Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

nameitnow
post May 27 2014, 01:37 PM

137 posts

Hi guys and hi too all sifu in here.
I was planning to getting a new car, and Ford Focus S+ got have all my attention.

But after doing some research on the internet, I found out almost every Focus (2012+) have the DCT issues and the suspension noise.

Just wanna ask is all the problem that I listed are big issues? Is it normal or it could be fix??

Or should I wait for the new facelift Focus?? (When is it gonna launch in Malaysia?? )

(Sorry for the broken English)
dares
post May 29 2014, 10:29 PM

834 posts

I was reading the Taiwan car website/forum when I come across a discussion about Focus's gearbox having transmission fluid leakage problem, like the first batch of Fiestas in Malaysia.

Although most Fiestas in Malaysia after 2011 or 2012 don't have the leaking problem anymore (solved with improved seal), I'm wondering if any Focus owners here face this problem?

This post has been edited by dares: May 29 2014, 10:30 PM
SportyHandling
post May 30 2014, 10:07 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 29 2014, 10:29 PM)
I was reading the Taiwan car website/forum when I come across a discussion about Focus's gearbox having transmission fluid leakage problem, like the first batch of Fiestas in Malaysia.

Although most Fiestas in Malaysia after 2011 or 2012 don't have the leaking problem anymore (solved with improved seal), I'm wondering if any Focus owners here face this problem?
Are the Focus models in Taiwan shipped from Thailand as well? What are the symptoms of transmission fluid leakage of the gearbox (in the Focus)? Severe jerking of the vehicle when the gears are changing?
dares
post May 31 2014, 01:06 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 30 2014, 10:07 PM)
Are the Focus models in Taiwan shipped from Thailand as well? What are the symptoms of transmission fluid leakage of the gearbox (in the Focus)? Severe jerking of the vehicle when the gears are changing?
Doesn't really matter where it was manufactured, even Fiesta models sold in Europe and the US have this problem.

The symptoms is severe clutch slippage (juddering) and if you look under the car and check the gearbox, you will see oil at the seams

That is the clutch housing, the clutch slippage is due to transmission fluid leaking into the clutch housing and contaminating the clutch pads. The fluids then leak out of the seams where the clutch housing meet the gearbox housing.

The above image have very light leakage only. In serious cases, you will see big patches of oil along the seams.

This post has been edited by dares: May 31 2014, 01:10 AM
SportyHandling
post May 31 2014, 10:51 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 31 2014, 01:06 AM)
Doesn't really matter where it was manufactured, even Fiesta models sold in Europe and the US have this problem.

The symptoms is severe clutch slippage (juddering) and if you look under the car and check the gearbox, you will see oil at the seams

That is the clutch housing, the clutch slippage is due to transmission fluid leaking into the clutch housing and contaminating the clutch pads. The fluids then leak out of the seams where the clutch housing meet the gearbox housing.

The above image have very light leakage only. In serious cases, you will see big patches of oil along the seams.
Ok, so the severe judders/jerks are the symptoms of the transmission fluid leakage of the gearbox. Currently I don't experience this in my Focus, though the 5 years warranty would have covered for this defect I presume, unless the leakage tend to come up after the warranty period.

The place where the vehicle was manufactured may matter although models in other countries show this problem. Since you mentioned the later batches of Fiestas do not exhibit this problem anymore, Ford may have improved some of the mechanism of the later batches of the Fiestas to rectify the problems that plague the earlier Fiesta models. In the case of the Focus, we won't know if the mechanical parts of the gearbox of the Focus models coming out from the Thailand factory are exactly the same as the Focus models that the Taiwanese are getting. I believe there will be differences, though not major, with car models produced from countries in different regions.
dares
post May 31 2014, 11:18 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 31 2014, 10:51 AM)
Ok, so the severe judders/jerks are the symptoms of the transmission fluid leakage of the gearbox. Currently I don't experience this in my Focus, though the 5 years warranty would have covered for this defect I presume, unless the leakage tend to come up after the warranty period.

The place where the vehicle was manufactured may matter although models in other countries show this problem. Since you mentioned the later batches of Fiestas do not exhibit this problem anymore, Ford may have improved some of the mechanism of the later batches of the Fiestas to rectify the problems that plague the earlier Fiesta models. In the case of the Focus, we won't know if the mechanical parts of the gearbox of the Focus models coming out from the Thailand factory are exactly the same as the Focus models that the Taiwanese are getting. I believe there will be differences, though not major, with car models produced from countries in different regions.
They have improved the seals to prevent the leakage in later batches, that's why I was surprised to read about it on the Focus in the Taiwan forum hmm.gif Anyway, just sharing nod.gif
SportyHandling
post May 31 2014, 03:31 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 31 2014, 11:18 AM)
They have improved the seals to prevent the leakage in later batches, that's why I was surprised to read about it on the Focus in the Taiwan forum  hmm.gif Anyway, just sharing  nod.gif
Okay, thanks for the information. So, the new seals have done the trick.

