QUOTE(nles @ Jul 26 2006, 01:15 PM)
Ian_mok, WCG marshal meeting will be at 3pm today, u interested in coming? lolx.
I'll be heading to office right now.
So nles, any updates on the rules??I'll be heading to office right now.
Warcraft 3: WCG rule vs SMM rule vs Singapore AP rule, need ur feedback
Jul 26 2006, 10:01 PM
235 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Puchong |
Jul 26 2006, 10:02 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Jul 26 2006, 10:39 PM
2,125 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Kie kie, I try to update abit okie.
The final rules will be up few days later, after meeting with SMM ppl maybe. Roughly, currently the rules will not change much. We do not like the idea of changing the rules. Maybe modify abit is not a problem. 1st, Backdooring is still not allowed. You can only attack towers only if opponent tower started to attack your creeps. For barracks, once your creeps went uphill into their base you can hit opponent barracks. 2nd, Wards. There's still ward restriction. Although I dun like ward restriction but majority thinks that warding near creeps spawn is disturbing the game mechanics. If you accidently warded, then you'll get one warning. 3rd, I think this is the best I can do for gamers. We've cancel the rules saying breaking all rax only throne/tree. That mean now as long as u clear one path, u can break throne/tree 4th, 60minute or 90minute? This one ler, currently is still 90minutes. Need to discuss with one more person only can decide. 5th, Now before every match start, both side need to write down their desire heroes 1st. You won't know what opponent chose either 6th, 3rd Deciding game will be played with -AP rules. Each side choose hero 1 by 1 7th, We still use tower count then rax count only hero count. The game is actually bout destroying towers/throne but not bout heroes killing This is the rules currently decided after we discuss with marshals and called up few dota players. Eventhough I dun agree with some of the rules but I'm just a mere marshal, currently that's the best I can do. This post has been edited by nles: Jul 26 2006, 11:21 PM |
Jul 27 2006, 12:33 AM
314 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
so the qualifier on 4&5th august is still using the game mode normal pick ?
just the semi and final round if go 3rd game, only play AP mode did i get this right? This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 27 2006, 12:43 AM |
Jul 27 2006, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(synzo @ Jul 27 2006, 12:33 AM) so the qualifier on 4&5th august is still using the game mode normal pick ? No no,just the semi and final round if go 3rd game, only play AP mode did i get this right? For WCG prelim and finals, all will be normal pick For Asian Championship qualifiers, since the winner gonna represent Malaysia to Singapore, of cause we'll use Asian Championship rules -AP mode |
Jul 27 2006, 12:43 AM
frankly, i feel the result of this marshall meeting is very disapointing, with all due respect, the marshalls that you held this meeting with are consider "amateur level" players in DOTA at best , after so many active tourney players voicing they approval to abolish the backdooring and warding rules in this forum, i canot believe you choose to follow your marshalls decision instead of experienced tourney players advice. but then again, there maybe a higher authority that taken this decision, so i not trying to flame you, nles, just trying to give my 2 cents on the decision that your marshall meeting have come up with....
peace out... |
Jul 27 2006, 01:04 AM
Okie, I hope my comment on this doesn't offended anyone.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I only hope all our marshal put their heart on this event, work together to make WCG a better tournament. Who knows maybe next year we'll be hosting for the World grand final This post has been edited by nles: Jul 27 2006, 03:27 PM |
Jul 27 2006, 02:48 AM
19 posts Joined: May 2006 |
OMG nles, i feel for you....all your hard work unappreciated....its like what we have been discussing here went to........$%^%$^$^
Oh well, i guess its back to train according to the rules where the money is GG gamers no nid discuss anymore |
Jul 27 2006, 10:35 AM
6 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Melaka |
QUOTE good point of view do i know u? i think so You answered it yourself. I doubt that you do know me. Well GL guys. |
Jul 27 2006, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(nles @ Jul 26 2006, 10:39 PM) Kie kie, I try to update abit okie. When will we know da conclusion ... i mean the final decision??? The final rules will be up few days later, after meeting with SMM ppl maybe. Roughly, currently the rules will not change much. We do not like the idea of changing the rules. Maybe modify abit is not a problem. 1st, Backdooring is still not allowed. You can only attack towers only if opponent tower started to attack your creeps. For barracks, once your creeps went uphill into their base you can hit opponent barracks. 2nd, Wards. There's still ward restriction. Although I dun like ward restriction but majority thinks that warding near creeps spawn is disturbing the game mechanics. If you accidently warded, then you'll get one warning. 3rd, I think this is the best I can do for gamers. We've cancel the rules saying breaking all rax only throne/tree. That mean now as long as u clear one path, u can break throne/tree 4th, 60minute or 90minute? This one ler, currently is still 90minutes. Need to discuss with one more person only can decide. 5th, Now before every match start, both side need to write down their desire heroes 1st. You won't know what opponent chose either 6th, 3rd Deciding game will be played with -AP rules. Each side choose hero 1 by 1 7th, We still use tower count then rax count only hero count. The game is actually bout destroying towers/throne but not bout heroes killing This is the rules currently decided after we discuss with marshals and called up few dota players. Eventhough I dun agree with some of the rules but I'm just a mere marshal, currently that's the best I can do. |
Jul 27 2006, 01:00 PM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Actually this conclusion was expected, because as the host of a Major gaming event they would have to act in the best interest on the event with is to promote gaming among the community... Rules have to be drawn not based on a players judgement but on the Organizations judgement of fair play towards all participating teams Pro or Noob... so i dont think this is a big issue nles... All opinions posted in this forum/thread should just be used at future guidelines in upcoming gaming events...
