41 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

University Monash University Thread V4, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS 2016: 67!! THES 2016: 73!! up up up!!

Fat & Fluffy
post Jan 5 2016, 05:34 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Nov 30 2015, 04:54 PM)
Anyone from engineering here? yawn.gif Would like to know how seniors build the egg car for the  catapult..
Any ideas and advices would be appreciated!
Currently brain stucked and very stress sad.gif
These are the competition details:
Objective

Design and build a "vehicle" that is powered only by one standard rubber band to transport a raw chicken egg the greatest possible horizontal displacement without breaking the egg.
Rules

1. The vehicle must be constructed from basic components. The components, however, cannot be parts from toy cars. Otherwise, there is no restriction on the material that could be used for the vehicle.

2. The vehicle must not have any parts that can rotate. The egg must not rotate also while the vehicle is moving and must remain on the vehicle so you might want to use a "seatbelt" for the egg.

3. You must design and construct your own catapult using only one standard rubber band. The rubber band may be cut but it may not be treated with chemicals or heated or cooled.

4. The vehicle must be launched using a catapult.

5. The catapult with the rubber band must be anchored to the ground at the starting point.

6. You are not allowed to use any lubricant in the form of liquid (including ice) or powder for test-runs.

7. Displacement will be measured relative to the centre point of the egg.
very ez... u take 2 plastic styrofoam plate... attach it using stay stick... between 2 plates... poke hole at the plates and tie rubber bad stretching it to each side of the plate... then stick rubber band to egg... rolling the egg will cause the band to be elastic.. that's your energy storage... then as you let go, the egg will not move but the plates will roll instead.... tips: use the heaviest egg, grade AAAA and use the biggest and lightest plates with strongest bad.. i was the record holder in my year and was given a cup by dr.lan

QUOTE(yapckluke @ Dec 5 2015, 12:14 AM)
Guys, Would you recommend monash university/ taylor university for computer science?
QUOTE(yapckluke @ Dec 8 2015, 07:25 PM)
Hi, i am interested in computer sc in Monash. However, I am not a superb when it comes to mathematics. i am afraid cs in Monash has tough mathematics and thus this will gradually affect my results? Furthermore, how about the current job market for IT industry in Malaysia?

Do share some subject and guide me on which electives/courses to take while I am undertaking cs in monash next year. cheers!
heard CS is very tough... fren drop out to do IT
aec166
post Jan 8 2016, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(Jayden97 @ Nov 21 2015, 04:21 PM)
Hi Lowyat. Just finished AUSMAT in Sunway College this year and wish to proceed to Bachelor of Accounting and Finance.
Torn between Sunway University Bsc Accounting/finance accredited by Lancester University or Monash Malaysia Bachelor of Commerce (maj. Accounting).
Any seniors can give advice on both the courses in terms of difficulty, reputation and in general?
One of my seniors told me the course in Sunway was easier compared to Monash and their friends were suffering in Monash. (not that I'm not up to a challenge).
If it's worth mentioning, I am most likely eligible for full scholarship in Sunway (ATAR >95), however, it would be tricky for Monash case (RM10k a year for 3 years) if I achieve ATAR 98. cry.gif

Thanks in advance!
For Accounting,your goal is ACCA,CPA,MICPA...
If for ACCA which grant you Master of Science Professional Accounting from University College London,please DO NOT proceed to MONASH MALAYSIA.You will not get full exemptions of F1-F9 papers from ACCA,meaning still have to waste time and money to complete your Foundation papers.
MONASH Malaysia NOT keen to seek F papers exemptions from ACCA. Most students face this problems and even you reflect to the University,they ask you to go for others like CPA....

rclxub.gif
Fat & Fluffy
post Jan 8 2016, 11:19 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(aec166 @ Jan 8 2016, 01:15 PM)
If for ACCA which grant you Master of Science Professional Accounting from University College London,please DO NOT proceed to MONASH MALAYSIA.You will not get full exemptions of F1-F9 papers from ACCA,meaning still have to waste time and money to complete your Foundation papers.
MONASH Malaysia NOT keen to seek F papers exemptions from ACCA. Most students face this problems and even you reflect to the University,they ask you to go for others like CPA....

rclxub.gif
personal opinion;

if your goal is to be a book keeper then by all means even skip the academic degrees and go for professional qualification

if you want to go beyond that... choose the best school that can provide you that..
BravoZeroTwo
post Jan 8 2016, 04:05 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Jan 8 2016, 12:19 PM)
personal opinion;

if your goal is to be a book keeper then by all means even skip the academic degrees and go for professional qualification

if you want to go beyond that... choose the best school that can provide you that..
Can pls help recommend the school ? Can pm me if it is sensitive here. Thanks.
Fat & Fluffy
post Jan 10 2016, 09:06 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jan 8 2016, 06:05 PM)
Can pls help recommend the school ? Can pm me if it is sensitive here. Thanks.
heh... i thought you're studying liao

QUOTE(Paneuropa @ Jan 10 2016, 10:14 AM)
book keeper (usually marry earlier, dont need to do presentation, after grad mostly still macam secondary school kid pattern)
not all are like that... cause a lot in msia took the acca route.. but 21 a lot are working liao... so... maturity a little on the lower side, nonetheless there're exceptions to everything
cxjiek
post Jan 20 2016, 12:00 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(aec166 @ Jan 8 2016, 11:15 AM)

rclxub.gif
ACCA gave me 9 exemptions. This includes F9. First registered in mid 2013.

