QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 29 2015, 03:33 PM)
what app beside kodi? preferably Chinese channel like cctvAndroid TV Box
Android TV Box
Dec 29 2015, 09:46 PM
193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Dec 29 2015, 10:39 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,454 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(GUESS @ Dec 29 2015, 09:46 PM) kodi is very much a western app.a big app, can have 1-2gb of addons. but limited asian stuff. a couple of cctv channels can be found if u look hard enough - they are not popular in kodi. becos tons of china channels can be found with other apps. cctv - you can get all of them, most of them in HD. and live china provincial and city tv stations. and movies, tv shows. all in mandarin. hong kong and taiwan tv channels are less easy to get. some of these apps are proprietory to the box manufacturer, they don't work on other boxes. some of them work only in china as they are geoblocked, need subscription too. i cannot reveal the details as too much publicity will get these apps being blocked very quickly. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 29 2015, 10:56 PM |
Dec 30 2015, 04:27 PM
749 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 29 2015, 10:39 PM) kodi is very much a western app. Hi sifu voncrane , AVFANa big app, can have 1-2gb of addons. but limited asian stuff. a couple of cctv channels can be found if u look hard enough - they are not popular in kodi. becos tons of china channels can be found with other apps. cctv - you can get all of them, most of them in HD. and live china provincial and city tv stations. and movies, tv shows. all in mandarin. hong kong and taiwan tv channels are less easy to get. some of these apps are proprietory to the box manufacturer, they don't work on other boxes. some of them work only in china as they are geoblocked, need subscription too. i cannot reveal the details as too much publicity will get these apps being blocked very quickly. Am going to buy Minix neo x8-h Plus.. Is there anything I need to know before purchasing? I'm not into Audiophiles YET. Only to watch Kodi/Astrox.. And hope that the wifi connection is stable thus no streaming (currently on 30mbps) Another thing, should i invest into Dual AC type router? currently using old white/orange unifi router.. |
Dec 30 2015, 04:29 PM
1,055 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kajang | Cyberjaya |
check out kodi add-on "KissAsian"
Dec 30 2015, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(roxx @ Dec 30 2015, 04:27 PM) Hi sifu voncrane , AVFAN i m sure that device will fit yr needs.Am going to buy Minix neo x8-h Plus.. Is there anything I need to know before purchasing? I'm not into Audiophiles YET. Only to watch Kodi/Astrox.. And hope that the wifi connection is stable thus no streaming (currently on 30mbps) Another thing, should i invest into Dual AC type router? currently using old white/orange unifi router.. router... best to use ethernet as wifi is dependent on many factors. ethernet or wifi, junk that old orange crap, get an ASUS. |
Dec 30 2015, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2015, 04:36 PM) i m sure that device will fit yr needs. Expensive wehh asus.. Hahaharouter... best to use ethernet as wifi is dependent on many factors. ethernet or wifi, junk that old orange crap, get an ASUS. enthernet.. hmmm then I need to relocate my tv section or buy 20mtr cable.. Wahh sure nampak buruk my living room.. |
Dec 30 2015, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(roxx @ Dec 30 2015, 04:44 PM) Expensive wehh asus.. Hahaha 20m... is actual distance 20m/66ft? that's far...enthernet.. hmmm then I need to relocate my tv section or buy 20mtr cable.. Wahh sure nampak buruk my living room.. wifi - if u live in a house and not cluttered with visible or hidden metal, a low end asus router can handle well up to 50' on 2.4ghz. if >60 ft, u will need a higher end one. if u live in a highrise congested with wifi users, u will probably need a more costly dual band one with 5ghz as well. but 5ghz will not work very well for >60ft. so, u may need to do some cable job to get the best performance. |
Dec 30 2015, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2015, 05:01 PM) 20m... is actual distance 20m/66ft? that's far... No la.. I was thinking 20 meter because I dont want that cable to sepah2 on my floor.. Was thinking to stick the cable on my wall > ceiling > wall > tv box.. Hahahawifi - if u live in a house and not cluttered with visible or hidden metal, a low end asus router can handle well up to 50' on 2.4ghz. if >60 ft, u will need a higher end one. if u live in a highrise congested with wifi users, u will probably need a more costly dual band one with 5ghz as well. but 5ghz will not work very well for >60ft. so, u may need to do some cable job to get the best performance. On the other hand, tp link powerline adapter seems ok.. but scared performance tarak.. Lol |
Dec 30 2015, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(roxx @ Dec 30 2015, 05:14 PM) No la.. I was thinking 20 meter because I dont want that cable to sepah2 on my floor.. Was thinking to stick the cable on my wall > ceiling > wall > tv box.. Hahaha powerline adaptor... sd content maybe ok... i am skeptical for hd content.On the other hand, tp link powerline adapter seems ok.. but scared performance tarak.. Lol just don't end up spending more money! |
