41 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

University Monash University Thread V4, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS 2016: 67!! THES 2016: 73!! up up up!!

SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 20 2015, 07:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Handgelato @ Sep 20 2015, 11:49 AM)
Hi, anybody know what is the singapore equivalent of the entry requirements for monash business and commerce course?
a-levels or poly dip or IB.. dont think ITE is accepted... as in cgpa/results... better call monash directly
Screen
post Sep 21 2015, 02:01 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(Handgelato @ Sep 20 2015, 08:57 PM)
What are the a level requirements??
What mathematics standard is required?? (important)
I message them alr but no reply
You need AS/A-Levels Maths (I forgot which one, Year 12 Maths they said) for courses in the business school.

7 points in A-Levels, which converts to CDD as minimum entry requirements.

http://www.monash.edu.my/study/entry-requi...ng-entry-scores

http://www.monash.edu.my/study/undergradua...siness-commerce

This post has been edited by Screen: Sep 21 2015, 02:05 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 1 2015, 03:57 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

Monash University Ranked Top 73 in recent THES 2015-16 Ranking

AUSTRALIAN universities have performed strongly in the latest international rankings but the government needs to boost higher education funding to sustain the trend, a key monitoring group says.

THE 2015-16 Times Higher Education World University rankings released on Wednesday show Australia is the seventh most represented country out of 70 surveyed, with eight institutions in the top 200 and 22 in the top 400.

The University of Melbourne is the top Australian performer, maintaining the 33rd placing it held last year.

The Australian National University (ANU) was next in line and was the only Australian institution in the top eight to lose ground, falling from 45th to 52nd.

Sydney University came in at 56th, up from 60th last year.

Rankings editor Phil Baty said Australian universities had a very good year, notably scoring higher in the quality of their research work and its pick-up globally.

But he told AAP the future funding of the sector needed to be addressed as universities would struggle to maintain high performance and research outputs "without generous financial support, be it from government or the private sector".
"World class universities need world class funding, they need the resources to pay the salaries to retain the academic staff, to attract top research staff from around the world".
Mr Baty said that in 2014 research and development spending in Australia dropped to its lowest level since 1984 - 2.2 per cent of the federal budget.

"Australia will have to raise its game to ensure it can compete with the leading Western powerhouses of the US and the UK and rising stars in Asia that are heavily investing in research."

Mr Baty said any money the government put into higher education would be paid back through innovation, technological developments and educated graduates who paid their taxes.

Topping the global university rankings overall was the California Institute of Technology followed by Oxford University then Stanford University.

RANKING OF AUSTRALIAN UNIVERSITIES IN 2015-16

Last year's ranking in parentheses
University of Melbourne 33 (33)
Australian National University 52 (45)
University of Sydney 56 (60)
University of Queensland Australia 60 (65)
Monash University 73 (83)<<<---10 spot improvement
University of New South Wales 82 (109)
University of Western Australia 109 (157)
University of Adelaide 149 (164)
OVERALL
California Institute of Technology (US) 1 (1)
University of Oxford (UK) 2 (3)
Stanford University (US) 3 (4)
University of Cambridge (UK) 4 (5)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (US) 5 (6)
Harvard University (US) 6 (2)
Princeton University (US) 7 (7)
Imperial College London (UK) 8 (9)
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich 9 (13)
University of Chicago (US) 10 (11)

Source: Times Higher Education

click below for full ranking
https://www.timeshighereducation.com/world-...ge/0/length/100
ryan95
post Oct 7 2015, 05:46 PM

31 posts

Guys I'm gonna finish up my SAM and I was going to apply to Monash University Malaysia to do my BA, until is saw these horrible, horrific employee reviews. shocking.gif

http://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/Monash-Un...tatus=PART_TIME

All of the employees mention a "toxic culture", "bad pay masters", "worse academic institution is South East Asia/ Malaysia", "Australian University as a Malaysian Business, run for your life". "Dwindling enrollment rate", "% of the staff got fired, % going to quit, etc"

Can I hear from the students? I just can't imagine studying there would be a pleasant experience. If your lecturers feel they are treated bad or working for a terrible employer or are generally unhappy, how will they find the motivation to impart their knowledge to their students?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 7 2015, 05:58 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ryan95 @ Oct 7 2015, 05:46 PM)
Guys I'm gonna finish up my SAM and I was going to apply to Monash University Malaysia to do my BA, until is saw these horrible, horrific employee reviews. shocking.gif