SportyHandling
post Jun 1 2014, 08:11 AM

623 posts

Yesterday evening, a bad day for me as a car knocked on the rear of my Focus. A loud bang and the first thing that went in my mind is the hassle of an accident. I knew the damage was done, but was surprised at the extent of the damage on the Focus.

The front of the car that knocked on the Focus :-

The rear of the Focus :-

I am surprised there isn't any dent on the Focus just some very minor scratches on the metallic paint and slight cracking on the plastic strip at the bottom.
dares
post Jun 1 2014, 10:37 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jun 1 2014, 08:11 AM)
Yesterday evening, a bad day for me as a car knocked on the rear of my Focus. A loud bang and the first thing that went in my mind is the hassle of an accident. I knew the damage was done, but was surprised at the extent of the damage on the Focus.

I am surprised there isn't any dent on the Focus just some very minor scratches on the metallic paint and slight cracking on the plastic strip at the bottom.
Remember to check behind the bumper if anything else such as the brackets are broken.

The damage on the Wira shows the impact was quite strong, Amazingly there is barely a scratch on the Focus rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Jun 1 2014, 10:38 AM
SportyHandling
post Jun 1 2014, 07:13 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 1 2014, 10:37 AM)
Remember to check behind the bumper if anything else such as the brackets are broken.

The damage on the Wira shows the impact was quite strong, Amazingly there is barely a scratch on the Focus  rclxms.gif
Yes, will get the brackets checked. The electronic rear sensors still working though.

Yes, barely a scratch on the Focus. When the police was attempting to take a picture of the damage with his DSLR, he was looking left and right and couldn't locate the scratches, and I have to finger-point the small little nicks to him.
leolwf88
post Jun 1 2014, 11:37 PM

Has anyone installed bodykit on the Ford Focus S+?
Any good suggestion?
gahpadu
post Jun 1 2014, 11:57 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jun 1 2014, 08:11 AM)

the wira too old and weak already.

and more more , the frontal of the car is designed to absorb the impact

the focus in surely one class above proton

nairud
post Jun 5 2014, 06:23 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

i'm having slippage on on 1st / 2nd gear. but not very often. it happens when the day is hot.

I've yet to have them check on the leak though but during my 10k service, when i mentioned that, the SC told me that he'll update the TCM. after that it is still happening.

maybe during 20k service, i'll have them check it

This post has been edited by nairud: Jun 5 2014, 06:24 PM
Dwango
post Jun 9 2014, 10:53 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jun 5 2014, 06:23 PM)
i'm having slippage on  on 1st / 2nd gear. but not very often. it happens when the day is hot.

I've yet to have them check on the leak though but during my 10k service, when i mentioned that, the SC told me that he'll update the TCM. after that it is still happening.

maybe during 20k service, i'll have them check it
Care to elaborate what are the symptoms of slippage on 1st/2nd gear?
gahpadu
post Jun 9 2014, 10:59 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(kaiyikJr @ Apr 27 2014, 12:43 PM)
Thanks for the info.. my car really manufacture in 30 Oct 2013 but under my Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Malaysia it says Tahun Dibuat: 2014... zzzz
Gonna complain to Sime darby already...

Just to clarify with you guys.. FoFo only got 1 USB port right? Those 2013 model should be inside the glove compartment while mine is inside the arm rest.
if not mistaken , there is new rules by JPJ on new car registeration,
nairud
post Jun 9 2014, 11:02 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jun 9 2014, 10:53 AM)
Care to elaborate what are the symptoms of slippage on 1st/2nd gear?
Let's say when you cruise and let the car slow down to almost to a complete stop, and you step on the gas pedal ever so gently to move the car, you'll feel it. The constant light jerks as if the gears are not engage properly and then it smooths out once it has gain comfortable speed.

If you drive a manual, you can also simulate it, clutch pedal depress halfway.
EddyHyip
post Jun 10 2014, 01:16 PM

361 posts

Is there any difference between 2013 and 2014 model?
I am collecting mine this weekend and I was told it is a 2014 (lesser discount provided)...

nairud
post Jun 10 2014, 06:08 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Jun 10 2014, 01:16 PM)
I am collecting mine this weekend and I was told it is a 2014 (lesser discount provided)...
no difference in terms of specs
kaiyikJr
post Jun 10 2014, 11:47 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Jun 10 2014, 01:16 PM)
mine which was told by my SA was made in 2014, the USB port is inside the arm rest, while the 2013 model USB port is inside the glove compartment.

I've problem with them since in my JPJ card, my car made is 2014 while at www.etis.ford.com, my car made is Oct2013. Please double check you car manufactured date with you SA to confirm it is really a 2014 make model.
EddyHyip
post Jun 11 2014, 03:48 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(kaiyikJr @ Jun 10 2014, 11:47 PM)
mine which was told by my SA was made in 2014, the USB port is inside the arm rest, while the 2013 model USB port is inside the glove compartment.

I've problem with them since in my JPJ card, my car made is 2014 while at www.etis.ford.com, my car made is Oct2013. Please double check you car manufactured date with you SA to confirm it is really a 2014 make model.
Will do this weekend..

212 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:51 AM