Warcraft 3: WCG rule vs SMM rule vs Singapore AP rule, need ur feedback

nles
post Jul 23 2006, 11:54 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

Actually, for me dota is already an unbalance game.
Different rules will have different type of playing. To make a fair rules for each side will take very long time and experience.
Some say 60minute is good enough, why wcg change? cause alot gamers complain 60minute is not enough. Some like WCG Rules, Some prefer SMM rules.
I think the most important thing right now is we standardise the game rules for every tournament.
nles
post Jul 24 2006, 04:02 AM

2,125 posts

If wcg really have that much time, i got a better rules =P
But if really got 128 teams then problem a bit.
nles
post Jul 24 2006, 07:15 PM

2,125 posts

Lets say, i got a rules which i think is most fair to both side but it requires to play for 2 hours straight. Will it be too stressful for the gamers?
nles
post Jul 24 2006, 09:45 PM

2,125 posts

Well i dun think that smm rules is fairer than wcg rules or vice-versa.
To me, different rules = different style of playing.
nles
post Jul 24 2006, 10:10 PM

2,125 posts

I've call up a meeting for all dota marshal. We'll discuss about the rules. I hope to get more feedback from gamers, I will bring your feedback up on the meeting.

nles
post Jul 25 2006, 12:13 AM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Jul 24 2006, 10:46 PM)
there is actually no need for a 3rd deciding AP game if you are playing 2 sides, u can just do a similar system like CS, whereby points ( depending on whether which competition, towers[WCG] or herokills+towers[SMM] ) can be add up from both games to get the final result, i believe nobody will argue that this system is not fair? icon_rolleyes.gif
HAhah synzo, that's what i have in my mind. That's why i asked, will it be stressful if u all need to play 2 hours straight.

QUOTE(M4Gi_7 @ Jul 24 2006, 11:55 PM)
mad.gif no offense by wcg tower count rules is just plain stupid... u can just mass aegis go suicide towers... where smm u need better n more organised play style to win a game... even audience can see if u play via smm rules n win is more convincing who is the victo... 1 more thing is i really think 3rd -AP game is good ... much like 100% better than coin flip scourge/senti coz is really more skill intense to drafting heroes n fairer... if any teams gonna represent malaysia for SG asian championship we gotta swicth to -Ap draftin coz teams in malaysia have zero ideas ... go asian championship in this manner is embarassing  cool.gif
even if u mass aegis, if opponent with damage items, before u reach the tower u're dead then mass aegis also no point right? Mass aegis u also need to push the creeps until they hit the tower 1st.
well, if backdoor is allowed then is different story. that 1 really is everyone juz straight go suicide tower.

Let's say if wcg totally change the rules, what u guyz will think. Will it be fair to everyone? The loser of preliminaries, will they complain? Well the bright side is u still can buy ticket and join the national final at KLCC but for SMM i think only the qualifiers can enter the grand final right?

This post has been edited by nles: Jul 25 2006, 12:17 AM
nles
post Jul 25 2006, 12:33 AM

2,125 posts

There's some rules that i like feedback from gamers.

1. Backdoor, allowed or not? ( How u guys define backdoor as? )
2. Ward on neutral creeps spot, allowed or not?
3. Need to megacreeps only destroy throne/tree or just destroy one path then can throne/tree (myself think that break 6 rax only can throne/tree is crap =P)

For backdooring, lets say when u push u walked faster than ur creeps and u hit the buildings 1-2 hit before the creeps wave arrived, will u guys consider that as backdoor?
What bout barracks, is it only your creeps hit opponent barracks only u can hit or you just need your creeps in the sight then can hit?
nles
post Jul 25 2006, 12:56 AM

2,125 posts

Anyway this 2 sides rules we'll discuss later. Let's concentrate on the 3 question i mentioned.

And i believe m4gi_7, as rumours i heard wn_sk is the team that played most -ap singapore rules right? U guys got more experience on -ap rules compare to others, myself haven experience it before so i'm not in the position saying -ap is good or bad.

This post has been edited by nles: Jul 25 2006, 12:58 AM
nles
post Jul 25 2006, 02:08 AM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(winternight @ Jul 25 2006, 01:54 AM)
well... if you tried b4 by using gem to counter the warding creep, thing u must know is... is already slower down the neutral creep spawn, even if you clear the ward, the neutral creep still not coming out, need after few min, it only come out, if you very unlucky.. once you clear the ward, and put the gem back to base then opponent come and plant again... lol imagine it... and 1 more thing u must know... not every time spawn those Furbolg, Centaur or the Hellcaster... sometime.. some joke neutral creep come out, u need to clear it and wait again... then wat the purpose of Sentinel having Chen this hero ?? one Ward can say already kill his 50% potential... duhhhhhhhhhh
No no, what i mean is warding at neutral creeps spot but not on neutral creeps spawn.
I think that's different right??? warding on neautral creeps spawn = ward directly on neautral creeps to prevent them from spawning, but ward on neutral creeps spot = near the neutral creeps to see oponent hero farming neutral creeps

nles
post Jul 25 2006, 12:35 PM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(Yukito @ Jul 25 2006, 11:52 AM)
Ya know, rules, are there for a reason, where a marshal, could use it at his/her disposal to prosecute an action. However, whether to prosecute  the team or not, is entirely at the discretion of the marshal.

Of course, we don't do every thing black & white. Its like the football games. You follow every single rule in the book, the game gets kinda boring, like the infamous 30-cards-in-a-worldcup-match thingy. Sometimes we'll turn a blind-eye to some stuffs in order to ensure a smooth game. However, I believe only experienced marshals can execute this properly, with DotA still relatively a fresh face in the gaming scene hopefully as time  passes by this situation will improve. Of course, constructive feedbacks and suggestions are always welcomed to enhance such processes.

