[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

rav3n82
post May 10 2014, 04:22 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ May 10 2014, 03:46 PM)
This is something that should be given a little more consideration, based on my experience.

If you are to decide where to spend RM300 - on an SSD or higher level GPU (GTX770), then it makes sense to ask what is the experience that you get in return for that RM300. 

If you game at 1920x1080, there is very little difference in gaming experience between a GTX760 and GTX770 for most of today's games.  Yes, you can possibly run at a higher AA level, or even go to Ultra Quality levels from Very High Quality levels, but in all fairness, there will not be much difference that you will experience when you play that game.  Even less difference if you are not playing the high end demanding games, like Battlefield 4 or Crysis 3 ... like if you are playing DOTA2, FF14, etc.  Of course, if you game at 2560x1440, or even plan to game at that level, then you will need buy the GTX770.

If you install an SSD, the experience that you get is very different compared to a HDD.  Windows boots up very quickly, you can switch between programs so much faster, load times for programs are almost instant, etc.  The whole computer just feels more "snappy" ... For example, now I am not playing any games on my computer, but surfing the Internet, typing this message to the forum members, checking some news, reading up a couple of tech reviews, checking up on the new movies/TV shows, running WinRAR, doing some financial work ... etc.  The whole experience of doing these things is much better and faster on an SSD compared to HDD. 

I actually do not play that much games, maybe a few hours a week, so that also is a factor.  It depends on what you use your computer with, but it would always be good if you were to ask yourself what is the return on the RM300 that you will spend, and that will help you to decide if you should spend on that higher end GPU, or buy the SSD.
Seems like we have quite the similar experience as well. smile.gif Yes, I have personally experienced the intoxicating effects of a SSD. tongue.gif See, the problem with a SSD is that once you have felt one, you'll never go back to regular HDD. How fitting and true. Snappier is coincidentally the same word that I liked to use to describe the overall experience of a SSD as well. Ever since I intoxicated myself with a SSD now nearly 3 years back, everything that I run on feels just so fasta, from the booting of OS, opening programs, opening files, surfing the net and the list goes on and on. Working on a normal HDD is a dread, as unfortunately my working laptop offers me that fate. laugh.gif Heck, even my now HTPC runs on an old Kingston SSD. tongue.gif

And yes, despite the much touted Battlefield 4 being an AMD optimized game and all, I actually completed the entire single player campaign on an Nvidia card; GTX 760 @1080p, all at full settings with 4xMSAA (which usually kills framerates). But there are games that actually stresses out that very same GPU on some other more graphically demanding games as well, namely Crysis 3. And yeah, no one is going to stop to admire the anti-aliasing at its full glory when all the alien cephs (or human players) are trying to obliterate you, but I personally find a very profound difference going from FXAA (free anti-aliasing) to some of the more refined ones, e.g MSAA / SMAA. I don't play multiplayer games, on which you will never ever have the luxury of stopping by and admire how beautiful the graphic engine actually renders that particular scene. I love to admire my games though. wub.gif And the 760 unfortunately struggles when going to MSAA / SMAA settings for some of these games.

That is why I personally recommend going for a GPU first (if gaming takes precedence), and if there's really additional budget to be added later on, then go for a SSD, for the many reasons cited above. I have an underutilized GTX 780 plugged in, and most of the things I do these days is just online, reading and that's all. Hardly game much myself these days too. Now that I've mentioned it, it's time for me to frag a thing or two. brows.gif

rav3n82
post May 10 2014, 08:37 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ May 10 2014, 08:15 PM)
Its tl;dr...but then i feel like this man has something to tell.

So i read it, not a single regret feel.  wub.gif
LOL. laugh.gif Ayam shorten the words a bit. For gaming kaki, below is my recommendation:

1. Budget ngam-ngam --> Go for stronger GPU
2. Can top up ~ RM300 more --> Get a SSD as well

Best if option 1 & 2 can go together. If not, option 1 first la. wink.gif

There. thumbup.gif
rav3n82
post May 11 2014, 09:39 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(steadyguy97 @ May 11 2014, 09:35 PM)
Pro!  thumbup.gif
Good setup! i will inform my fren later...thx u bro!
Btw, if not get ssd inside this setup...is it got any different? smile.gif
If you still have the budget, I will seriously recommend getting a SSD. It's basically like HDD on steroids, once you've tried it, you'll never go back to regular HDD. brows.gif

rav3n82
post May 12 2014, 10:12 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 12 2014, 09:50 AM)
Intel Core i5 4440 3.1GHz RM569
Asrock B85M Pro4 mainboard RM279
Kingston KVR1600MHz 4GB RM129
Leadtek GTX760 2GB RM789
Antec VP-550P 80+ PSU RM199
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM189
Cooler Master N200 mATX case RM149
Liteon 24x DVDRW RM2362

Total - RM2362.00
Can also consider Asrock B85 Killer for RM20 more. Superior audio and Killer LAN. thumbup.gif
rav3n82
post May 12 2014, 09:05 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(maliwan @ May 12 2014, 09:02 PM)
I see, thanks. how about the psu, is it ok?
Avoid that Xigmatek Calibre PSU. sweat.gif
rav3n82
post May 12 2014, 09:34 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(maliwan @ May 12 2014, 09:32 PM)
sweat.gif oh..why? haha..its not good?
It may explode. You can Google for the review. tongue.gif
rav3n82
post May 12 2014, 09:56 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(sneaker @ May 12 2014, 09:46 PM)
No. I have 4 sata HDD & 1 Dvd- rw. Planning to add SSD on the system. That why need at least have 6 sata port.

Can recommend good SSD?
There. Take your pick. smile.gif

Plextor M5S 128GB - RM279
Intel 530 Series 120GB - RM344
Samsung 840 Evo 120GB - RM329
rav3n82
post May 13 2014, 02:56 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ May 13 2014, 01:56 PM)
cepat sungguh... blink.gif

rav3n82..it's your call,i guess.. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 13 2014, 02:48 PM)
Walao. I though thread was dead for like a week. Suddenly boom, thread count reached.

Boleh saya buka?  tongue.gif
Go go go! Please open a new one. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
rav3n82
post May 13 2014, 03:11 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 13 2014, 03:09 PM)
NEW THREAD OPENED.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3223191

But who do i ask to pin it lol.

Sifu Cable707, boleh tutup this one.  notworthy.gif
Try PM goldfries? hmm.gif

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0362sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:48 AM