LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 28 2014, 05:13 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 28 2014, 05:03 PM)
I think speaking in tongue is a gift to some but not to all. I recall in youth, some youth pastor tried to blessed us all with the gift. But you think of it, without somebody who has the gift to translate, you won't know what you are saying when you praise in tongues.

Shouldn't there be equal number of people who spoke in the gift of tongues and those who can interpret?

And you read in all the letters by Paul, Peter and other apostles, they not mention about tongues except in the Book of Acts.

Another thing is when going for altar call, people get "slain". Has this ever been recorded in the NT? Never before.
No it's not talking about this Gift of tongues in that needs to be interpreted as in 1 Corinthians 14:27

but this Gift which every Christians have. 1 Corinthians 14:2 - For anyone who speaks in a tongue does not speak to people but to God. Indeed, no one understands them; they utter mysteries by the Spirit.

As for being Slain in the spirit, I know this is a controversial subject not well accepted in certain denominations. But to say that every type of miracles must occurred in the Bible as an example before it to can be authenticated is not true either because John did mentioned this;

John 20:30 - Jesus performed many other signs in the presence of his disciples, which are not recorded in this book.

John 21:25 - Jesus did many other things as well. If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.

I believe we shouldn't restrict as to what the HS can do or cannot do.

Even Jesus himself mention this in

John 14:12 - Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.

without specifically telling us what is that greater works or miracle.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 28 2014, 05:45 PM
de1929
post Oct 28 2014, 05:26 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 28 2014, 05:03 PM)
I think speaking in tongue is a gift to some but not to all. I recall in youth, some youth pastor tried to blessed us all with the gift. But you think of it, without somebody who has the gift to translate, you won't know what you are saying when you praise in tongues.

Shouldn't there be equal number of people who spoke in the gift of tongues and those who can interpret?

And you read in all the letters by Paul, Peter and other apostles, they not mention about tongues except in the Book of Acts.

Another thing is when going for altar call, people get "slain". Has this ever been recorded in the NT? Never before.
That's must be your spiritual journey that mold your understanding. It's fine... as long as you want to commune with GOD, GOD will definitely help you one way or another.

Actually the youtube earlier is not that complete, here is part 2.

Try to understand this youtube not using your mind. Try to understand using your heart. Pray first before watching this youtube. Be blessed

de1929
post Oct 28 2014, 07:36 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(TankerGadget Store @ Oct 28 2014, 01:46 AM)
How is it going guys ?? Sorry to appear from no where and i hope i can get a bible verse for my tuition center ... Can anyone gives any idea ? Thanks !
col 3:23 (but only half part lol )

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart...

if u put full verse with " as working for the Lord", is it too sensitive for your business ?

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 28 2014, 08:13 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 28 2014, 06:07 PM)
1 Cor 14:2 does not say everybody have to have the gift of tongues. For "anyone".
1 Cor 14:26
What is the outcome then, brethren? When you assemble, each one has a psalm, has a teaching, has a revelation, has a tongue, has an interpretation. Let all things be done for edification. 27If anyone speaks in a tongue, it should be by two or at the most three, and each in turn, and one must interpret; 28but if there is no interpreter, he must keep silent in the church; and let him speak to himself and to God.

These are the words from the Apostle Paul. If you are speaking loud in tongues and the rest cannot understand you, how is that to edify the others?

As for the slayings, just because at the time of Jesus there are too many to be written in the canons and had to be left out, does not mean if any occurence during worship can be link to HS such as holy laughter, slayings and worship so excited until run round and round until fainted. 

The logic you say is like this, because our country has Official Secrets Act, because the public cannot view all the government contracts, , then one claim and say that Malaysia sign a contract with Aliens to build a secret bridge to space.
Yes I know not everyone have to have or must have but the point is, anyone and everyone can speak in tongues if they want this gifting. That is the context, it didn't say only specific Christians. Because we all have the HS in us who enables that gifting. And the word of God is quite clear we should all also eagerly desire the gifting of the Holy Spirit. It is not just for fun the HS stated that word, (eagerly desire) unless it is of importance.

I did mentioned, this gifting is not for the purpose mentioned in 1 Corinthians 14:27. don't understand what's your purpose in telling me verse 26-28.

And also in the word of Paul if you see in verse 28 it didn't say to cut off totally but to continue speaking in tongues praying to God.
I need to be clear that this speaking in tongues is not of the devil nor demonic in nature, it is valid and is in the Bible.

If you feel that holy laughter, slaying and worship so excited until run round and round until fainted is unprecedented and weird, I would say the Bible has records of incidents that is unprecedented and weird.