Personally, I believe there are certain loopholes in the WCG R&R that needs to be mended. I believe al your suggestions here will be taken into consideration as many people are indeed reading these very threads in lowyat.NET. However, please keep post counts to a minimal and only post constructively, reading repetitive posts does make the reader sleepy ya know.

Perhaps, there might be one last modification just before WCG National Finals. Maybe if you guys send enough (proper) emails to In2, that's a maybe though whistling.gif
I've received called from few gamers and heard from few gamers on the spot about their opinion on the rules.
Because there's so much prelim around the nation, not only we can't standardise rules for different tournament. Now even rules among wcg marshal is not standardise, that's why I called up a meeting. WCG Marshals dun hate me =P, make u guys work 1 more day but i think this meeting is needed.

So gamers who got something to say bout the rules, please post here. I'll take down your points and discuss on the marshal meeting tomorrow.

This post has been edited by nles: Jul 25 2006, 12:36 PM
nles
post Jul 25 2006, 01:58 PM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Jul 25 2006, 01:08 PM)
actually i do have 1 suggestion of rule that maybe can help organizers to save precious time while also encouraging a more entertaining DOTA match.

my idea is the way to decide the winner after 2 normal pick games which both team win 1 game is by merely rewarding the team that win their game destroying the opponent throne/tree with the fastest time the overall victory.

this idea will definitely change the gameplan that teams have now and make them play to an uptempo, fast and furious DOTA match, which is more entertaining to viewers while also save precious time....

welcome anyone to give their opinions on this rule i suggest, just make your point constructive and helpful,  thumbup.gif
If the game is stop after destroying throne/tree, i think the game will took dam long to finish, even i myself played an 2 1/2 hour game before. both side can't push in.

nles
post Jul 25 2006, 03:10 PM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(M4Gi_7 @ Jul 25 2006, 02:46 PM)
I think 3rd -AP game should be the way to go... since u wanna represent malaysia to Asian CHampionship in Singapore.. why not learn n get used to it? rather than goin there n have like zero ideas? About the rest of the 3 rules i totally agree wif Ian's suggestion .. apart from tat tower count is = = just go wif the point system or if its really tower count make it a 90 mins game is more consistent ...
So you're suggesting, if point system we should use 60minutes while if tower count we should use 90minutes
Currently Malaysia tourney all using normal pick, and i agree some 1 did say that is a "Sentinel VS Scrouge" game.

nles
post Jul 25 2006, 07:23 PM

2,125 posts

For the inter-cc thing, definately we're using the same Asian Championship rules.
nles
post Jul 25 2006, 07:42 PM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(zxcvbnm @ Jul 25 2006, 07:26 PM)
and AP as tournament rule? then why bother to toss the coin to decide which side that you going to play since you can pick ALL heroes from the both side. Dont start with me about terrain advantage.
For ap rules, the used of tossing coins is to decide who get to choose the 1st hero first.
nles
post Jul 26 2006, 02:46 AM

2,125 posts

Dun argue, I asking opinion bout rules. Not which combo ownz or whatever bla bla.
nles
post Jul 26 2006, 10:35 AM

2,125 posts

Do you guys think the rules now is unfair? Let's say at early stage,u lose because u loss your coin toss and opponent chose Scrouge.
nles
post Jul 26 2006, 01:15 PM

2,125 posts

Ian_mok, WCG marshal meeting will be at 3pm today, u interested in coming? lolx.
I'll be heading to office right now.
nles
post Jul 26 2006, 10:39 PM

2,125 posts

Kie kie, I try to update abit okie.
The final rules will be up few days later, after meeting with SMM ppl maybe.

Roughly, currently the rules will not change much. We do not like the idea of changing the rules. Maybe modify abit is not a problem.

1st, Backdooring is still not allowed. You can only attack towers only if opponent tower started to attack your creeps. For barracks, once your creeps went uphill into their base you can hit opponent barracks.

2nd, Wards. There's still ward restriction. Although I dun like ward restriction but majority thinks that warding near creeps spawn is disturbing the game mechanics. If you accidently warded, then you'll get one warning.

3rd, I think this is the best I can do for gamers. We've cancel the rules saying breaking all rax only throne/tree. That mean now as long as u clear one path, u can break throne/tree

4th, 60minute or 90minute? This one ler, currently is still 90minutes. Need to discuss with one more person only can decide.

5th, Now before every match start, both side need to write down their desire heroes 1st. You won't know what opponent chose either

6th, 3rd Deciding game will be played with -AP rules. Each side choose hero 1 by 1

7th, We still use tower count then rax count only hero count. The game is actually bout destroying towers/throne but not bout heroes killing

This is the rules currently decided after we discuss with marshals and called up few dota players. Eventhough I dun agree with some of the rules but I'm just a mere marshal, currently that's the best I can do.

This post has been edited by nles: Jul 26 2006, 11:21 PM
nles
post Jul 27 2006, 12:38 AM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Jul 27 2006, 12:33 AM)
so the qualifier on 4&5th august is still using the game mode normal pick ?

just the semi and final round if go 3rd game, only play AP mode

did i get this right?
No no,
For WCG prelim and finals, all will be normal pick
For Asian Championship qualifiers, since the winner gonna represent Malaysia to Singapore, of cause we'll use Asian Championship rules -AP mode
nles
post Jul 27 2006, 01:04 AM

2,125 posts

Okie, I hope my comment on this doesn't offended anyone.

I only hope all our marshal put their heart on this event, work together to make WCG a better tournament. Who knows maybe next year we'll be hosting for the World grand final

This post has been edited by nles: Jul 27 2006, 03:27 PM

0.0315sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:00 AM