RPGT for property disposed >1year, Can it be 0% if no profit made???

TSDino168
post Mar 12 2014, 04:42 PM, updated 12y ago

175 posts

For property bought within 1 year, RPGT is 30% on profit.

Question : if there is no profit made (e.g. S&P price minus all expenses is lower than selling price); is it valid for RPGT=0%?? Agent told me cannot ... must have a minimal profit (if so, what is that min amount) ... otherwise will get into legal problem.

Seeking advise from experts ... if that agent pulling a quick one on me?? If property bought at wrong time, then forever cannot sell.
yiivei
post Mar 12 2014, 04:48 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

RPGT - Real Property Gain Tax <- already answer your question...

Sometimes, agent spoke/ shared something without basis...

If there is legal implication, better seek your advise from lawyer

This post has been edited by yiivei: Mar 12 2014, 04:49 PM
AppreciativeMan
post Mar 12 2014, 04:52 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 12 2014, 04:42 PM)

Question : if there is no profit made (e.g. S&P price minus all expenses is lower than selling price); is it valid for RPGT=0%??    Agent told me cannot ... must have a minimal profit (if so, what is that min amount) ... otherwise will get into legal problem. 

Seeking advise from experts ... if that agent pulling a quick one on me??  If property bought at wrong time, then forever cannot sell.
Please note that the Tax dept has their own valuation of your prop.... Your valuer may value RM1 mil, Tax dept may value it as RM1.2 mil....
TSDino168
post Mar 12 2014, 04:59 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Mar 12 2014, 04:52 PM)
Please note that the Tax dept has their own valuation of your prop.... Your valuer may value RM1 mil, Tax dept may value it as RM1.2 mil....
But can't one sell below tax dept valuation value for some reason e.g. urgent need of $???
SUSjolokia
post Mar 12 2014, 04:59 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

Why don't u report a lost then claim RPLC (Real Property Loss Claim), claim u sell at loss ask government to compensate 30% to U...lol

What expenses do u mean ? ur selling price base on who valuation ? ur own valuation to escape RPGT. .lol

AppreciativeMan
post Mar 12 2014, 05:02 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 12 2014, 04:59 PM)
But can't one sell below tax dept valuation value for some reason e.g. urgent need of $???
u can sell.... jus they may think you get paid additional out of S&P price.... everybody trying to avoid paying tax will probably tell the same story isnt it? I dont think Tax dept is a charity house.... tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AppreciativeMan: Mar 12 2014, 05:04 PM
edyek
post Mar 12 2014, 05:05 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 12 2014, 04:59 PM)
Yes, you can. Only thing is you have to go through their scrunity.

Too many undervalue selling/buying will raise red flag too. smile.gif
TSDino168
post Mar 12 2014, 05:27 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Mar 12 2014, 04:59 PM)
Why don't u report a lost then claim RPLC (Real Property Loss Claim), claim u sell at loss ask government to compensate 30% to U...lol

What expenses do u mean ? ur selling price base on who valuation ? ur own valuation to escape RPGT. .lol
Expenses includes property agent commission, property developer administrative charges and lawyers fees ... cry.gif

JoiceChow
post Mar 12 2014, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 12 2014, 05:27 PM)
Expenses includes property agent commission, property developer administrative charges and lawyers fees ... cry.gif
RPGT calculate based on your net profit of the amount you earn to tax it.
It's can after deducted lawyer fees, agent commission, only calculate your tax amount.

REAL PROPERTY GAINS TAX FOR 2014 Tax Rates
Personal (citizen & PR) Company
Disposed within 3 years 30% 30%
Disposed in 4th year 20% 20%
Disposed in 5th year 15% 15%
Disposed after 5 years 0% 5%

For non-citizen, disposal within 5 years is subject to a flat RPGT of 30%. Disposal after 5 years, RPGT is at 5%.

If you want to skip for RPGT, the only thing u can do is hold your house until 5 year.
Minolta
post Mar 12 2014, 05:57 PM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(JoiceChow @ Mar 12 2014, 05:38 PM)
It's can after deducted lawyer fees, agent commission, only calculate your tax amount.

For non-citizen, disposal within 5 years is subject to a flat RPGT of 30%. Disposal after 5 years, RPGT is at 5%.

If you want to skip for RPGT, the only thing u can do is hold your house until 5 year.
....or no gain mah oso no RPGT. Buy at higher SPA price and pay extra MOT but in the end can "save" some RPGT.
SUSjolokia
post Mar 12 2014, 06:29 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 12 2014, 05:27 PM)
UUU campers will say u bloody liar, now all property price UUU, how come u making loss, vmad.gif

Be a responsible citizen, Just pay the tax lah ! shakehead.gif
graywilird
post Mar 12 2014, 08:21 PM

617 posts

if let said i bought subsale.. 1m one year later.. i sell out.. 1.05m
so i not gain anything.. RPGT 30% 50k ( deducted lawyer fees, agent commission) nothing to gain.. so the RPGT = 0 ??
AppreciativeMan
post Mar 12 2014, 11:13 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Mar 12 2014, 06:29 PM)
UUU campers will say u bloody liar, now all property price UUU, how come u making loss,  vmad.gif

Be a responsible citizen, Just pay the tax lah !  shakehead.gif
u shld stay in "4 Critical Signs of a Bubble Market", other thread is simply not suitable for u.... u may cause the thread to move into kopitiam..... whistling.gif whistling.gif
edyek
post Mar 13 2014, 09:18 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Mar 12 2014, 06:29 PM)
UUU campers will say u bloody liar, now all property price UUU, how come u making loss,  vmad.gif

Be a responsible citizen, Just pay the tax lah !  shakehead.gif
Sometimes it is not about UUU or DDD... Some people might just need the money for emergency hence selling way lower than market value for quick disposal.

So please dont make this an issue of UUU or DDD. icon_rolleyes.gif
TheRoadRunner
post Mar 13 2014, 09:23 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Mar 13 2014, 09:18 AM)
Sometimes it is not about UUU or DDD... Some people might just need the money for emergency hence selling way lower than market value for quick disposal.

So please dont make this an issue of UUU or DDD.  icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxm9.gif
cfa28
post Mar 13 2014, 09:28 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Mar 12 2014, 04:42 PM)

Question : if there is no profit made (e.g. S&P price minus all expenses is lower than selling price); is it valid for RPGT=0%??    Agent told me cannot ... must have a minimal profit (if so, what is that min amount) ... otherwise will get into legal problem.  

Seeking advise from experts ... if that agent pulling a quick one on me??   If property bought at wrong time, then forever cannot sell.
If u claim to have bought a Property and then sold in in less than 1-year (or even within say 5-years) and made no profits, the IRB will look at your case very carefully, in particular:

1) Original Buying and current Selling Price - make sure its genuine and mind you, IRB can arbitrarily set a new selling price based on their own Market Value if they feel that your current selling price is below 'Market Value'

2) Expenses - make sure its only the permitted expenses claimed with proper receipts

3) Identity of the Original Seller and Current Buyer - make sure its not related to you, else, IRB will see it as some sort of scheme to artificially deflate / inflate the selling price

Its possible, actually to sell a property at such a short tenure and make no profit. RPGT is only on profits and who says, u must make profits from property. There are many ppl who make losses due to bad investments. But make sure your deal is above board.

