Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1
davinz18
Jun 27 2014, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 27 2014, 03:17 PM) Like any insurance, this one would charge a premium and dilute the FD interest rate, am i right? On PIDM website, many are members http://www.pidm.gov.my/About-Deposit-Insur...ution-List.aspxNext reverse question would be: "which FD package offers the most competitive rate that has PDIM coverage?" Btw, are we looking at a revision of rate soon? how soon is that and is it likely upward or downward bias? Thanks in advance...  PIDM fee are paid by the banks. I don't think it would dilute the FD interest rate The most competitive FD rate with PIDM, I'm not sure. but what I know Affin is among the best FD rate (board rate, no promo). how soon the banks would revise the rate, I think few days to 1week+ (based on previous changes)
davinz18
Jun 27 2014, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jun 27 2014, 03:36 PM) got extra for senior citizen? but affin branch not so common oh u mean FD for senior citizen? I don't think they have tat kind of FD, but they do have Saving Account for senior citizen with higher rate yup, that the problem. not much branch compare with other well establish banks
davinz18
Jun 27 2014, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jun 27 2014, 03:43 PM) ya because some bank got extra % for senior citizen, on top of the board rate why don't u call them & ask http://www.affinbank.com.my/Main-Page/Contact-Us.aspx
davinz18
Jun 27 2014, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 27 2014, 03:57 PM) It is RM250k/bank and per account.  thanks for the info. Someone actually told me it's 250k/bank (FD & Savings account  ) & we got into heated argument for that
davinz18
Jun 27 2014, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 27 2014, 04:06 PM) I taught it is 250K per entity per bank. As far as I knew, split to many account, won't entitle for the more coverage, aka you open 4 account with Bank A, you only entitled for 250k total. You want 500K coverage then need to open account with Bank B. http://www.pidm.gov.my/About-Deposit-Insurance/Coverage.aspxAnother way I think is to split into Conventional and Islamic deposit accounts the website said it's separate deposit insurance protection for that
davinz18
Jun 29 2014, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 28 2014, 11:21 PM) Went to OCBC today for the 3 months @ 3.20% promo. I really hate their system. First you need to go to the customer financial service side to open/uplift FD account, and then they will submit the document to the teller (counter) side to prepare the certificates. No issue with the customer financial service side but the teller side is one of the worst banking service that I've ever experienced. When the certificates are ready, they don't bother to call you for collection but continue to talk with their colleagues or doing other stuffs. The bank was not even pack with customers. You will wait for a long period like a fool and when you approached them to ask, they said the certs are ready! This is the second time I faced the exact same incident. I made a complaint for the first occasion and the manager already assured me that it was a one off incident  I tot OCBC "high-standard" bank from Singapore. Very good service one. Maybe it's Saturday (casual day) so no serious2
davinz18
Jun 29 2014, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 29 2014, 12:36 AM) the first time was on a wednesday..dont know why need to be so complicated...UOB, CIMB, Ambank..all so direct. Deal with one person from start to finish. then it's not casual day thingy. u need to make an official complain to HQ, Maybe serious action would be taken  Talking to BManager is no use, they will cover your complain & to maintain KPI
davinz18
Jun 29 2014, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 29 2014, 12:53 AM) Yup, the 1st incident was reported to the HQ and the branch manager contacted me to follow up. Will be doing the same thing for this 2nd incident. Good move  let the HQ know how bad the branch services are. It will make the staff to work harder & more efficient than talking crap stories while in the counter
davinz18
Jun 30 2014, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2014, 05:06 PM) Meaning if OPR drops by big margin, they will drop the FD rate for long term FD which have been placed. If OPR increase, FD rate stay the same ???  mana boleh mcm ini. It's no fair
davinz18
