Warcraft 3: WCG rule vs SMM rule vs Singapore AP rule, need ur feedback

synzo
post Jul 24 2006, 01:31 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(WoOWoO @ Jul 24 2006, 11:44 AM)
I Think this is a interesting post... But in my opinion i think that its better that each Dota Tournament has its own set of rules... Regardless whether the game is won by tower count/rax count or point system... The main challenge of the game is to be able to adapt to the gameplay... There is no Noob or Pro really, just like a simple human theory "Trial N Error"... Since the begining of the Dota competitions a lot of teams that lose complain  "Oh they stole our Combo" or "They know our strat" Hence if the rules keep changing we can see which team puts more effort into the game in terms of research and coming out with new tactics to play with...
Though Dota has a limited variety of heroes and combo's its up the teams individual skill to prove its worth... Just My Opinion... Plz Dont Flame Me... I Shy HAHAHA...
i think the biggest problem with DOTA development in the gaming scene now is that the major international gaming event such as CPL, ESWC, WCG do not treat DOTA as a "legitimate" competition game, DOTA is not featured in these events at the world stage, unlike CS and WC3, which these events will standardize the rules, and the rest of smaller competition will follow their footsteps.

others pros in international gaming community like CS and WC3 also treat DOTA players as just some "pro-gamers wannabe", they feel those that are pros in DOTA usually are those that failed in Single Melee WC3 and make a switch to DOTA , so without the respect and recognition of those sponsors, event organizers and other players in gaming community in international stage, DOTA will always stayed in this form, whereby each country will hold their small scale national competition, and each country will come up with different rules for their own competition.

p/s: the Asian-WCG that featured DOTA is actually an event that Singapore is responsible for, so DOTA is still not regconized in the Official Worldwide WCG.
synzo
post Jul 24 2006, 06:53 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(CrankY @ Jul 24 2006, 04:21 PM)
Regarding your comment about 80% scourge winning on 60 min limit,i strongly agree. The changes from 627-632b has buffed scourge quite a bit.

But how does that reflect to sentinel advantage on 90 min game ?
From CAL replays, where games go 60+mins, it's quite obvious scourge wins easily.
Teams like CoL and Pandemic even take an all scourge line up for the deciding AP game if given the chance.
Singapore rules where they skip to an AP game straight probably saves up alot of time if both teams are good/equal in skill and more fair, since the deciding game is going to be AP anyway.

During 627b when senti was strong,getting a coin toss of senti at early brackets during 1 round knockout is all that really matters.
Senti may not be a sure win, but it gives you enough of an advantage to make a win on scourge a rare thing if both sides are equally skilled.

This is especially obvious in the blitzone tourney, where the semifinals/finals had alot of draws with Senti winning both sides.
And Enet losing to Wizz2's senti.
Wizz2's senti combo and execution that match was great, but you can't deny that if Enet flipped senti, the results might have very well been different.

Also our match vs gamebox/k5 at blitz tournament is another example,with us flipping sentinel and winning by just 7 points. If they flipped senti, i'm quite sure they would have gone to semis instead of us.

So in comparison of SG/WCG/SMM ruling, i would say SG rules are probably better in terms of fairness.

Of course that is just my opinion heh.
in term of fairness and time management, maybe AP mode is the way to go, but...

DOTA is a game that based on it "Sentinels Vs Scourge, Good Vs Bad" theme, maybe the current balance in sentinels vs scourge is not yet fair, but sometimes this "imbalance" shows the best out of a team, like during the v5 era, when sentinels used to win every game, KS came up with the infamous 4 bucklers int hero & medusa strat that no team was able to beat them using sentinels....

maybe now in v6, there will be 1 team that come up with another brilliant strategy that show us all that sentinels can still defeat scourge if both teams are equally skilled, and we will cheer for that team , and that my friends, is where the romance and intrigue of a normal pick mode has over AP mode. thumbup.gif

there is a way to solve this "imbalance" without switching tourneys to AP mode, which is to start the tourney playing both sides from the 1st round , that way teams will not argue that they were unlucky to be eliminated at early rounds because they got the "weaker" side, there is no need for a 3rd deciding game as points from the 2 games can be add up to get a total score, thumbup.gif
synzo
post Jul 24 2006, 10:46 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Tienhoven @ Jul 24 2006, 09:58 PM)