This post has been edited by cfa28: Mar 13 2014, 09:31 AM
Yamma
post Mar 13 2014, 11:54 AM

736 posts

last time, each individual is having a right to disposed their property with RPGT exemption once a life time. Is the right still available nowadays?
SUSjolokia
post Mar 13 2014, 05:42 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Mar 12 2014, 11:13 PM)
u shld stay in "4 Critical Signs of a Bubble Market", other thread is simply not suitable for u.... u may cause the thread to move into kopitiam.....  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
I thought the one cause 4 CSOBM is the public transport passenger with 2 660K Condo ?? tongue.gif

How many dozen of RPGT threads i seen, those admin/staff/mod all keep blind eye, yes lucifah & cherroy i do mean u 2. cool2.gif

AppreciativeMan
post Mar 14 2014, 10:00 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Mar 13 2014, 05:42 PM)
I thought the one cause 4 CSOBM is the public transport passenger with 2 660K Condo ??  tongue.gif

How many dozen of RPGT threads i seen, those admin/staff/mod all keep blind eye, yes lucifah & cherroy i do mean u 2.  cool2.gif
How many dozen of DDD threads I seen....... Yrs after yrs..... Till date nothing prove right at all....... tongue.gif
Chaud
post Mar 14 2014, 10:09 AM

1,119 posts

30% is on your sales price, not profit. so if you make no profit, you still have to pay 30% RPGT tax if you buy and sell fast. (rugi)
AppreciativeMan
post Mar 14 2014, 10:16 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 14 2014, 10:09 AM)
30% is on your sales price, not profit. so if you make no profit, you still have to pay 30% RPGT tax if you buy and sell fast. (rugi)
RGPT = Real Property Gains Tax
Please be sure of your knowledge before sharing.....
PACINO
post Mar 14 2014, 10:38 AM

693 posts

Property will always go up , due to land is scarce as a commodity. You cannot create land out of thin air.

price may stagnate a little, and you might get some bargain all the time from people wanting a quick fire sale.

If Malaysians have holding power , how long do you think we can hold off our purchase of home ? Seems to me Malaysians in general have holding power , as we all still have jobs and no mid level heavy retrenchment and jobless.

Speculators are currently holding on their property , hoping that they can outlast the slowing down of property purchasers demand. They are tightening their belts , spending less in the retail markets and paying off their investment dues.

So let's see how long they can continue to scale down their lifestyle , or would they be victorious as buyers cannot wait to own their first home without sacrificing their lifestyle by living further away.
SUSjolokia
post Mar 14 2014, 10:43 AM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 14 2014, 10:09 AM)
Waa very smart explanation lol...

So u mean if u bought a property for 1 M later sell at 1.2 M but need to pay 360K RPGT, which mean U actually loss 160K ? correct ?

Real Property "GAIN" Tax not Real Property "SALES" Tax, understand ? Tax from the "Gain" not from "Sales" ..

Chaud
post Mar 14 2014, 10:45 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Mar 14 2014, 10:43 AM)
Waa very smart explanation lol...

So u mean if u bought a property for 1 M later sell at 1.2 M but need to pay 360K RPGT, which mean U actually loss 160K ?  correct ?

Real Property "GAIN" Tax not Real Property "SALES" Tax, understand ? Tax from the "Gain" not from "Sales" ..
oh...I misinterpreted sweat.gif

means buy at 1m sell at 1.2m have to pay 30% of the 200k?

This post has been edited by Chaud: Mar 14 2014, 10:47 AM
SUSjolokia
post Mar 14 2014, 10:49 AM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(PACINO @ Mar 14 2014, 10:38 AM)
Property will always go up , due to land is scarce as a commodity. You cannot create land out of thin air.

price may stagnate a little, and you might get some bargain all the time from people wanting a quick fire sale.

If Malaysians have holding power , how long do you think we can hold off our purchase of home ? Seems to me Malaysians in general have holding power , as we all still have jobs and no mid level heavy retrenchment and jobless.

Speculators are currently holding on their property , hoping that they can outlast the slowing down of property purchasers demand. They are tightening their belts , spending less in the retail markets and paying off their investment dues.

So let's see how long they can continue to scale down their lifestyle , or would they be victorious as buyers cannot wait to own their first home without sacrificing their lifestyle by living further away.
The longer the flipper hold the higher their cost, when their spending getting less economy will get worse, soon economy will be having contraction, people start getting pay cut or retrenchment, the first thing they do is fire sales their extra property, if not they might even loss their own staying house.
Only first house buyer would be desperate, the rest of us can wait for dead chicken. .Muahahahha
bearbearwong
post Mar 14 2014, 10:57 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(PACINO @ Mar 14 2014, 10:38 AM)

government can reclaim lands... tell you only if they can hold longer than 10 years they survive the wave, holding below 10 years especially 5 years and below, see how they burn their hands in this market..

every market so silence di, no worries, they can hold osos no use, new developments coming, their credit locked in old properties one so competition lesser, with current market flippers sure be very careful couple with developers maximum profit means entry price high, this will make them shy away..

sure got ppl firesales one, many actually plan only to sell off upon VP, those times are still here, but the price quoted beats potential buyers...
bearbearwong
post Mar 14 2014, 11:03 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 14 2014, 10:45 AM)
oh...I misinterpreted  sweat.gif

means buy at 1m sell at 1.2m have to pay 30% of the 200k?
yes only from gain, but need to include loan penalties, legal fees (sales & purchase & loan), stamp duties (loan & s&p).. when you bought from developer, and then another round of S& P legal fees when you sell...

and also, minus your initial deposit paied say 500k (50K), and any loan that you have service , say you pay 2.2 k monthly, you paid 10 months, that is 22k..

PROVIDED YOU CAN SELL, minus everything you get the nett, then divide by minimum 3 years or 2 years completions dates for new prop landed and high rise..

other than this it rugi kes... every month bleed 2.2k , sumore insurance fire, quit rent and assessment, and havent include MLTA and MRTA another extra RM200 per month, if flipping they wont bother..

all above this, you as an owner will then buy from them the inflated price, your burden will double of them.. good luck choose wisely, if deal is really good grab it..

first hurdle is the bank valuation anyting less tha 80% not worth it at all even 90% also need to kfully see the surroundings..

my 2 cents
Chaud
post Mar 14 2014, 11:05 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Mar 14 2014, 11:03 AM)
yes only from gain, but need to include loan penalties,  legal fees (sales & purchase & loan), stamp duties (loan & s&p).. when you bought from developer, and then another round of S& P legal fees when you sell...

and also, minus your initial deposit paied say 500k (50K), and any loan that you have service , say you pay 2.2 k monthly, you paid 10 months, that is 22k..

