182 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

terryble
post Jun 18 2014, 03:13 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Jun 18 2014, 01:10 PM)
Opps. Don't say that. We just wanna be as green as possible. We meet we ride we have fun with lesser emission.

Have fun and ride safe ya.
Meet and ride fun it is then brows.gif
terryble
post Jun 18 2014, 03:15 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Jun 18 2014, 02:12 PM)
That was a hell of crazy solo ride. No support car tailing the ride as there are plenty of inter town bused. That was an epic ride which I may attempt again.

Putting that aside, a short trip to Pulau Ketam from Klang KTM station and back will be fun. Can travel by Komuter, ferry and cycle for a seafood meal on the island.
Sounds like a great day trip
hapyhapy82
post Jun 18 2014, 05:00 PM

123 posts

Anyone try bukit kiara? Good for foldie?
outdoorxplorer
post Jun 18 2014, 06:44 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

QUOTE(hapyhapy82 @ Jun 18 2014, 05:00 PM)
Anyone try bukit kiara? Good for foldie?
great training ground but be careful during decent ....
SaltyBean
post Jun 18 2014, 08:28 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Jun 17 2014, 02:40 PM)
You guys do any long distance ride?..i rode 70km last time at kampar with my Raleigh ugo, I'm missing those days..
Hi how long u own tis ugo? Do u still use it? Tis model is one of d 3 bike i want 2buy? Any comment? Tq
H.K. Lee
post Jun 19 2014, 03:43 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(SaltyBean @ Jun 18 2014, 08:28 PM)
Hi how long u own tis ugo? Do u still use it? Tis model is one of    d 3 bike i want 2buy? Any comment? Tq
bought it about a year ago, sturdy and convincing, stylish enough for me, cheap enough for me. though, a bit on the heavy side, don't like the twist shifter, gear ratio is too low for me because I initially wanted a road bike for speed, I go side by side with my friend normal mtb, max gear only match their 4th. I don't understand why they want to design to such low ratio, I can simply walk faster than the lowest ratio. Does anyone here knows how to modify the gear set? From the look at it, there's no more space though.

buy foldie only when you really need the portability.
SaltyBean
post Jun 19 2014, 08:31 PM

373 posts

Hi HK. Tq for d reply. Initial plan is 2buy a foldee, did consider a mtb. I had tat long time ago, wana try sumtin different. Just wana cycle 4fun n get some exersice after work at ofis. Its within d budget n foldable.
Can it go up path such some slopes at kepong metro park? Dun wana just cycle on flat land..
desastar
post Jun 19 2014, 08:54 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Jun 19 2014, 03:43 PM)
bought it about a year ago, sturdy and convincing, stylish enough for me, cheap enough for me. though, a bit on the heavy side, don't like the twist shifter, gear ratio is too low for me because I initially wanted a road bike for speed, I go side by side with my friend normal mtb, max gear only match their 4th. I don't understand why they want to design to such low ratio, I can simply walk faster than the lowest ratio. Does anyone here knows how to modify the gear set? From the look at it, there's no more space though.

buy foldie only when you really need the portability.
I don't know Ugo bikes, but I bet it is a 7 speed? And with freewheel screw-in cluster instead of cassette. If so, you will need new hub/wheel to be able to change gearing, and possibly the front cranks as well. I got caught with my first folding bike, not knowing anything before. This new one now has road bike gearing and even then it still not as comfortable at speed as a road bike.

You are right, foldies have limitations, speed is one of them, but they make up for portability. If you don't need portability, but a road bike.
H2D
post Jun 20 2014, 11:35 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Jun 19 2014, 08:54 PM)
  This new one now has road bike gearing and even then it still not as comfortable at speed as a road bike.

the new ugo has 52T crank..

and smallest 14T? cog

if u can spin this 52x14 @ bout 90 rpm comfortably on flats for hours

the calculated speed is 36.6 km/h....

usain bolt average speed oso 37.58km/h oni...

how fast u wana cycle? biggrin.gif laugh.gif
180jin
post Jun 20 2014, 11:36 AM

48 posts

yup 7 speed is mostly freewheel, not freehub with cassettes, i also kena this and have to buy new wheelset to mod up to 9 speed cassette.