CPA x2 cost of ACCA if paid by yourself.
iceandmilo
post Jan 26 2016, 05:29 PM

193 posts

Wow so there is a thread for Monash!
There are so many questions i wanted to ask, but there is one thing which is most important to me.
How do i get scholarships for studying engineering degree, if i apply from uec.
I read from the website is 5K discount if i get 6 A, how about above 6? what are the discounts drool.gif
Fat & Fluffy
post Jan 27 2016, 10:25 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(iceandmilo @ Jan 26 2016, 07:29 PM)
Wow so there is a thread for Monash!
There are so many questions i wanted to ask, but there is one thing which is most important to me.
How do i get scholarships for studying engineering degree, if i apply from uec.
I read from the website is 5K discount if i get 6 A, how about above 6? what are the discounts  drool.gif
there's 2 types of scholarship...

1. entry - you apply this upon entry
2. merit - you apply this with your uni course results

*you can lose either if your grades fall below certain level

as for your question... you have to see the counselor, these days full scholarship is no longer auto, need to go through interview..
Hojiakbarov
post Feb 1 2016, 02:31 AM

Hey guys! I am planning to study business in monash, wanna major in economics. Do you recommend me this uni?
Fat & Fluffy
post Feb 1 2016, 07:45 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Hojiakbarov @ Feb 1 2016, 04:31 AM)
Hey guys! I am planning to study business in monash, wanna major in economics. Do you recommend me this uni?
are u local?

which campus are you looking at?
Hojiakbarov
post Feb 1 2016, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Feb 1 2016, 07:45 AM)
are u local?

which campus are you looking at?
Im not local. The malaysian campus

Im not from malaysia bu i study in a school here in malaysia, so afteri graduate which is not too far from now, i wanted to enrol in MUFY.
Fat & Fluffy
post Feb 1 2016, 11:43 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Hojiakbarov @ Feb 1 2016, 01:35 PM)
Im not local. The malaysian campus

Im not from malaysia bu i study in a school here in malaysia, so afteri graduate which is not too far from now, i wanted to enrol in MUFY.
you sure the msian campus have major in econs? if you plan to study in the msian campus do you plan to transfer/exchange at the aus campus?
Hojiakbarov
post Feb 1 2016, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Feb 1 2016, 11:43 AM)
you sure the msian campus have major in econs? if you plan to study in the msian campus do you plan to transfer/exchange at the aus campus?
In their website they say they offer major in ecinomics and they provided the fee info for 2016, so i thougjt they offer, do they not?
About transfer, i read that you can only transfer to aus campus for a semester, then u should come back to malaysian campus, correct me if im wrong.
Hojiakbarov
post Feb 1 2016, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Feb 1 2016, 11:43 AM)
My bad, i checked again and they actually dont offer major in economics.
Hojiakbarov
post Feb 1 2016, 11:54 AM

QUOTE(jonrulezz @ Dec 7 2015, 04:06 PM)
yup that's true. with the really high requirements, the intake was too low. apparently fewer than 10 students hahah.
Why does the website still show information, like the duration and fees for 2016 etc., about commerce?
chaxiupao
post Feb 17 2016, 12:16 AM

453 posts

closed

This post has been edited by xiaobaiwm: Aug 17 2021, 05:31 PM
chaxiupao
post Feb 17 2016, 12:19 AM

453 posts

closed

This post has been edited by xiaobaiwm: Aug 17 2021, 05:31 PM
Fat & Fluffy
post Feb 17 2016, 10:34 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Hojiakbarov @ Feb 1 2016, 01:48 PM)
About transfer, i read that you can only transfer to aus campus for a semester, then u should come back to malaysian campus, correct me if im wrong.
that's exchange...

QUOTE(Hojiakbarov @ Feb 1 2016, 01:54 PM)
Why does the website still show information, like the duration and fees for 2016 etc.,  about commerce?
sure is not buss n comm?

QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Feb 17 2016, 02:16 AM)
So, D-Frog how is ur cs experience? Many dropout in your year? Will u recommend to go cs in Monash?
cs is tough in monash... cause grads are expected to pop straight into job mkt upon grad, a lot gets hired straight before graduation due to the high standards... but dont know whether monash msia still offers that course...
chaxiupao
post Feb 17 2016, 10:40 AM

453 posts

closed

This post has been edited by xiaobaiwm: Aug 17 2021, 05:32 PM
Fat & Fluffy
post Feb 17 2016, 11:19 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Feb 17 2016, 12:40 PM)
Cs is harder compare to Sunway University? And also harder than eee engineering at Monash?
cant give a direct comparison as i have not been to both schools for the same course but generally yes, monash do uphold a higher standard.... which might or might not be a good thing

eee is a different course, there's no direct comparison... skip eee, cs have better prospects

41 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:59 PM