PROVIDED YOU CAN SELL, minus everything you get the nett, then divide by minimum 3 years or 2 years completions dates for new prop landed and high rise..

other than this it rugi kes... every month bleed 2.2k , sumore insurance fire, quit rent and assessment, and havent include MLTA and MRTA another extra RM200 per month, if flipping they wont bother..

all above this, you as an owner will then buy from them the inflated price, your burden will double of them.. good luck choose wisely, if deal is really good grab it..

first hurdle is the bank valuation anyting less tha 80% not worth it at all even 90% also need to kfully see the surroundings..

my 2 cents
but i thought all these legal fees borne by the buyer?
bearbearwong
post Mar 14 2014, 11:10 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 14 2014, 11:05 AM)
but i thought all these legal fees borne by the buyer?
no... as a vendor, these is also legal fees to be bourne. dun believe try selling one..
sherman1437
post Apr 2 2014, 05:19 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(JoiceChow @ Mar 12 2014, 05:38 PM)

If i juz bought a subsale unit which only 1 year and sell it still under 30%??
edyek
post Apr 2 2014, 07:48 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(sherman1437 @ Apr 2 2014, 05:19 PM)
If i juz bought a subsale unit which only 1 year and sell it still under 30%??
Boss, whats tripping you?
The post by @joicechow which you quoted clearly explained its 30%.

Cheers
gunh
post Apr 2 2014, 09:31 PM

459 posts

RPGT has nothing to do with property valuer. Is the taxable amount from nett gain. And nett gain is the amount u sell ( stated in snp) minus amount u buy (also stated in your old snp) and minus all the expenses incurred (such as leal fees, agent fees and renovation to the said property)

Please dont provide misleading information

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Mar 12 2014, 04:52 PM)
bearbearwong
post Apr 2 2014, 10:06 PM

9,533 posts

That is right.. there are ppl who are desperately in need or emergency for money..

btw TS, is it a joint loan and joint ownership? If it is joint ownership.. edyek might come handy..
bearbearwong
post Apr 2 2014, 10:07 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 2 2014, 09:31 PM)
RPGT has nothing to do with property valuer.  Is the taxable amount from nett gain.  And nett gain is the amount u sell ( stated in snp) minus amount u buy (also stated in your old snp) and minus all the expenses incurred (such as leal fees, agent fees and renovation to the said property)

Ya lor dude must be meaning the adjidication of MOT.. if I m the one committing dat error.. ppl will spam me kao kao..

this is the 2nd incident di.. blatant errors in concept..
bcpbeancounter
post Apr 2 2014, 10:22 PM

1,070 posts

Wah...everyone is here...still can see uuu ddd here....rclxm9.gif
edyek
post Apr 2 2014, 10:29 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 2 2014, 10:06 PM)
That is right.. there are ppl who are desperately in need or emergency for money..

btw TS, is it a joint loan and joint ownership? If it is joint ownership.. edyek might come handy..
Wei hor. Boss BBW.. Why you always bring up this joint ownership issue?

I provide comments when I like lor. No need you to lick my shoe lor...
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 3 2014, 07:09 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 2 2014, 09:31 PM)
RPGT has nothing to do with property valuer.  Is the taxable amount from nett gain.  And nett gain is the amount u sell ( stated in snp) minus amount u buy (also stated in your old snp) and minus all the expenses incurred (such as leal fees, agent fees and renovation to the said property)

Excuse me..... U better speak to your lawyer before saying I'm feeding misleading information.....
If u transact your selling way below market price and declare without profits, TAX dept may impose their own market price as calculation......
Go ask first.....
bearbearwong
post Apr 4 2014, 09:11 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 3 2014, 07:09 PM)
Excuse me..... U better speak to your lawyer before saying I'm feeding misleading information.....
If u transact your selling way below market price and declare without profits, TAX dept may impose their own market price as calculation......
Go ask first.....
Smart dude ... your world class work is framed here..I wonder now....tapao me balik pulak..

This post has been edited by bearbearwong: Apr 4 2014, 09:16 PM
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 4 2014, 09:25 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 4 2014, 09:11 PM)
Smart dude ... your world class work is framed here..I wonder now....tapao me balik pulak..
So wat is the problem with the statement? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Obviously u don't even understand wat I'm referring...... doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by AppreciativeMan: Apr 4 2014, 09:27 PM
bearbearwong
post Apr 4 2014, 09:27 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 4 2014, 09:25 PM)
So wat is the problem with the statement?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
You dare accussed me dunno diffetentiate when I fact It was you.. linking valuer with RPGT which was correctly pointed out by gunh.. remembrr
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 4 2014, 09:38 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 4 2014, 09:27 PM)
You dare accussed me dunno diffetentiate when I  fact It was you.. linking valuer with RPGT which was correctly pointed out by gunh.. remembrr
I'll repeat.....
If prop bought at 400k.....
Now sold or transact at 300k......
Market valuation is at 700k......
Tax dept MAY NOT accept the 300k the transaction price for calculation of the RPGT..... They may hav or determine the 700k as market value for calculating the RPGT......
So does it consider they hav their own valuation?
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
bearbearwong
post Apr 4 2014, 09:50 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 4 2014, 09:38 PM)
I'll repeat.....
Tax dept MAY NOT accept the 300k the transaction price for calculation of the RPGT..... They may hav or determine the 700k as market value for calculating the RPGT......
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
There is only 1calculation of RPGT..
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 4 2014, 10:18 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 4 2014, 09:50 PM)
There is only 1calculation of RPGT..
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 4 2014, 11:37 PM

6,747 posts

Willing buyer willing seller basis
Under declared is illegal but owner has the full right to sell any price tat he/she think is appropriate, authority has no right to question the fair value of the property, separate valuation is carried out for the purpose of stamp duty calculation.
RPGT only refers to old and new SPA price.
Tax dept can only question the undeclared amount (settle in cash) between the Purchaser and Vendor.
Not all the purchaser willing to under declare the selling price.
Bali ais
post Apr 4 2014, 11:57 PM

364 posts

Tumpang ask....

If prop is bought at 200k, then within 1 year sold with 225k.
After deducting:-
1. legal fees (both buy and sell process)
2. agent com (during sell)
3. 10% or 10k exemption (whichever higher, 10k in this case)

The actual net chargeable RPGT is actually 0. Am I correct?

Assumption:-
1. Prop after 1 year can only (max) valued at 225k.
2. Calc using http://www.vincentyim.com/how-to-calculate...ax-in-malaysia/ as reference.
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 5 2014, 12:37 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 4 2014, 11:37 PM)
Under declared is illegal but owner has the full right to sell any price tat he/she think is appropriate, authority has no right to question the fair value of the property, separate valuation is carried out for the purpose of stamp duty calculation.
Tax dept can only question the undeclared amount (settle in cash) between the Purchaser and Vendor.
Not exactly true...... Authority reserve their rights to look into any transaction if they think the prop was not transacted in full value or under declaration to avoid RPGT.....
"Not all" means there are such cases isn't it....... If the purchaser has a long term plan of holding the prop 20-30yrs..... They will consider under declare the transaction where seller may give better discount too........
There are things that hardly happens..... But it doesn't means they do not hav that rights....
edyek
post Apr 5 2014, 08:55 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 5 2014, 12:37 AM)
Not exactly true...... Authority reserve their rights to look into any transaction if they think the prop was not transacted in full value or under declaration to avoid RPGT.....
"Not all" means there are such cases isn't it....... If the purchaser has a long term plan of holding the prop 20-30yrs..... They will consider under declare the transaction where seller may give better discount too........
There are things that hardly happens..... But it doesn't means they do not hav that rights....
I agree on UFO-ET. RPGT is only taxed on OLD and NEW price.