Anyway, my friends' XDS or Java Fit has 52T biggest chainring and 11T smallest rear cog, so that's road bike gears already, but it'll not be as fast due to 20" wheels.

Then again as desastar said u won't feel comfortable even if u can go fast simply because the geometry (especially the smaller wheels) are not designed to go at road bike speed.
zeliustitan
post Jun 20 2014, 11:42 AM

466 posts

anyone got presta to schrader adapter?
H2D
post Jun 20 2014, 11:45 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Jun 20 2014, 11:36 AM)

but it'll not be as fast due to 20" wheels.

if u r talking solely on speed...

it all depends on how fast u can cycle... biggrin.gif

52x11 if u can do 80rpm its already 41.1kmh already...

smaller wheel takes less effort to spin...

the moulton bicycle was design for racing and it has even smaller wheels...

so it is not bout the wheel size.... laugh.gif
outdoorxplorer
post Jun 20 2014, 11:46 AM

2,028 posts

Folding bikes are meant for commuting and leisure but if speed is the primary objective then a road bike is to be considered instead.

Ride safe.
terryble
post Jun 20 2014, 02:09 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Jun 20 2014, 11:46 AM)
Folding bikes are meant for commuting and leisure but if speed is the primary objective then a road bike is to be considered instead.

Ride safe.
Yeap...if u only wanna go for fast and furious...just go for a road bike...u should be getting much better speed even at low price...

That being said...there are also foldables that emphasize on speed~~
like those super pricey Tern Eclipse series..Dahon Vector series and etc...
even their tires has a great emphasis on speed...just that it comes with big price tag~~

Just that im not sure exactly how fast they could go...

This post has been edited by terryble: Jun 20 2014, 02:10 PM
H2D
post Jun 20 2014, 02:29 PM

598 posts

Wana see how fast foldie can go, jz join sapura kencana foldie men open at sepang, all kind of foldies there, most wana go fast, the dash p18 is most widely used, not expensive n solid... biggrin.gif

outdoorxplorer
post Jun 20 2014, 02:36 PM

2,028 posts

QUOTE(terryble @ Jun 20 2014, 02:09 PM)
Yeap...if u only wanna go for fast and furious...just go for a road bike...u should be getting much better speed even at low price...

That being said...there are also foldables that emphasize on speed~~
like those super pricey Tern Eclipse series..Dahon Vector series and etc...
even their tires has a great emphasis on speed...just that it comes with big price tag~~

Just that im not sure exactly how fast they could go...
Hahaha. We are a group of endurance cyclists with passion good ride and food who practices "biar lambat, janji selamat".
ViRaViRa
post Jun 20 2014, 02:39 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

Finally, a full ride with my new baby. Hehe. Pls count me in if you have any group riding (Except hilly rides. Mine is just a single speed bike sweat.gif ).
zeliustitan
post Jun 20 2014, 02:48 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jun 20 2014, 02:39 PM)
Finally, a full ride with my new baby. Hehe. Pls count me in if you have any group riding (Except hilly rides. Mine is just a single speed bike  sweat.gif ).
i slalu go titiwangsa
StarScream01
post Jun 20 2014, 02:49 PM

73 posts

Finally, a full ride with my new baby. Hehe. Pls count me in if you have any group riding (Except hilly rides. Mine is just a single speed bike  sweat.gif ).
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jun 20 2014, 02:48 PM)
i slalu go titiwangsa
count me in too biggrin.gif
terryble
post Jun 20 2014, 03:13 PM

527 posts

Ermm lake gardens~~??

nice place to cycle?? i always wanted to go there

182 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0237sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:16 PM