Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

noruazumi
post Dec 24 2014, 08:20 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Dec 18 2014, 07:52 AM)
I heard that Shell Sarawak is on the verge of laying off 30% of its workforce. Can anyone confirm?
Standard "modes-operandi", contract staffs will not be renewed (exceptions apply). Hiring will be either halted or slow.
Binyamin
post Dec 24 2014, 08:59 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Dec 24 2014, 08:20 AM)
Standard "modes-operandi", contract staffs will not be renewed (exceptions apply). Hiring will be either halted or slow.
Some of their sub departments within their department are like 90% contract staff. I wonder how they will restructure. It will be interesting to see.
Stamp
post Dec 24 2014, 03:53 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Dec 24 2014, 08:59 AM)
Some of their sub departments within their department are like 90% contract staff. I wonder how they will restructure. It will be interesting to see.
Shell will need to balance between laying off local contract staff and expat contract staff.

Heard rumors in the grapevine that news that one international o&g engineering design company's decision to keep expat contract staff and to retrench local contract staff have reached the government ministry. It's better braced for future law suits from former disgruntled retrenched staff.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 24 2014, 03:53 PM
Binyamin
post Dec 24 2014, 04:33 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 24 2014, 03:53 PM)
Shell will need to balance between laying off local contract staff and expat contract staff.

Heard rumors in the grapevine that news that one international o&g engineering design company's decision to keep expat contract staff and to retrench local contract staff have reached the government ministry. It's better braced for future law suits from former disgruntled retrenched staff.
Very unusual to keep expats and lay of local. Unless their expats are cheaper workers from places like Philippines or India. i.e lower wage workers VS Malaysian workers.

This post has been edited by Binyamin: Dec 24 2014, 04:34 PM
jimbet1337
post Dec 24 2014, 04:38 PM

meh
2,670 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 24 2014, 03:53 PM)

Company "T" ?
Stamp
post Dec 26 2014, 08:48 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Dec 24 2014, 04:33 PM)
Very unusual to keep expats and lay of local. Unless their expats are cheaper workers from places like Philippines or India. i.e lower wage workers VS Malaysian workers.
These are engineering professionals la, not some blue collar workers. By default, priority MUST be given to Malaysian professionals.
Stamp
post Dec 26 2014, 08:49 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Dec 24 2014, 04:38 PM)
Company "T" ?
whistling.gif
feekle
post Dec 26 2014, 10:15 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Dec 24 2014, 04:38 PM)
Company "T" ?
Like my friend mention, they are 'premium' consultant flex.gif

This post has been edited by feekle: Dec 26 2014, 10:15 AM
wywy2020
post Dec 26 2014, 10:31 AM

1,638 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Dec 26 2014, 10:15 AM)
Like my friend mention, they are 'premium' consultant  flex.gif
how to consider premium?
Confuse.
Binyamin
post Dec 26 2014, 11:20 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Dec 26 2014, 10:31 AM)
how to consider premium?
Confuse.
High price for the value.
jimbet1337
post Dec 26 2014, 02:26 PM

meh
2,670 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 26 2014, 08:49 AM)
whistling.gif
wink.gif
konzen1314
post Dec 27 2014, 10:49 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(cvee @ Nov 20 2014, 09:07 PM)
well you guys have probably heard like ten thousand times already. but me the freshie been actively searching and applying day and night for months now but still no reply from all the oil & gas companies. its not like im having bad results or no achievement though.. so i really just wanna know how did you guys got into oil gas T_T
i think if you have friend in O&G it will be easier..for my case, my friend passed my resume to his superior and i got it..too bad now edi declining for this sector..you might having problem getting in unsure.gif
konzen1314
post Dec 27 2014, 10:53 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Dec 7 2014, 09:53 AM)
Baru nak jump ke Technip..hahha doh.gif ..

Hopefully, all gonna be fine one day...
better go for other.. you might regret~ cool2.gif
lancer193
post Dec 28 2014, 12:02 AM

207 posts

This post has been edited by lancer193: Dec 29 2014, 05:13 PM
skypeace
post Dec 28 2014, 04:23 PM

346 posts

anyone knows about career in Elster Instromet? How is the working environment and staff benefits?
Although it is just Gas Metering Company, but its engineering vacancy requires O&G experience.

This post has been edited by skypeace: Dec 29 2014, 09:10 AM
PaulReedSmooth
post Dec 28 2014, 10:34 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(skypeace @ Dec 28 2014, 04:23 PM)
anyone knows about career in Elster Intromet? How is the working environment and staff benefits?
Although it is just Gas Metering Company, but its engineering vacancy requires O&G experience.
no idea about working environment or benefits.

but metering is very important.
must be accurate, or else you're losing money.
this includes fiscal/custody transfer and allocation metering.
Stamp
post Dec 29 2014, 02:27 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(sendatpadatketat @ Dec 29 2014, 01:09 PM)
asalamualaikum dan salam sejahtera. currently I am doing petroleum engineering and have 1 more semester to graduate. my results are not that good because I mess up during my year 1 and 2. year 3 subject I tried my best to score but I barely pass through it.

with this academic transcript, I am quite demotivated at the moment. however because of my inspiring supervisor I suck it up and will not give up as I have nothing to lose.

I want to pursue career as wireline engineer, is there any way that I can climb into this career path? if I cannot get through it as a fresh graduate, maybe I start from other related job and hop into wireline works later on. kindly advise me on this. thank you.
finish your degree first and then come back to LYN to seek advice.
Binyamin
post Dec 29 2014, 04:00 PM

375 posts

This post has been edited by Binyamin: Dec 29 2014, 04:27 PM
Binyamin
post Dec 29 2014, 05:38 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(sendatpadatketat @ Dec 29 2014, 04:46 PM)
i search in the internet that slb,hali,weatherford,etc all do wireline. i do not have specific company that i'm pursuing as i am not in position to be choosy at the moment. i will grab any offer that i can get to be honest.

wireline because not a lot of people are doing that job in my opinion, and i am keen on travelling outside.

btw, are you married when you are in wireline? is it mainly family factor make you change your job?
It was my graduate job then and I wasn't married. After I quit wireline I started in another sector of the oil and gas that was mostly office base and I had to start as a graduate again. My point is, once you get into this line and you don't want a sudden steep pay cut when you finally decide you want to be onshore base you have to continue until somehow your company promote you to become office base. Field jobs in drilling is sooo niche even in the o and gas industry. Those that have been out there in the field in the drilling line for 20+ years are a bit mad in my opinion. Multiple divorce and bitter stories. Not my cup of tea.
meonkutu11
post Dec 29 2014, 05:38 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(sendatpadatketat @ Dec 29 2014, 04:46 PM)
i search in the internet that slb,hali,weatherford,etc all do wireline. i do not have specific company that i'm pursuing as i am not in position to be choosy at the moment. i will grab any offer that i can get to be honest.

wireline because not a lot of people are doing that job in my opinion, and i am keen on travelling outside.

btw, are you married when you are in wireline? is it mainly family factor make you change your job?
dont forget to try local company like dimension bid...

99 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:17 PM