One can sell a property at loss but will be scrutinize by LHDN. However, if one can provide a good reason for selling at loss, then it wont pose a problem.

Unless they got reason to believe and evidence to prove seller underclare the selling price just to avoid RPGT, then screw the seller is. Not only seller needs to pay the difference and penalty but every year kena visit by LHDN if there is any transaction done even legal one. However until then, there is no problem in selling at loss.

Of course, one cannot do this too many times...

This is the fine line which most people tend not to cross. Most of our lawyers or accountants will advice us to sell with some profit to avoid any problem by LHDN in case they query the transaction.

My friend is the other way round. He bought alot of land which he ask the owners to mark down SPA (reason being he declare not enough tax).

So when LHDN query his transaction, which common logic dictates that one cannot have so much luck to purchase ALL land way under value. Hence, he kena screw by LHDN.

So not only selling at loss will alert LHDN but buying something way undervalue will also alert them.

With our fck up gomen, it is best not to try to cross the line.
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 10:06 AM

4,258 posts

I may agree with you guys the government is stupid in many areas, but when it comes to taxation, you guys are naive to think the government is as stupid tongue.gif

Guys, please don't argue. The RPGT Act 1976 is the reference

Anti-avoidance provisions

Sec 25 (2)

The Director General, where he has reason to believe that
any transaction has the direct or indirect effect of—
(a) altering the incidence of tax which is payable or suffered
by or which would otherwise have been payable or suffered
by any person;

(b) relieving any person from any liability which has arisen
or which would otherwise have arisen to pay tax or to
make a return;

© evading or avoiding any duty or liability which is imposed
or would otherwise have been imposed on any person by
this Act; or

(d) hindering or preventing the operation of this Act in any
respect, may, without prejudice to such validity as it may have in any other
respect or for any other purpose, disregard or vary the transaction
and make such assessments as he considers just and proper in the
circumstances.

may, without prejudice to such validity as it may have in any other
respect or for any other purpose, disregard or vary the transaction
and make such assessments as he considers just and proper in the
circumstances

Although it is not commonly heard that LHDN go after property disposal which artificially suppress the selling price to reduce/escape RPGT, it doesn't mean you can do it. For those who believe they can out-smart the government, please go ahead to fool the government. Please remember to disclose your identity to me so that I can report you to LHDN. Upon successful recovery of tax avoidance, I will be given by LHDN 15% (or is it 30%) of tax recovered from you, legally tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Apr 5 2014, 10:07 AM
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 10:14 AM

459 posts

I'm not sure where you got your information substantiate from. I can even sell the house at Rm1 to someone I like and draft the S&P and get it legalised. What make you say I cannot sell the house below market price and Tax dept will come after me? I guess you are the one that should go to speak to your lawyer. You are indeed giving misleading information here.

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 3 2014, 07:09 PM)
Go ask first.....
This post has been edited by gunh: Apr 5 2014, 10:15 AM
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 10:18 AM

459 posts

Agree with UFO-ET. all this are about an offer and an acceptance or willing buyer and willing seller. Some one make the offer and someone grab it.

bearbearwong
post Apr 5 2014, 10:31 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 10:14 AM)
I'm not sure where you got your information substantiate from.  I can even sell the house at Rm1 to someone I like and draft the S&P and get it legalised.  What make you say I cannot sell the house below market price and Tax dept will come after me?  I guess you are the one that should go to speak to your lawyer.  You are indeed giving misleading information here.
that is what i have been saying and referring.. dude is referring s stamp duty model in RPGT calculations and sumore bombard me..
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 10:35 AM

459 posts

who bombard u? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 5 2014, 10:31 AM)
that is what i have been saying and referring.. dude is referring s stamp duty model in RPGT calculations and sumore bombard me..
bearbearwong
post Apr 5 2014, 10:37 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 10:35 AM)
who bombard u?  rclxub.gif
same dude.. and his herd... i am not BBB, i leave some room for him.. i am not interested in degrading
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 10:40 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 5 2014, 10:37 AM)
same dude.. and his herd... i am not BBB, i leave some room for him.. i am not interested in degrading
Sporting!!! rclxms.gif
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 10:44 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Apr 5 2014, 10:31 AM)
So bearbear, have you read Sec 25(2) ? We still can simply put in RM300k as selling price and LHDN just have to accept ?
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 10:45 AM

4,258 posts

What make you say I cannot sell the house below market price and Tax dept will come after me? 

Please refer Sec 25(2) of Real Property Gain Tax Act 1976
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 10:57 AM

459 posts

Have read it. But which specific clauses say I cannot sell at below market value and will get penalise?

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:45 AM)
Please refer Sec 25(2) of Real Property Gain Tax Act 1976
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 11:13 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 10:57 AM)
Have read it.  But which specific clauses say I cannot sell at below market value and will get penalise?
You can ask the judge when LHDN takes you to court whether Sec 25(2) will be enough to make you pay the difference in RPGT. The provisions of Sec 25(2) is obvious enough for LHDN to catch people who under pay RPGT.

Don't get me wrong. You can always sell below market value and report RPGT based on S&P price. But if the difference between S&P price and market value is too big, LHDN can also go after you based on the Anti-Avoidance Provision. This provisions give them power to tax people trying to out-smart them. But if your price is around the market price, LHDN won't bother to tax you.

gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 11:23 AM

459 posts

Bro,

I believe the RPGT sec 25(2) is not used or apply in our discussion. Please read the Sec25 in Full. This act is for those who think they are smart. Eg:

The house belong to Husband (Disposer) name purchase 3years ago say at RM300,000.00

Now the house could be worth RM 500,000.00

Husband thought he is smart and transfer the house to his wife (connected person) at year No3 (which is now at market rate say 450,000 to 500,000) and then sell it another potential buyer.

Husband think by doing that, he will have very minimal RPGT but with this RPGT act 25, stated clearly, that the RPGT act shall be from the "Disposer" and not that "Connected Person"

Hope this clarifies.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:13 AM)
You can ask the judge when LHDN takes you to court whether Sec 25(2) will be enough to make you pay the difference in RPGT. The provisions of Sec 25(2) is obvious enough for LHDN to catch people who under pay RPGT.

Don't get me wrong. You can always sell below market value and report RPGT based on S&P price. But if the difference between S&P price and market value is too big, LHDN can also go after you based on the Anti-Avoidance Provision. This provisions give them power to tax people trying to out-smart them. But if your price is around the market price, LHDN won't bother to tax you.
bcpbeancounter
post Apr 5 2014, 11:36 AM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 10:57 AM)
Have read it.  But which specific clauses say I cannot sell at below market value and will get penalise?
i think the para posted by 747 has clearly stated that. Penalty at another para? I don't think the LHDN let you go without penalty if they catch you under declare.

gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 11:40 AM

459 posts

before reading paragraph 25(2), please read the full act 25

Section 25. Anti-avoidance provisions.