Dec 30 2015, 05:32 PM
Dec 30 2015, 05:36 PM
Dec 30 2015, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2015, 05:36 PM) can't do. upgrade to unifi 30mbps - continue warranty for router and hypptv stb for 1 year..orig router 1 yr warranty only. you buy yrself or from them after that. same with hypptv stb. only modem is life warranty - as long as u use unifi. Now trying to make excuses to claim warranty.. |
Dec 30 2015, 05:42 PM
Dec 30 2015, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2015, 05:42 PM) Haiyaa.. Like that then buy new router la.. the seller told me he already reset the minix to factory setting.. Is it easy to setup play store/kodi/astrox/etc? This post has been edited by roxx: Dec 30 2015, 05:48 PM |
Dec 30 2015, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(roxx @ Dec 30 2015, 05:48 PM) Haiyaa.. Like that then buy new router la.. voncrane can advise u better on minix for specifics.the seller told me he already reset the minix to factory setting.. Is it easy to setup play store/kodi/astrox/etc? but androids being androids, i will say it is not that difficult but... be ready to spend time to learn and play with it. it is not like an astro decoder or dvd player. it needs work! if u r using an android phone, it helps as it is much the same - as far as the streaming features go. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 30 2015, 06:01 PM |
Dec 30 2015, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2015, 05:56 PM) voncrane can advise u better on minix for specifics. not an android user.. but androids being androids, i will say it is not that difficult but... be ready to spend time to learn and play with it. it is not like an astro decoder or dvd player. it needs work! if u r using an android phone, it helps as it is much the same - as far as the streaming features go. Ok.. learning part no issue.. Thanks for your advise.. |
Dec 30 2015, 06:04 PM
Dec 30 2015, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2015, 06:04 PM) then i have good news for you! Urgghhhh.. Must....Not...Buy... Andro.. Ohwait..after playing with androidbox for a few months, it'll be a piece of cake to buy and use an android phone. Can't wait to try Minix today.. While vaping and watching old movies will be bliss moment.. |
Dec 30 2015, 06:25 PM
7,120 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Wakanda |
QUOTE(roxx @ Dec 30 2015, 04:27 PM) Hi sifu voncrane , AVFAN Am going to buy Minix neo x8-h Plus.. Is there anything I need to know before purchasing? I'm not into Audiophiles YET. Only to watch Kodi/Astrox.. And hope that the wifi connection is stable thus no streaming (currently on 30mbps) Another thing, should i invest into Dual AC type router? currently using old white/orange unifi router.. QUOTE(roxx @ Dec 30 2015, 05:48 PM) Haiyaa.. Like that then buy new router la.. As AVFAN already suggested... Ditch the stock TM router if you can. Not mandatory, if you don't have much interference from other WiFi networks around (My router is the only one on the channel I chose) or plan on using Ethernet cabling. I used the stock router + Ethernet + 10Mbps and faced no issues. So, that's highly recommended.the seller told me he already reset the minix to factory setting.. Is it easy to setup play store/kodi/astrox/etc? As for the Minix Neo-X8-H Plus, It really depends on your current geek level and ability to learn more. Setting the box up, KODI addons, Android apk installations, etc is a breeze. The Minix devs have already included an intuitive first time start-up program, which guides you through the initial setup process... The Google Play store comes pre-installed and will auto update itself to the latest version, KODI can be downloaded from the Play Store. For a fresh box, My recommendation is to join the official minix forum, grab the latest firmware update and manually flash the box using a PC... You can also use the OTA update app included in the box, but for that first time and for major updates, I strongly recommend you manually flash the firmware using a PC (not the USB/SD Card method), as a precaution. Astrxxxx on the other hand, as we tell all.... Find the source, Play the source. Its that simple, nothing more. If unwilling to seek out sources, better stick to an Astro Subscription. This post has been edited by voncrane: Dec 30 2015, 06:25 PM |
Dec 31 2015, 10:21 AM
1,010 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2015, 05:18 PM) powerline adaptor... sd content maybe ok... i am skeptical for hd content. Powerline works for HD as well. Even my old AV200 limited by its 100 mbps lan port can play all HD / bluray files perfectly - even the very high bitrate ones.just don't end up spending more money! But of course powerline tech depends on a lot of other factors as well such as how old your wiring is and whether all your power sockets are on the same electrical phase. Now with even higher level AV1200 and gigabit ports, can easily get 300+mbps. Can easily stream 4K content (if you have any) If you only want to stream HD/Bluray, just get the cheaper older models and test it out. Can always sell them if it doesn't work. You will lose a bit money but believe me, if it works for you, it will be just wonderful - No more wifi issues! |
| Change to: | 0.0299sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:33 PM |