Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

Lester1987
post Jul 3 2014, 11:41 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Jul 2 2014, 10:43 PM)
I have tried to look at the jobstreet and see those experience, expected salary, and education level by the applicants.
I just see quite some with like 8 years only putting expectation like $2500-$3000 only.Making me think it is too competitive in the  IT field in Singapore because I am expecting $3500 or more lo.
that's pretty normal depends on which IT field you are in. I also 7 years exp and drawing a lot less than that cry.gif .
If you are in the support field, for sure your pay gonna sux. move to other field if you have the chance.
If you want to earn high $$ in Singapore. Either be a banker or venture into O&G. you can ask mackiddo& deodorant for more info.

1more thing to add, same position actually pays 50% more in KL (dollar to dollar comparison). So don't expect you will get dollar to dollar pay if you are from IT support field. IT sux in Sigapore.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Jul 3 2014, 11:42 PM
TSdeodorant
post Jul 4 2014, 10:08 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 3 2014, 11:41 PM)
Either be a banker or venture into O&G. you can ask mackiddo& deodorant for more info.

IT sux in Sigapore.
MacKiddo as elite oil and gas taiko is accurate. but unfortunately me no banker, me only IT Kuli who happens to work in a bank and like you said, IT sux in Singapore. Want real banker experiences must ask keeganz and Fiona Chin, if both of them combine income I think maybe got $400-$500k per annum.
life4
post Jul 4 2014, 09:10 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 3 2014, 11:41 PM)
that's pretty normal depends on which IT field you are in. I also 7 years exp and drawing a lot less than that  cry.gif .
If you are in the support field, for sure your pay gonna sux. move to other field if you have the chance.
If you want to earn high $$ in Singapore. Either be a banker or venture into O&G. you can ask mackiddo& deodorant for more info.

1more thing to add, same position actually pays 50% more in KL (dollar to dollar comparison). So don't expect you will get dollar to dollar pay if you are from IT support field. IT sux in Sigapore.
Wow 7 years exp but a lot less that that. Really cannot imagine.
Anyway thanks for the info. I am not from support line. I am a java j2ee/jee programmer. Will that make a much difference?

Not really wanna making lots of money but at least hoping can get the average pay like singaporean there and not really interested in banking but O&G hard to get in =(

life4
post Jul 4 2014, 09:14 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 3 2014, 09:56 AM)
8 years experience in IT should be aiming at least around $80k-$100k per annum, at least that is what I understand from our resident IT gurus chanti-sama and ky-khor
Thanks for the info, what about a 2-3 years java jee programmer in banking line? How much should he expecting?
Mackiddo
post Jul 4 2014, 10:58 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(life4 @ Jul 4 2014, 09:10 PM)
Anyway thanks for the info. I am not from support line. I am a java j2ee/jee programmer. Will that make a much difference?

Not really wanna making lots of money but at least hoping can get the average pay like singaporean there and not really interested in banking but O&G hard to get in =(
'average pay like singaporean' ? how much you think that be ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 4 2014, 11:09 PM
Fiona Chin
post Jul 5 2014, 08:20 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 4 2014, 10:08 AM)
MacKiddo as elite oil and gas taiko is accurate. but unfortunately me no banker, me only IT Kuli who happens to work in a bank and like you said, IT sux in Singapore. Want real banker experiences must ask keeganz and Fiona Chin, if both of them combine income I think maybe got $400-$500k per annum.
400 k or 40 k we still eat that chap fan and drink that coffee. End of day go toilet and contribute to production of new water. Be thankful can already no need spend all the life go 5 figures go 6 figures. Enjoy what we already have~
ReidenLing
post Jul 5 2014, 08:48 AM

207 posts

hi all sifu2 , wanna ask is there any room for rent ...?Currently im looking for a room around Alexender road or few mrt ahead is ok as im working over there .
blue16
post Jul 5 2014, 09:55 AM

Metal Box-Blue16
618 posts

any advise for the living place if working in jurong west? mind to share how to find a room there@@ thru agent normally?
Mackiddo
post Jul 5 2014, 10:43 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(blue16 @ Jul 5 2014, 09:55 AM)
any advise for the living place if working in jurong west? mind to share how to find a room there@@ thru agent normally?

buy The New Paper, look under classified section. Lots of agents number. Call.
Mackiddo
post Jul 5 2014, 10:44 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 5 2014, 08:20 AM)
400 k or 40 k we still eat that chap fan and drink that coffee. End of day go toilet and contribute to production of new water. Be thankful can already no need spend all the life go 5 figures go 6 figures. Enjoy what we already have~
it's a matter of choice, really.
cherryl9
post Jul 5 2014, 10:54 AM