Jesus spitting in the mud using that to heal blindness is unprecedented and weird. Peter's shadow healing the sick is unprecedented and weird. Handkerchiefs and aprons that had touched Paul were able to heal and cast our demons is unprecedented and weird.

The Bible left open the miracles of God because he doesn't want anyone to limit what God can do. Else it is rather pointless for Jesus to let us know that nothing is impossible for God the Father. Same thing with the works or miracles of the HS.

Don't understand why you missed out John 14:12? As I did mention that Jesus himself did not specify in detail, exactly WHAT is that greater works. Perhaps you have an answer and the explanation why?

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 28 2014, 08:29 PM
pehkay
post Oct 28 2014, 09:46 PM

145 posts

user posted image biggrin.gif
pehkay
post Oct 29 2014, 07:50 AM

145 posts

The Experience of Jacob

Jacob's Reaction

(1) Calling the Place the House of God

Now we come to Jacob's reaction. Firstly, after waking out of his sleep, he called that place the house of God (v. 17). Where did Jacob get the concept of the house of God? Abraham did not know of this. As we have pointed out, we do not find this term before Genesis 28. Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob all lived in tents. Why then did Jacob not say the tent of God but rather the house of God? Surely this is not only a dream but a revelation. Although Jacob did not actually see the house of God, he termed what he saw the house of God, saying, "This is the house of God." Certainly this came from divine revelation.

God has revealed His economy not only in clear words but also in the lives of human beings. Jacob, a man living altogether on the human level, had a dream. In that dream he saw something, and after he awoke he said, "This is the house of God." Undoubtedly, this concept of the house of God came from God Himself.

(2) Calling the Place the Gate of Heaven

Jacob also called the place where he met God the gate of heaven (v. 17). Whatever he saw there pointed to heaven. It was a place on earth, but it was joined to heaven. Hence, he called it the gate of heaven. Whenever we have a spiritual vision, we sense that we are at the gate of heaven. We are on earth, but we see and experience the things of heaven.

(3) Making the Pillow-stone a Pillar and Anointing It

Verse 18 says, "Jacob rose up early in the morning, and took the stone that he had made his pillow, and set it up for a pillar, and poured oil upon the top of it" (Heb.). How peculiar it was that Jacob set up the stone for a pillar. If I had been he, I would never have done that with the stone. What is the meaning of this? It certainly corresponds to the whole revelation of the Bible. The most striking thing here is the anointing of the stone with oil. It was sovereign that the oil was there. Where did Jacob get it? Did he, an escapee, bring it with him when he fled from home? I do not know.

According to my opinion, pouring oil upon the stone would only have caused a mess. But according to the Bible, this act is very significant. In the Bible, the stone undoubtedly signifies a transformed man, a lump of clay which has been transformed into a stone. In typology, the oil signifies the third Person of God reaching people. When God reaches you, He is the Spirit. Thus, the stone which was set up as a pillar and which had the oil poured upon it, is a symbol that the transformed man is one with the Triune God. Now the Triune God is not only in heaven but also on a transformed man and is one with this transformed man. This man is God's expression on earth. When you look at the stone, you see the oil. When you look at the transformed man standing on the earth, you see the expression of God. How did Jacob know to pour oil on the stone? Before chapter twenty-eight, there is no record of this type of action. Nevertheless, after waking up from his dream, Jacob did this.

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 29 2014, 10:54 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 29 2014, 09:17 AM)
No la, Paul said to speak in tongue silently. He stress importance of congregation in the edification process, thats why its important to have those with gift of interpreting.
I wasn't even talking about this, like I said, don't get your point why you bring this up. Speaking in tongues is between you and God, not with Man, that should give the clue to what I'm trying to say here.

Yes you are supporting me by saying the above, because I am saying that the gift of the HS is not limited to speaking in tongues. I am saying that just because one don't speak in tongue doesn't mean one doesn;t have any of the gifts.
No, My point is, nobody is forcing with a gun that you must speak in tongues, neither did I mention if you don't speak in tongues you won't have other gifting as if it's dependent on that.
What my point escapes you obviously is that anyone and everyone can speak in tongues if He desires to have this gifting. It is not exclusive for the super spiritual or special Christians.
It does help in the dimension of prayer because the HS will help you interceded according to the will of God. That is like you praying perfect prayer. Much better than when we pray in our natural language. Now don't get me wrong saying Oh you mean to say we can't pray properly using normal language? doh.gif Try to digest slowly what is said here before going off.

