I'm getting one soon. Me and my friend decided to buy one each, a male and a female, and keep them both in the same cage which is at my house.
~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions
Dec 29 2006, 11:05 AM
3,872 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 10001011010101 |
I'm getting one soon. Me and my friend decided to buy one each, a male and a female, and keep them both in the same cage which is at my house.
Jan 2 2007, 03:15 PM
Guys, where can I find aspen bedding in klang valley? Can't find it in Ikano Pet World. Does 1-U has it?
How about cages? Do I buy those bird cages or make one by ourselves? EDIT: Just a tip to share with owners here. When I first got a female baby, which was 2 days ago, it was quite a surprise because I was expecting it to come in mid january. Didn't have cages and everything, so kept him in a tupperware box with breath holes drilled into the roof. I wrapped the bugger in my sock, and it slept thru the day. Feed it a few times, and when I wanted to play with it, it wasn't scared of me at all. In fact, it ran all over me and even tried munching on my hair. THen came the other male baby, and it clinged onto the female as if it was his mother. Poor baby, I think he is still too young. The female is squeaking as the male was too heavy on her... But anyway, in the first night the male refused to sleep in a clean sock, so I wore the sock on my leg for a while before shoving that bugger into it. Now both of them aren't afraid of me at all This post has been edited by soggie: Jan 2 2007, 04:27 PM |
Jan 2 2007, 05:36 PM
Actually, I bought one and my fren bought one, and decided to rear them together in one cage. The seller said we'll get it in mid jan, so I took my sweet time filling my brain with knowledge about SG. Then suddenly my pal called me on new year's eve saying my female joey has arrived!
Then one day later the male joey arrived. Imagine the confusion. Where to get a cage? On the 1st day of 2007 I wasn't free enough to go out to buy a cage, and when I did I couldn't find a suitable one and thought of doing my own, only to find the hardware shops closed already. So today is day 2, and I'm not gonna sleep until I get a proper cage. |
Jan 3 2007, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(sangterap @ Jan 2 2007, 07:00 PM) LOL..... I got mine. It's about 3 feet tall, 2 feet wide and 1 3/4 feet deep. Need to find branches for them to climb around in. Can I use jambu branches? Or is there any specific branches that I can use?Maybe you should consider getting those tall bird cage. Black metal cages. Pet Safari has them. Glider needs tall cages instead of wide cages so that they can climb. Pet Safari houses their joeys in one of those. That's the best you can get if you're thinking about buying cages. Or else I'll recommend building a very large enclosure so they could glide.... BTW, I've been feeding them apple sauce baby food for 3 days already. I should change to fresh fruit and some insects like crickets and worms right? |
Jan 4 2007, 09:38 AM
The two little buggers are sleeping way too much, and they are afraid to roam the cage to check out the bling blings I installed for them.
BTW, they don't take any water at all. Is that normal? I have a water bottle and they never learnt how to use it. I'm thinking of putting water into a ceramic bowl instead. |
Jan 6 2007, 01:48 AM
One thing - they are still small, I think around 1.5 to 2 months. What should I feed them? They don't even drink fresh water!
Jan 6 2007, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(sangterap @ Jan 6 2007, 08:54 AM) soggie, I PMed her for the stuff but she never replied. Sigh.I think from time to time, Sugar Glider owners should "go back to basics". I am sure all of us has done the necessary research on SGs before indulging ourselves in raising them. First of all, the natural diet for gliders in the wild made up of EUCALYPTUS SAP. That's where they get all the water from. So in captivity with us, what's closest to EUCALYPTUS SAP? GLIDER MIX. So, get a good Glider Mix from CrazyMouse, of course you leave the water bowl/bottle in their cage as well. I do not think in the forest where they live have APPLES growing. So all these, are food that we are introducing to them. Therefore, they will take some time before they get used to the new food we give them. Guess I'll have to make my own glider mix then. I'm heading out today to buy stuff... got a list of them ready. Apple Juice Honey Boiled Egg (Do I need to remove the egg yolk in it?) Gerber Baby Cereal (or cornflakes) Wheat Germ (No idea what this is) Sprikle of calcium (No idea where to get this) Vitamins Supplement (No idea too) Boiled Chicken Do the SG take mealworms when they are small? I'm not sure how to feed 'em that cause the mealworms seems huge. |
Jan 7 2007, 05:52 AM
Guys, wanna ask - where can I get wheat germ? And what is it? I think can get in most chinese herbal shops right? What is it called in mandarin?
