9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

IwanAGP
post Sep 8 2014, 07:27 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 8 2014, 02:39 PM)
Sad leh, NUS grads in MNC. Just after SARS, SG kena recession, properties drop drop drop drop like grapes, everywhere no job. Engineering very hard to catch up finance already, engineers dug their own graves long ago. Say for my fiance, director of a medium size consultants and compare with myself an admin in bank, salary difference by almost twice. Hopefully next batch to dig their own graves are lawyers, kanasai so expensive, hehe.
doh.gif So you're earning more than your future husband, double the salary lagi?

Wow... Director for consultant. At least also over 10k gua. So your salary at least 20k la?

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 8 2014, 03:38 PM)
Fyi... the same shit happens in singapore wink.gif if u leave ur job in sg on an ep.. the co here will do the same thing. Deal with it.
That's MOM rule also... Not company rule.
IwanAGP
post Sep 8 2014, 08:16 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sgrealestate @ Sep 8 2014, 08:09 PM)
Fiona Chin ish elite among elite, live in 2000sqft condo and drive bmw x5 50i, u say leh?
biggrin.gif I new guy here how I know wor blush.gif

So what you drive? BMW X6 50i? biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 11 2014, 09:33 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Sep 11 2014, 09:45 AM)
Really? must be in top position to even get that kind of money ....
You mean like... Regional director? biggrin.gif I not sure about those seniors' pay in my company yet. Not dare ask biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 11 2014, 11:26 AM)
No? Invested in the wrong stock  cry.gif . Nebermine got rice eat rice, got porridge eat porridge, kids want study engineering disown them asap.
Ya lor... Engineering work like "kuli" only. Unless you have some really strong skill or some creative mind to make us of your engineering knowledge then possibly can earn huge.

QUOTE(razo2 @ Sep 11 2014, 01:43 PM)
lol. then those kids study medicine, law and accounting get abalone to eat, brush teeth with bird nest. the rest eat porridge at the maids room.

i go eat porridge at my corner now. cry.gif
Engineering can go finance also one... M'sia got that FSTEP program mah... If you get in, after training work few years in M'sia, then cabut to SG get high salary biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 11 2014, 10:53 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 11 2014, 10:36 PM)
Trained in Malaysia, but end up contributing to singapore.  sad.gif
Sorry... Bo bian one lo...

Fresh grad in M'sia... Consider you have to buy a car, rent a room, pay petrol, pay toll, makan, little extra entertainment, repay PTPTN. Give you salary 3k for the first year... Take home around 2.6k...

RM2600 - RM700 (car loan) - RM500 (room) - RM300 (petrol) - RM100 (toll) - RM450 (15/day x 30 - sure over one) - RM150 (extra) - RM330 (Full PTPTN loan for Private) = RM70

Haven't consider data plan, haven't consider car maintenance, haven't consider hair cut, dynamo, body wash, shampoo...

So let say I save RM70 a month... First year in the industry I get to save er... RM840.

Even if you say buy cheaper car, cut another RM300 off the car loan...

RM70 + 300 - RM50 (phone) - RM100 (grocery/health care etc) = RM220.

One year save RM2660...

That's easily the amount a fresh grad can save in SG (converted to MYR) each month.

Haven't take inflation into account lagi... Every year price of things keep going up... Petrol, sugar, then indirectly food, transport, etc etc all rise... How to keep up? doh.gif

Unless work in hometown, everything depends on family, drive family car, eat at home, sleep at home, suka suka ask daddy mummy help pay this pay that else with that kind of pay really not much savings in the first few years.

So if you want to buy/invest in a RM400k house in M'sia. Downpayment say 10% = RM40k. How long do you need to save to get that amount if you work in M'sia? 5 to 7 years? It takes probably 1 to 2 years in SG.

