~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions

cheaka
post Jan 23 2007, 11:34 AM

407 posts

My 2nd Week with Gollum

Here's my progress so far. As my SG is an Adult Male, and i was told it will take time to tame and bond with him. So I have been taking him out in the morning before i head off to work, put him on my tummy with my smelly t-shirt, stroke him, talk to him and feed him either fruits or worms.

Then when i get back home at night, he will be still sleeping in the smelly t-shirt, and I will take him out again, put him on my tummy, stroke him, talk to him and feed him worms at a meal. And usually when he have his first few worms, he will then poo poo on me. shakehead.gif

After that i will put him back into the cage, and he will wonder around the cage. He likes to hang on the top of the cage.

At this moment, he is still very shy. He refuses to come out. If I were to take away the smelly t-shirt from him when i take him out. He will get very worried and try to search for it. Then I will have to give him back before he stressed out.

He is still not willingly to come to my hand. Only take the food from me. If i were to leave the food on my palm, he still too shy to come to get it. I have to give him.

At night, when the whole room is dark, he will dare to come down the cage and head to the container to eat the "koa chi". Hahaha....I will usually leave a slice of fruits on another tray and he will usually finish it when I get up in the morning.

Is my technique correct ah? Do i have to do anything more? I know i have to be very patient but I hope i am doing the right way.

kweekit
post Jan 23 2007, 11:39 AM

81 posts

me cnt give advice cause mine still joeys...heheh
cheaka
post Jan 23 2007, 11:43 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(kweekit @ Jan 23 2007, 11:39 AM)
me cnt give advice cause mine still joeys...heheh
I wish i have gotten joeys too... but that time don't have any in the pet shop.....and Gollum was the only one that look at me .... tongue.gif
White Palace
post Jan 23 2007, 12:26 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

Hey cheaka, glad there is one who own adult & in taming progress, may i know at 1st when you try to approach your SG will it bite?
cheaka
post Jan 23 2007, 12:41 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Jan 23 2007, 12:26 PM)
Hey cheaka, glad there is one who own adult & in taming progress, may i know at 1st when you try to approach your SG will it bite?
Hi. I am not a pro on this. This thread had been very helpful in giving me tips and guidelines.

Yes. He does bite. But before I really put my hand in to grab him. On the first day, I leave him in the cage. Wherever he is holding, i will use my hand to touch his feet, his tail.

At first I had a coconut shell and he would hide in there. I will try to bring food to him and let me take it from me. Let him smell your fingers, if he bites, if hurts very badly then you move your hand out, if not...i usually just leave it there...let him think that this finger is not food..hahaha....i got bitten a few times...but i am quiet lucky..he is usually pinching...testing it out...try to bare with the pain loh...i guess....

But now I took out the coconut shell and put my smelly t-shirt in there....i was worried at first but he sort of found himself there and sleep there. As it is the only place he get to hide. rclxms.gif
White Palace
post Jan 23 2007, 12:50 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

I see, although you are not a pro, your experience is really important to me, thanks for sharing.
suiteng
post Jan 23 2007, 02:34 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

@cheaka

Hehe.. Gollum is still not used to your smell yet? Or izzit your T-Shirt is too smelly liao? tongue.gif

Glad to know that you're doing extremely well, keep it up!
cheaka
post Jan 23 2007, 03:09 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 23 2007, 02:34 PM)
@cheaka

Hehe.. Gollum is still not used to your smell yet? Or izzit your T-Shirt is too smelly liao? tongue.gif

Glad to know that you're doing extremely well, keep it up!
the problem is..he pee pee and poo poo on the shirt...it is too smelly now...i am now going to wear another t-shirt to sleep for 2 nights.... blush.gif
suiteng
post Jan 23 2007, 04:42 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 23 2007, 03:09 PM)
the problem is..he pee pee and poo poo on the shirt...it is too smelly now...i am now going to wear another t-shirt to sleep for 2 nights.... blush.gif
Oh... good good. Getting a hang of it ya? tongue.gif
But it seems like you use quite a number of shirts oh..
Vio
post Jan 23 2007, 04:55 PM

829 posts

mine ar is around 4-5 months old already. how to hand feed and catch them oo? when i wan to hand feed them they will attack my hand. the worst part is how to catch them n leave them on my tummy?? blink.gif i scared when i put them on my tummy will they ran away? i have bought locks and i use some wooden planks to surround the bottom part of the cage so that they can't see the cat and the cat can't see them ^^

