post Mar 3 2014, 12:00 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(apendots @ Mar 3 2014, 12:46 AM)
guys, i already did

1.wipe dalvik/cache
2.reflash the rom
3.factory reset

but none of this fix the problem, it still stuck at the slimkat logo.
what should i do?
when you modified the DPI setting, you are doing it in the read-only system partition, and factory reset will not undo this. dalvik cache has nothing to do with it, so it's pretty useless.

not sure why reflashing the rom did not fix it. supposedly it should overwrite your changes.

anyway the easiest way to recover was to connect to adb and see if you can modify via adb shell or pulling the file to desktop and edit it.
http://android.stackexchange.com/questions...to-reboot-phone

otherwise get someone to copy over the build.prop for you to flash via recovery.

This post has been edited by zaidi: Mar 3 2014, 12:01 PM
zaidi
post Mar 6 2014, 05:49 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Mar 6 2014, 05:12 PM)
If i try booting into recovery but i get an icon of android robot with a red triangle, what does it mean?
Already unlock bootloader and rooted
means you don't install 3rd party recovery yet. lay down robot with triangle is the default factory recovery mode
zaidi
post Mar 6 2014, 07:04 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Mar 6 2014, 06:47 PM)
Since I have 30% off on all telco bills:

(39.9*107% + 5.35) x2
(99*107% + 5.35)
(38*107% + 5.35)

= (96.086 + 111.28 + 46.01) x 0.7 = SGD177.36
so jelly of sg people
zaidi
post Mar 9 2014, 11:22 AM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(jeulun @ Mar 9 2014, 11:06 AM)
hi all, just bought my nexus 5 from satugadget, so far everything good.
this morning i woke up it only consume 1% of my battery, i havent root. any recommended apps for this phone? games or anything... not planning to root it because i am very satisfied with it haha.
that is normal for fresh phone. as soon as you add more apps and widget, battery drain will be more.
zaidi
post Mar 12 2014, 02:15 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(ave666 @ Mar 11 2014, 10:21 PM)
Hi guys, okay i'm planning to get the phone that use non amoled tech display and i aiming to this nexus 5 phone. i'm living outside of kl and i can't get cod for this phone only through courier or online store only. is there any reliable online store for me to get this phone? is there any problem when i buy from the online store? if got any problem with the phone can i get replacement? is moto g camera is worse than galaxy s camera? because i'm using samsung galaxy s since 2011 but got screen crack already. thanx for your inputs guys.

wanna sell you galaxy s to me? Rm100 smile.gif

zaidi
post Mar 14 2014, 11:00 AM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Mar 14 2014, 09:06 AM)
+1 Best answers. So funny when people ask for fake N5.  laugh.gif
QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 14 2014, 10:19 AM)
really nak slap people those WHO KEEP ASKING BULLSHIT man.. doh.gif
maybe since there are fake Samsungs, people are quite cautious about the originality. no slapping required. they just want to know smile.gif
zaidi
post Mar 14 2014, 12:19 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Mar 14 2014, 12:04 PM)
Difference between geek and normal user is they always do research. There's difference between noob and lazy. There's always Google. I always googled my problem/question first, if not found then only asked in forum for help. There's build in search function in LYN forum as well. Forum are for discussion, people here are not paid to answer the same question over and over again and again.
actually it's depends on different people. some can tolerate newbies questions, some just can't. even in xda, dev like franco don't like newbies, but stratosk (semaphore kernel) or morphic (trinity kernel) actually promote newbie's questions and answer them personally some times.

anyway we should add FAQ for no such thing as fake nexus5. best check is via boot loader, it should show many critical info there beside imei.

zaidi
post Mar 17 2014, 09:22 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Mar 17 2014, 09:15 PM)
Oh nice. Maybe I'll consider this as well. Thanks for share. Ya, I also wanted similar (stand-upright-kind)
Amazon do ship this to Malaysia, just checked. THough shipping is around 18usd
DIY ;

and this

CODE
http://dx.com/p/qi-standard-wireless-charging-transmitter-module-green-298892#.Uyb2vj-SwQQ

so you will like to have ~RM40 qi...

zaidi
post Mar 19 2014, 12:51 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(jazwanra @ Mar 19 2014, 12:08 PM)
Hi geng, just received slim armor view for nexus 5 from amazon...will update picture later.[attachmentid=3896322][attachmentid=3896328]
nice. the style view cover apps is it downloadable?
zaidi
post Mar 24 2014, 12:24 AM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(man3 @ Mar 23 2014, 10:50 AM)
mine also at the same place.... exactly like yours...
mine the same. does not bother about it now. maybe will try hairdryer method
zaidi
post Mar 26 2014, 05:09 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Mar 26 2014, 03:58 PM)
yo guys...

Been using my N5 for a few weeks now. Just the usual whatsapp, chrome, FB... nothing else

These few days, it's been acting weird. Battery drains like crazy... almost about 8% per hour.

SOT of about 2.5 hours max

Any ideas? I downloaded better batteey stats but i think it needs root to tell me what's ccasing any wakelock?

[attachmentid=3905406]

as u can see, it's a STeep dive downwards
try to check if you have the camera drain issue.
http://nexus5.wonderhowto.com/how-to/updat...exus-5-0151464/
zaidi
post Mar 26 2014, 05:17 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(vanguard @ Mar 26 2014, 05:10 PM)
Got excited about this a few days ago. Celcom now supports Nexus 5 US edition's LTE. Got LTE around PJ, Subang area. Think the coverage ain't good though, not sure about Maxis or Digi. But I'm pretty sure Celcom is the first to support LTE for Nexus 5 US edition!

