The Nexus 5 Official Thread V6, 4.4.3 on beta phase.. :3
Someonesim
Apr 8 2014, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Apr 8 2014, 02:09 PM) Maybe sooner or later, i prefer minimalist style, but i think i will get bored of the interface soon. Nexus 5 benchmark test results shows some really good result even thou at a lower price than flagship phone.  Not much sense in benchmark now. Samsung/HTC/Sony/whatever had tweaks for their phone to perform higher in benchmark, no point compare Nexus 5's benchmark point to cheating results. In terms of user experience, should be safe to say no phone can match Nexus 5's smoothness.
TSmudkipryan94
Apr 8 2014, 02:23 PM
Walao... buy phine see benchmark ?  buy it n use it la bai... ==.. and even thou, 1st day grabbed my Nexus 5 just straight forward unlock BL n flash roms lo...
ttz
Apr 8 2014, 02:35 PM
Guys, is it considered a defect/weak vibrator motor if I can't feel the Nexus 5 vibrating when set to vibrate mode in my pocket? When hold on hand can feel the vibration but it's very weak. When place on table the phone will not move an inch when it vibrates but there is a very soft sound of vibration of course. I searched and I don't think I have the loose vibrator motor problem but it definitely is damn weak compared to other phones.
Someonesim
Apr 8 2014, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(ttz @ Apr 8 2014, 02:35 PM) Guys, is it considered a defect/weak vibrator motor if I can't feel the Nexus 5 vibrating when set to vibrate mode in my pocket? When hold on hand can feel the vibration but it's very weak. When place on table the phone will not move an inch when it vibrates but there is a very soft sound of vibration of course. I searched and I don't think I have the loose vibrator motor problem but it definitely is damn weak compared to other phones. Not sure your definition of vibration strength. As far as I can recall, phone able to vibrate an inch is back in Nokia 3310 generation. You could try increase strength of vibration from apps/kernel. I only know Faux123 kernel enhancement had it, tweaked to 80% and I'm so scared my vibrator will rosak already. EDIT : Tested my phone, I could hear quite loud of vibration sound, but inside isolated meeting room. But to be honest, smartphone's vibrator quite weak that you tend to miss notification time to time. This post has been edited by Someonesim: Apr 8 2014, 02:46 PM
ttz
Apr 8 2014, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Apr 8 2014, 02:42 PM) Not sure your definition of vibration strength. As far as I can recall, phone able to vibrate an inch is back in Nokia 3310 generation. You could try increase strength of vibration from apps/kernel. I only know Faux123 kernel enhancement had it, tweaked to 80% and I'm so scared my vibrator will rosak already. I meant on stock ROM. Not flashing it first cause scared need to warranty. When yours still on stock the vibration how?
Someonesim
Apr 8 2014, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(ttz @ Apr 8 2014, 02:45 PM) I meant on stock ROM. Not flashing it first cause scared need to warranty. When yours still on stock the vibration how? Same, though I'm using custom ROM, but didnt tweak the vibrator as I rarely miss notification. Either it's on office/computer desk, or I had headset connect. Another alternative is to alter your notification. You can customize notification to have longer, repeating vibrate. LightFlow Lite
xxdesire
Apr 8 2014, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Apr 8 2014, 02:42 PM) Not sure your definition of vibration strength. As far as I can recall, phone able to vibrate an inch is back in Nokia 3310 generation. You could try increase strength of vibration from apps/kernel. I only know Faux123 kernel enhancement had it, tweaked to 80% and I'm so scared my vibrator will rosak already. EDIT : Tested my phone, I could hear quite loud of vibration sound, but inside isolated meeting room. But to be honest, smartphone's vibrator quite weak that you tend to miss notification time to time.  80%. I set it to 35% only.
