Android TV Box

stormaker
post Mar 8 2016, 04:05 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 8 2016, 04:03 PM)
no.

himedia can run netflix but only in sd, whatever package u pay.

astro-on-the-go and hypptv everywhere - they used to work, but no more, been blocked.

yes, it is sad that some of these good apps no longer work.

i now get netlfix hd/uhd and iflix on my smart android tv. newest 4k smart tv's are certified by many parties, can do a few more things than generic box androids.
Thanks for the info ... but ... wow ... that just crush my anticipation on himedia Q10 pro.
'ed
post Mar 8 2016, 04:16 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 8 2016, 03:57 PM)
Yeah, I can live outout iflix at the moment since the quality is SD, but if it's survived to improve their service to HD in future, i will have 1 less option for streaming source unless they decided to support himedia at that time.

But so far from my understanding, it can support Netflix with FHD and Astro on the go right ?

Get the amazon fire tv~

stormaker
post Mar 8 2016, 04:23 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE('ed @ Mar 8 2016, 04:16 PM)
Get the amazon fire tv~
I prefer a more powerful android tv box that suit my budget, with good 3D capability. sad.gif
james2306
post Mar 8 2016, 05:20 PM

A not so Senior, SeƱor
1,119 posts

just got myself a Remix Mini.

Any guide/list of .apk's i should install to get best use out of it?

any way to watch live football games on it?
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 8 2016, 05:58 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 8 2016, 02:31 PM)
Noted something strange lately.

Having long delay when using Kodi BUT same speed as before while using apps outside Kodi.

I know there is a problem with some internet under-sea cables.

Maybe so happened that Kodi signals go through the partly damaged route while apps go through a different route (via India-Europe)?

Just wondering.

Hope the cables will be repaired soonest. Even my daily The Star web browsing is becoming a pain. Ha.
Using Exodus addon no prob watching HD and 1080P here.

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 8 2016, 03:57 PM)
Yeah, I can live outout iflix at the moment since the quality is SD, but if it's survived to improve their service to HD in future, i will have 1 less option for streaming source unless they decided to support himedia at that time.

But so far from my understanding, it can support Netflix with FHD and Astro on the go right ?
Iflix content so limited i rather use Kodi
AVFAN
post Mar 8 2016, 06:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Mar 8 2016, 02:11 PM)
after reading nearly 50pages in this 72 pages thread I like to know which of the android boxes can run iflix and Kodi realibly? Netflix optional, but iflix and Kodi is a must.

This will be an upgrade to my Matricom Midnight g2 that now cannot run Kodi (only the preinstalled XBMC) as there are no more support.

I have been looking at himedia but the seller told me no support for iflix. Mibox have very small storage (although i do like the ac wifi)

Budget around RM500, if you can suggest realiable seller i will be
i like to bump this for biggie as i am keen to know as well.

which box do you have that can run IFLIX?

if yes, can it run hypptv everywhere and astro-on-the-go?

himedia cannot, that is known.

minix, nividia shield, roku, firetv, mx, mibox...??

kindly comment to help potential box buyers.

thanks!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 8 2016, 06:56 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 8 2016, 09:53 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 8 2016, 06:48 PM)

thanks!
AOTG can be installed in Mibox becoz not rooted. But i never tried working or not coz no Astro account.
Hypptv working on Mibox but then again, limited channels unless u purchase subscription or pay-per-view.
Iflix cant recall i think cant work.
voncrane
post Mar 8 2016, 10:31 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 8 2016, 04:23 PM)
I prefer a more powerful android tv box that suit my budget, with good 3D capability.Ā  sad.gif
Either wait for the successor to the current Nvidia shield android tv box or buy the current version. Remember Android TV OS =/= Android OS. There are similarities but not exact.. Some workarounds may be needed to get some Android apps support.

QUOTE(james2306 @ Mar 8 2016, 05:20 PM)
just got myself a Remix Mini.

Any guide/list of .apk's i should install to get best use out of it?

any way to watch live football games on it?
Search this thread.. Lots of recommendations already..