Jan 9 2007, 12:23 PM
You can get them in Pet Safari, IKANO. Get the one that is fully plastic, about eight inch in diameter.
Jan 10 2007, 09:33 AM
Any recommendations for vets?
Jan 11 2007, 09:39 AM
Sigh, my male baby SG died yesterday. Two possible causes - one, there was a hardened piece of shit on his anus for a few days, which I discovered too late. After I removed the shit, a lot of shit came out, and that might mean he isn't eating properly for a few days. two, he is too young. The first thing he did when I introduced it to the baby female is to climb onto her back, things that a baby SG does with his mom (I'm guessing, since they are all marsupials). He didn't make it
Buried him yesterday night, and was moody for the whole day. Luckily the baby female Kiki is doing well. She's already jumping around the cage, practicing her gliding techniques by jumping from the roof of her nest to a bunch of fake leaves. And without the male now, she is extremely clingy to me. I moved the cage downstairs to the living room so that my mom can play with it whole day. Hopefully she will survive past adulthood! Now I got a question - do I need to buy another baby SG to keep her company? Or I'm thiking of giving her up for adoption... but only to those who already has sugar gliders and knows how to take care of her. I already witnessed the death of one, I don't want this one to die too. Please help. |
Jan 11 2007, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(Sugre @ Jan 11 2007, 09:49 AM) Soggie, Problem is I'm a working person, so I sleep early around 11.30-12. And I can't take Kiki to my office in the day, so my mom will be her major caretaker.I am really sorry for your loss. It must be very hard to lose a glider. But don't give up. Or lose hope. Try your best to take care your remaining glider. If you play with her often and have a lot of time, you can keep a single glider. There are a few other forumers who do. Still it is recommended to get her a mate because it is always nice for her to mix with one of her own kind. Rest in peace.... |
Jan 11 2007, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(sangterap @ Jan 11 2007, 05:09 PM) May I know where you get the baby male SG from? At least it will serve as a lesson for everyone to stay clear from buying from the same place. Bought it from a breeder (I think) in the mall. he's no longer selling sugar gliders now.What diet u fed the little poor boy? I fed it baby food (applesauce) at first, then gave it fruits and gradually mixed in glider mix. Recently bought a sugar glider pellets called Quicko, sold in Pet Safari IKANO. Since he can't chew I grounded it and mixed with the baby food, and mixed in a little honey because I think the pellet is quite tasteless (I tried it). The male SG didn't wanted to touch the mixture, so I change him back to applesauce and small slices of apple. |
Jan 11 2007, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 11 2007, 06:11 PM) Ugh... The Quicko is quite gross. It has ingredients like corn/soy and even pork. The baby food contains protein. I can't give them any solid food because 1) they wouldn't touch it, and 2) they can't eat it. So all this time you've been feeding them nothing but apple and applesauce??? Honey is also not a good idea for young gliders. Did you give them any source of protein? Ground boiled chicken? Cat/dog kibble? Crickets and mealworms? BTW, I don't recall the Quicko having any pork or soy. I'll check tonight! |
Jan 12 2007, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 11 2007, 06:17 PM) Boiled egg will do also, fast and easy source of protein. If not, teach them how to eat mealworms (calcium & protein). My SG don't even want to bite an apple or a kiwi fruit, let alone eat anything solid! And for water, it don't drink it at all. Just keep on lapping on the applesauce.Maybe eating too much dried things and drinking not enough water leads to hard poo? Is it ok to give it some milk? |
Jan 12 2007, 09:56 AM
Just a few days plus or minus 2 months. The tail had just started to fizzle out a few days ago. From head to toe it's about... 2.5 to 3 inches.
