14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V3, Unleash the turbo power!

alexei
post Jul 1 2014, 09:29 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Got rear-ended this morning, with just a scuff mark on the paint. The other car bumper caved in.

mydragoon Mine about 50% of the time. Can refer to owner's manual for more details. If happens when radiator reaches certain temperature when you switch off the ignition. Tapping to OBD, it seems to be >92C will cause that to happen.

For video format conversion, I use those free any video converters.

Also, my plan is to hook up my HU to and fro the media player, so both the players are linked up, and I can output to all 4 screens.
alexei
post Jul 1 2014, 01:37 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 1 2014, 09:59 AM)
huh? OBD can tell actual temp? din notice that... hmmm...

sorry... HU = ?

and output to 4 screens??

can suggest any "free" converters you are using? i have handbrake, but i dun think later versions can convert to mpeg1 and mpeg2. yesterday i checked it out and i know newer version can't convert to AVI.
HU = Head Unit. My EB has 2 headrest monitor, 1 HU screen and the media player that can take AUX input.

By getting the AV feed from HU to the Aux of media player, and vice versa, I can manage the contents played in the car. Most importantly, I can play DVD with the media player, and output to the headrest monitor. My HU can select separate zone for rear and front, so I can let rear passengers watch video, while driver row listen to other things or mute.

I'm using Any Video Converter. Select file, drop down output, and click convert.
Can batch process resize, filter, etc. Supports Intel Quicksync for H264 IINM.
Downside is, no multi-pass encoding for better quality.

This post has been edited by alexei: Jul 1 2014, 01:39 PM
alexei
post Jul 2 2014, 09:27 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

YouDontKnowMyNamemydragoonMyvi hit me... the pretty driver said 'hmmm, yours very hard oh.'
blush.gif
alexei
post Jul 2 2014, 11:45 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 2 2014, 09:51 AM)
bwahahaha... and it sounds... kinky... tongue.gif
Got paint transfer to my boot door, will need to try get rid of it with polish.
alexei
post Jul 2 2014, 02:53 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Jul 2 2014, 01:11 PM)
Sounds suggestive  brows.gif  brows.gif
Yeah, and she was good looking too. LOL. Pity her car.

When I inspected underneath, noticed there's a huge metal bar right underneath the bumper shell. Immediately I checked to make sure reverse sensor still works. Later found out, the bumper actually dislodged from the body, but no biggie, just snapped it back like a Nokia phone cover. LOL.
alexei
post Jul 2 2014, 05:57 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 2 2014, 03:56 PM)
hmmm... how do you get it to show exact temp?
Use the torque app, with Bluetooth OBD2 dongle.
alexei
post Jul 2 2014, 06:33 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mandrew @ Jul 2 2014, 06:07 PM)
Hi Alexei, have you tried connecting the HU to the Steering Wheel Controls?
I'm using Pioneer P4450BT and added a Steering Interface Control unit to interface to the Steering.
But unable to Pickup or Disconnect calls, the rest of the controls works.
I can use. The HU have steering config, and all button works.
Does yours able to configure the buttons? It needs to be done. Example, I assign 'Mode' button to "power on/off" instead, more practical to me.
alexei
post Jul 2 2014, 11:22 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 2 2014, 07:18 PM)
just did a quick search on this...

oh, the under the steering thingy? yikes... I think I'll leave that alone. no confident to mess around... haha

btw, alexei how come you edited a lot of your old posts?
Sometimes, after people 'quote' it, I'll normally remove them.

The OBD2 is a reader. Once paired over bluetooth, the app reads the signal PID header and value, then convert them to different parameters. Plug and play, no messing with required.

This post has been edited by alexei: Jul 2 2014, 11:41 PM
alexei
post Jul 9 2014, 11:12 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Burnt smell may come from other things.
Extra: Tips for CVT
alexei
post Jul 10 2014, 10:01 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Yesterday, I checked my undercarriage. Seems like the joint hose from the petrol inlet to the petrol tank has leak mark, ie black dried stain. Perhaps, that could be contributing to the petrol smell.

Also, noticed the front side, under engine bay, there are two flaps on left/right side, similar to skid plates.

Another thing I obeserved, is that our wheel well plastic cover is light weight material, and easily comes off-aligned from the metal chassis. Once a while, I'll need to make adjustments to them. Thinking to add soundproof material to it, but worry the added weight.

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 9 2014, 02:44 PM)
Those are guidelines for BUV tractors and farm machines  doh.gif Your Proton utilizes something different that that.