Live football? As always... "Find the source, Play the source".. You could also go play in the garage sales thread with ehem channels sellers.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 8 2016, 06:48 PM)

thanks!
The Minix Neo X8-H Plus can run Iflix, Hypptv Everywhere & AOTG.... Naturally, since AOTG checks for root, if one is rooted, it'll complain about that and refuse to work. Minix ships their firmwares without rooting them.. So, no problems there.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 8 2016, 10:33 PM
biggie
post Mar 8 2016, 10:38 PM

1,291 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 8 2016, 10:31 PM)
Either wait for the successor to the current Nvidia shield android tv box or buy the current version. Remember Android TV OS =/= Android OS. There are similarities but not exact.. Some workarounds may be needed to get some Android apps support.
Search this thread.. Lots of recommendations already..

Live football? As always... "Find the source, Play the source".. You could also go play in the garage sales thread with ehem channels sellers.
The Minix Neo X8-H Plus can run Iflix, Hypptv Everywhere & AOTG.... Naturally, since AOTG checks for root, if one is rooted, it'll complain about that and refuse to work. Minix ships their firmwares without rooting them.. So, no problems there.
Thank you i got a reply from seller recommending mini u1 although when I say will come to test he gone quiet..
AVFAN
post Mar 8 2016, 10:56 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 8 2016, 02:31 PM)
Noted something strange lately.

Having long delay when using Kodi BUT same speed as before while using apps outside Kodi.

I know there is a problem with some internet under-sea cables.

Maybe so happened that Kodi signals go through the partly damaged route while apps go through a different route (via India-Europe)?

Just wondering.

Hope the cables will be repaired soonest. Even my daily The Star web browsing is becoming a pain. Ha.
the "undersea cable problem" is not so bad anymore, possibly due to re-routing.

"star" should not be a problem anymore.

Kodi... as usual, many links not working. but try EXODUS. much it works good.
https://seo-michael.co.uk/how-to-install-exodus-for-kodi/
voncrane
post Mar 8 2016, 11:01 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Mar 8 2016, 10:38 PM)
Thank you i got a reply from seller recommending mini u1  although when I say will come to test he gone quiet..
Based on Minix's past history, the Neo U1 is more than capable of running all 3 apps. Where I'd be concerned is about software incompatibility from the app developers, not Minix. Example, the Hypptv Everywhere app is advertised to run on Android devices, however, I can't get any channels to play on a Nexus 10 running 5.1.1 version... Calling TM yielded zero solutions... Now, the Neo X8-H Plus runs a Kitkat firmware, while the Neo U1 runs Lollipop.. So, either search around or wait for confirmation from U1 owners. The Minix Neo U1 is a popular device and there are tons of video and text reviews of it in operation.. So, basically doing your homework equals testing, as you'll get the same results.. Provided of course, one bought an original which isn't a lemon. If such, simply claim warranty & return.
AVFAN
post Mar 8 2016, 11:02 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 8 2016, 10:31 PM)
do u know if most if not all the popular unrooted minix models work good with iflix, aotg and hyppewhere?

if so, they should be best selling boxes in the country.

while many may not like those apps, but the fact is they are legit, easy to use, reliable and can be FOC. can be very useful and practical for less IT savvy and elderly folks!
smang
post Mar 9 2016, 01:25 AM

108 posts

Hi sifus out there. Noob question.new to android tv.
Any good android tv to recommend and where to get them?
Hassle free can watch movies dramas good all rounder.
Currently looking at mibox.
voncrane
post Mar 9 2016, 09:53 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 8 2016, 11:02 PM)
do u know if most if not all the popular unrooted minix models work good with iflix, aotg and hyppewhere?

if so, they should be best selling boxes in the country.

while many may not like those apps, but the fact is they are legit, easy to use, reliable and can be FOC. can be very useful and practical for less IT savvy and elderly folks!
For now, I'd say the popular Minix boxes are the Neo X8-H, Neo X8-H Plus, Neo U1 & the Z64 Android/Windows. The older models while somewhat capable, buying them today would be ill-advised. I've only had personal experience with the Neo X7 & Neo X8-H Plus, still not particularly sold on the U1 yet... Now leaning towards waiting for the successor to the U1 or the Nvidia Shield TV box V2. I'd consider those worthy upgrades.