(1) Where a chargeable asset which is disposed of was previously acquired by the disposer for a consideration wholly or substantially provided by a connected person within the meaning of Schedule 2 (otherwise than as a bona fide loan made in the course of carrying on business as a moneylender), the asset shall be deemed to have been disposed of by that person and not by the disposer:

Provided that, where the asset disposed of was acquired by the disposer from that person, that person shall, for the purpose of computing any gain accruing to or loss suffered by him by the operation of this subsection, be deemed to have acquired the asset at an acquisition price equal to the consideration which, by virtue of paragraph 9 and subparagraph 23 (1) of Schedule 2, he is deemed to have received when the asset was acquired by the disposer.

(2) The Director General, where he has reason to believe that any transaction has the direct or indirect effect of-

(a) altering the incidence of tax which is payable or suffered by or which would otherwise have been payable or suffered by any person;

(b) relieving any person from any liability which has arisen or which would otherwise have arisen to pay tax or to make a return;

© evading or avoiding any duty or liability which is imposed or would otherwise have been imposed on any person by this Act; or

(d) hindering or preventing the operation of this Act in any respect,
may, without prejudice to such validity as it may have in any other respect or for any other purpose, disregard or vary the transaction and make such assessments as he considers just and proper in the circumstances.

(3) In this section "transaction" means any trust, grant, covenant, agreement, arrangement or other disposition or transaction made or entered into (whether before or after the commencement of this Act), and includes a transaction entered into by two or more persons with another person or persons.
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 11:44 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 11:23 AM)
Bro,

I believe the RPGT sec 25(2) is not used or apply in our discussion.  Please read the Sec25 in Full.  This act is for those who think they are smart.  Eg:

The house belong to Husband (Disposer) name purchase 3years ago say at RM300,000.00

Now the house could be worth RM 500,000.00

Husband thought he is smart and transfer the house to his wife (connected person) at year No3 (which is now at market rate say 450,000 to 500,000) and then sell it another potential buyer. 

Husband think by doing that, he will have very minimal RPGT but with this RPGT act 25, stated clearly, that the RPGT act shall be from the  "Disposer" and not that "Connected Person"

Hope this clarifies.
Bro,

Sec 25 Anti-avoidance provisions has 2 sections. The example you mention is about Sec 25(1) which is specific to a avoidance scheme. Section 25(2) is a "catch all" provision. Its effect is to allow LHDN to catch all "out-smart" avoidance scheme

If the provisions in Sec 25(2) refer to only Sec 25(1), then section 25(2) should be Sec 25(1)(a), 25(1)(b) and so on. Also, the wording in Sec 25(2) is obvious to be a stand alone section

That should clarifies tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 11:50 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 11:40 AM)
before reading paragraph 25(2), please read the full act 25

(3) In this section "transaction" means any trust, grant, covenant, agreement, arrangement or other disposition or transaction made or entered into (whether before or after the commencement of this Act), and includes a transaction entered into by two or more persons with another person or persons.
Good that you bring up Sec 25(3) which mention "person". The definition of "person" is in Sec 2. It does not limit to connected person eg husband and wife in your example
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 11:51 AM

459 posts

Let say what you say is correct, 25(1) has not relation with 25(2), but in 25(2) which sentence specifically mentioned if we sell the asset below market value, LHDN will come after us?

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:44 AM)
Bro,

Sec 25 Anti-avoidance provisions has 2 sections. The example you mention is about Sec 25(1) which is specific to a avoidance scheme. Section 25(2) is a "catch all" provision. Its effect is to allow LHDN to catch all "out-smart" avoidance scheme 

If the provisions in Sec 25(2) refer to only Sec 25(1), then section 25(2) should be Sec 25(1)(a), 25(1)(b) and so on. Also, the wording in Sec 25(2) is obvious to be a stand alone section

That should clarifies  tongue.gif
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 11:53 AM

459 posts

That's why I still believe all the clause of 25(1), 25(2) and 25(3) have to be read together as there are co-related and not independent.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:50 AM)
Good that you bring up Sec 25(3) which mention "person". The definition of "person" is in Sec 2. It does not limit to connected person eg husband and wife in your example
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 12:04 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 11:51 AM)
Let say what you say is correct, 25(1) has not relation with 25(2), but in 25(2) which sentence specifically mentioned if we sell the asset below market value, LHDN will come after us?
It didn't say so because it is a catch all section. But the effect of the wording is obvious enough

For example

Sec 25(2)(a) "altering the incidence of tax" - by understating disposal price intentionally, RPGT is lesser, hence it is "altering the incidence of tax"

Sec 25(2)© "evading and avoiding any duty and liability which is imposed" - by understating disposable price intentionally, RPGT is less, hence you are trying to avoid and evade tax

Bona fide selling at below market price most probably will not be queried by LHDN. If acquisition price is RM400k, market price is RM700k, you sell say RM600k, I think it is still acceptable because of property conditions, facing, renovation etc. But if market price is say RM700k, the S&P price is RM400k, then it should raise LHDN eyebrow. We can play around with the selling price to reduce some RPGT, but not overboard lah. Under Sec 25(2), they can go after elaborated scheme
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 12:07 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 11:53 AM)
That's why I still believe all the clause of 25(1), 25(2) and 25(3) have to be read together as there are co-related and not independent.
I can't alter your belief. Not here to convince you. It is up to you to interprete. Next time if you have the chance to talk to your lawyer, do ask him/her this section
edyek
post Apr 5 2014, 12:08 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 5 2014, 12:04 PM)
It didn't say so because it is a catch all section. But the effect of the wording is obvious enough

For example

Sec 25(2)(a) "altering the incidence of tax" - by understating disposal price intentionally, RPGT is lesser, hence it is "altering the incidence of tax"

Sec 25(2)© "evading and avoiding any duty and liability which is imposed" - by understating disposable price intentionally, RPGT is less, hence you are trying to avoid and evade tax
Bona fide selling at below market price most probably will not be queried by LHDN. If acquisition price is RM400k, market price is RM700k, you sell say RM600k, I think it is still acceptable because of property conditions, facing, renovation etc. But if market price is say RM700k, the S&P price is RM400k, then it should raise LHDN eyebrow. We can play around with the selling price to reduce some RPGT, but not overboard lah. Under Sec 25(2), they can go after elaborated scheme
Thats the main point for all this discussion. thumbup.gif

Again, selling at loss is a line which a sane investor wont cross... Unless got problem nod.gif
SUStikaram
post Apr 5 2014, 12:13 PM

10,722 posts

Everyone pls be wise on some people info and advise. Especially on financial

some ppl just like to use name calling and attacking.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3182390/+100
nookie188
post Apr 5 2014, 12:24 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 5 2014, 12:13 PM)

this thread is about rpgt..personal attack thread is somewhere else ?
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 12:27 PM

459 posts

My understanding of Clause (25) has to be read in conjunction of sub clause 25(1), 25(2) and 25(3).

the explanation of this clause I understand from this article

Section 25 of the RPGT Act contains the general anti-avoidance provisions which allow the tax authorities to disregard transactions, vary transactions or impose taxes that should have been imposed.

The law specifies that this right is available if the transactions had the effect of “altering the incidence of tax”, “relieving a person from tax liability” or “evading or avoiding any liability which would otherwise have been imposed”.

