129 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

popice2u
post Apr 4 2014, 04:35 PM

1,337 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2014, 03:58 PM)
Lazada is a big company, so should be okay one nod.gif
After all, if anything goes wrong, you are dealing with the brand's SC instead of Lazada (perhaps apart from the 1st 7-days, have to read the T&C carefully before buying ya icon_rolleyes.gif)
But they do postage one right? No COD?  hmm.gif
COD
Free postage
3 YEARS LOCAL MANUFACTURER WARRANTY

http://www.lazada.com.my/toshiba-satelite-...ite-472077.html

i just want to know if its ok to get from Lazada cos they are selling RM1,879 where most shop is selling RM2,299
sporesan
post Apr 4 2014, 04:39 PM

70 posts

Hello guys,I am a to-be university student who needs a laptop for Computer Science.

1. Preferred Brand: Any brand
2. Budget: Sky is the limit
3. Usage: Computer Science,gaming,watching movies/entertainment
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:12"-15"

Note:Preferably the latest lightweight,easy to carry around,durable and has a long warranty period.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 04:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(goldsaber @ Apr 4 2014, 04:32 PM)
You may consider MSI CX61-2PC ( 4 gen Intel i7 4702MQ, NVidia GeForce 820M 2GB GDD3, 8GB DDR3 , 1TB HDD, Window 8.1) come with 15.6” display, price also in your budget range.
Not that suitable for heavy gaming that one laugh.gif

QUOTE(popice2u @ Apr 4 2014, 04:35 PM)
COD
Free postage
3 YEARS LOCAL MANUFACTURER WARRANTY

http://www.lazada.com.my/toshiba-satelite-...ite-472077.html

i just want to know if its ok to get from Lazada cos they are selling RM1,879 where most shop is selling RM2,299
What I meant was this one:
http://www.lazada.com.my/faq/

"You may return your order or items for any of the following reasons:

You received a damaged item from the courier. Your item is faulty within fourteen (14) days of receipt (if problems arise after this period, do not worry as most of our items come with original manufacturer’s warranty). The item(s) shipped to you is not what you ordered. You changed your mind on your purchase.

Unless otherwise stated in the product description, the general requirements for returns are as follows:

It is within fourteen (14) days from the delivery date. You have proof of purchase (order number, delivery note, bank statement). The goods must be in an "as new" condition and returned in the ORIGINAL, undamaged packaging along with the accessories (including manuals, warranty cards, certificate of authenticity) and free gifts received with it.The product must not have been used or installed or had any data inputted. All sealed items must not be opened. In case you have opened the seal, please refer for assistance to the relevant service center indicated on the warranty information"

If there's anything wrong with the notebook, you can return within 14 days (T&C apply)... anything else after that you will be dealing directly with Teledynamics nod.gif

I suppose they buy in bulk, which is why the can sell at such low prices? hmm.gif
Might want to upgrade RAM to at least 4-8GB, 2GB will not be enough icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 4 2014, 04:42 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(sporesan @ Apr 4 2014, 04:39 PM)
Hello guys,I am a to-be university student who needs a laptop for Computer Science.

Note:Preferably the latest lightweight,easy to carry around,durable and has a long warranty period.
no budget limitations? thats so nice to hear. cry.gif
anyway your best choice :

MSI
GS60-2PE, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX870M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 128GB mSATA + 1TB (7200rpm) HDD@RM6499[Dynaudio], 16GB, W8.1, multi-coloured backlid; gaming mouse, HDMI cable

comes with 2 years local warranty and 1 year international. its very thin and light, a capable gaming machine. i think PC fair has the latest units now.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 4 2014, 04:43 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 04:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sporesan @ Apr 4 2014, 04:39 PM)

Dayum, sky is the limit, love that haha laugh.gif laugh.gif
Can buy one for us? brows.gif brows.gif

15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1366x768; Touch)@RM2899[2.6kg], 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + 8GB SSHD + 1TB(5400rrpm) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3699[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

XPS 15, i5-4200H + Intel HD 4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)+ (1920x1080; Touch)@RM4999 [2.0kg], 8GB, W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 61Whr
XPS 15, i7-4702HQ + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm) + (3200x1800; Touch)@RM6299 [2.0kg], 16GB, W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 61Whr

Is Mac OSX okay for Computer Science? If yes, can consider this MacBook (but you'll need to bootcamp for games):
15.6"
Apple MacBookPro 15" (Retina Display), i7-4750HQ + Nvidia GT750M + 512GB SSD + (2880x1800)@RM8499[2.02kg], 16GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

*Prices in RRP, you are eligible to discounted price for Apple products if you are a student icon_rolleyes.gif

* For Dell products, use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years thumbup.gif
I would recommend going for the Dell, its warranty is very nice to have for a student (fixed within 1-2 business days)

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 4 2014, 04:50 PM
KyriosxX
post Apr 4 2014, 06:19 PM