Me --> Among the first Nexus 5 owners in Msia wink.gif
You meant celcom now support additional LTE band or you happens to get D821 Nexus 5 from the US?
zaidi
post Mar 26 2014, 05:28 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 26 2014, 05:24 PM)
Maybe he just get activate his SIM card today for LTE? hmm.gif
looks like it. no point for celcom to support US bands here when only limited number of US phones brought in
zaidi
post Mar 29 2014, 11:15 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(tcw90 @ Mar 29 2014, 10:51 PM)
Got my Nexus 5 from Direct-D this evening.
Going to stay in stock for few days 1st.
bad idea unless you don't migrate from your old phone yet. when you want to root, it will reset everything to factory and you need to redo the migration again.
zaidi
post Mar 31 2014, 03:27 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(archiq @ Mar 31 2014, 03:11 PM)
Hi! I'm new here.. just got this N5 a few weeks ago.

I just got a problem. I try to root my N5, but my machine (Win 7 64bit) can't detect it when in adb mode (usb debugging enabled), but can only detect it (install driver correctly) in fastboot mode or usb debug off. I have tried all sort of drivers.. LG United, Google SDK, universal.. but no avail..

can i proceed to unlock, install custom recoveries, and if possible, root it without the ADB driver? hope someone can shed some light here..
sila beri tunjuk ajar ye sifoo..  sad.gif
actually you just need the fastboot one to flash custom recovery. from recovery you can flash files downloaded in /download

it's ok if it's not detected in ADB. you can still flash when you have the custom recvoery running.
zaidi
post Apr 3 2014, 02:03 AM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 2 2014, 03:47 PM)
Moto X vs. Nexus 5
AMOLED vs. IPS+
Li-Ion 2200 mA vs. Li-Po 2300 mAh

there is pro n con both display technology.
QUOTE(Black Red @ Apr 2 2014, 04:43 PM)
thanks for the reply bro. I heard Moto X is coming in, so I do comparison for both phones.

Nexus is still my favourite, I was a SG Nexus user before this. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(yujy @ Apr 2 2014, 10:29 PM)
So guys, since moto x is officially coming to bolehland. Which one is better? N5 or Moto X? Price difference not much, moto X rm1299 storekini
QUOTE(reanimation_84 @ Apr 3 2014, 12:31 AM)
Thanks for the heads up. Moto X is looking pretty good at this moment. whistling.gif
motoX still using old dual-core krait, while N5 using quad S800. The quad is more power hungry unless totally power off by cpu governor.

motoX AMOLED is power saving as well, as black will not use much power. SIPS+ screen on N5 will use same power irregardless of the color of pixel.

so if you want performance, N5 is better with S800, but battery saving, MotoX wins with it's lesser core and AMOLED screen. Beside, the closed sourced dalvik/bionic optimized seems performs better than google's open sourced ones.

zaidi
post Apr 7 2014, 01:38 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(jun_ng_1208 @ Apr 7 2014, 12:54 PM)
So guys, previously I mentioned about a wireless Qi PowerBank smile.gif now I've got the details for it from my supplier biggrin.gif refer below:

Power Bank: 5450mAh
Charging Mode: Wireless Qi Contact Charging
Input: DC 5V / 1.5A
Output: 5V / 1000mA (1A)
Transmit Watt: 5W
Receive Distance: 5mm

Price will be RM 250/pc and shipping period required will be 3-4 weeks smile.gif

To be honest, I think it's a bit expensive...what do you guys think?
expensive. I think I'd seen square one power bank with Qi for RM199 in garage sale.
or select cheapest;
http://www.dx.com/s/qi+power+bank
zaidi
post Apr 7 2014, 07:34 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Apr 7 2014, 07:29 PM)
guys
flash kernel first or rom first?
any good combination can recommend?

my priority is bug free & good battery life
thanks smile.gif
if want to move from stock rom, should be ROM first then kernel. if stay with stock ROM, kernel first loh tongue.gif
zaidi
post Apr 8 2014, 03:43 PM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(auniey @ Apr 8 2014, 10:39 AM)
anyone here use leather flip case like this?this is the new type coz have opening for volume rocker and its useful because can stand the phone. i wonder if i use this on my nexus 5, does the wireless charging feature still work?

link
I'm using the ROCK Elegant flip case. No issue with wireless charging.

QUOTE(sordanny @ Apr 8 2014, 02:58 PM)
thanks for all your help bro
and this unlock/root/install rom exercise was kinda like a roller coaster ride with panic and satisfaction solving all problems + getting things to work in the end

but... i just flashed back to stock rom
felt it should be the most bug free and stable  rolleyes.gif
customisation is not for me i guess. My sorority days are long over
i hope google proves me correct
yeah, stock rom no doubt the most stable. replace the kernel if you need more performance. replace dalvik and bionic as well.
zaidi
post Apr 10 2014, 09:22 AM

1,738 posts

QUOTE(yujy @ Apr 9 2014, 11:44 PM)
Guys, is anyone experiencing spiderweb issues will nillkin glass screen protectors? Is it a batch problem or an individual problem?
I do have the spider web issue as well. after around 2 weeks try spend 5 mins consistent pushing on the spot and now it's gone and now perfect install

0.0511sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:13 PM