Besides these general anti-tax avoidance measures which are also found in the Income Tax Act to discourage income tax avoidance, Section 25 of the RPGT Act also provides for persons who provide loans to related parties; for example, Mr A providing loans to Company A which is owned by him.

The law provides that if Company A sells a property and the property was financed by a loan provided by Mr A, the disposal may be regarded as a disposal by Mr A and not by Company A.

However, the cost of acquisition to Mr A is the market value of the property when Company A acquired the property from Mr A. If Company A had acquired the property from Mr A at the true market value, this anti-tax avoidance provision of the RPGT Act should not pose any problem.

Source : http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx/?file...ness%2f5027956&

Your explanation on 25(2)(a) and 25(2)© are based on your own understanding? Based on the above article, your explanation seems is not correct.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 5 2014, 12:04 PM)

For example

edyek
post Apr 5 2014, 12:34 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

Boss tikaram @ banana is super food, please grow up. If you have any objection/comments on my info and advice, do share here. We dont need your crap talking about name calling and attacking (attack? What attack?) which you felt in the other thread. Keep it professional please.

If you have no comment on the subject at hand, DIAM DIAM LAR....

If you have, SHARE SHARE LAR....

Er, you were mentioning about me right? Because if you were not, I kantoi again...
QUOTE(nookie188 @ Apr 5 2014, 12:24 PM)
Dont worry lah boss... Childish act it is...
SUStikaram
post Apr 5 2014, 12:41 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Apr 5 2014, 01:24 PM)
This person claim only give adive on wat he/she know. But when i point out not the case as only name calling and and attacking only.

So i think it is wise to get tax professional advise rather that the so call expect.

Just go to that thread n check the attaking. And consider info from him with a pinch of salt ya.
bcpbeancounter
post Apr 5 2014, 12:51 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 5 2014, 12:41 PM)
This person claim only give adive on wat he/she know. But when i point out not the case as only name calling and and attacking only.

So i think it is wise to get tax professional advise rather that the so call expect.

Just go to that thread n check the attaking. And consider info from him with a pinch of salt ya.
jiao is singing whistling.gif whistling.gif
Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 01:17 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 12:27 PM)
My understanding of Clause (25) has to be read in conjunction of sub clause 25(1), 25(2) and 25(3).

the explanation of this clause I understand from this article

Section 25 of the RPGT Act contains the general anti-avoidance provisions which allow the tax authorities to disregard transactions, vary transactions or impose taxes that should have been imposed.

The law specifies that this right is available if the transactions had the effect of “altering the incidence of tax”, “relieving a person from tax liability” or “evading or avoiding any liability which would otherwise have been imposed”.

Besides these general anti-tax avoidance measures which are also found in the Income Tax Act to discourage income tax avoidance, Section 25 of the RPGT Act also provides for persons who provide loans to related parties; for example, Mr A providing loans to Company A which is owned by him.

The law provides that if Company A sells a property and the property was financed by a loan provided by Mr A, the disposal may be regarded as a disposal by Mr A and not by Company A.

However, the cost of acquisition to Mr A is the market value of the property when Company A acquired the property from Mr A. If Company A had acquired the property from Mr A at the true market value, this anti-tax avoidance provision of the RPGT Act should not pose any problem.

Source : http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx/?file...ness%2f5027956&

Your explanation on 25(2)(a) and 25(2)© are based on your own understanding?  Based on the above article, your explanation seems is not correct.
Bro,

The article actually reinforce my interpretation of Sec 25(2). I have highlighted the essence of anti-avoidance provision above. In what way do you think the article contradict my interpretation rclxub.gif

nookie188
post Apr 5 2014, 01:51 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 5 2014, 12:41 PM)

err..as far as i know edyek and manut are seasoned taikors in their own right so for me personally, i would say they DO know what they are talking abt ya based on their postings to date.
SUStikaram
post Apr 5 2014, 02:47 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Apr 5 2014, 02:51 PM)
err..as far as i know edyek and manut are seasoned taikors in their own right so for me personally, i would say they DO know what they are talking abt ya based on their postings to date.
I know abit out of topic. Since u touch on taikor.

Yes. Me too before this think they are tsikor. But when two of these start the name calling and attacking. Does it sound like taikor?

My answer is nah!

Taikor need attacking in the debate meah? Tailor need to do name calling in the debate meah? Sound like GANGSTER taikor more?

After all the name calling and attacking. Next asked people to grown up and call ppl childish in this thread. They themself not childish when they do name calling ppl first and attacking ppl next.? Hahahaha..

Over there name calling and attacking still continue. Taikor wo?????

Go back to thread topic.

Arent not my opinion of asking TS to take the advise with a pinch of salt and seek tax prifessional help is relevant in this thread?

This post has been edited by tikaram: Apr 5 2014, 02:48 PM
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 02:55 PM

13,761 posts

Pls look back who ask uuu to sell buttock. Then case closed. Ngam boh???

I'm just a kindy ll nvr 呈强. If no buy then I dun comment on the particular thread. Unless I wanna explore. I onli comment on wat I know. I onli voice out my real life experiences. But those were the days. Since ddd ask us to stop the facts sharing, any1 can trace back my posts for the past mths. Mostly sembang sembang la. Same applied in rwi. I read but I dun comment cos I know I'm learning. laugh.gif

No worries dudes. Forum nia. No award wan. Readers r smart to know know cheated by putting up a nicely done ddd scenario n hide behind buying.
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 02:56 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Apr 5 2014, 01:51 PM)
Boss thanks for the complement. But in real life I'm still learning from edyek gor.

Soli edyek gor for putting u onto altar. laugh.gif
SUStikaram
post Apr 5 2014, 03:06 PM

10,722 posts

Please go away.

We are not interested with out of topic post! tongue.gif
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 03:10 PM

13,761 posts

Out of topic started at 12:13pm. Close closed.

oopsi soli to all. Out of topic. Soli TS.

gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 04:13 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Apr 5 2014, 01:17 PM)
Bro,

The article actually reinforce my interpretation of Sec 25(2). I have highlighted the essence of anti-avoidance provision above. In what way do you think the article contradict my interpretation  rclxub.gif
The article itself explained why there is clause25 and how it works. Not based on what essence which u have highlighted. Clause 25 have to be read in full and not interpreted part by part like what you have said. If u read again the clause and the article, you will find clause 25(1) ,25(2), and 25(3) are inter relate.

i have explained and shared enough. if you still want to maintain your believing, then i cannot stop you. But i will not changed mine.

Showtime747
post Apr 5 2014, 04:20 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 04:13 PM)
The article itself explained why there is clause25 and how it works.  Not based on what essence which u have highlighted.  Clause 25 have to be read in full and not interpreted part by part like what you have said. If u read again the clause and the article, you will find clause 25(1) ,25(2), and 25(3) are inter relate. 

i have explained and shared enough. if you still want to maintain your believing, then i cannot stop you. But i will not changed mine.
Bro, inter related or not is not the question. That is technical. The question is we can't simply understate the disposal price for RPGT. LHDN can go after you if you have overdone.

