call it heresy and baptise myself in vintage snake oil to own a studio bigger than my house. laugh.gif

well, if the family is not of a wealthy background, the odds of a kid getting a foreign PHD is very low.

speaking of recording

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 20 2018, 10:26 AM)

you use any IR stuff? i kinda got into it recently recabing a dry signal might help it
TSEverdying
post Apr 21 2018, 10:09 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,688 posts

the only tele that matters tongue.gif

[user posted image

LeaSe*lineR
post Apr 22 2018, 02:23 AM

622 posts

carvin TL60 pun sexy haha

quarantined
post Apr 22 2018, 10:24 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

i have strange fascination with the weird ones

This post has been edited by quarantined: Apr 22 2018, 10:25 AM
TSEverdying
post Apr 22 2018, 10:34 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,688 posts

i had GAS for that sambora paisley strat before...and other sambora ones... tongue.gif

but why are the faces censored? kotzen? sambora?
+3kk!
post Apr 22 2018, 10:42 AM

8,275 posts

this is a tele porn thread

Heresy without a nocaster

quarantined
post Apr 22 2018, 11:38 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 22 2018, 10:34 AM)
but why are the faces censored? kotzen? sambora?
Just what i got from these archives http://brochures.yokochou.com/, they blurted it out for whatever reasons..
pleasuresaurus
post Apr 22 2018, 12:56 PM

spin spin sugar
2,574 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Apr 20 2018, 10:48 PM)
speaking of recording
you use any IR stuff? i kinda got into it recently recabing a dry signal might help it
I did actually toy with the idea some time ago, of perhaps using an IR loader for the DAW, then thought I'd just get the Helix and load it in there instead. But after playing around with the Helix I felt that my current setup wasn't really doing it justice, so KIVed the whole plan until I can get a decent speaker solution. With the new Powercab 112 about to hit the market soon, I might revisit it then.
+3kk!
post Apr 22 2018, 03:42 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 22 2018, 12:56 PM)
I did actually toy with the idea some time ago, of perhaps using an IR loader for the DAW, then thought I'd just get the Helix and load it in there instead. But after playing around with the Helix I felt that my current setup wasn't really doing it justice, so KIVed the whole plan until I can get a decent speaker solution. With the new Powercab 112 about to hit the market  soon, I might revisit it then.
your helix is able to get a dry amp signal yes? are they good?
'
cause you could load a wall of sound into a DAW, they got this free trial for 30 days that lets you messs around with it, then if you wanna buy its RM50 for a cab sim.

it might help with the tele issue tou have
LeaSe*lineR
post Apr 23 2018, 12:27 AM

622 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Apr 22 2018, 12:56 PM)
I did actually toy with the idea some time ago, of perhaps using an IR loader for the DAW, then thought I'd just get the Helix and load it in there instead. But after playing around with the Helix I felt that my current setup wasn't really doing it justice, so KIVed the whole plan until I can get a decent speaker solution. With the new Powercab 112 about to hit the market  soon, I might revisit it then.
My mixing also barai smile.gif anyway when using digital amp sim 1 super important thing are the guitar input level,
too low=dull, too loud=clipping/harsh so must find "chill" zone haha

Another is the IR cabinet itself...it didnt provide the "airy feeling" so later on had to add buss/fx.send
for some amount reverb/delay to get the feel like we usually listening to actual guitar amp speaker from 1,5,10 meter.

Someone did mentioned about delay to cover harshness/sharp notes <<< true, chorus pedal with rate,width,intensity knob at 0 also can do the trick smile.gif

224 Pages « < 198 199 200 201 202 > » Top

0.0908sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 04:13 PM