Tahan Mati, Wat should i do when some1 throw a bomb

jinyee80
post Jul 15 2006, 01:13 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

I was having my interview tis evening, my interview wasnt going smoothly. I was being ask 1 question "r u tahan mati", "Can u work 24 hours not stop for 2 weeks?"  I really dont noe how 2 answer tat question.

Besides tat, d interviewer condemn me for not buttoning my sleeve. And actually i was doing the interview test for d programming before going into the interview room, so its usual for me to unbutton my sleeve for my better hand movement and the programming test is oni 1hour using d language i've not been using be4. fortunately i was being told tat i can find resources on9 to complete my test.

D interview say she actually emphasize on ppl wearing tie in d interview for better impression. Actually i was wearing tie for almost all my interview be4 tis interview, but lot of d interviewee doesnt wear tie either, maybe d tis kind of job doesnt need to dress so formally, so i decided not to wear tis in this interview.
They want your commitment instead. Tell them you will commit the job and of course you yourself should emphasize yourself that work-life balance is also important but don't tell them that, just say you can work well.

Regarding the attire stuff, I would say that its really a standard to button up the sleeve and to put on tie evern though others might not do so. Once, I followed my boss ( he's a foreigner ) and other colleague for a meeting about some deal with an advertising firm. My 'ang mo' boss spotted that the person who was presenting the proposal for us wore black leather shoe but with grey color sock, immediately my boss stood up and said ' sorry, we couldn't proceed anymore, you can't even dress yourself up, you are representing your company and this is the way how you represent your company. '

Then, after consulting the speaker from our company grooming class, then I knew that its really a standard to wear black socks with black shoe. Told my bf about that too because he likes to wear nike socks..white color somemore...now change already.
jinyee80
post Jul 15 2006, 10:11 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Jul 15 2006, 08:56 PM)
In any etiquette classes or training, in work, you are required to wear tie. Also depending on company policy as well. Like In Shell Malaysia, certain departments are allowed to wear casually. Same goes with Microsoft. Most of the wear is shirt and jeans.
Other company would require you to wear formally especially in an interview. Not to the extend of wearing coats, just ties and well ironed shirt will do. It's always the first impression always counts regardless whether you can perform as an employee or not.
So based on your remarks here, I can visualize you as someone with the "tidak apa" attitude in dressing and do not care in what people think of you as long you are right. 

Like it or not...  it far better than wearing a baju melayu and kain songket right? It's to you to choose the materials of your clothing. Be it Polyester or Cotton. If you are mainly on the go, choose 100%cotton to absorb the sweat. In this I don't see any qualms for dressing smartly with ties to work.

By the way, if you are complaining so much about your company dressing code, then apply to Microsoft.

I think you are the one who needs an EQ test. As mentioned by Jin Yee, they are expecting a presentation done by an advertising company which by common sense needs high quality in taste in fashion and colours. So what her boss did is right. whistling.gif 

And refuse to take a cab because he is a smoker? You are giving the wrong examples. What does transportation has to do with health?

If you have lots of money no one is stopping you. But since you are the lowest hierarchy in the coperate world, dress well  wink.gif 

I've even seen a nose picking, phleghm spitting chinaman with short pants being chauffeur by a Ah Mat. As long as u have the money why not?

thumbup.gif You are right and from your words, I know that you are really a survivor in the corporate world.

0.0171sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:04 PM