https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/marathon/index.html
ikanbilis
post Jun 9 2014, 07:49 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,541 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2014, 07:38 PM)
3.75% for 5 years is not attractive as it seems.  shakehead.gif
Good to spread out FD to minimize risk. For me I have FD across BR, Citibank, MBB etc etc.  nod.gif
I just hate to have so many bank accounts, so difficult to keep track. I have been keeping my funds with hsbc for years but they are giving shitty rates. BR gives the best rate but i just don't feel good about them right now bcos of the 32m saga. I would not park my funds to any bank that is easily influenced by a cabinet minister.

munkeyflo
post Jun 9 2014, 07:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 07:49 PM)
I just hate to have so many bank accounts, so difficult to keep track. I have been keeping my funds with hsbc for years but they are giving shitty rates. BR gives the best rate but i just don't feel good about them right now bcos of the 32m saga. I would not park my funds to any bank that is easily influenced by a cabinet minister.
Good to spread your funds among different banks and different investments as well. As long as you keep a record of where which funds is, should be quite alright la.

If you want convenience, then have to settle for something less lor.
bbgoat
post Jun 9 2014, 07:59 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 07:49 PM)
Ya, agreed with you, I also hate to juggle with many bank accounts. Have been trying NOT to open new accounts when some banks are having FD promotions. Now I am using Excel to track my bank accounts and FD maturity dates. cry.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 9 2014, 08:01 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(KoChun @ Jun 8 2014, 11:48 PM)
Thanks for sharing.
How did you get those rates?
Were they on promo or you nego with bank officer or you put in 100k for 13mths?
Those rates sound like promo rates. I don't think you can nego up to those rates on board rates with 100k for 13 months.

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 03:28 PM)
Why less people here talking about BSN FD rates.

The rates are pretty high.
1 month 3.00%
3 months 3.00%
6 months 3.05%
9 months 3.10%
12 months 3.20%
15 months 3.30%
18 months 3.35%
24 months 3.40%
36 months 3.40%
48 months 3.50%
60 months 3.75%
http://www.mybsn.com.my/content.xhtml?contentId=127
Err, Affin Bank 12 months board rate already 3.6% wor. Lock up funds for 5 years for what..
munkeyflo
post Jun 9 2014, 08:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2014, 07:59 PM)
Ya, agreed with you, I also hate to juggle with many bank accounts. Have been trying NOT to open new accounts when some banks are having FD promotions. Now I am using Excel to track my bank accounts and FD maturity dates.  cry.gif
Yea same. Especially last time OCBC one. Close many SA there already. Haha.
KoChun
post Jun 9 2014, 08:07 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2014, 07:59 PM)
Ya, agreed with you, I also hate to juggle with many bank accounts. Have been trying NOT to open new accounts when some banks are having FD promotions. Now I am using Excel to track my bank accounts and FD maturity dates.  cry.gif
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2014, 08:03 PM)
Yea same. Close many SA there already. Haha.
bbgoat
post Jun 9 2014, 08:14 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2014, 08:03 PM)
Close many SA ??? hmm.gif hmm.gif
OMG!
post Jun 9 2014, 08:17 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 07:14 PM)
5 years is a long time, my friend.

Ambank is offering the same 3.75% for 15 months deposit and is guaranteed bu pidm. I will move my funds there where my existing fd expires. BR is offering 3.95% for 15 months, so the difference is rm250 for 100k placement. i think i will treat this opportunity loss of rm250 as an insurance for my fd. Any thoughts?
I have a FD account with AMbank but with interest rates 3.15%.

Can i add additional cash into existing FD account or open a new one with 3.75% rates?
OMG!
post Jun 9 2014, 08:19 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2014, 08:01 PM)
Those rates sound like promo rates. I don't think you can nego up to those rates on board rates with 100k for 13 months.
Err, Affin Bank 12 months board rate already 3.6% wor. Lock up funds for 5 years for what..
I have been locking my FD in BSN for 3 years now, with interest rates 3.3% initially the offer. Now I did not update the FD at all after 3 years, because normally FD will auto renewed right? believe the rate is still 3.3% as it was.
OMG!
post Jun 9 2014, 08:21 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 07:14 PM)
5 years is a long time, my friend.