And for the 60 or 90 mins debate,lets just look further in the long term effect.[90mins]If you draw 1 - 1 or just win both games 2- 0,thats already 3 hour game,then u need -AP mode for the decisive win IF there was a draw.Now that is 4 and a half hour game,wow...then you'll have another game against another team and it keeps going on.Of course this normally comes into effect in semi-finals and finals,but still,adding the single elimination rounds to your road to finals,that is a whole load of time.Imagine having 128 teams?Imagine the time the orga is going to waste and gamers having to wait their turn.

there is actually no need for a 3rd deciding AP game if you are playing 2 sides, u can just do a similar system like CS, whereby points ( depending on whether which competition, towers[WCG] or herokills+towers[SMM] ) can be add up from both games to get the final result, i believe nobody will argue that this system is not fair? icon_rolleyes.gif
synzo
post Jul 25 2006, 12:19 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Jul 25 2006, 12:13 AM)
HAhah synzo, that's what i have in my mind. That's why i asked, will it be stressful if u all need to play 2 hours straight.
i think no DOTA competitors will complain is too stressful to play for a longer time if it means they get a fair chance of winning.

is just like asking CS players would they rather play just 1 side, counter terrorists or terrorists so they wouldnt be so stressful in competition?

like DOTA, in CS , there are also maps that favour a certain side,guess wat the answer u will get from them?
i think that your question have been answered by that neslopeng in a previous post, i totally agree with him .....

QUOTE(nles @ Jul 25 2006, 12:13 AM)
Let's say if wcg totally change the rules, what u guyz will think. Will it be fair to everyone? The loser of preliminaries, will they complain? Well the bright side is u still can buy ticket and join the national final at KLCC but for SMM i think only the qualifiers can enter the grand final right?
well, i think no one will complain if the rules change are fair and for the better future of the game, even the loser of prelims will feel that the organizers really put their heart and soul into making WCG a better event by changing the tournament structure rather than sticking with a obsolete and unfair structure, thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 25 2006, 12:35 AM
synzo
post Jul 25 2006, 12:50 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Jul 25 2006, 12:33 AM)
There's some rules that i like feedback from gamers.
3. Need to megacreeps only destroy throne/tree or just destroy one path then can throne/tree (myself think that break 6 rax only can throne/tree is crap =P)

i would suggest this rule be scrapped as it does not give a chance for a team that losing at early and mid game to win the game by breaking the throne/tree after destroying the 2 barracks of 1 path, it also unnecessarily drag the game on even the result is already very clearly shown at some point....

if you are thinking of commencing DOTA like CS whereby every team get to play 2 sides to find out the winner, which i supports, thencancelling this break 6 rax then only can throne rule is a definitely "MUST", it will save you precious time and hassle, cause when the strong teams meet the weaker teams, the game can GG in a timely manner, thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 25 2006, 12:53 AM
synzo
post Jul 25 2006, 01:08 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Jul 25 2006, 12:56 AM)
Anyway this 2 sides rules we'll discuss later. Let's concentrate on the 3 question i mentioned.

well, i think all 3 rules that you mentioned are very obsolete in competitive level of DOTA ,
1st rule backdooring is not that significant in v6, and also easily countered now by TP scrolls.

2nd rule warding of neutral creeps , are easily countered by experienced teams.

3rd rule you mention about breaking 6 rax only can hit throne also is redundant as it unnecessary drags a game on forever, shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 25 2006, 01:10 AM
synzo
post Jul 25 2006, 01:20 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(M4Gi_7 @ Jul 25 2006, 01:02 AM)
if u would play -AP u would know is the most fair mode coz it could go both ways... i believe all top teams would agree wif me tat scourge/senti has its imbaness in which ever versions like 6.27b most ppl think senti is imba n scourge is weaker where not 6.32b most teams goes scourge which is clearly the stronger sides .. so -Ap is definately the most balanced version... since is really up to team strategy in drafting n players adaption skillz
no offence, but from my point of view, i really supports an addup point system from 2 normal pick games instead of deciding 3rd game using AP mode:

1st, i feel the theme of DOTA is sentinels vs scourge, call me a romantic son of a b**** , but AP mode just totally kills this theme!

