Technical Buyer's Guide / FAQ, No discussion on modded console.
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 12:06 PM
Wow..cheapnya,but already got lcd tv then dun need rite??
Any big diffrence between premium and core?
And if modded even if buy ori games also cant play xbox live ar?
This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Jan 23 2007, 12:08 PM
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 12:36 PM
Thx..And for Xbox Live,i need to connect like Streamyx am i correct?? And if its Streamyx can use the existing account from my pc?
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 02:07 PM
QUOTE If you already have Streamyx, it's easy to set up a router or hub to share the connection with the x360 and PC. You can use the existing account. It's really not that hard to get online, and XBL really opens up a lot of options. So that means dat i have to buy a router or hub to connect to xbox live,i would like to noe dat if share the acc means dat the speed would be slower rite? Does anyone have any experience in doing this ar coz i wanted to buy this console but a bit confused bout connectin to xbox live...... Thx for the help...
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 02:46 PM
Well i think mine is a USB modem..Erms can sum1 explain to me bout connect using router ar coz im nt good bout dis stuff..And if my pc is upstairs and my xbox360 is in downstairs then itz possible to do so too rite??
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 03:49 PM
QUOTE If you're using a usb modem then its alot more tricky. You need to share your connection using your pc. Meaning your pc acts as a router. Its alot more tedius compared to using a router setup.
I suggest you go out and buy a modem with router capability. If your xbox sits very far away from your modem you can consider to buy a normal modem + a wireless router. Of course your xbox needs to have a wireless adapter also (RM 250 and above) How can i enable my pc to act as router?Need to get a modem with router? Wa..So inconvienient if have to buy wireless adapter plus another modem summore..Would be spending more than my budget..
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 04:11 PM
So letz dat i use my usb modem but i purchase a wireless router and buy the wireless adapter iz it possible?? Hw much would a wireless router cost thn??
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 04:46 PM
QUOTE Wireless router costs around more or less RM200. Buy the wireless router only if you want to place ur xbox away from your pc. But the wireless router will only act as a access point only, your pc be doing the routing work unless you buy a normal modem (non usb modem).
If cost is your concern. You should go for this setup. Use your existing pc as router. Buy a VGA cable to and use your monitor to play xbox360. Connection wise just use connect a network cable (cross cable) directly from your pc to your xbox360. But this setup you need to setup windows internet connection sharing (pc as router). This way your investment will only be VGA cable + a network cable . Well,i dun mind purchase the wireless router but if do dat need to buy a wireless adapter iz it? Coz i dun mind usin my pc as access point..Modem with wireless router would it be cheaper thn a wireless router only??
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 05:03 PM
Okok..So i would need to get a modem with wireless router,then i would have to get the wireless adapter correct??
Eisenmeteor
Jan 23 2007, 07:22 PM
Erms for this ethernet modem,do i need to purchase any wireless cards or sumthing like dat?
So i have to spend bout 2k to play xbox live lo..WOuld it be worth it ar?
Btw,i saw a thread dat recommend to use the Aztech Homeplug thing..I would like to noe wther iz it possible to connect using those too??
This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Jan 23 2007, 11:23 PM
Eisenmeteor
Jan 24 2007, 12:15 PM
QUOTE Aztech homeplug... nvr use b4. Technically it should work like a wired network so it should be usable. If you op for this, you can use your existing setup, use your pc to share your internet connection and connect your xbox to your pc through the homeplug. So that means dat i could buy those two homeplugs and then the xbox's wireless adapter to connect am i correct?? So sorry for posting so many times..
Eisenmeteor
Jan 24 2007, 12:57 PM
QUOTE For your specific situation:
1. Modem ----- PC (USB)
2. PC to homeplug (network cable)
3. homeplug to xbox (network cable The network cable would it be a normal cable or need to buy a specific one?
Eisenmeteor
Jan 24 2007, 05:32 PM
So that means dat i do not need to purchase the wireless adapter for xbox,juz plug the network cable from homeplug to usb modem and from homeplug to xbox....???
Would the bandwith slower ar?
Eisenmeteor
Jan 24 2007, 05:58 PM
Juz to confirm again la,itz dat have to get two homeplugs only,1 for pc and one for xbox...
Got anyone tried connect to xbox live using this method??
Eisenmeteor
Jan 24 2007, 07:34 PM
Ok..
If letz juz say dat i want to try the modem plus wireless router,may i noe wat brand and model should i get?Does a cheaper model works well on xbox? And if use dat model my pc also can go internet wirelessly rite?
Eisenmeteor
Jan 24 2007, 09:38 PM
QUOTE There are numerous model/brand out there, the 1 judge-the suggestted works coz he can really tapau ppl online biggrin.gif
If you op for that 1, you setup will become phone line to new modem/wireless router, pc to wireless router through LAN cable or wirelessly (need additional adapter), and xbox to wireless router through xbox wireless adapter.
Take note that you are connecting from upstairs to downstairs wirelessly. The connection might not be that good. There's no way you can tell how good is the reception until you actually test it. Got new situation already, I think my dad wont let me play the xbox 360 on the lcd coz he scared the tv will spoil,but i think i'll play on dat tv late at night la,So if i wanna play through my pc lcd 15 inch monitor then juz buy the VGA n network cable rite?I bought the monitor from Dell in 2004... I think i prefer the homeplug option..MUch easier...
Eisenmeteor
Jan 27 2007, 09:35 PM
Today i went to kl after work for a walk..So i saw a game shop sellin consoles ..When i asked him bout the price for xbox360..He told me the one dat he sold is modded and cant be detected by Microsoft coz he said it was the latest version or sumthin..So i would to ask u guyz wther is there a way dat those guyz can actually escape from kena banned..??
Eisenmeteor
Jan 27 2007, 10:47 PM
YEa..I will get the ori one..Juz wonder wther they could actually get into Xbox Live without kena detected..If they could,then Microsoft realli sux lo..
Eisenmeteor
Feb 10 2007, 06:48 PM
QUOTE v2 coming out this coming april .. sad .. now dunno shd get it now or juz wait. Wat do u mean by V2?? A much better version?? Would it be more expensivE?
Eisenmeteor
Feb 15 2007, 07:58 PM
I would like to know for the rechargeable pack which one should i get,the Plug and Charge thing or get the one that can charge two batteries at a time?
Eisenmeteor
Feb 17 2007, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(verced @ Feb 15 2007, 08:00 PM) Depending on which feature you need. For the plug and charge, you can charge while using the controller (with the additional cable of course) As for the rechargeable pack, you have to remove the batteries in order to charge. I'm still using some third party chargers with tons of batteries. Works fine over here.  Third Party chargers? U mean those rechargeable batteries iz it??