120 posts

Dear all sifus, need your input in this biggrin.gif

1. Open to try any brand.
2. Around 4k
3. Business Usage: Presentation, Microsoft Office, Online Reading
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: >13 will be fine
5. Extra Comment: I am looking for a business class laptop, aim for durability and stability. Hopefully light (<2.0kg) with Good keyboard and trackpad will be an advantage.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 06:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Apr 4 2014, 06:19 PM)
Dear all sifus, need your input in this biggrin.gif

1. Open to try any brand.
2. Around 4k
3. Business Usage: Presentation, Microsoft Office, Online Reading
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: >13 will be fine
5. Extra Comment: I am looking for a business class laptop, aim for durability and stability. Hopefully light (<2.0kg) with Good keyboard and trackpad will be an advantage.
Finally buying bro? brows.gif

I know you love Apple, so here you go haha~
13"
Apple
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3899[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

*use remaining budget to up to 8GB RAM, and extend warranty to 3 years

Closest competitor would be :
13"
Dell
XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080)@RM3999[1.36kg], 8GB, W8, backlit
XPS13, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3999[1.37kg], 8GB, W8.1, backlit, 55Whr

*Price in RRP. Not so worth it since you won't have enough budget to upgrade warranty already, which although worth it (complete cover), costs a feaking bomb! But I think if you know how to bargain, you might still be able to get one around RM4k with warranty brows.gif

Go and play around with the XPS13, but I suppose the Apple is better in battery life and touchpad... hard to say for the keyboard, both are good~
cheers.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 4 2014, 06:24 PM
sporesan
post Apr 4 2014, 07:58 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 4 2014, 04:42 PM)
no budget limitations? thats so nice to hear. cry.gif
anyway your best choice :

MSI
GS60-2PE, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX870M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 128GB mSATA + 1TB (7200rpm) HDD@RM6499[Dynaudio], 16GB, W8.1, multi-coloured backlid; gaming mouse, HDMI cable

comes with 2 years local warranty and 1 year international. its very thin and light, a capable gaming machine. i think PC fair has the latest units now.
Thanks for the suggestion! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif rclxms.gif
sporesan
post Apr 4 2014, 08:02 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2014, 04:44 PM)
Dayum, sky is the limit, love that haha  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Can buy one for us?  brows.gif  brows.gif

15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1366x768; Touch)@RM2899[2.6kg], 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + 8GB SSHD + 1TB(5400rrpm) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3699[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

XPS 15, i5-4200H + Intel HD 4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)+ (1920x1080; Touch)@RM4999 [2.0kg], 8GB, W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 61Whr
XPS 15, i7-4702HQ + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm) + (3200x1800; Touch)@RM6299 [2.0kg], 16GB, W8.1SL, backlit keyboard, 61Whr

Is Mac OSX okay for Computer Science? If yes, can consider this MacBook (but you'll need to bootcamp for games):
15.6"
Apple MacBookPro 15" (Retina Display), i7-4750HQ + Nvidia GT750M + 512GB SSD + (2880x1800)@RM8499[2.02kg], 16GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
*Prices in RRP, you are eligible to discounted price for Apple products if you are a student  icon_rolleyes.gif

* For Dell products, use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years  thumbup.gif
I would recommend going for the Dell, its warranty is very nice to have for a student (fixed within 1-2 business days)
Eh,sifu,cannot belanja lah. sweat.gif tongue.gif
But don't have any latest lightweight?If 2kg,very heavy for me lah.... sweat.gif

Also,I don't really think Mac suitable.Preferably Win OS or other OS(like Ubuntu/Linux) that same with the lecturer's laptop OS.

This post has been edited by sporesan: Apr 4 2014, 08:03 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 08:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sporesan @ Apr 4 2014, 08:02 PM)
Eh,sifu,cannot belanja lah. sweat.gif  tongue.gif
But don't have any latest lightweight?If 2kg,very heavy for me lah.... sweat.gif

Also,I don't really think Mac suitable.Preferably Win OS or other OS(like Ubuntu/Linux) that same with the lecturer's laptop OS.
2kg is already very light for a performance notebook mate icon_rolleyes.gif
How about this one?
14"
MSI GE40-2OC-290MY, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4199[1.9kg], 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W8

Any lighter you'll have to sacrifice performance already laugh.gif
alw285
post Apr 4 2014, 08:47 PM

Hi there, the laptop recommended for me (Lenovo Flex 14) had a few features that were unnecessary like the dual-mode convertible touch screen and such.

I'm looking for a much more basic laptop smile.gif

1. No particular brand, as long it runs on Windows 8 and has reasonably long battery life
2. Budget <RM1500
3. Usage : PDF viewing, Microsoft word, web browsing, occasional movie-watching
4. Screen size : 13-14"

Any other recommendations? Thanks!
ashraf095
post Apr 4 2014, 09:44 PM

1,259 posts

hi. need recommendations for student..a bit gaming ( diablo 3 at medium settings)..photoshop and after effect..budget around 1.7k..currently looking to this..