This post has been edited by Vio: Jan 23 2007, 04:58 PM
kweekit
post Jan 23 2007, 05:36 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 23 2007, 04:55 PM)
mine ar is around 4-5 months old already. how to hand feed and catch them oo? when i wan to hand feed them they will attack my hand. the worst part is how to catch them n leave them on my tummy??  blink.gif  i scared when i put them on my tummy will they ran away?
oooh...ur's like adult onli...when u got them?...try putting ur finger dipped with apple sauce...
and put infront of their mouth...heheh....not easy la..bt after few times then ok...give them ur smelly shirt..
the one put at ur tummy..that wan chill first ler...wait until it get's used to u...bt i guess there's no harm using alittle force..heheh
kweekit
post Jan 23 2007, 05:38 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 23 2007, 11:43 AM)
I wish i have gotten joeys too... but that time don't have any in the pet shop.....and Gollum was the only one that look at me .... tongue.gif
wahh so syok man bt joeys are dam noty..n trist me thy cn be tooo clicky...hehehe
cheaka
post Jan 23 2007, 05:43 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 23 2007, 04:42 PM)
Oh... good good. Getting a hang of it ya? tongue.gif
But it seems like you use quite a number of shirts oh..
Only 1 t shirt ....going to be 2 t-shirts...but no worries lah...all free t-shirt one...ehhee...
cheaka
post Jan 23 2007, 05:49 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(kweekit @ Jan 23 2007, 05:36 PM)
...bt i guess there's no harm using alittle force..heheh
9V battery?? hehhehehe...

Vio: You can try my technique loh...what I did is put in my smelly t-shirt..once he is sleeping on the smelly t-shirt...you can take him out and put him on your tummy...mine don't run around as very scared ....so he would stay inside the t-shirt....and i would just watch tv and hold him on my tummy..like taking care of baby...ehheheheh...
cheaka
post Jan 23 2007, 05:51 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(kweekit @ Jan 23 2007, 05:38 PM)
wahh so syok man bt joeys are dam noty..n trist me thy cn be tooo clicky...hehehe
really....good lah...mine like no movement one...just makan and sleep.... sweat.gif
kweekit
post Jan 23 2007, 06:18 PM

81 posts

good for u lorh..cheaka...mine ah..become stunt man dee...i dam sakit hati everytime see he fall down..the female one also makan sleep but the male one giler active..do jackie chan kung fu summore..climb on the female quickly jump to my hand dun wan let go haha...how's both of ur anak anak??

VIO: yeah pt ur smelly t-shirt..or..u could...erm take a cloth wipe all around u when u sweating n put for them..heheh..if u dun have cloth...fart inside the case oni...then they will know ur smell..hahah..lol was joking bout the fart thingy..heheh
Vio
post Jan 23 2007, 07:53 PM

829 posts

erm i have put my smelly shirt in it. they always sleep in there some more. take them out with the shirt? i'll will have a very hard time catching them if they start to ran away since i have a pair sad.gif hehe or do u think i separete them coz they always hug each other and dun wann come to me.

This post has been edited by Vio: Jan 23 2007, 07:58 PM
soggie
post Jan 23 2007, 07:54 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(kweekit @ Jan 23 2007, 06:18 PM)
good for u lorh..cheaka...mine ah..become stunt man dee...i dam sakit hati everytime see he fall down..the female one also makan sleep but the male one giler active..do jackie chan kung fu summore..climb on the female quickly jump to my hand dun wan let go haha...how's both of ur anak anak??

VIO: yeah pt ur smelly t-shirt..or..u could...erm take a cloth wipe all around u when u sweating n put for them..heheh..if u dun have cloth...fart inside the case oni...then they will know ur smell..hahah..lol was joking bout the fart thingy..heheh
Mine opposite case. Male one afraid of heights and can't walk properly in high areas. Female can actually jump a good foot from the table to my palm. Gonna train it until it can do a full 10 meters laugh.gif
kweekit
post Jan 23 2007, 08:03 PM

81 posts

waaah chun nyer yawn.gif......i want also..bt mine all still noob...i make my glders learn street climbing/free running...hahah...vio:well they hug each other because..they sleep like dat la...well...one tip...u nid lots of patience and love...it's due that they aint used to u...la...well if ur smelly shirt got ur smell...defiently they cn reconize ur smell smile.gif all the best...dn worry it's kinda worrying at times i know..
Vio
post Jan 23 2007, 09:23 PM

829 posts

haha my male is also afraid of heights and very lazy while the female le love to climb to the highest part of the cage . juz now i manage to play with joy which is my male 1. at first i use a glove to touch it then it keep attack the glove and make the crabbing sound. Then later on i start using my hand to touch . I even manage to catch Joy but sadly it jumped away. Then my Candy (female) till now still at the top of the cage dun wanna come down.

Here is a picture of Joy user posted image

And Candy

125 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:17 PM