2nd, i still see certain "imbalance" in AP mode, as the team that get to choose 1st still holds a slight advantage, as they can know their opponent heroes choice from previous games, and they can take those heroes aways from their opposition if they get to choose 1st.
synzo
post Jul 25 2006, 03:02 AM

314 posts

i think someone once said that the less u see of the referee, the better the quality of a football match is, or something similar to that, tongue.gif

i think the same idea applies to DOTA rules as well, i think the less "grey" rules there are in competition, the better quality of a DOTA match is.

after my years of involvement in DOTA competition scene, i notice and i think many will agree with me, that many teams out there like to use "grey"rules to overturn a game result when they loses a match, eg: the SMM game where BZ was DQ due to a player accidentally selling a flask of sapphire water that belongs to a teamate, and Penang WCG qualifier, Netzero was asked to be DQ by their opponents cause they hit the throne before clearing all 6 barracks in their opponent base, and i can go on and on wit this kind of case scenarios, the similarities of all these cases are that these teams are clearly losing the matches regardless of the winning team did "broke" those rules or not, but they canot take the defeat and resolved to using this "IMBA" DQ strat to GG their opponent, shocking.gif

the losing team will argue that is does not matter if they are losing the game or not, if the other team broke the rules , they should be DQ, which by letter of the law,they are correct...

the winning team will feel injustice cause they lost a match not cause of lack of skills or teamwork, but cause of a stupid rule that they did not intentionally broke....

the point i trying to make is that to cut down on this kind of incidents happening again, less "debatable" rules should be implemented, and just stick to the few basic rules that all agreed on like no pooling, no bug exploitation etc.
these kind of incidents is really annoying both for the gamers and marshalls, and will only waste precious time of gaming events that are already short of time to begin with.

This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 25 2006, 03:12 AM
synzo
post Jul 25 2006, 10:55 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Ian_Mok @ Jul 25 2006, 10:02 AM)
1) we have try to remove backdoor issue in state revenge, and we can feel the player wont have any pressure on pushing any lane, tower, barrack. Player won't have such an issue like, " go back go back dun hit tower" or "wait creep 1st only attack" kind of word from the player.
And, this will reduce the work load of the marshall: not need to watch carefully on the player's screen, not really need to watch replay, since this is the highest chance that require marshall team to watch the replay.
And, we actually can c more hero kill and more unstressable combo when we removed backdoor rules in Central and South Revenge.

2) warding is always an arguement in the tourney. just to use this warding rules to protect the benefit of "chen" is a bit frust. so, we have removed this.

3) i think the dota ultimate rule is to destoy the throne, so iregards of the lane, whenever u ll be able to break the throne, you are the winner.

** Regarding to the BZ case, just because they are the strong team, u all keep raising the issue, y not u go n check which team have dqed by us in JB n Melaka. Since there are a competition, there will be a rules that u must obey, irregards who are you. At last, i personally respect BZ team, because they show their sportmanship and respect to the organiser, and we gave them chance in NS tourney and they deserve the champion in NS not only of their skill and also their attitude.

** Regarding the Penang case, maybe u can check the replay, the ward is rite in front of the neutral creep(somemore, leader is the 1 who ward the place). No team dare to do like this before this, if we dun do something to the team, what will the other think of us? please stand at the viewpoint of the organiser and think.

cheers
Ian, i try raise the BZ issues just as 1 of the example that losing teams like to use rules to their advantage, i not trying to flame the organizer for DQing BZ ,is like u said,some rules that are not needed will reduce workload of marshall, and produce a game wit more hero kills and more combos. thumbup.gif

the penang case i mentioned is the WCG qualifier, not the penang SMM qualifier, so i think u mistaken my point again, tongue.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
synzo
post Jul 25 2006, 01:08 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Jul 25 2006, 12:35 PM)
I've received called from few gamers and heard from few gamers on the spot about their opinion on the rules.
Because there's so much prelim around the nation, not only we can't standardise rules for different tournament. Now even rules among wcg marshal is not standardise, that's why I called up a meeting. WCG Marshals dun hate me =P, make u guys work 1 more day but i think this meeting is needed.