Jesus spitting in the mud and and heal blindness is not wierd. Peter's shadow heal the sick is not wierd. Touching aprons of Jesus to get healed is not wierd. But laughing very loud when the pastor is preaching due to holy laughter, is very distracting. It also makes new believers and new visitors feel very uneasy. I am not about to judge those who do it because I do not want to offend HS. But all I got to say, just because miracles are undocumented, when new pastors come out with new spiritual manifestations and relate it to "bible is open to miracles", we have to be made aware and be careful. You recall Jonestown? David Koresh?
Of course you can say it's not weird and unprecedented now, anyone can say that because it has already happened. But if you were there for the first time seeing a person Name Jesus of Nazareth, spitting on dirty mud and put it on the eyes of someone, you would be thinking what is He trying to do, it's weird. Same thing with the handkerchief, New comers who have never seen such a thing like healing through Shadows???? might think it could be some form of sorcery in those day, as it was unprecedented.

Yes I agree we can be wary about it as what you say but my angst is, TODAY it has become to an unhealthy extreme where people are no longer believing in God about miracles due to the build up of skepticism out of fear. It is as bad as the other end of extreme what you just mentioned about David Koresh.

But sometimes when I go for concerts overseas and watch people getting so excited until they run round and round the stadium until they faint. Then I observe closely, I saw the guy on the ground, open his eye to see left n right, when he realise its not time to get up, he close his eyes and proceed with him lying down. Is this really necessary?

Don't judge lah, that's between Him and God. If he wants to fake it even, that is still between Him and God. You should practice what you told me just now about not offending the HS. I know what you're saying, bro, give me some credit, Is not that I've never encounter any of these before, I'v seen over and over and time after time.

Care to enlighten me on John 14:12. Is it the great commission? I need to refer to my bible but i am in office.
No it's not, it's a very simple question.

John 14:12 (NIV) - Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.

Question: What is this greater works that Jesus talks about?

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 29 2014, 12:57 PM
de1929
post Oct 29 2014, 11:00 AM

1,920 posts

Allow me to answer partly

But laughing very loud when the pastor is preaching due to holy laughter, is very distracting. It also makes new believers and new visitors feel very uneasy. I am not about to judge those who do it because I do not want to offend HS.
Let's see how city harvest KL handle this:
1. In City Harvest KL, when things like this happen a security and usher will escort the person to remote location and minister will be ready to handle that person. They have resources, they have people to minister. They have experiences. Ushers / Security has been trained, prepared, briefed before release into ministry field. The different between ushers and security, security wears black t-shirts with letter "security" but ushers dresses more friendly. Both ushers and security holds CB radios to communicate each others. City harvest at least has 500 to 1000 attendee for 10AM service. They need proper management in place in order to run the show.

2. Smaller churches, shop-lot size, 50 people congregation, don't have resources like city harvest. perhaps no room available, perhaps not trained usher, perhaps no security available. Many reasons. Then you know lah... cannot compare to big church like city harvest...

Let's see how i will handle this brows.gif
In short, I can rebuke by saying like this: "I speak order in the name of Jesus !", provided that i am sure evil spirit manipulates this person to distract the preacher. Technically how ? I just speak / shout as loud as this person, unless HS instruct another detail. Any bible verse ? 1 Cor 14:33

You recall Jonestown? David Koresh?
That's why congregation must know spiritual warfare as well.

therefore we pray: In the Name of Jesus, anything that does not planted by our Heavenly Father we uprooted them and break them in the name of Jesus.

It's obvious that David Koresh was genuine in the beginning but get corrupted later on. Therefore that prayer above will guard a genuine good leader to stay good until GOD takes him home to receive his reward.

To be honest, the devil can raise another people like david koresh right ? therefore if congregation know how do spiritual warfare, how to pray to guard their leader. Many problems will be resolved naturally. Don't worry, GOD is in control.

How to put into practical work in malaysia today ?
1. You go to any church at your choosing.
2. You have peace and presence of GOD ? case closed, no need to go to no 3.
3. You don't have peace ? just say the pray above. Pray that first, think later, trust GOD the process.
4. Ask HS more what to do with that church, follow HS instruction.

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 29 2014, 12:35 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Free Admission.

From 28-31 Oct 2014. 8PM-10PM.

Those who need healing, come.

Whatever your circumstances. Wheel Chair, Leg problem, Chest problem, whatever Health Issues, come.

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 29 2014, 12:40 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

http://www.worshipcentral.org/events/gathe...mpur-my-14nov14

This October and November Worship Central are heading out on the road around Malaysia for nights of worship, teaching and ministry.