At the very least, you won't get any burnt rubber smell from your CVT  shakehead.gif

The burnt smell when you are driving aggressively is from the hot exhaust leaking into the cabin through the firewall.
Yeah, it's from a BUV website.
Proton Punch CVT has clutch and steel belt. Albeit no burnt rubber, but if you do what you should not, the CVT life also will be shortened: overload, drive too slow, stopping uphill, how to start the vehicle uphill etc...
alexei
post Jul 10 2014, 04:10 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jul 10 2014, 10:18 AM)
So, if there is a congestion on a uphill slope, are you suggesting we should straight away plow through the standstill cars with out mighty exora bold since we can't stop on uphill? laugh.gif
I am not suggesting that, but, yeah, with a minesweeper module, you can do that. LOL.
No la, be wise a bit lo. If have to stop uphill, engage parking brake, and disengage the gear.
When moving, press the accelerator, and slowly release the handbrake.
alexei
post Jul 12 2014, 04:01 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 12 2014, 01:17 PM)
I was told the remote also includes a chip that allows car to start. seems Exora has got immobilizer and if this chip is not detected, car won't start.

I was told if we ever drop the key + remote and it breaks into pieces, have to look for this small chip.

I guess we can wait for you to confirm.
Yeah, there's a chip that's the size of finger nail in the key body. It needs to be near the car for it to start. Proton SC say to duplicate a key, need to bring the car to SC. Good thing is, unlike some other cars, if EB battery kong, you won't need to reprogram the immobilizer after fitting in new battery, macam itu P2 Maivee...

D - normal. Accelerate at 2k RPM until CVT finish before RPM goes up. Release gas pedal won't jerk the car.
L - sporty, accelerate at 3k+ RPM. CVT locked both ways, will jerk when release gas pedal.

I personally haven't need to drive with L, thinking that it's not fuel efficient.

FC sharing: As of last 2 days, using Caltex, casual driving highway at 80kmh mix a little bit of city jam and hill roads, for about 170km so far, I managed to get 8.6L/100km.
alexei
post Jul 12 2014, 04:19 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(20v_ke35 @ Jul 12 2014, 04:10 PM)
Oh ya, one more thing. The suspension on this 2014 EB is great. It is better that my Kenari custom tune adjustable suspension. When taking a corner at 100km/h, it give very low body roll, never heard any tire skidding, and the handling is crispy. Of course it not as good as a Silvia or S2000, but it move as I want it to move. And that is good.

BTW, the ride was done with 4 adults, 4 large luggages. The tire pressure were set at 31 front, 37 rear.
Check out the rear suspension, it has built in stabilizer bar, hidden inside the metal beam. So, the car doesn't roll, as if pasang the UR stabilizer.
alexei
post Jul 15 2014, 09:51 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

sKypRiNcE734That's insane speed IMO. Sorry, can't verify that for you.
alexei
post Jul 15 2014, 05:41 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Guys, my turbo whistling comes and goes, like wee..stop...wee...stop... what about yours?
alexei
post Jul 17 2014, 09:40 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

70k Malaysian MPV vs 100k~200k imports. That's fun.
But, if EB were to pick a fair fight, what would it be?
alexei
post Jul 17 2014, 05:41 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Bold28 @ Jul 17 2014, 02:27 PM)
2. Ultra racing strut bar - RM120
Front or rear?
IMO, stock EB already have, and doesn't need it.
alexei
post Jul 18 2014, 10:02 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Bold28 @ Jul 18 2014, 08:18 AM)
Its tower bar in the engine compartment. Mine EB std dont hv it!  cry.gif
Oh, that one EB Premium also don't have.
Though, I installed a 2Farad cap to the battery terminal, will wait and see headlight dimming if reduced, and FC change.
alexei
post Jul 20 2014, 04:11 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

The capacitor has voltmeter built in. When the aircon compressor and two radiator fans kick in, the voltage dropped from 14.4 charging to 10.8 before the alternator reacts and keep up with the voltage. 2 farad cap also not enough.Haven't had the chance to try headlight. Will update again.

This post has been edited by alexei: Jul 20 2014, 04:13 PM
alexei
post Jul 20 2014, 06:39 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(column3 @ Jul 20 2014, 05:02 PM)
Mine drop from 14.0 to 10.8...If during trafic jammed voltage around 13.7V...Is that my battery  almost dead?
That's not how to read battery health. It is the voltage during idle and crank.

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:18 AM