LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...

ariffdude
post Jul 3 2014, 02:19 PM

630 posts

I've seen Vigiers too, in a shop in Paris. Didn't had the guts to touch it. would love to own a Marilyn though.
ariffdude
post Jul 4 2014, 09:41 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Jul 4 2014, 01:51 AM)
shoulda shred a bit on it. just to get the feel gauged.
i know i would've.
yeah i should have. Regretting it already. Shop owner looks quite stern, but he allowed me to take pictures. Don't know why i didn't bother to give it a try.

ariffdude
post Jul 11 2014, 08:32 PM

630 posts

Passacaglia by Handel/Halvorrsen. For modern music, it's probably the Winter Madness solo by Wintersun.
ariffdude
post Oct 17 2014, 04:04 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Oct 17 2014, 04:01 PM)
thanks guys for advice... already bought G3X... btw, it has only single output to earphone... so its mono?
I have the G3. The left output is stereo, so if you insert a 1/4" headphone, you'll get sound on both sides.
ariffdude
post Oct 17 2014, 05:20 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Oct 17 2014, 04:14 PM)
btw, if want stereo, need to connect to both L & R? or L only? dont get what u mean
Go buy the converter and find out.
ariffdude
post Oct 29 2014, 09:25 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 29 2014, 09:09 AM)
to my knowledge theres 2 santa cruz, one is THE santa cruz, the acoustic maker whose guitars cost you your left kidney and your sister. the other is the el'cheapo SX like guitar thats MIC or MII which comes about your price range. they are both different companies as you are correct THE santa cruz only makes eletrics

technically its not a fake coz no gibson logo, so erm ya
I heard THE santa cruz had a shock of their life when they met up with SHIT santa cruz at a NAMM like event or something. But yeah SHIT santa cruz is shit. My bandmate uses the les paul custom. It might looks good from the outside, but got wiring problems, very high action, low playability, cheap parts. I wouldn't recommend it at all.
ariffdude
post May 5 2015, 01:45 PM

630 posts

I thought that ESP was gone already?
ariffdude
post Jun 5 2015, 09:36 AM

630 posts

I think the vox mini 5 has a bigger headroom which makes you feel like you're playing a much bigger amp. but they're gain sounds really solid state, lots of fizziness. The microcube has very good gains, very tubelike. I love the ac30 and dual rec sound, but it does sound small. perhaps a cube 20 is better.
ariffdude
post Jun 9 2015, 09:40 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(pj_guitarist @ Jun 8 2015, 09:39 PM)
my bad nigga. it says flame maple, painted over flame maple? maybe,
maybe baked maple instead.
ariffdude
post Jun 9 2015, 11:09 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 9 2015, 11:03 AM)
i think even grade A ebony got brown streaks, just grade C is more all over the place tongue.gif
Yeah ever since that Taylor guy made that video.
ariffdude
post Jun 9 2015, 11:13 AM

630 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anCGvfsBoFY

Ok I noob dunno how to insert video.

This post has been edited by ariffdude: Jun 9 2015, 11:14 AM
ariffdude
post Jun 15 2015, 12:02 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Jun 15 2015, 11:51 AM)
Amps doesn't get a lot of love here.

What amps you guys using as your main amp? What are the best on offer these days? Anything within your radar?

I really wanted to try a higher end modelling amps, seems nobody stocks them here, the fractals and kempers..
Tu la pasal. I think amps contribute more to the tone compared to guitars or pedals.

I'm currently using my Krank Rev Jr Pro 20W (modded Orange LED by chickensonique). Randall Diavlo 112 cab with Celestion G12-65.

Also have Bugera v5 for bluesy stuff. Thinking of adding an open back 112 for that.
ariffdude
post Jun 17 2015, 01:49 PM

630 posts

Would love to own a Diezel Herbert and Framus Cobra one day. Shit that would be awesome.
ariffdude
post Jun 17 2015, 02:59 PM

630 posts

Prefer a combination of tight as hell and thick and loose, like a Mesa Dual Rec and Peavey 5150 combined together.

Majority of my playing is probably Kreator or Sepultura, but I hate those 80's and 90's thin solid state like metal guitar tone. More towards KSE tone.
ariffdude
post Jun 19 2015, 02:54 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Jun 19 2015, 02:17 PM)
Shiet! I should totally get one. (Yet another excuse to splurge my money on something too much for me tongue.gif )

Anyway how does it sound through headphones?
I think for sure it's like 6k. Get the 6505MH la bro. RM2.5k only. Got the same function, can play through headphones. Nowadays quite common in lunchbox amps, like the IRT-Studio also.
ariffdude
post Jun 19 2015, 04:51 PM

630 posts

Guitar Store in Hartamas got. should have tested it, but was with my family at that time.
ariffdude
post Jun 25 2015, 01:18 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 25 2015, 12:43 PM)
its a joke bro

but that pickup i thought someone did it dy
I thought something was off when i saw the pickup connector like that ancient printer cable head. Didn't see that small footnote.
ariffdude
post Jul 10 2015, 11:22 AM

630 posts

I have this cheap Ibanez TR50 bass (which belongs to my bro in law, so I can't sell it, reluctantly have to keep it, so might as well make it useable). It's currently strung with D'Addario EXP Reds. The string gauge is 45-105. However, whenever i take it out of the bag, the action always came out high, and I always have to retighten the truss rod. Is it possible that the string gauge is too high which causes the neck to bow? Would it be better if I change the gauge to 35-95?

I know the bass itself is not very good quality so the truss rod kinda sucks too. The body is made out of plywood, which pretty much tells everything you need to know.
ariffdude
post Oct 17 2015, 11:08 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(HeavensGift @ Oct 17 2015, 06:16 PM)
but wouldn't learning both at once be tedious? cause current class 30mins per week. if learn both means 1hour per week and practice time needs to be doubled.
Never be afraid of hardwork, be more afraid that you regret not doing something when you're old.
ariffdude
post Oct 18 2015, 09:10 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 18 2015, 12:07 AM)
if you find playing an hour a week "tedious" then i suggest to stop the endeavor and look at something else

most of hte guys i know play everyday
I think he meant 1 hour of class per week. No problem there, when you go up the grades, class time increases as well.

But why need to take class for electric guitar? Just learn from youtube je lah.

0.0789sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:21 PM