126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo Overclocking Board, Report your issues/results here.

irenic
post Aug 1 2006, 06:18 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Aug 1 2006, 05:47 PM)
E6400? Is it because of the extra x8 multi? I think you'd better gone with the E6600 straight away if the extra 2MB is really kickin off
hmm well bcoz i rarely buy the lowest proc in each category not bcoz underestimate them but bcoz i like to run stock for 24/7 .. and 1.8ghz looks a bit slow for daily use hehe rolleyes.gif

but it seems like i can run 3ghz for 24/7 with this core 2 duo hehe

neway this is my new ram.. mushkin ddr2 800.

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 1 2006, 06:22 PM

TStAmp0i
post Aug 2 2006, 01:01 AM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

Hello 20 seconds smile.gif Found the stick alone in the rack thinking of giving it a fly.
Only 1 stick of Kingston valueram DDR533, Vdimm +0.5, Gmch +0.2v, Vcore normal. Not bad for a DDR533 though

irenic
post Aug 2 2006, 01:09 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

that's great tampoi! seeing u easily getting 20secs with 2.9ghz & ddr830 ram make me eager to format my windows wink.gif
TStAmp0i
post Aug 2 2006, 01:11 AM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 2 2006, 01:09 AM)
that's great tampoi! seeing u easily getting 20secs with 2.9ghz & ddr830 ram make me eager to format my windows wink.gif
brows.gif Make a new partition for benchmark only, clean and clear biggrin.gif
irenic
post Aug 2 2006, 01:24 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i did that last time. create 7gb partition with a fully tweak win xp.. but now no more space since i have both win xp n vista installed sad.gif
Hyde`fK
post Aug 2 2006, 01:29 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Remove Vista, install fresh WinXP. Kekeke.
irenic
post Aug 2 2006, 01:33 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

so sayang to uninstall the vista.. hehe it looks very nice biggrin.gif

btw i just looked at my oc database, @ 2.8ghz, ram @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 i managed to get 20.437secs in super PI 1m, while @ 2.99ghz, ram @ 1070mhz 5-6-6-15 i managed to get 19.344secs.

now with cpu @ 3.15ghz, ram @ 900mhz 4-5-4-13 i managed to get 18.406secs..

is that mean cpu clockspeed is more important than ram fsb in super PI ?

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 2 2006, 01:58 AM

TStAmp0i
post Aug 2 2006, 12:31 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

Hmm yes, in the world of PI CPU clockspeed matters most.... Timings come second and then OS
max_cjs0101
post Aug 2 2006, 12:50 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Wahlao..Fast sia..Anyway,irenic,what's the highest clockspeed ur 6300 can go?
siauann
post Aug 2 2006, 01:36 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

irenic...hw much u got ur mushkin? drool.gif
this E6300 seems kick ass....3ghz....tats a lot of gain in oc! shocking.gif
y dun u try loosen the timing more n get the highest fsb..mayb can c some nice super PI calculation.... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by siauann: Aug 2 2006, 01:36 PM
nelza_ax
post Aug 2 2006, 03:52 PM

i am me
889 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Aug 2 2006, 01:36 PM)
irenic...hw much u got ur mushkin?  drool.gif
this E6300 seems kick ass....3ghz....tats a lot of gain in oc!  shocking.gif
y dun u try loosen the timing more n get the highest fsb..mayb can c some nice super PI calculation.... rclxms.gif
i think it won't help much... tight timing is better in superPi rite? blush.gif
Hyde`fK
post Aug 2 2006, 10:35 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

If 3.5ghz with looser timing, still faster than 3ghz with better timing in PI calculation.
jarofclay
post Aug 2 2006, 10:38 PM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

Not really, changing timings from 5-5-5-15 to 4-4-4-12 doesn't do squat to my superPi. Anyway, here it is: 17secs with stock vcore. smile.gif Once I am able to modify the vcore, I think I could go beyond 3ghz. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jarofclay: Aug 2 2006, 10:39 PM

irenic
post Aug 2 2006, 11:38 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

this shows it all. i dont think my windows is too bad. bcoz different between E6600 and E6300 is 2secs, and thats true in Super PI.
jarofclay
post Aug 2 2006, 11:47 PM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

However, I do see a difference in terms of amount of L2 cache. 2.88ghz with 4MB L2 can get lower times compared to a 3ghz ++ 2MB L2 cache E6300. If the E6600 can run at 3-3.3ghz and above, I think 14s is not impossible since every 100MHz increase roughly translates to a second off superPI.

QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 2 2006, 11:38 PM)
this shows it all. i dont think my windows is too bad. bcoz different between E6600 and E6300 is 2secs, and thats true in Super PI.
siauann
post Aug 2 2006, 11:51 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(nelza_ax @ Aug 2 2006, 03:52 PM)
i think it won't help much... tight timing is better in superPi rite? blush.gif
i kinda agree wif wat Hyde`fK says so does jarofclay says.....tight timing doesnt play major role in gettin better super PI score..... smile.gif the higher ur clockspeed is the faster the super PI time... smile.gif

This post has been edited by siauann: Aug 2 2006, 11:53 PM
Hyde`fK
post Aug 2 2006, 11:57 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Yea, still yet to see anyone can reach 3.5ghz on air yet. jarofclay should have the nearest answer to it as he owns a E6600, which can easily reach 3.6ghz with 400mhz.

But does E6600 clocks well compared to E6300 right now?
jarofclay
post Aug 3 2006, 12:17 AM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

Problem is the Intel D975XBX doesn't allow adjusting the Vcore without any modding. Fear not though, X6800 is on the way and with multipliers enabled upwards on 975X chipset, I think 3.5 and above might be achievable.

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Aug 2 2006, 11:57 PM)
Yea, still yet to see anyone can reach 3.5ghz on air yet. jarofclay should have the nearest answer to it as he owns a E6600, which can easily reach 3.6ghz with 400mhz.

TStAmp0i
post Aug 3 2006, 01:22 AM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

What is the memory though? The strength of 4MB really shows smile.gif
irenic
post Aug 3 2006, 02:04 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(jarofclay @ Aug 2 2006, 11:47 PM)
However, I do see a difference in terms of amount of L2 cache. 2.88ghz with 4MB L2 can get lower times compared to a 3ghz ++ 2MB L2 cache E6300. If the E6600 can run at 3-3.3ghz and above, I think 14s is not impossible since every 100MHz increase roughly translates to a second off superPI.
yeah. it's normal to see at same clockspeed, 4mb c2d will beat 2mb c2d with 2secs in PI. few people who owns both conroe and allendale has tested it and most of them have same result.
i guess even my windows is fully format, i can just get extra 1 sec max..

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Aug 2 2006, 11:57 PM)

yups. E6600 has better chance to hit 3.5ghz since the multiplier on E6300 is quite low. But for 3.5ghz, i believe is just a matter of time for all allendale user. As for me, I'm always strive to hit max stable oc. I wont rush into finding max clockspeed but just be able to take screenshot wink.gif

So far max OC for conroe is extra 300mhz over the allendale.

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:22 PM