7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

rav3n82
post Apr 9 2014, 10:23 AM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(paulyew3099 @ Apr 9 2014, 10:01 AM)
i believe is some cheap psu..brand name icute
I see. I would recommend swapping a new FSP Hexa 500W, RM149 together as the upgrade. smile.gif
rav3n82
post Apr 11 2014, 09:40 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Apr 11 2014, 09:22 AM)
I dont seems like ATI card prefered Nvidia

If similiar spec as GTX460 but Nvidia card how much would that be and what model ?
The rough equivalent today is HD 7770 / 7790. You can get a Sapphire HD 7790 at around RM429. However, for the same price, you can get the significantly superior GTX 750, which is even faster than the HD 7790.
rav3n82
post Apr 11 2014, 11:01 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Apr 11 2014, 10:20 AM)
So now I got 2 choice but all from ATI and price would be similiar

R7 250 (recommend by Chocobo7779)
7750 or 7730

I would be looking for more detail on those 2 card

Below would be my suggestion (if it is still available):

1. HD 7750
2. R7 250
3. HD 7730

Note that the above is also ranking by performance. Example, HD 7750 is faster than R7 250.
rav3n82
post Apr 11 2014, 11:03 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(MrLoo @ Apr 11 2014, 10:53 AM)
ya sifu... btw if u were me, u will get msi gtx 750 ti oc? or the sapphire r7 265?
In terms of out of box performance, definitely R7 265 is the faster card. The MSI version of the 750 Ti isn't clocked by default fast enough to match R7 265.
rav3n82
post Apr 14 2014, 02:11 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(arco @ Apr 14 2014, 01:25 PM)
Is it worth the upgrade from i3 to i5 for gaming?
A 400W PSU to go with GTX 580? sweat.gif

Anyway, i3 is good enough. Of course for some games that utilize more than 2 cores, the i5 may come in handy.

Intel Core i3 4130 - RM349
Asrock H81M-DGS - RM179
Corsair Value Ram 4GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM124
Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU - RM299

Total - RM951 (prices are from Viewnet)
rav3n82
post Apr 14 2014, 02:15 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Madcatmk2 @ Apr 14 2014, 01:00 PM)
Your overall components are still relatively top notch. smile.gif

CPU: Intel Core i5 4440 - RM579
MOBO: Asrock B85M Pro4 – RM279
RAM: Kingston value RAM 2x4GB 1333mhz
GPU: Gainward GTX 770 Phantom - RM1199 (lingloong / zhen^wei)
PSU: Corsair tx650 v2
Casing: Corsair 400r
Monitor: Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27 2560 x 1440

Total - RM2057 (prices are from Viewnet)

This post has been edited by rav3n82: Apr 14 2014, 02:16 PM
rav3n82
post Apr 14 2014, 03:24 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(azmi55u @ Apr 14 2014, 02:53 PM)
For gaming with a high end gpu, an i3 is enough? wouldn't it bottleneck the gpu?
Don't worry, your 580 isn't particularly considered high end these days. But even if it's the current high end card, the i3 is still plenty fast enough.
rav3n82
post Apr 14 2014, 04:23 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(NFG89 @ Apr 14 2014, 02:57 PM)
I have never seen a system based around a GTX 580 draw more than 350-360 watts outside of full synthetic stress loads. But if he feels he needs more margin of safety then 500 watts is not that much more expensive.
There is a reason why manufacturers have a "recommended" minimum PSU to go with a particular card. A system based on GTX 580 typically pulls roughly up to about 400 - 450W, according to Guru3D and Hardwarecanucks, which is probably under full synthetic load. If we figuratively take a more realistic number of about 300 - 350W at gaming load, that is already like ~89 - 104% of what the main 12V rails are able to produce already (where the GPU and CPU draws most of its power from). I certainly think this is not advisable at all.
rav3n82
post Apr 14 2014, 05:06 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(NFG89 @ Apr 14 2014, 04:36 PM)
Its not like every singly component takes their power from the 12v rails, although they do make up the bulk of it.  Like I said, feel free to err on the side of caution and go for 500w. The Hexa 500w is only RM 20 more IIRC, and it seems to be popular here among budget builds, regardless of its crappy design.
Usually the FSP Hexa 500W are paired with cards that run on lower TDP, not with a typical 250W rated card. People with actual experience running a R9 280X (roughly equivalent power consumption with a 580) have feedback that it did ran into problems powering it up at full load with a Hexa 500.
rav3n82
post Apr 15 2014, 04:55 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Apr 15 2014, 04:30 PM)
Case fans right?

Get Silverstone Air Penetrators or Xigmatek XAF 120mm fans. Both will do you fine with good solid airflow.

But if you have higher budget let me know.
I would stay away from Xigmatek XAF as these are relatively noisy fans, though churning good airflow. But as always, you can't always have the best of both worlds (quiet and strong airflow) at the same time. Either one would be compromised in order to excel on the other criteria.

Some of the better ones that I have come across: Bitfenix Spectre, Arctic Cooling F12, Corsair AF120 (expensive though). All these fans seem to be slightly inclined towards quietness. smile.gif
rav3n82
post Apr 15 2014, 05:10 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 15 2014, 05:01 PM)
The Spectre is one of the quietest fan I've ever tested...  The stock case fan on the Raider is incredibly quiet even at full speed... shocking.gif
True story yo. But I find it to be rather weak in terms of airflow, which is well, either you trade quietness or strong airflow anyway. biggrin.gif

For my Raider, I had the Corsair AF120 as exhaust since it has a very strong airflow but still remain silent, and with it at the rear position, there is no audible noise whatsoever on my sitting position. thumbup.gif
rav3n82
post Apr 16 2014, 12:38 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Apr 16 2014, 10:32 AM)
Asus 780 Ti better or Zotac 780 Ti AMP better?
in terms of Build Quality and After Sales Warranty Service.
A common hallmark with Asus card is that they are usually very well built. And as mykchin8 mentioned above also, the DCUII Cooler is also a rather good cooling solution. However, they unfortunately do not come cheap and is often priced a little more compared to other brands. Asus version costs RM2799, while Zotac's version costs RM2459.