So gamers who got something to say bout the rules, please post here. I'll take down your points and discuss on the marshal meeting tomorrow.
actually i do have 1 suggestion of rule that maybe can help organizers to save precious time while also encouraging a more entertaining DOTA match.

my idea is the way to decide the winner after 2 normal pick games which both team win 1 game is by merely rewarding the team that win their game destroying the opponent throne/tree with the fastest time the overall victory.

this idea will definitely change the gameplan that teams have now and make them play to an uptempo, fast and furious DOTA match, which is more entertaining to viewers while also save precious time....

welcome anyone to give their opinions on this rule i suggest, just make your point constructive and helpful, thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 25 2006, 01:13 PM
synzo
post Jul 26 2006, 12:49 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(WoOWoO @ Jul 26 2006, 12:16 PM)
Actually i have something to say about Backdooring... NO BACKDOORING is a Dumb Rule LoL... in v6 towers must be destroyed following a sequence... I'm lazy to quote but someone said if 5 hero backdoor ur tower how to TP, and since everyone is talking about the abusing of wards to block creep spwans. Why not use wards to see people attempting to "backdoor" ur tower? In the end its all about tactics and observation... In my opinion, from my first dota tourney till now... No Backdooring is a Noob Rule... For once i would like to see people stop complaining and start thinking about what they can do to counter or prevent themselves from being backdoor... Creating rules to make the game more convenient for urself is BASICALLY ONE OF THE DUMBEST THINGS I THINK.
and Yes Yes... Feel Free to flame Me..
All i have to say is, Learn to Adapt to the rules and stop complaining...
Sorry ya if this post a bit lansi but its the truth...
I Appologize to all the people this offend but its a fact...
Pro Gaming is all about adapting to the changes made...

As for SMM n WCG my suggestion would be that you guys should try to organize a minor meet up with a few selected leaders/gamers from experienced dota teams to discuss on the rules... Maybe just 3-4 People... Icons in the Dota community which are known and respected... No Point placing it on the forum because it will turn out to be a never ending story with everyone posting their comments...
yup, basically all 3 rules that nles mentioned are already non existence in other countries highest level DOTA league like CAL & MYM.

these 3 rules not only waste precious time , it give a way for losing team to find an excuse to DQ winning teams, at the same time, also lower the standard of gameplay in a DOTA match, i totally support WooWoo point on these rules are there to make the game more easy and convenient for players of a lower standard and experience.

as for the debate on normal pick Vs AP, since the Asia Championship is hosted by Singapore, and they enjoyed AP so much, we just have to folow suits for this particular tourney.....
for those normal pick supporters, rest assured that if the worldwide WCG ever take on DOTA as official game, the game mode certainly will be normal pick and not the AP mode that singapore enjoyed so much, this is because the major western DOTA community in US & Europe all supports normal pick as tournament mode, thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 26 2006, 12:51 PM
synzo
post Jul 27 2006, 12:33 AM

314 posts

so the qualifier on 4&5th august is still using the game mode normal pick ?

just the semi and final round if go 3rd game, only play AP mode

did i get this right?

This post has been edited by synzo: Jul 27 2006, 12:43 AM
synzo
post Jul 27 2006, 12:43 AM

314 posts

frankly, i feel the result of this marshall meeting is very disapointing, with all due respect, the marshalls that you held this meeting with are consider "amateur level" players in DOTA at best , after so many active tourney players voicing they approval to abolish the backdooring and warding rules in this forum, i canot believe you choose to follow your marshalls decision instead of experienced tourney players advice. but then again, there maybe a higher authority that taken this decision, so i not trying to flame you, nles, just trying to give my 2 cents on the decision that your marshall meeting have come up with....

peace out...
synzo
post Jul 27 2006, 02:03 PM

314 posts

yup, credit to nles for being so initiative about getting gamers feedback to organize a better WCG event, while i havent see that so called head dota marshall even posting a single reply in this thread, is he the 1 that have an account in lowyat.net with a spikey hair cartoon avatar?

0.0146sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:11 AM