Ambank is offering the same 3.75% for 15 months deposit and is guaranteed bu pidm. I will move my funds there where my existing fd expires. BR is offering 3.95% for 15 months, so the difference is rm250 for 100k placement. i think i will treat this opportunity loss of rm250 as an insurance for my fd. Any thoughts?
The only requirement for Ambank is RM 100,000 fresh funds as a minumum. blush.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 9 2014, 08:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2014, 08:14 PM)
Close many SA ???  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Saving account lor. The smartsavers one. I think I opened and closed at least 2 already lol. Open to place FD then after that take out and close it, then few months later decide to put in again. laugh.gif

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 08:19 PM)
I have been locking my FD in BSN for 3 years now, with interest rates 3.3% initially the offer. Now I did not update the FD at all after 3 years, because normally FD will auto renewed right? believe the rate is still 3.3% as it was.
Usually if it was a promotional rate then auto renew will renew to board rate of the same tenure.
ikanbilis
post Jun 9 2014, 08:22 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,541 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 08:17 PM)
I have a FD account with AMbank but with interest rates 3.15%.

Can i add additional cash into existing FD account or open a new one with 3.75% rates?
You need to bring in fresh fund of min 100k to take advantage of this promo rate of 3.75%.
munkeyflo
post Jun 9 2014, 08:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 08:22 PM)
You need to bring in fresh fund of min 100k to take advantage of this promo rate of 3.75%.
Any other requirements other than the 100k fresh funds?
bbgoat
post Jun 9 2014, 08:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 08:21 PM)
The only requirement for Ambank is RM 100,000 fresh funds as a minumum. blush.gif
Ya, I saw it just recently. 100k for the FD promotion !

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2014, 08:22 PM)
Saving account lor. The smartsavers one. I think I opened and closed at least 2 already lol. Open to place FD then after that take out and close it, then few months later decide to put in again. laugh.gif
Usually if it was a promotional rate then auto renew will renew to board rate of the same tenure.
OIC, the Smartsaver. I thought why you have so many SA to close there ?? hmm.gif

Smartsaver for people who are Top (Top Flo) & Smart !!! brows.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 9 2014, 08:29 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2014, 08:27 PM)
Ya, I saw it just recently. 100k for the FD promotion !
OIC, the Smartsaver. I thought why you have so many SA to close there ??  hmm.gif

Smartsaver for people who are Top (Top Flo) & Smart !!!  brows.gif
No leh. Smartsavers is for cheapskate ppl like me, need to top up 1k every month lol.

Top people go for Premier Save Gold account in OCBC sweat.gif
OMG!
post Jun 9 2014, 08:30 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 08:22 PM)
BR require minimum placement of 5k only right with 15 months of 3.95%?

The other possible option is PB which need minimum 30k for 8.88%!

Guess 100k is a way too impossible for me to have this fresh fund as a fresh grads. blush.gif

This post has been edited by OMG!: Jun 9 2014, 08:32 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 9 2014, 08:31 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2014, 08:29 PM)
No leh. Smartsavers is for cheapskate ppl like me, need to top up 1k every month lol.

Top people go for Premier Save Gold account in OCBC sweat.gif
Ha ha, the Poor Lowly Goat do not have either one cry.gif ......................... Top Flo has Smartsavers rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 9 2014, 08:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 08:30 PM)
BR require minimum placement of 5k only right with 15 months of 3.95%?
The 5k and >6 months entitle you to monthly interest. smile.gif
OMG!
post Jun 9 2014, 08:33 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 9 2014, 08:32 PM)
The 5k and >6 months entitle you to monthly interest.  smile.gif
With a 3.95% interest rates right?

122 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top