Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

wingwp
post Nov 9 2016, 04:33 PM

639 posts

I agree 1 of u guys mentioned about don't do stupid thing to the car

I know some fella install stupid electronic devices like booster, add on ground cable, after market injectors etc etc i know bcos i saw them share in fb as if they can do better engineering
wingwp
post Nov 19 2016, 04:20 PM

639 posts

just replaced the windshield, billed Rm4,014.40

QUOTE(Chungyehkoo @ Nov 18 2016, 09:02 AM)
Yes Dear, only "+" version have them...
wingwp
post Nov 22 2016, 07:54 PM

639 posts

Mild vibration is still normal

Hv u ever tried sit in car which it's engine mounting is really broken?
wingwp
post Dec 6 2016, 11:16 AM

639 posts

MK3.5 inTaiwan is very famous
wingwp
post Dec 6 2016, 07:29 PM

639 posts

CVT pui

QUOTE(FCRS @ Dec 6 2016, 02:09 PM)
There is sometimes some slight lag in normal "D" mode but I think this is due to the engine trying to save fuel, if you shift the gear to "S" mode the power comes almost instantaneously.

You don't feel any turbo lag at all, since peak torque comes at 1600rpm. When driving normally, the RPM at every gear is always at 1600rpm or above so when you step on the pedal there's always power coming through.

The behavior of the "S" mode is definitely much better than normal "D" mode, sometimes my whole trip is in "S" mode as the "S" gets rid of all of the "pedal lag" experienced in "D" mode.

Gear shifting is surprisingly fast for a torque converter slush box, shifts up and down swiftly (but of course can't be compared to a DCT) and paddle shifters feel very responsive.

I've test driven the new Civic TC and one of the main reasons for choosing the Focus is the responsiveness compared to the Civic's CVT.
wingwp
post Dec 9 2016, 10:39 PM

639 posts

I'm not making comparison, and nothing related to issues you wrote

Don't understand y u so surprise about parts wait time is longer, I had another Italian

try research on other brand's sc, u'll b surprise again

Dono what 3rd car 4th car u talk about, I suggest just look for Jap next time

2013 model is bad so u might be 1 of those unlucky

QUOTE(Ken77 @ Dec 8 2016, 08:29 AM)
Bro , why you said that?

I have been driving Ford Focus for 3 and half years since year 2013( current car mileage less than 90K ). My fuc@king clutch changed 3 times , there is one time  I left my car for 2 weeks plus at workshop because their software unable to calibrate the gear and the whole damn car unable to start because clutch failure. After sales service from Sime Darby Auto connection in PJ is the WORST  among the car service centre I have experienced. Immediately contacted customer service and seek more support to fasten the process, all they know is to ask you to wait for 2 fuc@king  days. After loosing my patient , I complaint all the way by email to their MD at Sime Darby Auto connection to push their ass from office  shakehead.gif

There is one time my tail lamp was hit by motorist , just a tail lamp from SDAC need to wait for 2 months to order from Thailand. Luckily mine is just a tail lamp, I really pity those car in SDAC workshop which required few months for parts to arrive because the whole damn car unable to roll.

Ford is a fantastic car to drive, there is  absolutely no doubt about it! We understand 'Mat Salleh" car normally does create  some problems due to Malaysia climate, that is ok! But what if the service centre  is a total screw up?? Is it worth to own this car by going through such traumatic process ? There are few service centre in Puchong and Shah Alam have been closed down this year if not mistaken.

Like one of our brother mentioned in previous post, unless you are  driving this car as third or fourth cars onwards. If not, please think twice if you use it as your first car. Just like friends ask me about this car, I say a BIG no to own this car ........... unless you like to drive a fast and performance car which I doubt in KL traffic.
wingwp
post Dec 10 2016, 10:37 PM

639 posts

MK3.5 is not CVT ..

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 10 2016, 08:49 PM)
Good to hear the Focus Mk3.5 is living up to your expectations. Personally I think the car (even the Mk3) is good. It's only the after-sales and support of Sime Darby that are lacking, and that may be one of the major reasons the sales of Ford cars ie. Fiesta, Focus and Mondeo are in a pretty dismal state when compared to the competition.

Talking about S mode. I don't usually drive in S mode and have been on D for the past 1+ year or so. Coincidentally, I just tried S mode yesterday as the car was jerking mildly in low speed city traffic acceleration. Talk about instantaneous pickup and power. The car's responsiveness in S at low speed was much improved as if I am in a sports car or something. After the car hit the highway I switched from S to D as the revs were kept high in S mode which will take up more fuel.

Good to hear the gear shifting with the CVT of the MK3.5 is quick. It is good to note that the paddle shifters of the car work well too. The +/- shifters on the Mk3 which are on the gear knob are not user-friendly at all and to me, useless.
wingwp
post Dec 13 2016, 06:49 PM

639 posts

ehe it's actually not many pages to dig here before u get ur answers..

anyway, mine is 14' and so far so good, some fella bought it 2nd hand is still fine, again i wont say it problematic but it just small glitches that u can totally live with it

earlier model no idea, some parts need to wait longer if warranty claim because its new & sometimes need to import, else its not difficult to buy from workshop outside

my woring time is flexible so im ok, test drive first, or try the new Focus also

QUOTE(s4lly @ Dec 13 2016, 03:44 PM)
Hi guys, I'm planning to purchase a 14'/15' Ford Focus (used) and I have a few questions from you guys:

1) I am wondering what's the warranty policy on it? (E.g will warranty be void after name transfer?) since I'm considering to purchase one with warranty.