AppreciativeMan
post Apr 5 2014, 04:24 PM

1,801 posts

I'm not sure where you got your information substantiate from.  I can even sell the house at Rm1 to someone I like and draft the S&P and get it legalised.  What make you say I cannot sell the house below market price and Tax dept will come after me?  I guess you are the one that should go to speak to your lawyer.  You are indeed giving misleading information here.
Since when i say cannot sell below market price?? doh.gif doh.gif
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 5 2014, 04:27 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 11:51 AM)
LHDN "MAY" come after, not "WILL"! doh.gif doh.gif

I do agree hardly ppl will do such act or challenging the authority..... but if there is such an act taken, u mean the authority got no rights to take any action against both party, jus because both party already signed SPA at an agree price of RM1??

This post has been edited by AppreciativeMan: Apr 5 2014, 04:37 PM
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 06:33 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 5 2014, 04:24 PM)
Since when i say cannot sell below market price??  doh.gif  doh.gif
I've made my point. If you read it positively then thats good. But you can always choose to read it negatively.
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 5 2014, 08:08 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 06:33 PM)
I've made my point.  If you read it positively then thats good.  But you can always choose to read it negatively.
You hav yet to make it clear..... And u r the who read my point negatively.....

I do agree hardly ppl will do such act or challenging the authority..... but if there is such an act taken, u mean the authority got no rights to take any action against both party, jus because both party already signed SPA at an agree price of RM1??
No answer to the above question?
gunh
post Apr 5 2014, 08:57 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 5 2014, 08:08 PM)
You hav yet to make it clear..... And u r the who read my point negatively.....

Is not up to you or me to say who read who negatively.

No answer to the above question?

In legally binding contract, there must be an condition or you called it an offer and an acceptance. The RM1 is just an example. When someone made an offer, and another guy accepted it then the transaction will valid as the condition of an legal agreement is met.

I'll repeat.....
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

this sentence is refer to your post above. "What make you say I cannot sell the house below market price and Tax dept will come after me?"
You may want to argue the word "MAY" and I have use "WILL". Ok, that's my mistake, but the point is noted here and by reading the post as whole and not few words.

SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 5 2014, 09:10 PM

6,747 posts

Dun cry like a baby, enuf
SUStikaram
post Apr 5 2014, 09:12 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 5 2014, 10:10 PM)
Dun cry like a baby, enuf
Out of topic...pls go away. Agent!
SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 5 2014, 09:16 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 5 2014, 09:12 PM)
Out of topic...pls go away. Agent!
Who do you think you are? Funny
Cry somewhere else lah, kid
SUStikaram
post Apr 5 2014, 09:31 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 5 2014, 10:16 PM)
Who do you think you are? Funny
Cry somewhere else lah, kid
Another so call investor club taikor doing attacking.
SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 5 2014, 10:03 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 5 2014, 09:31 PM)
Then I say sorry lor, dun cry ha
edyek
post Apr 5 2014, 10:31 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

Boss tikaram @ banana is super food, if no comment/advice/fact on the Topic at hand... DIAM DIAM lar...

Like your saying... Dont waste space...
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 10:33 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Apr 5 2014, 10:31 PM)
Boss tikaram @ banana is super food, if no comment/advice/fact on the Topic at hand... DIAM DIAM lar...

Like your saying... Dont waste space...
Wah I like tis one. thumbup.gif

Just like how rakyats ask naj1s to DIAM LAR. wink.gif
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 5 2014, 11:11 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 08:57 PM)
Is not up to you or me to say who read who negatively. 
In legally binding contract, there must be an condition or you called it an offer and an acceptance.  The RM1 is just an example.  When someone made an offer, and another guy accepted it then the transaction will valid as the condition of an legal agreement is met. 
this sentence is refer to your post above. "What make you say I cannot sell the house below market price and Tax dept will come after me?"
You may want to argue the word "MAY" and I have use "WILL".  Ok, that's my mistake, but the point is noted here and by reading the post as whole and not few words.
I hav never mention doubt abt legality of the contract or SPA.....

I mention..... LHDN reserve their rights to challenge the "under declare" transaction price... They come after their "income" not against the legality of transaction....

So the simple question "DO LHDN HAVE RIGHTS TO QUIRES YOUR TRANSACTED PRICE IF ITS WAY BELOW MARKET VALUE?".........A simple "YES" or "NO"....... u hav yet to answer this question after your challenging statement stating i provide misleading info....
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 5 2014, 11:13 PM

1,801 posts

Worst then a CRY BABY..... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
edyek
post Apr 5 2014, 11:18 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 5 2014, 11:11 PM)
I hav never mention doubt abt legality of the contract or SPA.....

I mention..... LHDN reserve their rights to challenge the "under declare" transaction price... They come after their "income" not against the legality of transaction....

So the simple question "DO LHDN HAVE RIGHTS TO QUIRES YOUR TRANSACTED PRICE IF ITS WAY BELOW MARKET VALUE?".........A simple "YES" or "NO"....... u hav yet to answer this question after your challenging statement stating i provide misleading info....
Chill boss.. biggrin.gif I think there is a misunderstanding here... You are right about the right to query, and gunh is right about the contract.

So both of your info is not wrong... icon_rolleyes.gif
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 5 2014, 11:31 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Apr 5 2014, 11:18 PM)
Chill boss..  biggrin.gif  I think there is a misunderstanding here... You are right about the right to query, and gunh is right about the contract.

So both of your info is not wrong...  icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm still cool.... icon_rolleyes.gif
I dont challenge something I'm not 100% sure.... nor i'll provide info where i'm not sure..... if not sure then use words like, "maybe", "i think" and etc lor..... Dont use so firm words like, "will", "cannot" and etc
RPGT is something i was trying to work around it 2-3 yrs back.... I think i hav gathered sufficient info to kno wat is my risk, wat are their rights, pro & con and etc..... wink.gif wink.gif
A simple logic, if the authority MUST accept whatever we stated in SPA transacted price, i think there will be lots of ppl already underdeclare the transacting price to avoid RPGT..... They wants their income, u still can keep your SPA transacted price....
icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by AppreciativeMan: Apr 5 2014, 11:38 PM
bearbearwong
post Apr 6 2014, 12:57 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 5 2014, 04:13 PM)
The article itself explained why there is clause25 and how it works.  Not based on what essence which u have highlighted.  Clause 25 have to be read in full and not interpreted part by part like what you have said. If u read again the clause and the article, you will find clause 25(1) ,25(2), and 25(3) are inter relate. 

Walao argue to this level.. refer to hansard.. see parliament intention lahh.. we copy cat uk wat..

at the end any form arguements remain as it is.. courts and government will interpret so far to suit their needs.. more revenues for gov are never a wrong..

This post has been edited by bearbearwong: Apr 6 2014, 01:02 AM
gunh
post Apr 6 2014, 09:38 AM

459 posts

Your point is noted. Most cases under declare the transacted price (means price written in snp) is not likely to happen. Vendor will have lost or risk his right to get the actual payment in full (assuming both vendor and purchaser has side agreement on the under declare transacted amount). And the purchaser will bot want to be losing side as if he agree for declarin lower transacted price now, he will have to pay a much higher rpgt if he would want to sell the property again wihin the next 5yrs.