All of the employees mention a "toxic culture", "bad pay masters", "worse academic institution is South East Asia/ Malaysia", "Australian University as a Malaysian Business, run for your life". "Dwindling enrollment rate", "% of the staff got fired, % going to quit, etc"

Can I hear from the students? I just can't imagine studying there would be a pleasant experience. If your lecturers feel they are treated bad or working for a terrible employer or are generally unhappy, how will they find the motivation to impart their knowledge to their students?
why is your results filtered? hmm.gif
ryan95
post Oct 7 2015, 06:41 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Oct 7 2015, 05:58 PM)
why is your results filtered?  hmm.gif
Because the reviews were showing for all the Monash campuses in the world including Australia and South Africa. So I filtered to only show Malaysian reviews. The Clayton and Caulfield campuses have decent reviews but I think the Malaysian campus reviews are actually pulling the the ratings for the entire Monash page.

This post has been edited by ryan95: Oct 7 2015, 06:41 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 7 2015, 09:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ryan95 @ Oct 7 2015, 06:41 PM)
Because the reviews were showing for all the Monash campuses in the world including Australia and South Africa. So I filtered to only show Malaysian reviews. The Clayton and Caulfield campuses have decent reviews but I think the Malaysian campus reviews are actually pulling the the ratings for the entire Monash page.
might be true...
evofantasy
post Oct 8 2015, 07:01 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

i will say these are the vocal minorities.
sure pressure and expectations are high, but this is what expected if you are aiming to be good (had lecturer who just randomly quit from stress lol). you can say that teaching here isn't a walk in the park especially with the student diversity (thus the high turnover).
i can't speak for the other schools, but mine is pretty good so far especially the consistent contact with the MUA (school ranked much higher than the general ranking).
enjoyed teaching here and shall continue to do so.

PS: enrollment rate is increasing, else we wouldn't be needing more and more carparks lolx

PS2: one of the "reviewer" can't even spell lousy right, spelled it as "louzy" doh.gif . Another couldn't spell "weak" right. Sorry but it is hard to take such reviews seriously if they claim to be academicians

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Oct 8 2015, 07:15 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 8 2015, 11:25 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

some vids to share;

flight
post Oct 14 2015, 09:20 PM

1,567 posts

For ppl looking for accommodation. There is Casa Subang starting from rm400 for a single room and Impian meridian from rm550 per room. Just one brt stop away from monash.
On campus it is something like rm1150 per month. And there r tons of fees as well..
TechnoG
post Oct 18 2015, 11:38 PM

9,337 posts

I am pretty close to some of my tutors (younger ones of course), and yup it is somewhat like that hahhaa
management is very very strict and the toxic culture is somewhat true I guess.

as some monashians would know that there are PASS(peer assisted study session) class that is taught by previous high achieving seniors, guess how much they are paid per class? RMxx jusco vouchers.
evofantasy
post Oct 19 2015, 12:17 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Oct 18 2015, 11:38 PM)
I am pretty close to some of my tutors (younger ones of course), and yup it is somewhat like that hahhaa
management is very very strict and the toxic culture is somewhat true I guess.

as some monashians would know that there are PASS(peer assisted study session) class that is taught by previous high achieving seniors, guess how much they are paid per class? RMxx jusco vouchers.
the vouchers are due to the regulations that you can't pay out cash to students thus it could only be vouchers
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 19 2015, 12:22 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 19 2015, 12:17 AM)
the vouchers are due to the regulations that you can't pay out cash to students thus it could only be vouchers
is it.. i got rm80/hour last think i think... during 4th year tutoring newbies
evofantasy
post Oct 19 2015, 01:54 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Oct 19 2015, 12:22 AM)
is it.. i got rm80/hour last think i think... during 4th year tutoring newbies
he meant the PASS session.
PASS sessions are additional optional sessions where seniors act as mentor for the juniors for selected units.
it isn't consider a tutorial session.
things get more complicated when it involve international students (especially when they act as PASS tutors) due to the recent regulations for international students because they can't be paid (as students).

