147 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

Technical Buyer's Guide / FAQ, No discussion on modded console.

schrodinger_cat
post Sep 27 2007, 03:29 PM

85 posts

Hey there, does Xbox 360 Component HD AV Cable come with a RCA to mini-jack adapter? If not, where should i get such adapter? I wanna customize like this-->http://gear.ign.com/articles/703/703073p2.html
carpathia
post Sep 27 2007, 05:10 PM

2,619 posts

warranty only for purchases from VALID distributors such as those from spore and djinn. i believe if you mod your system, you void your warranty.
so whats the point in buying xbox360.......
i really dun like buying hardware knowing that it will fail me very soon....even my supplier SCE scared to sell XBOX 360, too many hardware failures!

This post has been edited by carpathia: Sep 27 2007, 05:11 PM
PhoenixByte
post Sep 27 2007, 05:22 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

That's the only reason why I'm hesitant to buy 360 although I really love to play some of the games on it. 3ROD is the only thing that's blocking me...I'm not some rich joe that's easy enough to fork out another 1k in case it happen.

I already have a wii and the next step towards another next gen is the PS3. I have nothing against the XBOX 360...it's only that I can't afford to buy another one in case the problem surfaces.

Unless they fix it...I'll hold on to my money for a while.
lim_ryan
post Sep 27 2007, 05:49 PM

110 posts

YEAH me too 3ROD is the only thing that's blocking me.......i know got so many games but its just not make sense when u wait when u gonna axe by 3ROD...
zio
post Sep 27 2007, 05:51 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Dont mod the console then! Then you get warranty for three years. And if your supplier can't help you with the warranty, then buy from one who can.

No one talking about the PS3 hardware problems doesn't mean it does not exist.

3ROD is a problem, but the 3-years warranty should more than cover ur fears for now.
jackal_x2005
post Sep 27 2007, 08:22 PM

236 posts

no worries guys.. rclxms.gif if u ever got hit by 3ROD, i'm sure there are some ppl who offer services to fix the 3ROD problem (via x-clamp method). there are guys like tot31, guardian and few other names. they know the method to solve the 3ROD problem. thumbup.gif
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 27 2007, 09:19 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 27 2007, 05:10 PM)
warranty only for purchases from VALID distributors such as those from spore and djinn. i believe if you mod your system, you void your warranty.
i really dun like buying hardware knowing that it will fail me very soon....even my supplier SCE scared to sell XBOX 360, too many hardware failures!
Then dont mod the system la..If you're buying original console then there should be no worries bout getting 3ROD as there are warranty,unless ure going for the ahem version la.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Sep 27 2007, 09:22 PM
limlim78
post Sep 27 2007, 10:12 PM

98 posts

Or you can buy a new xbox and directly do the water cooling sure no 3rod. Hehe..
crazyconsumer
post Sep 27 2007, 10:16 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Singapore is selling XBOX360 pro, platinum, elite everywhere for S$620, S$715 and S$799
SUSleenaz
post Sep 28 2007, 01:20 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 27 2007, 05:10 PM)
coz ur supplier didnt know how to fix it
everyday got scold by customer
1 simple x-clamp method also take many month to solve

p/s:no heart feeling whistling.gif
raist86
post Sep 28 2007, 01:31 AM

1,577 posts

from what i observe, ppl who complain about xbox 360 rrod are usually those who want to mod their box to play pirated games.

What i can say is, if you want to be a cheapo and rip off game developers, then you deserve the paperweight in your hands when your box dies.

Why can't microsoft just allow their service centers here to accept xbox 360 for repairs.. @.@ it's not like they dun have branch office here.
Thunderbolt
post Sep 28 2007, 01:42 AM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Sep 28 2007, 01:31 AM)
from what i observe, ppl who complain about xbox 360 rrod are usually those who want to mod their box to play pirated games.

What i can say is, if you want to be a cheapo and rip off game developers, then you deserve the paperweight in your hands when your box dies.