My idea of coming to work at SG is at least to get the first 1/2 (0.5) bucket of gold ( one bucket normally defined as 100k mah) for better life when I come back to M'sia. At least can begin more easily, no need depend too much on family. Also gain some experience, make the resume nicer a bit. Coz work in SG, the pace of work is quite fast... Everyone going like fast forwarding and also their regulation/management while doing work is quite a lot better. Ppl will want you when you're back to M'sia. *I think biggrin.gif * Just whether you want to earn MYR back in M'sia or continue earn SGD in Singapore.
IwanAGP
post Sep 11 2014, 11:33 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 11 2014, 11:23 PM)
That's the thing keep spin in my head.haha, but i got an opportunity in msia which seems can compare with Singapore..might gonna go for that 1 if things goes well.earn slightly less than direct convert from SG, but at least I can stay at better place compare to compact HDB
Wa... Slightly less than direct convert? So you're getting like 5.5 to 6k pay in M'sia for fresh? shocking.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 12 2014, 08:44 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 12 2014, 11:34 AM)
the company I plan to go giv somewhere there after included allowance and bonus, according to my senior.. maybe SG will still higher maybe 3-400 myr, but at least i dun need to cramp in mrt, stuck in small shared room of hdb, and being an underpaid staff..

And on side note, the job offered in SG to me doesn't give me much opportunity to learn la..haha.

of course in a long run, SG might still pay better. if conversion keep pumping up, I might go to SG  someday later..as an experienced workforce, maybe I'll get better opportunity later on..but hoping PR policy dun suka suka change la.

Wow... What company so dang good??? Good for you to find a company like that.

Cramp in MRT... Still ok la... KL sometimes also similarly cramp. Most of the time I take bus instead. Bus to my work place always double decker always got seat... Except just now... Not sure why like canceled few trips then the next bus come, all packed inside... Isolated case biggrin.gif

Small shared room? You can just take one whole room la... Your pay can easily afford one whole room.

Underpaid... Most company in M'sia underpay even more considering the prices of everything in M'sia keep going up.

I think my job can give me enough experience covering not just what I major in. So shouldn't be a concern for me. Future undertaking also no need worry if I get to handle tasks given here well. Just too bad the time I come in a bit wrong... Everything already started, project cycle already running, they can't let me take over since I'm still fresh. Just stand at side, listen listen listen and try to learn how they do work.

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 12 2014, 11:37 AM)
This is the Lost's island. Once you get in, you never get out. It always pull you back. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif .
Siapa tau? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Will back one... Just don't know how soon only.

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 12 2014, 11:38 AM)
I think people will only consider back to Msia due to either
1. Cnt stand with Singapore population (packed country, stay in small room of HBD)
2. Family (time to settle down in Msia after earned enough money, or parents old ad)
3. Stress environment
4. Better job scope/rank (maybe the pay is downgraded, but the rank maybe higher)

basically I kinda doubt people will back Msia become of pay la..haha..
You don't say say will back... You JB ppl, most high possibility won't back one is JB ppl d. Stay so close every week want back also no problem one where will feel like moving back to M'sia. Buy another house and settle down in JB possible la. Travel everyday. Or just go back stay 2 nights every week.

SG not really so packed also la... At least I still get a place to sit when I want to eat, got toilet to use, got place let me walk, got place let me sleep. No problem d biggrin.gif

Stress... Depends on ppl la. Some ppl take stress very well... Some (especially girls) *I said some, not saying all girls, don't perasan* can't handle stress well. One of my sis's friend work in SG 2 or 3 months only beh tahan quit. As still within half year, have to pay heavy tax to gov. Another relative also can't handle stress, everyday say stress when working, in Penang, not SG lagi... Depends la... Some girls in my course also can't handle stress well. So panic when something happen...
IwanAGP
post Sep 12 2014, 09:26 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 12 2014, 08:52 PM)
haha, I 'm just making some analysis based on possible reason..hmm.true oso again, depend on own self. if u wan u can  rclxms.gif
Good luck for your job. If I get similar offer I might stay in M'sia too. Too bad I didn't sad.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 12 2014, 11:44 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 12 2014, 11:39 PM)
1. Agree with this but the housing in KL/Penang/JB not cheap also, in the end still squeeze in small room.
2. Nobody can earn enough money. Your lifestyle change with your income.
3. People work in KL easily more stressful than SG due to the low buying power income.
4. Come back to the point you work for money or rank?

I think normally people who afford to go back are mostly non exec workers. OT to max, earn first bucket of gold then go back to start small business. No way for a factory worker to go back to become manager in Msia, and don't think they like to work similar labour jobs in Msia. Ppl who start with exec level normally get PR after few years, then buy hdb to settle down. You ask them go back while leaving whole bunch of cpf in Sg , earn half to at most 3 quarter of their current pay. Not many can do that lor...
For last part...

tongue.gif I s'wak ppl. Want chao then withdraw all CPF sign won't back to SG thingy.

