benny888
post Jun 26 2014, 07:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(gill1314 @ Jun 26 2014, 01:19 AM)
i check on china site , they said root-ed device cannot receive update is that true ? i just root my x1 and remove some system apps sad.gif
For OTA update : Just use back same root genius program to unroot
And you must reinstalled back those system app
Or just flash within phone the downloaded new firmware
joytest
post Jun 26 2014, 11:28 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

BTW, slightly OT, but the 48Gb free Dropbox that was part of the S3 bundle 2 years ago just expired, and the whole 48Gb vanished.

In expectation of this happening, I didn't use more than a few mb so it didn't affect me.

Did anyone suffer any file loss due to the expiry of such offers? Eg HTC also had a similar offer.
sordanny
post Jun 26 2014, 01:04 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(gill1314 @ Jun 26 2014, 01:19 AM)
i check on china site , they said root-ed device cannot receive update is that true ? i just root my x1 and remove some system apps sad.gif
Partly true - u will get the notice to update but it won't successfully update
What u need to do is unroot and reinstall system apps but best is flash the original firmware and then OTA update from there.

If u upgrading to b006, just download and flash directly don't need go through OTA
sordanny
post Jun 26 2014, 01:10 PM

3,009 posts

And btw just a reminder if u flash firmware manually, extract the .zip file and transfer it into the sd card. The sd card must be in fat32 not ntfs format

After that restart the phone and it will automatically flash it. After the process is finished, delete the files from your sd card or else it will repeat to flash when u restart
joytest
post Jun 26 2014, 04:55 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jun 26 2014, 01:10 PM)
And btw just a reminder if u flash firmware manually, extract the .zip file and transfer it into the sd card. The sd card must be in fat32 not ntfs format

After that restart the phone and it will automatically flash it. After the process is finished, delete the files from your sd card or else it will repeat to flash when u restart
Can the Chinese B006 for the 3G model be flashed on our 501L? What about the TDD or FDD roms?
un_id
post Jun 26 2014, 10:54 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Im a proud owner on this monster phone. biggrin.gif got it from Christopher atlantis at a good deal includes a nilkin flip case.. Recommended seller..

First impression: although it is just marginally bigger than XZU in term of ohysical size, but to me, it feels more like a tablet already when i hold it on my palm.. Will try to use this as a main phone starting tmrw and see how.. At a glance, performance is just okok lah..

joshuawong
post Jun 26 2014, 11:47 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 26 2014, 10:54 PM)
Im a proud owner on this monster phone. biggrin.gif got it from Christopher atlantis at a good deal includes a nilkin flip case.. Recommended seller..

First impression: although it is just marginally bigger than XZU in term of ohysical size, but to me, it feels more like a tablet already when i hold it on my palm.. Will try to use this as a main phone starting tmrw and see how.. At a glance, performance is just okok lah..
How much u bought the case? The glass windows prone to get scratches?
jloi
post Jun 27 2014, 01:09 AM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

Waiting for black version smile.gif can't wait to join you guys
B_p_r
post Jun 27 2014, 06:23 AM

33 posts

anybody selling cheap silicon/tpu case for this device here?
benny888
post Jun 27 2014, 08:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(B_p_r @ Jun 27 2014, 06:23 AM)
anybody selling cheap silicon/tpu case for this device here?
Try lelong.com
un_id
post Jun 27 2014, 08:52 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jun 27 2014, 01:09 AM)
i was actually want a black color.. but nvm lah..
un_id
post Jun 27 2014, 08:52 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(joshuawong @ Jun 26 2014, 11:47 PM)
How much u bought the case? The glass windows prone to get scratches?
RM60.. dunno if its prone to scratch, need to wait and see, just bought last night
un_id
post Jun 27 2014, 08:53 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Impression update:

This phablet is barely pocketable for me. =.=
un_id
post Jun 27 2014, 08:59 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 27 2014, 08:27 AM)
Try lelong.com
Uncle, i got issues trying to use my 64gb sandisk microsd.. need to format it to FAT32 right? i did that, reformat by using the phone itself, then tried to transfer data into it, as usual almost 30gb of music, some movies and other stuff, which is 40gb+ in size.. first trial, i was attempting to copy all the folders at once, it failed.. then i think maybe need to transfer batch by batch.. so i did, seems like the transfer was succesfull.. but then when i disconnect and check the sd card content in the phone, it seems empty. then i tried to reformat using PC, but it failed to reformat. sweat.gif then i put back into the phone, reformat from there, successful.. then i tried again to copy data into it, same thing, nothing goes in. shakehead.gif now i'm afraid my SD card broken edy.. huu

when format using this phone, there is 2 option given, FAT32 and NTFS.. must choose FAT32 if using 64gb microsd is it?

This post has been edited by un_id: Jun 27 2014, 09:07 AM
stevenX
post Jun 27 2014, 09:01 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 26 2014, 10:54 PM)

Im using as main, and the only down side is, hard to use when driving.
Other than that, user experience is great in every where, but not for taking photo.
cwleong59
post Jun 27 2014, 09:51 AM

333 posts

Bought 2 days back at Atlantis.............. using naked as main phone. Pocketablity is just manageable but the effort is well rewarded by the awesome huge screen..... difficult to go back to those small screen.
sordanny
post Jun 27 2014, 10:30 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 26 2014, 04:55 PM)
Can the Chinese B006 for the 3G model be flashed on our 501L? What about the TDD or FDD roms?
If u wan u can try the Chinese ROM for the 4G version. ROM for 3G version won't work

QUOTE(jloi @ Jun 27 2014, 01:09 AM)
Black version not available even in China
There's only black version for 3G but not LTE version
benny888
post Jun 27 2014, 10:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 27 2014, 08:59 AM)
Uncle, i got issues trying to use my 64gb sandisk microsd.. need to format it to FAT32 right? i did that, reformat by using the phone itself, then tried to transfer data into it, as usual almost 30gb of music, some movies and other stuff, which is 40gb+ in size.. first trial, i was attempting to copy all the folders at once, it failed.. then i think maybe need to transfer batch by batch.. so i did, seems like the transfer was succesfull.. but then when i disconnect and check the sd card content in the phone, it seems empty. then i tried to reformat using PC, but it failed to reformat.  sweat.gif then i put back into the phone, reformat from there, successful.. then i tried again to copy data into it, same thing, nothing goes in.  shakehead.gif now i'm afraid my SD card broken edy.. huu

when format using this phone, there is 2 option given, FAT32 and NTFS.. must choose FAT32 if using 64gb microsd is it?
Only FAT32 is accepted. I always format card in my iMac. I have no issues using the ext card n has infact set it as default internal storage. Mine is a Sandisk 64gb class 10

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 27 2014, 10:31 AM
post Jun 27 2014, 10:49 AM

1,447 posts

A Simple question, i am planning to get a tablet and i notice this one mediapad x and lg g pad 8.3 price are almost the same, which one is a better choices.... that is in terms of smoothness and less bugs.
benny888
post Jun 27 2014, 11:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jun 27 2014, 10:49 AM)
A Simple question, i am planning to get a tablet and i notice this one mediapad x and lg g pad 8.3 price are almost the same, which one is a better choices.... that is in terms of smoothness and less bugs.
I sold off my lg pad 8.3 after getting this. The disadvantage of the pad 8.3 is its poorer display quality , poorer camera, poorer speakers n it cannot be used as a phone . The pad is basically a wifi tablet.
You cannot compare these 2 as both are in different category
I opt for this as I always like big display phone. Unlike some pocketability is great n never an issue for me. I can even fit in Nexus7 inside my deep side pockets
Both has no bugs ( significantly noticeable yet)

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 27 2014, 11:13 AM

39 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:35 PM