Why can't microsoft just allow their service centers here to accept xbox 360 for repairs.. @.@ it's not like they dun have branch office here.

There are tons of problem with Xbox360 owners throughout the world with RROD problem. Those are legit owners.

Either you mod or dont mod, the problem still exist. wink.gif
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 28 2007, 02:35 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Sep 28 2007, 01:42 AM)
There are tons of problem with Xbox360 owners throughout the world with RROD problem. Those are legit owners.

Either you mod or dont mod, the problem still exist.  wink.gif
But at least those that do not mod gets to enjoy the warranty at least.I agree with raist86's opinion though..
michael9413
post Sep 28 2007, 08:50 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

huh again some buddy take off the 3ROD again... sweat.gif
easy saying... Buy ORI use Ori... of course don buy from those place...
find reputable one in here... like Djiin and Benard...
if 3ROD take back to SG or ask them to claim 4 you...
Modded means void all warranty...
if we scare then there won be that much ppl here buying and playing it lo...
I know that issue... but still i buy don mean i stupid...
it jus purely depends and personal preferences...

BTW TS... if you wanna buy go ahead and enjoy... smile.gif
buy Ori don buy Modded.... there are plenty of cheaper games in pasar malam. smile.gif
see Xbox Threads... smile.gif
raist86
post Sep 28 2007, 08:54 AM

1,577 posts

The problem now is finding a premium set on the market. every shop i go to doesn't sell xbox 360 premium anymore. Only elites available.

3ROD is a problem for xbox360. But at least those who didn't mod the box can have it fixed by microsoft. I'm not defending microsoft, but at least you're still able to have your investment repaired.
carpathia
post Sep 28 2007, 12:19 PM

2,619 posts

3ROD is a problem for all xbox360 owners, whether you mod it or not.

bikolu, as you can see, if you really plan to buy the xbox360, make sure you include extra few hundred into the cost ( prevent or fix 3ROD) . im not cursing xbox 360 owners ok, as myself want to buy but will not due to this issue.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 28 2007, 12:51 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Actually the few hundred ringgit u can prepare in 1 or 2 years as ori consoles have 3 years warranty for 3ROD.Unless ure buying mod consoles..
raist86
post Sep 28 2007, 01:02 PM

1,577 posts

let's get back to topic.

So far, best price for new Elite set is RM 1770 from beat_boyz6's Gamers Corner. 1 year warranty from him. 2 years from Microsoft.

Gamers Hideout only have refurbished premiums. They still come with 3 years warranty. 1 Year from GH and the other 2 from Microsoft. Forgot the price di, should be around RM 1250-1300.
Elite is retailing for RM 1990.

Other places i've asked so far all refuse to sell xbox360. Says got prob. There's a shop in One U which sells elite for RM 1900, but without any warranty.

OFT abit, what we're all saying here is that, if you don't want to have the headache of fixing 3ROD yourself, then don't mod the box. Buy ori. no one's asking you to buy like 10 games a month. Just start small, and trust me, the satisfaction of having original games is no match to a stack of pirated copies.
zio
post Sep 28 2007, 01:12 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I believe all 3 years are from Microsoft, except that the first year, you can send it back to Beatz or Gamers hideout and they will do the exchange for you (with their personal stock) at no additional cost.

After the first year, Beatz and Gamer's wil still help you exchange it through Singapore but they will be charging you transportation and service fee.

I believe that is how it works. Alternatively, get yourself down to Singapore, buy it from them (giving you an original Singapore receipt), and if your console 3ROD, you jst need to get yourself down to Singapore and exchange it with Microsoft personally.

edit: Singapore should be selling Elite below RM1700 after conversion.

This post has been edited by zio: Sep 28 2007, 01:13 PM
MonsterJ9
post Sep 28 2007, 07:19 PM

244 posts

HELP ME,
My 'play & charge kit' never show the red light at all.
Why?

This post has been edited by MonsterJ9: Sep 28 2007, 07:20 PM

147 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:15 PM