But yeah... I think many will get PR and settle down. Too bad sad.gif Malaysia is such a lovely country *if just live here without working here yet have enough supply of money to stay alive* biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 12 2014, 11:57 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 12 2014, 11:51 PM)
Sarawak is a lovely place. Things not expensive yet. My friend work in Jurong Shipyard, 3rd year bought second landed house already. I think he can go back very soon.
Marine industry earn quite a lot la...

Btw... Sarawak is not cheap. Compared to KL and other places, maybe can only save on toll. Other things not really cheaper some even more expensive especially groceries. Many things are made in Peninsular and shipped to Sabah/Sarawak so many household needs are actually more expensive there.

Want buy house not hard la... Need to save the downpayment and save some buffer for instalment. After that need secure a job that can at least pay the monthly instalment. biggrin.gif Or save downpayment d, buy house then use rent to cover the instalment while still working in SG. Let family or relative manage the house.

Btw... How can we loan in Malaysia if we're working in SG? Need ask family help loan? Else how to let bank approve our loan? hmm.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 13 2014, 09:10 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Sep 13 2014, 04:30 PM)
Hi all, I have a question about EP. The new FCF guidelines for employers who wish to hire EP holders state that the employers must first advertise the job for 14 days on JobsBank before submitting an EP application.

I will be attending an interview in SG in a few days. As far as I know, this job is not advertised on the JobsBank (I checked). The company didn't even advertise any vacancies, I only got the interview because I emailed the company asking if they had a vacancy.

Will this affect my chances of getting the job? I'm worried if they offer me the job and then later retract the offer because they found a local candidate after advertising as required on JobsBank. Should I even discuss this during the interview? >_<

The situation is a bit more complicated because I received another job offer in MY which I liked and will take if I can't get a guarantee that this SG company will definitely hire me.

Much appreciated if anyone can share some advice smile.gif
Possible will affect la... But if you really are that good, I believe they can get through it biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 13 2014, 07:26 PM)
I thought you need Singpass to login to jobsbank, how you check? hmm.gif

Anyway it's anyone's guess how effective the jobsbank actually is with regards to FCF. As an example, in my company (a 70k+ employee MNC), any internal job posting they MUST advertise it on the intranet for 2 weeks as per HR policy. Yet half or more of these internal ads actually they already have decided on a candidate and are just wayang to waste everyone's time for formalities' sake.

If you go to sinkie forums like HWZ, everyone thinks the jobsbank also wayang only and companies will just continue hiring foreigners just with an added formalities step of "oops I put on jobsbank but no suitable candidate apply from there also."
Hmm... Just like what I'm thinking biggrin.gif

I actually thought SG'ean very follow law but actually not really... They won't bang ppl won't throw rubbish anywhere but some I see, they spit into the bush/... in the public and cross the road without following pedestrian crossing. Some drive their car in reverse traffic (yeah I saw it once, that area is supervised by CCTV on light pole lagi biggrin.gif )... Maybe my prejudice is a little wrong biggrin.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 13 2014, 07:28 PM)
How many people actually retire at 55 though? My dad this year 67 still working. But of course that's also partially cos he has 5 kids, 3 of which are still schooling / in uni lol.
Wow... 3 still studying... "Pai mia" eh... But if your dad enjoy it then good la biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 14 2014, 09:54 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Sep 14 2014, 02:06 AM)
Don't need Singpass to check. Here's the link if you're interested lol JobsBank

For EP application now... the employer need to provide the JobsBank application number together with the EP application. If stated in the application that there is 2 vacancies, then MOM only allow you to apply for 2 EP only. They sound alot stricter now  rclxub.gif
Actually... I interviewed with them previously before FCF rules came into play.. but because I couldn't come in immediately got rejected. Now it's like 2nd chance given  sweat.gif
Oh... You fresh or experienced? Still working at that time?

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif If the company really wants you, normally they can settle the EP eh... Else they won't bother to offer you if they know the EP application won't pass. That's what I think la.