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 5 2014, 11:31 PM)
I'm still cool....  icon_rolleyes.gif
I dont challenge something I'm not 100% sure.... nor i'll provide info where i'm not sure..... if not sure then use words like, "maybe", "i think" and etc lor..... Dont use so firm words like, "will", "cannot" and etc
RPGT is something i was trying to work around it 2-3 yrs back.... I think i hav gathered sufficient info to kno wat is my risk, wat are their rights, pro & con and etc.....  wink.gif  wink.gif
A simple logic, if the authority MUST accept whatever we stated in SPA transacted price, i think there will be lots of ppl already underdeclare the transacting price to avoid RPGT..... They wants their income, u still can keep your SPA transacted price....
icon_rolleyes.gif
gunh
post Apr 6 2014, 09:53 AM

459 posts

Bro,

Please refer to your post 3 on page 1. I find your relate the rpgt with the property valuer findings. Thats why i want to make clear to the reader here. I'm sure you aware property value duty.

On the lhdn reserved rights to investigate your transaction i'm not sure. But they can always use clause 25 on act 1976 if they smell or suspected something fishy.

I apology if i made or cause any misunderstand. We just want to shared what we aware here so other reader will be benefit from reading it.

RPGT is something i was trying to work around it 2-3 yrs back.... I think i hav gathered sufficient info to kno wat is my risk, wat are their rights, pro & con and etc.....  wink.gif  wink.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 6 2014, 10:43 AM

6,747 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif
Chief, I hv to correct yr above sentence, in normal circumstances, >90% can't afford (or not willing) to fork up so much cash to buy property.
Imagine a property worth RM1,0 mil, if both agree to settle at RM500K, then the purchaser needs to come out :-
RM600K cash (90% loan) to buy
RM700K cash (70% loan) to buy

In order to under declare, a few conditions need to be fulfilled:-
1. Vendor willing to take the risk
2. Purchaser willing to take the risk
3. Purchaser's / vendor's solicitors encourage this arrangement, normally purchaser will seek advice fr lawyer and most lawyer will discourage it
4. Buyer wants to save on legal and stamping fees (& a little bit of MOT)
5. Purchaser has extra cash as mentioned above
6. Purchaser has extra cash but willing to proceed with this arrangement
i. Like myself, I hv spared a lot of cash with me now but I dun want to spend all the cash in a single transaction, I would rather find ways to secure as much loan as possible to buy more properties, unlike old days, many buyers buy for own stay only, but nowadays we find tat many purchasers are trying to reserve more CASH to invest more properties
ii. Buy cheap now, sell later within 5 yrs will kena higher amt of tax (as gunh claimed)
iii. The risk of being cheated by seller, lawyer will not handle this type of "special arrangement", for those undeclared amount is going to be settled between both vendor and purchaser outside the lawyer firm, take the RM1.0 mil example :-
- Shall the Purcahser settle 500K cash prior to the signing of SPA? (Purchaser not willing)
- Shall the Purchaser settle 500K cash after the signing of SPA? (vendor not willing)

In my experience being an agent, if there are 100 cases tat the vendor willing to under declare the price, only <3% of the purchasers willing / able to comply / accept. It is not easy to do

My 2 bakuli smile.gif

This post has been edited by UFO-ET: Apr 6 2014, 10:58 AM
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 6 2014, 11:09 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 6 2014, 10:43 AM)
Chief, I hv to correct yr above sentence, in normal circumstances, >90% can't afford (or not willing)  to fork up so much cash to buy property.
Imagine a property worth RM1,0 mil, if both agree to settle at RM500K, then the purchaser needs to come out :-
RM600K cash (90% loan) to buy
RM700K cash (70% loan) to buy

In order to under declare, a few conditions need to be fulfilled:-
1. Vendor willing to take the risk
2. Purchaser willing to take the risk
3. Purchaser's / vendor's solicitors encourage this arrangement, normally purchaser will seek advice fr lawyer and most lawyer will discourage it
4. Buyer wants to save on legal and stamping fees (& a little bit of MOT)
5. Purchaser has extra cash as mentioned above
6. Purchaser has extra cash but willing to proceed with this arrangement
    i. Like myself, I hv spared a lot of cash with me now but I dun want to spend all the cash in a single transaction, I would rather find ways to secure as much loan as possible to buy more properties, unlike old days, many buyers buy for own stay only, but nowadays we find tat many purchasers are trying to reserve more CASH to invest more properties
  ii. Buy cheap now, sell later within 5 yrs will kena higher amt of tax (as gunh claimed)
  iii. The risk of being cheated by seller, lawyer will not handle this type of "special arrangement", for those undeclared amount is going to be settled between both vendor and purchaser outside the lawyer firm, take the RM1.0 mil example :-
- Shall the Purcahser settle 500K cash prior to the signing of SPA? (Purchaser not willing)
- Shall the Purchaser settle 500K cash after the signing of SPA? (vendor not willing)

In my experience being an agent, if there are 100 cases tat the vendor willing to under declare the price, only <3% of the purchasers willing / able to comply / accept. It is not easy to do

My 2 bakuli smile.gif
Bro...... Whatever pointers u hav raised above, I'm fully aware.....
However, u have to read this sentence as a whole...
A simple logic, if the authority MUST accept whatever we stated in SPA transacted price, i think there will be lots of ppl already underdeclare the transacting price to avoid RPGT.....

SUSUFO-ET
post Apr 6 2014, 11:13 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(AppreciativeMan @ Apr 6 2014, 11:09 AM)
Bro...... Whatever pointers u hav raised above, I'm fully aware.....
However, u have to read this sentence as a whole...
A simple logic, if the authority MUST accept whatever we stated in SPA transacted price, i think there will be lots of ppl already underdeclare the transacting price to avoid RPGT.....
I know
The problem is with the purchaser, not the vendor
If it is not illegal, I think majority of buyers can't afford too

This post has been edited by UFO-ET: Apr 6 2014, 11:13 AM
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 6 2014, 11:15 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 6 2014, 09:53 AM)
Bro,

Please refer to your post 3 on page 1. I find your relate the rpgt with the property valuer findings. Thats why i want to make clear to the reader here. I'm sure you aware property value duty.

On the lhdn reserved rights to investigate your transaction i'm not sure. But they can always use clause 25 on act 1976 if they smell or suspected something fishy.

I apology if i made or cause any misunderstand. We just want to shared what we aware here so other reader will be benefit from reading it.
Your acknowledgement is appreciated. icon_rolleyes.gif
On the valuer statement, I may not hav explain full explanation.... However, LHDN still has "relation" to valuers...... It may not be directly linked to them, but they would still at all time aware of prop value in order to spot out any under declare transaction..... U can't fully cut away ties between them...... icon_rolleyes.gif
AppreciativeMan
post Apr 6 2014, 11:20 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Apr 6 2014, 11:13 AM)
I know
The problem is with the purchaser, not the vendor
If it is not illegal, I think majority of buyers can't afford too
If one can save "this much amt of money" legally without problem...... U'll kno the full meaning of "If there is a will there is a way"...... And the outcome is definitely shocking.....

This post has been edited by AppreciativeMan: Apr 6 2014, 11:21 AM

0.0571sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:25 PM