Jul 2 2014, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jul 2 2014, 04:03 PM) i think it is confirmed OPR will be increased. more likely 0.5% Why? as my housing loan (this month) increased from rm1601 to rm1894..  came as a surprise to me QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jul 2 2014, 06:11 PM) Yes. Im on auto debit.Already increased.greedy harimau. Is it actually legal even before announcement? wah, can the banks actually do that even before "official" OPR changes announcement
davinz18
Jul 2 2014, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(JC999 @ Jul 2 2014, 08:25 PM) hong leong has a new 12 months 3.85% and 15 months at 4.0% got CASA requirement or not
davinz18
Jul 4 2014, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 3 2014, 09:22 PM) PBB STEP-UP FD: 3.4% (month 1 - 3) 3.6% (month 4 - 6) 3.8% (month 7 - 9) According to T&C 4.5, interest rate will change with OPR? https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/Pr...STEP-UP-FD.aspxhttps://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc_p...up_frmjuly.aspx4.5 The promotional interest or profit rate (whichever applicable) will be subject to revision should there be any Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) change. The revision of rate may impact any of the promotional interest or profit rate (whichever applicable) i.e. first 3-month rate or first rollover rate or second rollover rate, where FD or investment placement made in this Campaign will be subject to the revised promotional interest or profit rate (whichever applicable) for subsequent roll-overs. looks like they would change the interest rate on the 4th month if there any changes in OPR
davinz18
Jul 4 2014, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 4 2014, 05:04 PM) Previously in my article A Little Bit of that and A Little Bit of That- Vol.1 Chap IV, I did a short write up on GIRO and RENTAS. Scroll down to Interbank GIRO and IBG Transfer via Over The Counter. In a nut shell, same day fund transfer BEFORE cut off time can be summarized as follows: 1. GIRO - UP to RM100K per day. RM2 per transaction. 2. RENTAS - Up to RM500K per day. RM9 per transaction. the problem is people don't read (Incl myself  )
davinz18
Jul 5 2014, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jul 5 2014, 12:04 AM) I'm using personal cheque to transfer money but being charged RM50 for "referral of cheque" fee. Hence my advice is to minimise personal cheque for FD placement. QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jul 5 2014, 01:29 AM) I immediately call CIMB when saw the RM50 'CRC charges' in CIMBClicks. The officer said is due to issuer didn't pick up call from cheque processing department for verification 'on the large amount being issued', therefore they need to conduct verification manually via internal and external system. Don't know whether they are looking from money laundering angle. I just closed my current account yesterday and never look back again.  The bank should not have charged you due to failure to pick up the call for cheque verification  Something fishy somewhere
davinz18
Jul 5 2014, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 5 2014, 12:01 AM) I don't remember the limits, but I'm pretty sure I've done giro above 100k before at OCBC and UOB. Edit: Checked back in 2012, OCBC definitely could. Affin last few months also above 100k for GIRO OTC. Unless they change the policy somehow. Next week will do GIRO with UOB, will ask them about the limits then if I remember.  Rich Gal spotted  I never done GIRO of 100k before
davinz18
Jul 5 2014, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 5 2014, 08:26 PM) Ya, I kind of still not trusting sending thru' the cloud >100k of my money. Would have preferred a banker's cheque. Kia Su guy vs our Top Flo/Lady.  even with banker's cheque, it's not even close to 100k. juz ordinary guy here
davinz18
Jul 7 2014, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 7 2014, 03:17 PM) Thanks for calculating the effective rate ! Wow, RHB FD is even better than BR's 15 month's 3.95%. Some more with PIDM.  BR cannot cliaim to have the highest FD rate.  Why not some of you visit BR & tell them about tis RHB offer. Confirm they would do "something" about it
davinz18
Jul 8 2014, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 8 2014, 05:21 PM) Call the CS this morning on this but was told that Junior SA not considered in this promo. Went to RHB taman Megah PJ's branch to reconfirm but was told otherwise. HQ & branch have different sets of rule  Malaysia Boleh
davinz18
Jul 8 2014, 06:45 PM
a lot of people would be disappointed if OPR maintain in upcoming meeting
davinz18
Jul 8 2014, 10:10 PM
If BNM do maintain OPR, then we can expect some "minor crash" for KLCI & also Forex thingy p/s: we all know Governor zeti decision mostly unexpected one