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Sep 14 2014, 03:20 AM)
I think you guys and girl has missed the point, that is to retire by 34  drool.gif
biggrin.gif If want retire by 34, maybe can take part time project back in M'sia after that. Got few bucket of gold to use in case of emergency mah biggrin.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 14 2014, 09:25 AM)
cos our adopted home now most expensive city in the world but my salary only $30k pa, how to lighten family burden when sendiri oso need to do karang guni part time on weekends?

30k pa should be enough to help family in M"sia d right? Unless family all in SG then don't say la biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Sep 14 2014, 09:56 AM
IwanAGP
post Sep 15 2014, 09:28 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 15 2014, 09:25 PM)
I see. okok. That's great
Hope I can find similar opportunity as well biggrin.gif
Just focus with your current one first. If developed well enough, you might not even need to go abroad. Can stay in this rojak country more biggrin.gif

Although in my honest opinion, Singapore is even more rojak. It's a super rojak. Especially when you work in construction. Really rojak! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 15 2014, 10:08 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 15 2014, 10:03 PM)
haha, I wanna go abroad not becuz of pay la, but experiences.
Wanna try stay in different places before settling down 1st..last time tried korea ad..hope gt chance to go europe haha.
last time I worked in Msia construction also similar, but I guess yours 1 might be even worse.haha
btw what project you doing now? MRT project?
haha... Not big project la... Small sesame company only. But in small company good to get experiences la. Everything also must know biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 15 2014, 10:49 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 15 2014, 10:21 PM)
aiyo, small company also can involved in big project ma..
the company that offered me hvac engineer oso not that big.but involved in changi terminal 4..
yea la.now experience most important.hehe
Sometimes big company... All too specific d. Constraint by the company itself. You do just your part. Done your part, get ready for next project. The cycle keeps going on and on... Only in a small company you have to handle everything you can think of biggrin.gif

Anyway... Still just a stepping stone. Gain enough experience then it's time to cabut.
IwanAGP
post Sep 15 2014, 11:17 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 15 2014, 10:56 PM)
woo, good attitude, keep it up! hehe.
yea, after got experience can cabut for better opportunity out there..
currently i should be heading to M&E , if next time I go singapore then nid your 'assistance' ad  brows.gif
tongue.gif I might not be here anymore?

Many seniors here. Ask them better biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 16 2014, 08:31 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 16 2014, 01:16 AM)
People would look at you like how you look at fitters and grinders. Fitters and grinders may think they are professional too in their own aspect.

Even my hubby who has this professional engineer license I still think he is a laborer same class with the mangala workers. My company provide funds for projects, during meetings with those professionals, developer, architect, engineer, contractor, bla bla bla, they look all same to me, people who get the job done, same like the carpenter who do my closet, no people at my side really care what certification they have and how hard to get it.
doh.gif Have you gone to site and see how engineers work in the site?

The difference between engineer and those below engineer is that engineer won't really need to get their hands dirty. Mostly just design, monitoring or supervising based on their scope of work. Sure got technician or other technical person working under engineer that can be ordered to do those stuffs biggrin.gif

They don't know why to do something... But they know how to do that something. That's why engineers with appropriate knowledge guides them, telling them what to do.

PE... Takes few years experience to get it eh... Not something so easy to get right? Don't look down on that PE title la doh.gif

No PE you no building stay, no electricity use, no water flush toilet bowl, no... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Pay them some respect, especially when the one is your husband.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 16 2014, 07:54 PM)
simple, just pay whatever it takes to break the 1st contract. A couple of months pay ?
3 months normally? Easily RM20k +... Omg that's a huge sum doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 17 2014, 07:42 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 17 2014, 07:39 AM)
Oh, your a fresh grad. One thing good for you is since your at the bottom, the only way is up.
tongue.gif Do something bad and let the whole industry know, no one will use you again biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 17 2014, 07:50 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 17 2014, 07:55 AM)
Since he is a small fry, i doubt alot of people will know his transgressions except his previous employer.
Lol... I also small fry now...

Depends la... If one engineer cause the whole site to burn down, get into news or something. I think ppl will know la tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 18 2014, 12:32 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 18 2014, 12:29 AM)
Did I read that right, stay in SG work in JB? hmm.gif
Got husband tanggung mah. Nice husband biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Sep 18 2014, 07:51 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 18 2014, 01:11 AM)
Finally Msia able to attract talent from Sg thumbup.gif
I think his wife have been working in JB lo... Just want move to stay in SG then travel to work daily.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0584sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:39 AM