sordanny
Apr 8 2014, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Apr 8 2014, 10:50 AM) Um, all AOSP rom look like stock rom  haha. All roms are different in terms of their customization. Eg: Cataclysm is build from merging of AOSP and stock image. SlimKat build from AOSP. I like Cataclysm as it provides enough customization for me. I used SlimKat before too. Like it too. I use it on my S2. thanks for all your help bro and this unlock/root/install rom exercise was kinda like a roller coaster ride with panic and satisfaction solving all problems + getting things to work in the end but... i just flashed back to stock rom felt it should be the most bug free and stable customisation is not for me i guess. My sorority days are long over i hope google proves me correct
ttz
Apr 8 2014, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Apr 8 2014, 02:51 PM) Same, though I'm using custom ROM, but didnt tweak the vibrator as I rarely miss notification. Either it's on office/computer desk, or I had headset connect. Another alternative is to alter your notification. You can customize notification to have longer, repeating vibrate. LightFlow LiteHmm it's not really the length/longer/repeating vibration is the problem here. The problem is the vibration itself is weak. When I test the vibration constantly vibrating without pause and place it in my pocket I cant feel anything even with jeans. If you place your device on the table and let it vibrate on stock ROM settings can you hear the phone vibrate from say 2-3 meters away? This post has been edited by ttz: Apr 8 2014, 03:07 PM
zaidi
Apr 8 2014, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(auniey @ Apr 8 2014, 10:39 AM) anyone here use leather flip case like this?this is the new type coz have opening for volume rocker and its useful because can stand the phone. i wonder if i use this on my nexus 5, does the wireless charging feature still work? linkI'm using the ROCK Elegant flip case. No issue with wireless charging. QUOTE(sordanny @ Apr 8 2014, 02:58 PM) thanks for all your help bro and this unlock/root/install rom exercise was kinda like a roller coaster ride with panic and satisfaction solving all problems + getting things to work in the end but... i just flashed back to stock rom felt it should be the most bug free and stable customisation is not for me i guess. My sorority days are long over i hope google proves me correct yeah, stock rom no doubt the most stable. replace the kernel if you need more performance. replace dalvik and bionic as well.
xxdesire
Apr 8 2014, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(sordanny @ Apr 8 2014, 02:58 PM) thanks for all your help bro and this unlock/root/install rom exercise was kinda like a roller coaster ride with panic and satisfaction solving all problems + getting things to work in the end but... i just flashed back to stock rom felt it should be the most bug free and stable customisation is not for me i guess. My sorority days are long over i hope google proves me correct If you're rooted, you can flash custom kernel and use those apps that requires root (eg: greenify, kernel app, terminal). Also can flash bionic+dalvik mod to get smoother performance too  If want at least a little customization, can also install gravitybox on xposed haha
auniey
Apr 8 2014, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(zaidi @ Apr 8 2014, 03:43 PM) I'm using the ROCK Elegant flip case. No issue with wireless charging. i think the ROCK elegant flip case is quite thin in the picture compare with the leather flip case.. haiya dilema..
djlah
Apr 8 2014, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(auniey @ Apr 8 2014, 04:36 PM) i think the ROCK elegant flip case is quite thin in the picture compare with the leather flip case.. haiya dilema.. is huge when compare. I'm using ROCK flip case too. working fine.
kllam
Apr 8 2014, 05:13 PM
High benchmark doesn't mean the phone is smooth. Even the Note3 is not as smooth as my N5 according to my fren after he compare his Note3 with my phone
TSmudkipryan94
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Apr 8 2014, 03:48 PM) If you're rooted, you can flash custom kernel and use those apps that requires root (eg: greenify, Gravitybox, Adreno GPU binary, kernel app, terminal). Also can flash bionic+dalvik mod to get smoother performance too  If want at least a little customization, can also install gravitybox on xposed haha   i help you add some things
kllam
QUOTE(sordanny @ Apr 8 2014, 02:58 PM) thanks for all your help bro and this unlock/root/install rom exercise was kinda like a roller coaster ride with panic and satisfaction solving all problems + getting things to work in the end but... i just flashed back to stock rom felt it should be the most bug free and stable customisation is not for me i guess. My sorority days are long over i hope google proves me correct U can stick to stock rom with custom kernel like what i do now.
Someonesim
Apr 8 2014, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(ttz @ Apr 8 2014, 03:06 PM) Hmm it's not really the length/longer/repeating vibration is the problem here. The problem is the vibration itself is weak. When I test the vibration constantly vibrating without pause and place it in my pocket I cant feel anything even with jeans. If you place your device on the table and let it vibrate on stock ROM settings can you hear the phone vibrate from say 2-3 meters away? Not sure trolling or what. 2-3 meters away ? Unless in isolated quiet room. Guess you should compare to other modern smartphone to decide whether it's strong or weak.
Someonesim
Apr 8 2014, 06:42 PM
Would like to ask if anyone running CM ROM ? Am considering getting One+ One which will be unveil on 23rd April, it will be running CM as stock.
ttz
Apr 8 2014, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Apr 8 2014, 06:40 PM) Not sure trolling or what. 2-3 meters away ? Unless in isolated quiet room. Guess you should compare to other modern smartphone to decide whether it's strong or weak. No, I'm not trolling. I'm comparing it with SGS3 and it's definitely much louder than the Nexus 5. Though the I could set the vibration intensity with the Samsung and it's maxed. Basically what I'm trying to ask is what kind of intensity should the vibrator have on default stock 4.4.2 unmodified because I don't know of another person who owns a Nexus 5 to compare it with I could only resort to asking here. If it's too weak then I will try and see if i could warranty it.
TSmudkipryan94
Apr 8 2014, 09:32 PM
oh come on... my N5 vibration stronger leh... ==