The nights are for all worshippers to encounter God, be equipped and empowered. As ever, there will be loads of room for worship and ministry!

wc-team.png

LUKE & ANNA HELLEBRONTH

Luke and Anna Hellebronth are part of the Worship Central Team and are on staff at Holy Trinity Brompton, London, UK. Luke has written many songs including ‘Spirit Break Out’ and 'Ready for You'.

STEW MCILRATH

Stew is a part of the Worship Central Team and is the worship pastor at Holy Trinity Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur.

WHEN?

Friday 14 November 2014

Timings: 8.00pm - 10.00pm

WHERE?

Holy Trinity Bukit Bintang,

Rooftop, Level 8, Lot 10,

Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur

HOW MUCH?

This event is free of charge
Sophiera
post Oct 29 2014, 03:00 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Brothers and sisters, my friend is out of danger now! rclxms.gif thanks for all the prayers
de1929
post Oct 29 2014, 03:08 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 29 2014, 03:00 PM)
Brothers and sisters, my friend is out of danger now! rclxms.gif thanks for all the prayers
orait... good to hear that rclxms.gif
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 29 2014, 03:13 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 29 2014, 03:00 PM)
It is the person who hear all our prayers, that we should give thanks to.

Not us.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 29 2014, 03:13 PM
ngaisteve1
post Oct 29 2014, 08:25 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

I think we should not focus too much on 'speaking in tongue' in this thread which should be denomination neutral. we all know that speaking in tongue is denomination specific.
Decky
post Oct 29 2014, 09:06 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 29 2014, 08:25 PM)
I think we should not focus too much on 'speaking in tongue' in this thread which should be denomination neutral. we all know that speaking in tongue is denomination specific.
Hello new poster here! Never knew there was a CF in /k/

I'd like to point out that speaking in tongues *isn't* exactly denomination specific, because it's not just something one denomination adhere's to and it doesn't.
I personally think a friendly, loving debate/discussion is healthy for the faith because if you note the emphasis Paul places on keeping sound doctrine, we should always keep one another in check that we are doing what we do just because our pastors told us to, but because the Bible teaches it!

As for tongues, I came from a charismatic background, and I grew up in a charismatic background. I think the dude who brought up 1 Cor 14 is right: I think Paul explicitly says that we shouldn't speak in tongues when we gather as a whole unless there is an interpreter of the tongues, but why? His reasoning is consistent with one of the central arguments in his letter to the Corinthians: Because it isn't building up and edifying your brothers and sisters. Paul seems to be pointing out that Church is other-people centered! Note how he isn't saying that tongues is wrong, but he's talking about a public church situation. I think he even brings up the fact that it isn't helpful to outsiders who visit as well!

I mean, the Corinthians clearly had some unity issues and were arguing about gifts, but look at the famous 1 corinthians 13- it isn't talking about love between man and wife, it's talking about love within the congregation of believers. Paul tells them how the most "excellent" way is to love one another, and not just in some weird feeling-ish sorta way, but in a way clearly visible on the outside (i.e. patient with one another, kind to one another).

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 29 2014, 09:23 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(General Fahmy @ Oct 29 2014, 07:22 PM)
I also don't get why you bringing this up, you are not addressing what i said. Aiyo, did I say that speaking in tongues is between man and man? I am saying this three points:

1) Some church elders attempt to teach and force all members to speak in tongues when in fact HS gifts are not limited to only tongues
2) Some church practice speaking in tongues out aloud during worship without anybody to translate
3) There is too much emphasis on manifestations like slaining and too little on bible study scripture reading
I brought that up (bold) because you brought up 1 Cor 14:26.

I think I did address them, perhaps you may want to slow down and read back what I wrote.
I did address point 1 & 2. Forcing and emphasizing the importance of it, are 2 different things. I don't think any Church elders would force.

3) Don't think so this happens to every Church. I'm sure majority of the Churches in this country emphasize on Bible study.

I have no recollection of me writing to you that "we can't pray using normal language", it sounds like you were writing to someone else and got me mix up with someone else you know. Its what I have been saying all along !!!! I been saying that HS is our counselor and will guide us in everything we do. Have you been reading my posts or you been multitasking - working and just sending out your postings without properly reading others.
Well just in case if you do think like that. No I don't read your replies to others.

You keep on reinforcing my assertions and then you turn around and say I didn't say that.
I said this:

No, My point is, nobody is forcing with a gun that you must speak in tongues, neither did I mention if you don't speak in tongues you won't have other gifting as if it's dependent on that. What my point escapes you obviously is that anyone and everyone can speak in tongues if He desires to have this gifting. It is not exclusive for the super spiritual or special Christians.