As for Zotac AMP! Edition, it is also a very finely built card as well. I have its younger brother, the 780 AMP! and I must say it is a very nice card indeed. Fans are silent and temps are quite good.

But I couldn't comment much in terms of after sales services, since I have not personally sent in any of my parts to Asus and Zotac before. tongue.gif
rav3n82
post Apr 16 2014, 02:49 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Apr 16 2014, 01:39 PM)
rav3n82, thanks for the feedback on the Zotac ... yes, Asus cards are more expensive (too expensive in Malaysia, since the price is managed by the distributor), and since there is a RM340 difference in price for the same GPU, and since the Zotac cooling solution is quiet as well, then I recommend to buy Zotac.  RM340 can buy an i3 CPU!
You're definitely welcome. smile.gif It's true, I got this 780 AMP! as a stand-in after my fan on my Sapphire Tri-X died on me, and I must say the Zotac card is one of my best purchases in a long while. biggrin.gif I still have no experience with the after sales though, touchwood it would be able to outlast at least my frequent upgrading exercises. tongue.gif

RM340 can also get a decent 120GB SSD yo! brows.gif

And I also do agree that Cycom is really one of the better retailers in LYP. They never cease to impress me whenever I make my yearly pilgrimage there. smile.gif

This post has been edited by rav3n82: Apr 16 2014, 02:51 PM
rav3n82
post Apr 16 2014, 03:26 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Apr 16 2014, 03:03 PM)
Bro~~ do you mind to explain more on the 2+3 warranty? i kinda confused on this~~
The 2 years warranty is the local manufacturer warranty, as provided by local distributor.

The 3 years extended warranty is the warranty direct with Zotac. Any issues, you will need to liaise with them directly. Also important to take note that you will need to register for the extended warranty program within 28 days (if not mistaken) of purchase.
rav3n82
post Apr 16 2014, 11:27 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ Apr 16 2014, 10:21 PM)
Wah, GTX 750 so pro ah? How's HD 7790? I checked here that it's better than GTX 750?
Firstly, your link shows a comparison between GTX 650 and HD 7790. Secondly, avoid using Hwcompare since it does not give you an accurate representation of your product's performance. They usually compare memory bandwidth, texel/pixel rate performance, which to the layman isn't going to interpret anything useful at all.

Techpowerup is a good source of checking out your graphic card's performance.

rav3n82
post Apr 18 2014, 11:43 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(dannrawr @ Apr 18 2014, 11:30 AM)
hi, im not sure what monitor to buy for 1080p. rclxub.gif
my budget is around 500
Can try this, Viewsonic VX2370SMH 23" LED IPS monitor, RM549 at Viewnet.
rav3n82
post Apr 18 2014, 05:10 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(hamdanchiuyanyehh @ Apr 18 2014, 04:23 PM)
A lot ppl gaming whole day,esp play those high graphic demand game like Crysis, den temperature on high 75-85 degreee celcius...
Yes it is still below the limit of the gpu(100-105), but I think it still harm the gpu in long way...
High temperature actually will slow the game later also...

Den I consider Accelero Twin Turbo II which cost around RM250...
This cost can get branded  gpu like ASUS ady...

Den I found this http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/Ge...u_II_OC/31.html
MSI and Asus only 1 degree celcius difference...
Actually, GTX series with GPU Boost 2.0 will try to boost as high as possible, within the default temperature target of 80C. That's why you will see most cards will tend to reach the 80C range. It is designed to run that way and will not cause harm. So far the best 760s with excellent temps are either MSI's Gaming/HAWK or Asus DCUII series. Their load temperatures will hardly even exceed 70C.

And some cards, e.g AMD's R9 290/X does throttle when it reached its temperature target of 95C, but the impact in-game is only minimal. And this is only common to the lousy cooler used on the reference card. There are so many non-reference cards that you can get. And these comes with excellent custom cooler that completely overcomes the noise and temperature issue.
rav3n82
post Apr 19 2014, 10:40 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Apr 19 2014, 10:02 AM)
Ha ha yes the dark side has financial benefits but my experience shows it is not worth saving the RM220 for the hassle and instability that you will experience with the dark side.
I echo this statement as well. Doesn't pay to skimp on the OS. Experience speaks for itself. laugh.gif
rav3n82
post Apr 21 2014, 10:30 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 21 2014, 09:08 AM)
can i use this type of converter to a dvi gpu?
Yes, you can.
rav3n82
post Apr 22 2014, 01:19 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(decibel8808 @ Apr 22 2014, 01:07 PM)
I am trying to build a gaming rig with this specs... Any changes to make on it? What is the price like with those specs? Good enough to last more than 3 years?

icon_question.gif
Budget around 5k +/- 500
Do you plan to overclock? If no, we could recommend you something more value for your money.

Intel Core i5 4440 - RM579
Asrock H87 Pro 4 - RM319
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM229
Zotac GTX 780 Ti AMP! Edition - RM2459
Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU - RM299
Plextor M5S 256GB SSD – RM564
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD - RM189
Cooler Master Storm Scout II Casing – RM309
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59

Total – RM5006 (prices are from Viewnet)

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:58 PM