-dell inspiron 14 3437t, i5-4200u, nvidia gt720m 1gb,14" touch, 500gb hdd
-lenovo flex 14, i3-4010u, gt820m 2gb,14" touch, 500hdd + 8gb ssd

both price at Rm1799..which is better? how much the differences for:
i3 vs i5, gt720 vs gt820?

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 10:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alw285 @ Apr 4 2014, 08:47 PM)
Hi there, the laptop recommended for me (Lenovo Flex 14) had a few features that were unnecessary like the dual-mode convertible touch screen and such.

I'm looking for a much more basic laptop smile.gif

1. No particular brand, as long it runs on Windows 8 and has reasonably long battery life
2. Budget <RM1500
3. Usage : PDF viewing, Microsoft word, web browsing, occasional movie-watching
4. Screen size : 13-14"

Any other recommendations? Thanks!
Did you lowered your budget? hmm.gif
Cause Flex 14 is more than RM1.7k..
Anyway, not much choices there, can consider these:
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, 1007U + Intel HD@RM999[1.99kg], Linux, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1099
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549

HP 14-d006TU, Pentium 2020M + Intel HD@RM1299[1.95kg], 2B, 500GB(5400rpm), W8.1

Lenovo
G400s, Pentium 2020 + Intel HD@RM1349, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1349, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1499

Toshiba Satellite C40-A103E, Pentium 2020M + Intel HD4000@RM1449, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; color: black

*Prices in RRP
*upgrade RAM to at least 4GB for smoother multitasking.
Battery lives estimated to be around 3 hours or so
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 10:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Apr 4 2014, 09:44 PM)
hi. need recommendations for student..a bit gaming ( diablo 3 at medium settings)..photoshop and after effect..budget around 1.7k..currently looking to this..

-dell inspiron 14 3437t, i5-4200u, nvidia gt720m 1gb,14" touch, 500gb hdd
-lenovo flex 14, i3-4010u, gt820m 2gb,14" touch, 500hdd + 8gb ssd

both price at Rm1799..which is better? how much the differences for:
i3 vs i5, gt720 vs gt820?
I think the Lenovo Flex 14 runs on GT720M as well nod.gif
If looking at only these two models, I would pick the Lenovo since it comes with a 8GB SSHD, its not extraordinary, but it will give you a faster computing experience thumbup.gif
Both notebooks come with 1 year warranty
raymondtong94
post Apr 4 2014, 10:21 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2014, 10:10 PM)
If looking at only these two models, I would pick the Lenovo since it comes with a 8GB SSHD, its not extraordinary, but it will give you a faster computing experience  thumbup.gif
sifu kinda free these days. laugh.gif
i guess i can send my bora-bora application letter for 2 weeks. laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 10:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 4 2014, 10:21 PM)
sifu kinda free these days. laugh.gif
i guess i can send my bora-bora application letter for 2 weeks. laugh.gif
Haha, not really la sifu laugh.gif
Sometimes got oomph to reply, sometimes will slack, its normal haha~
Going to Bora-Bora? drool.gif drool.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 4 2014, 10:42 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2014, 10:37 PM)
Going to Bora-Bora?  drool.gif  drool.gif
its just a meaning that i wanna take a vacation from posting at recommendation thread for 2 weeks. laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2014, 11:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 4 2014, 10:42 PM)
its just a meaning that i wanna take a vacation from posting at recommendation thread for 2 weeks. laugh.gif
Haha, noneed to let me know one la bro laugh.gif
You just take your time off and go relax~
It doesn't matter if no one recommends, after all, this is voluntary work icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
ashraf095
post Apr 4 2014, 11:25 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2014, 10:10 PM)
If looking at only these two models, I would pick the Lenovo since it comes with a 8GB SSHD, its not extraordinary, but it will give you a faster computing experience  thumbup.gif
Actually there are 2 variant of the flex 14 with i3. Model no. ~8651 -gt820m and ~4131 -gt720m. Even at pc fair they are selling the gt820m one..

One more question..can I upgrade the sshd?

This post has been edited by ashraf095: Apr 5 2014, 12:02 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 01:03 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Apr 4 2014, 11:25 PM)
Actually there are 2 variant of the flex 14 with i3. Model no. ~8651 -gt820m and ~4131 -gt720m. Even at pc fair they are selling the gt820m one..

One more question..can I upgrade the sshd?
You are right notworthy.gif
Thanks for the heads up, updating the notebook price catalog~
If that's the case, go for the one with GT820M, its slightly better than GT720M icon_rolleyes.gif

As for the SSHD + HDD, yeah you should be able to do that, just a matter of how hard it will be. Best to check on-site ya icon_rolleyes.gif

129 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:51 PM