Which part I said you didn't say that?

We have to be careful in these end of days. I am not saying those manifestations are wrong, but why so much emphasis on them when churches are still divided and so many christians still don't know exactly what is John 3:16 is about?
The pharisees have problem accepting miracles due to hardening hearts. Jesus proved himself by his miracles and Jesus implored them to at least believe in the miracles even if they don't believe in Him. Do even see the growing trend that is happening in the Churches today? I do.

I don't want to happen to the body of Christ.

Because I'm teaching Christians not to have a fearful heart towards God or his workings. I'm seeing a trend and what Jesus says will really come to pass.

Luke 18:8. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?"

People in the last days are becoming like Atheist Christians who don't want anything other than Salvation. The same classic example when the Israelites refuse to go into the promise land flowing with milk and honey. Same thing. Most of them died due to a heart that doesn't believe, only 2 made it.

The trend is showing.

God never gave us a spirit of fear. Never! but of power love and of a sound mind. Serene mind. IF a Christian exhibits so much fear in life. Whatever the reason may be, it only means that, that person don't know God that well or his works and thus need to constantly refer to warning, dangers of what this person say or that person say. This is not the life of the spirit but the life of religion.

I believe in Balance emphasize of Quiet time with God, Prayers, Living the life of Faith, Bible study, Getting involved in the Kingdom, Seeing Miracles, etc. Proper balance of everything. I believe one of the reason why The Church is divided is because the traditions of Man have been mix into God's word, and the truth of God's word is not properly divided. One of the reason why I'm here is to persuade that away.

John 14:12 says greater works even greater than what Jesus did right? Ok Ok. Can you read it properly again? Can or not? Read aloud please. Ok let me explain to you now. Did you read anywhere in all 4 of the canons from Mark, Luke, Matthew and John, about people running around during worship, people laugh while worship, people collapse after being prayed? Jesus meant by his works is of the following:-

1) Psalm 19 says that God reveals Himself to the world by His work. Through natural revelation, God’s existence is made known to every person on earth. Thus, work reveals something about the one doing the work. It exposes underlying character, motivations, skills, abilities, and personality traits. Its difficult to expose underlying traits in action of holy laughter.

2) Jesus echoed this principle in Matthew 7:15-20 when He declared that bad trees produce only bad fruit and good trees only good fruit. Can manifestations reflect bad fruit and good fruit?

3) Isaiah 43:7 indicates that God created man for His own glory. In 1 Corinthians 10:31 we read that whatever we do should be to His glory. The term glorify means “to give an accurate representation.” Therefore, work done by Christians should give the world an accurate picture of God in righteousness, faithfulness, and excellence.

4) How does slaying, holy laughter and running worship until slain reflects faithfulness and excellence? I am not saying manifestation are not correct, but there's too much emphasis on it. What happen to obedience and pursue of righteousness?
Bro, I teach the Bible, I'm a full time Church Staff.

No Bro, read the Bible carefully. The context of that verse is talking about all his miracles. The work of the Father. The evidence of it. The same thing Jesus told the Pharisees who did not believe in Him. (John 14:11). It's not referring to 1, 2 or 3. So my question to you is, what exactly are the greater works?

Good that you brought up the subject of Obedience and pursue of righteousness. I teach them too. You cannot emphasize these 2 without properly laying down the right foundation of what it means to be righteous and how obedience come.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 29 2014, 10:02 PM
ngaisteve1
post Oct 29 2014, 09:53 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Oct 29 2014, 10:06 PM)
I'd like to point out that speaking in tongues *isn't* exactly denomination specific, because it's not just something one denomination adhere's to and it doesn't.
Speaking in tongues is a usually from charismatic church only i tot? hmm.gif
de1929
post Oct 29 2014, 10:06 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 29 2014, 09:53 PM)
Speaking in tongues is a usually from charismatic church only i tot?  hmm.gif
no lah bro biggrin.gif , it's in the bible. Paul say he speaks in tongues more than you all 1 Cor 14:18
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 29 2014, 10:18 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

BTW, the Mods may pm me to close this thread any time because it has reached the number of page limit.

Please nominate or somebody pls Open ver8. rclxms.gif

Version 8, Ya'll. biggrin.gif We are really Alive.

Pls make sure whoever it is, copy back the 1st page content and improvise if you wish.
de1929
post Oct 29 2014, 10:20 PM

1,920 posts

I nominate u lah UW... go go go .. cepat2x sikit... biggrin.gif

137 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 >Top

0.0354sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:25 AM