75 posts

Hi all, we can get tax reduction if we buy a laptop? I am thinking of buying one, but was planning to buy one in Malaysia since it's cheaper there. If i do it in Malaysia, am i still eligible for tax deduction?
Thanks in advance!
TSdeodorant
post Jul 5 2014, 11:11 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Jul 5 2014, 10:54 AM)
Hi all, we can get tax reduction if we buy a laptop?
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/taxcalculators.aspx
download Income tax calculator for tax resident individuals to see what expenditure can be used.
Tigerr
post Jul 5 2014, 11:53 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 5 2014, 08:20 AM)
U r there earning that much already...but telling other people no need go earn 5 or 6 figures...what's the logic or got conspiracy behind???

u telling how hard u n your husband working to earn that much of money so u can buy half a mil car n more than 1 mil condo...why dont u just content with a small pay but easy life n stay in a 3 room hdb n drive a vios instead....really can't understand your statement above
alifamir1986
post Jul 5 2014, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(life4 @ Jul 4 2014, 09:10 PM)

So for IT/telco industry with 5 years exp...if they offer salary around $3700 it is low offer or average offer
?
hitsugaya2010
post Jul 5 2014, 03:01 PM

946 posts

anyone play futsal at singapore? hahaha...
gnc88
post Jul 5 2014, 06:08 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(blue16 @ Jul 5 2014, 09:55 AM)
Make use of sites such as propertyguru and iproperty. Else go to notice boards of mrt or cold storage/ntuc of those areas. Lots of good leads. So be it you're looking for tenants or looking for a place, these are good resources.

Just bemindful who you rent with since you're looking for a room. I have rented units to all races and each got their own patterns..

This post has been edited by gnc88: Jul 5 2014, 06:16 PM
PrincZe
post Jul 5 2014, 07:14 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(alifamir1986 @ Jul 3 2014, 09:55 PM)
hi everybody,

need advise from all of you. Yesterday I got job offer in Singapore

Basic info on the Job Offer:
MNC company (Telco/IT industry)
Salary: SGD 3700 per month
Transport and Phone Bill claimable.
Benefit: Medical, Dental
Contract 1 year and renewable

If the salary enough in singapore (single)
How to calculate the Tax?

how many exp? sounds pretty decent hmm.gif
SUSLVL1NiNjA
post Jul 5 2014, 09:55 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 3 2014, 09:40 AM)
IT is very wide, non-niche positions are snap up by pinoys and india indians, u have to compete with them
more details pls
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 3 2014, 09:56 AM)
8 years experience in IT should be aiming at least around $80k-$100k per annum, at least that is what I understand from our resident IT gurus chanti-sama and ky-khor
Whatever you can get your hands on. As a freshie just take anything to get a foot in the door then later only see how (assuming you're desperate to work in SG from the start).
QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 3 2014, 11:22 AM)
Qualifications?
Otherwise, get any job. But do note, rent is not cheap in Singapore. So, if you land a low paying job, you will end up either save little or save more by staying in JB but tire yourself out by crossing the causeway every day.
Well, I'm using only SPM qualification. Like you said, my approach is to get whatever job that I am hired for. What's next in my career there comes later.

I am actually plan to work at an environment where I don't need to interact with people. I have been in customer service from my first career and I am thinking of a change now.

My aunt is kind enough to spare me a room for few months first, after I'm stable I will definitely move out and get my own place.
gnc88
post Jul 5 2014, 11:45 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ Jul 5 2014, 09:55 PM)
Well, I'm using only SPM qualification. Like you said, my approach is to get whatever job that I am hired for. What's next in my career there comes later.

I am actually plan to work at an environment where I don't need to interact with people. I have been in customer service from my first career and I am thinking of a change now.

My aunt is kind enough to spare me a room for few months first, after I'm stable I will definitely move out and get my own place.
If you have a choice, pls continue to study be it in SG or MY. Don't stop at SPM. Even poly isn't sufficient. I know some will say degree study also like that but treat degree as a back up plan. If all your ventures failed, you always have a degree to fall back on.

Moroever, as I mentioned in one of my posts, some companies, like mine - banking, doesn't promote/hire anyone without degree. So pls get the piece of paper whether you like it or not. It will open up doors.

With Singapore being the most expensive city to live in, you need to really put a lot of emphasis on career growth unless you have serious passive income from other sources.
Mackiddo
post Jul 5 2014, 11:52 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ Jul 5 2014, 09:55 PM)

since you have only SPM, my advice for you is to look for those job with slightly more labor intensive instead of sitting comfortably in the office. Maybe look for offshore or shipyard kinda work. A bit of risk taking but you will get a set of special skill / experience which grads do not have. Hunt for that advantage.
customer service is a dead end. period

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 5 2014, 11:52 PM

122 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:03 AM