Jul 27 2006, 02:03 PM
yup, credit to nles for being so initiative about getting gamers feedback to organize a better WCG event, while i havent see that so called head dota marshall even posting a single reply in this thread, is he the 1 that have an account in lowyat.net with a spikey hair cartoon avatar?
Jul 27 2006, 02:39 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(WoOWoO @ Jul 27 2006, 01:00 PM) Actually this conclusion was expected, because as the host of a Major gaming event they would have to act in the best interest on the event with is to promote gaming among the community... Rules have to be drawn not based on a players judgement but on the Organizations judgement of fair play towards all participating teams Pro or Noob... so i dont think this is a big issue nles... All opinions posted in this forum/thread should just be used at future guidelines in upcoming gaming events... How come the organiser cant take care of the gaming communityThe rules is out and obsolute in whole over the world I think they stil play 5.84 and cannot accept the changes of the rules >.< |
Jul 27 2006, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(Ryttuz @ Jul 27 2006, 02:39 PM) How come the organiser cant take care of the gaming community i understand that the organiser have been doing great The rules is out and obsolute in whole over the world I think they stil play 5.84 and cannot accept the changes of the rules >.< |
Jul 27 2006, 03:26 PM
383 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Ryttuz @ Jul 27 2006, 02:39 PM) How come the organiser cant take care of the gaming community dude chill out, why the stress? you're gonna die young if you work yourself up too much.The rules is out and obsolute in whole over the world I think they stil play 5.84 and cannot accept the changes of the rules >.< Ever heard of "gradual adaptation"? Dota in Malaysia has just seen the last of the 5.84 competetive phase. But our play-style and format is still a lil influenced from the past. As Woo and Odin has pointed out, there are many things we can adjust to the rules such as backdooring warding etc. It just takes time to actually realize what should be in and what shouldn't. Nothing is absolute, every version of the Dota that is released has to go through at least a few months of play testing to decide wether if its viable for tourney. That said, the time taken to play test is much longer than the time taken to cough up a new version. I'm very sure the WCG officials are doing every thing in their power do make the upcoming competition as competitive and interesting as possible. After all, it's their job. IF you think you can do better, why not apply for a job there? I'm pretty sure they are willing to accept applicants. Who knows, when dota goes international, you would be having meetings with officials all over the world considering the fairplay of dota. |
Jul 27 2006, 04:20 PM
2,918 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://www.broquet.com.my |
QUOTE an account in lowyat.net with a spikey hair cartoon avatar? Who would that be? QUOTE Now before every match start, both side need to write down their desire heroes 1st. You won't know what opponent chose either Any of you have opinions on this? Personally I don't think this would be a good idea as -lm was designed with a purpose in mind. To decide all heroes without knowing the opponent's heroes, might be a bit redundant as I believe there are some clans out there who prepared various set ups depending on what their opponent choosed, and have spent some time training in it. This rule, is a no go for me |
Jul 27 2006, 05:17 PM
6,934 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Audiophilia valley... |
Yukito you have been a marshall for a few tourneys what's your opinion then? I think it will be better to use -lm and a coin toss to the winning side to decide whether they want to choose the hero earlier or let the opponent pick first.
Jul 28 2006, 10:39 AM
Anyway all the above discussion is for the national finals rules.
Still got 1 more month only national final. Check the WCG website for the most updated rules. For the preliminaries, it'll be using the same rules. No changes will be made. |
Jul 28 2006, 06:00 PM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
just wanna ask, wat is the preliminaries rules?? is it still 90 minutes games as stated in the official web site?
Jul 29 2006, 01:17 AM
Preliminaries will be using 60minutes rules.
No backdoor, ward restriction, megacreeps only throne |
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
5 queries
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:06 PM |