Minix usually ships their firmwares as unrooted, officially they do not support rooting (lose warranty) but yet allow such.. Plus IMO, it's easy to root and unroot. Unroot mainly to perform a firmware update, then re-root.. Much like most Android smartphones. I can't say Minix boxes are the best selling in the country as I have insufficient data to support such claims.. smile.gif

As for iflix, AOTG & Hypptv Everywhere being legit, accessible, free, etc.. I agree, however, all three desperately require a redesign, especially ones where they become more remote control & big screen friendly.

QUOTE(smang @ Mar 9 2016, 01:25 AM)
Hi sifus out there. Noob question.new to android tv.
Any good android tv to recommend and where to get them?
Hassle free can watch movies dramas good all rounder.
Currently looking at mibox.
No offense, noob or not.. You couldn't be bothered to read the posts above & even a page or 2 backwards?
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2016, 10:28 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 9 2016, 09:53 AM)
Now leaning towards waiting for the successor to the U1 or the Nvidia Shield TV box V2. I'd consider those worthy upgrades.

is the shield v2 coming out soon?

i will be interested to check it out.

hands itchy, need a new toy to play. laugh.gif
voncrane
post Mar 9 2016, 11:39 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 9 2016, 10:28 AM)
is the shield v2 coming out soon?

i will be interested to check it out.

hands itchy, need a new toy to play. laugh.gif
Sadly, no concrete news yet and it's understandable, seeing as it was only released around May ending last year.. The current Shield TV box is a beast and with the Marshmallow 6.0 update, it only gets better. Perhaps towards the end of this year or next year, Nvidia/Minix does good again..

Hey, at least you still have a lot of toys left to play with, I've had itchy hands since I let go off my last toy.. tongue.gif.. Now, making do with direct USB playback & Netflix on the TV & the rest from hooking up the Nexus 10 via micro hdmi..
stormaker
post Mar 9 2016, 12:20 PM

3,130 posts

ATM ... i will steer away from Nvidia Shield TV or any other boxes that're using Android TV due to limited supported apps n games, n i dont fancy sideload the apk.
voncrane
post Mar 9 2016, 12:31 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 9 2016, 12:20 PM)
ATM ... i will steer away from Nvidia Shield TV or any other boxes that're using Android TV due to limited supported apps n games, n i dont fancy sideload the apk.
It's more of a preference thingy.. I don't mind getting my hands dirty.. Tech-wise... Even regular android boxes, phones, etc needs third party apps to be sideloaded once in awhile, as certain "lovely" apps cannot be found within Google's Play Store... Sideloading on the Nvidia Shield TV running Android TV is easy.. Just download apk, transfer wirelessly, file explorer.. Install..
stormaker
post Mar 9 2016, 12:41 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 9 2016, 12:31 PM)
It's more of a preference thingy.. I don't mind getting my hands dirty.. Tech-wise... Even regular android boxes, phones, etc needs third party apps to be sideloaded once in awhile, as certain "lovely" apps cannot be found within Google's Play Store... Sideloading on the Nvidia Shield TV running Android TV is easy.. Just download apk, transfer wirelessly, file explorer.. Install..
True, but in my case, i wouldn't change android tv boxes every now n then, also i like to install apps/games to test them out, to sideload most of them is pain in the ass for me, which also come with no update in future.

That's why im being picky, fussy ... what ever u call it for my 1st ever android tv box purchase. (My 1st TV box was non-android Xtreamer Sidewinder).

voncrane
post Mar 9 2016, 01:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 9 2016, 12:41 PM)
True, but in my case, i wouldn't change android tv boxes every now n then, also i like to install apps/games to test them out, to sideload most of them is pain in the ass for me, which also come with no update in future.

That's why im being picky, fussy ... what ever u call it for my 1st ever android tv box purchase. (My 1st TV box was non-android Xtreamer Sidewinder).
Makes sense. However do note that some third party apps (e.g. Videoder) have inbuilt auto-update features, which means you'll only have to sideload once and later versions will be done on the box. Another thing is, since you wouldn't want to change TV boxes, make sure to get one with a stable firmware + hardware that meets your needs. Future ROM support is also important.

248 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:21 AM