QUOTE(ReWeR @ Jul 15 2006, 06:57 PM)
2. During interview we should wear properly but should not over-emphasize on it. Wearing a tie does not make you a better employee, choose not to breast-feeding doesn't make you a bad mother, wearing Nike won't make you an excellent athlete, and put Armani on your body doesn't turn you into hunk. So stop materialize people! Wearing properly during work is consider a polite and good habbit but choose not to doesn't mean this person is evil and unprofessional.
In any etiquette classes or training, in work, you are required to wear tie. Also depending on company policy as well. Like In Shell Malaysia, certain departments are allowed to wear casually. Same goes with Microsoft. Most of the wear is shirt and jeans.
Other company would require you to wear formally especially in an interview. Not to the extend of wearing coats, just ties and well ironed shirt will do. It's always the first impression always counts regardless whether you can perform as an employee or not.
So based on your remarks here, I can visualize you as someone with the "tidak apa" attitude in dressing and do not care in what people think of you as long you are right.
Furthermore, what you wear also should ease for your work, I'm a programmer I can tell you I can't do my work if I'm wearing long sleeve, well if the company don't mind hiring me sit there to show off long sleeve and pay me salary, I really wouldn't mind. Do they know Microsoft and Google head office's staffs are wearing quite casual only (T-shirt and jean), but that doesn't make them a lousy company is it? Further more, do they know this is Malaysia, not US or Europe, why they force our nation wear something that is not belong to our climate? No wonder people always look down at us, to them we are nothing much of blind slaves who even willing to wear something not suit our climate at all in order to please those foreigners. When will people start realize the most important thing we go to work is to finish our job professionally instead become an eye candy to those dog of western culture?
Like it or not... it far better than wearing a baju melayu and kain songket right? It's to you to choose the materials of your clothing. Be it Polyester or Cotton. If you are mainly on the go, choose 100%cotton to absorb the sweat. In this I don't see any qualms for dressing smartly with ties to work.
By the way, if you are complaining so much about your company dressing code, then apply to Microsoft.
3. Since young I already know wearing black leather shoe with black sock eventhough most of my classmates and friend never realize that and wear all sort of color especially white sock ... But I never go around them and say: "Wah ... you wear wrong sock, haiz ... what a poor creature, I think I can't continue be friend with you since you can't even properly presenting yourself!". jinyee80, I think your boss seriously need to take some EQ course and improve his IQ as well. If wearing a wrong sock won't make a person to be bad then wearing wrong salso won't make a presentation become bad either. Does he educated enough to know a proper and polite way is to approach that guy after the presentation and suggest him the proper dress code. Dress code is a personal habbit so why is someone dumb enough to relate it to prefessional work performance? I hope your boss next time won't pointing at the drinking machine and scolding this drink water doesn't meet the ISO:9000 standard and this will lower your company public image, or refuse to take a cab because the driver is a smoker, which your boss firmly believe a person who can't manage of his health will also not be able to manage driving a cab either.
I think you are the one who needs an EQ test. As mentioned by Jin Yee, they are expecting a presentation done by an advertising company which by common sense needs high quality in taste in fashion and colours. So what her boss did is right.
And refuse to take a cab because he is a smoker? You are giving the wrong examples. What does transportation has to do with health?
Seriously, most of the important and busy persons wear very casual only, cause they have alot more important things to do. An example would be Bill Gates who only wearing plastic watch, I hope your boss won't scolding Mr Gates for having such a low standard and unprofossional dress code and refuse to cooperate with him because obviously Mr Gates can't even present himself properly for Micrososft.
EDIT: Typo
If you have lots of money no one is stopping you. But since you are the lowest hierarchy in the coperate world, dress well
I've even seen a nose picking, phleghm spitting chinaman with short pants being chauffeur by a Ah Mat. As long as u have the money why not?