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Oct 19 2015, 01:57 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 19 2015, 02:00 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 19 2015, 01:54 PM)
he meant the PASS session.
PASS sessions are additional optional sessions where seniors act as mentor for the juniors for selected units.
it isn't consider a tutorial session.
things get more complicated when it involve international students (especially when they act as PASS tutors) due to the recent regulations for international students because they can't be paid (as students).
well... then there's nothing to complain about... dont like dont do... if do, do well... wanna do and kpkb then it is a joke
evofantasy
post Oct 19 2015, 02:52 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Oct 19 2015, 02:00 PM)
well... then there's nothing to complain about... dont like dont do... if do, do well... wanna do and kpkb then it is a joke
there are a lot of first world problems around here sadly >.<
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 19 2015, 04:00 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 19 2015, 02:52 PM)
there are a lot of first world problems around here sadly >.<
well. glad to hear that these problems pop up... hope the school can solve it soon... i believe they are already more than breaking even on the financial side... time to improve on other aspects of the school
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 19 2015, 07:11 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

Monash University shines in US News & World Report 2016 league table

The latest global university ranking has given the thumbs up to antipodean higher education, with Australia rated among the top five countries in one out of two subject areas.

But the new scorecard shows that Australia’s pre-eminence in the Asia-Pacific has now been well and truly usurped, after China leapfrogged traditional heavyweights Germany and Britain to claim second place in the US News & World Report’s ‘Best Global Universities Rankings’.

The new league table is the second international ranking from US News, which has rated US colleges for more than 30 years. But unlike the US-specific Best Colleges list, which takes account of graduation rates and entry scores, the global version is based purely on research metrics.

US News claims its offering is superior because it gives every rated university an individual ranking. Rivals such as Shanghai Jiao Tong University’s ‘Academic Ranking of World Universities’ and Times Higher Education’s ‘World University Rankings’ group lesser institutions in brackets of 50 or 100.

US News has also emulated THE in expanding its list, with 750 universities ranked this year — up from 500 in 2014. US News has also crunched its data to compile individual profiles of 32 countries, up from 11 last year, and to debut a regional ranking for Africa.

The new league table also features a subject ranking for arts & humanities, bringing the number of discipline areas profiled to 22. Australia was rated equal third best country in arts & humanities behind the US and UK.

Australia also ranked third in economics & business, environment & ecology and social sciences & public health. It was rated fourth in computer science and plants & animal sciences, and fifth in agricultural sciences, engineering, geosciences, immunology and psychiatry & psychology.

But US News displays none of the modesty of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, which this year ranked itself in the 101-150 bracket. The new table rated the US first in all 22 subject areas and easily the leading country overall, with 181 of the world’s best universities.

The top four spots went to US institutions, led by perennial list-topper Harvard University. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of California Berkeley and Stanford followed, with Oxford and Cambridge Universities rounding out the top six.

Melbourne was the best Australian university, claiming 40th place, followed by Sydney (51st), Queensland (52nd), Australian National University (80th), Monash (84th) and University of NSW (90th). Fellow sandstones University of Western Australia and Adelaide made the top 200, with another 18 Australian institutions ranked between 300 and 700.

Griffith University rankings expert Tony Sheil said Australia had repeated last year’s feat, with 20 local institutions in the world top 500. “University funding in Australia for teaching and research is clearly well invested,” he said.

“Unfortunately the Australian university sector is underfunded in terms of revenue per student compared to many overseas universities listed on the equivalent ranking bands. Scale keeps us in the game. While the university sector cannot exactly cry poor, it is nonetheless vulnerable.”
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 20 2015, 08:44 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

Monash University Malaysia invites everyone to join in the fun at the Maybank Open Day happening from 21st to 23rd October! Stand a chance to be one of the first 50 participants to walk away with a mystery gift or be the lucky winner of an attractive prize for the lucky draw. Bring a friend and come on over to the Maybank @ Monash Lounge.

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Oct 20 2015, 08:45 PM
hwachong
post Oct 28 2015, 11:08 PM

773 posts

Grad abt 2 years back - from my experience & those in my social circle, it was a pleasant uni experience thumbup.gif

95% lecturers, tutors & quite importantly too - my peers, were awesome and helpful. Think it depends on the faculty too..Maybe another way for us to help you, which other uni are you considering?

41 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:51 PM