Jan 12 2007, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(Sugre @ Jan 12 2007, 11:08 AM) Soggie, I'm heading off to makro to get my supplies tonight. Is this the correct mix?If your glider is really young and can't eat any solids yet you can still feed it the Gerber baby food and some soft fruits. Try and tempt it with some meal worms by cutting its head off and squeezng the guts out (gross). Better yet... buy a mix! Or make one yourself. The best way to make your SG eat mix is to not feed it the apple sauce or fruits etc.. Just the give it the mix for a few days until it gets used to it. And then introduce different fruits and some mealies. My SGs are quite picky eaters too Oooh and I got my SGs to sleep together again by removing the shirt from the top of the cage. This way they have to sleep together in their soft bed for warmth. Apple Juice Honey Boiled Egg/Boiled Chicken w/o skin Gerber Baby Cereal Wheat Germ Calcium (not sure where can I get it though...) Herptivite (... no idea again.. I think it's a kind of multi-vitamins) |
Jan 13 2007, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 12 2007, 11:22 PM) Hi everyone. I've just got my gliders few weeks ago. Any tips for me to make them bond to me? i've tried a few like putting in my shirt and trying to let them lick from my fingers but they just won't come. My gliders are a few months old but they don't seem to drink any water. About the calcium i use REPTOR C and i give a small pinch of it for their meal everynight is this ok?For their house i hang a cocounut shell. Must i put some cloth in it to make them warm? When i feed with mealworms which i put in their house they will start to make the crabbing sound. Well it takes time I guess... Feed it more using ur hand, and have lots of patience. Let it climb onto your finger, but don't be too intrusive... Just leave ur finger there and let them choose whether to climb up or not. I hold it in my palm during the day and it refuses to go back to its cage cause my hand is so much warmer.What do you feed em? |
Jan 18 2007, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 18 2007, 11:46 AM) Yup yup....anyway, question to ask...if i keep feeding him Apple...is it enough ah?....Because i tried giving him boiled chicken meat, boiled egg, carrot and banana. He doesn't really eat it. One bite only then he don't want liao. Mix them up. SG likes fruit cocktails, so give them a mix of it. Apple, Banana, Peach, and Grapes might be a good mix. Swap around the fruits from time to time... add carrots, vege, and stuff like that so that they won't get used to be fed only one single food.When he eat apple, he will something like tasting instead. He munch munch munch only and leave some of the bits out. How much should we actually feed them ah? Like mine, an Adult Male SG, 2 slices of Apple enough ah? Apple tend to leave smell after that. Is it okay if i feed him pink guava? As i feel pink guava don't turn black after a while like Apple and it contain a lot of water. And sweet too. If all else fails, strap the bugger to a 9v battery and discipline it. |
Jan 18 2007, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 18 2007, 04:55 PM) so bad lah you all....i don't even dare to hurt him at all..once he make the noise...i stop kacau him liao....takut he marah me.... Well there's a way, but it is up to you. Just ignore his crabs. You're the boss, and after the first week you should be pulling the shots. Goto the cage, tell him straight to his face "dude, you're here for a week, and a day in my clothes, and you still don't remember me? You're not retarded so you better stop that crap."Then, touch him, and don't pull away when he crabs. He'll tire after a while, and then gently stroke him, and just don't cabut when he bites or crabs. If he bites, don't pull away, just freeze. His teeth aint strong enough to break skin I guess. Wait, you did say its an adult right? This complicates matters... Give it time I guess... feed it more, spend more time with it, get bitten regularly and it'll warm up to you. Seriousy, you don't wanna consider the 9v battery treatment? |
| Change to: | 0.0439sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:13 PM |