2) How's the after sales service by Ford? Spare parts availability and efficiency of service.

3) Other than the Powershift issue, is there any thing else that I should take note of?
    Maybe you could give me some tips what to look out for or what should I feel for when I check out the car/test drive.

Thanks guys and really appreciate your help!
wingwp
post Dec 15 2016, 11:04 AM

639 posts

ald long time nvr care about hows sc will treat your car

i hv friends own car from all brands, all hv diff prob

just pray hard before send to service or repair

no need waste time to find "best" sc, its all about luck and dun forget the nasi lemak when u drop by Ford sc..
wingwp
post Dec 15 2016, 10:40 PM

639 posts

got sound 1, just tat its not loud to hear, u need to listen very carefully lol mechanical noise when shifting gears especially when it get confuse which gear to shift

warranty check with sc directly, no 1 here can confirm anything

i guess not many ppl wil do this, try drive real hard at the corner, tyre will start screaming but stil more room to steer even ut start to go sideway, then u'll get the true love

or floor it on wet road like the hill in Bangsar, the esc light will keep blinking, it'll do it magic to try to correct the car bcos no traction and swaying left & right

QUOTE(s4lly @ Dec 15 2016, 06:12 PM)
UPDATE: I went to check out a car not too long ago, 2013 Focus S+ with 46k KM.

EXTERIOR:
I checked everything, exterior was good and engine looks alright (no oil spill or leaks).

INTERIOR:
Looks good as if it was rarely driven, overall I'm pretty impressed with the build quality.

DRIVE:
The very first thing I tested was creeping at low speed. The sales guy asked me why am I so slow (little did he know) and there weren't any mechanical/grinding noise at all. Also, slow pick-up wasn't rough/no shudders and everything felt alright.
Pedal to the metal and everything was completely different, it behaves so differently and I love the control of it. So connected to the road and very precise steering as well. Very close as compared to my previous A250 (in terms of handling) but I feel that the power is abit lacking.
Overall, I was satisfied and actually sold on the idea of getting Focus. I'm in love.

HOWEVER, I talked abit with the sales guy and he knows ZERO regarding the car known problems and he even told me the warranty has expired. I was pretty skeptical about this and want to make sure again with you guys, these cars come with 3+2/100k KM warranty right? and 10 years for the TCM?
Correct me if I'm wrong brothas.

Overall, I am very happy and somehow all those horror stories about the SCs were left behind by the smile the car put on my face.
wingwp
post Dec 15 2016, 11:25 PM

639 posts

plate number can check, if u cant get thru the phone can try email: ford.pj.appointment@simedarby.com

normally the fastest reply, they'll call u back

QUOTE(s4lly @ Dec 15 2016, 11:03 PM)
hmmm okay but I was sure I didn't hear anything... but if that's the case, I think it is tolerable
thru VIN am I right?
the wonders of torque vectoring bro biggrin.gif but lsd has more thrill in it, like as if it wants to kill you hehehe
wingwp
post Dec 27 2016, 12:32 PM

639 posts

battery reliability is random, usually i can feel it when press start got slight delay then i'll start monitor

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Dec 27 2016, 11:29 AM)
Anyone has a clue about this? Does constant connectivity of Bluetooth/USB SYNC and ambient lighting, whichever consumes battery? As i use BT function for music all the time in the car, my first battery last me around 1.3 years. Or is this a myth after all 

I somehow can notice battery is going to deplete when computer on dashboard becomes more slow when transiting to new windows/page or changing Radio channels.
wingwp
post Mar 4 2017, 03:04 AM

639 posts

the clutch sound, more obvious when driving slow

QUOTE(tancyew @ Mar 3 2017, 02:34 PM)
Thanks for the info bro! I think I've might have been addicted to speed too much... Definitely need to learn to control.

By the way is it normal to have some minor sound around the front part when going slow in housing area? It likes something is shaking those kind of sound. Have you experience that before?
wingwp
post Mar 8 2017, 04:33 PM

639 posts

i dun think its complimentary to replace. Mine front pads very thin ald so replaced at 50k

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Mar 8 2017, 04:20 PM)
Has anyone did their brake pad change on 4th service (40k millage) which is suppose to be complimentary ?
wingwp
post Apr 2 2017, 08:42 PM

639 posts

bro its normal they follow the policy, u got the special treatment does not mean it apply to everyone.

QUOTE(Dwango @ Apr 2 2017, 08:26 AM)
What a load of rubbish. The PJ service centre previously gave out all these spare parts to owners during the final service. With this recent change of rules, they must be doing quite badly not selling enough cars, thus cutting down on giving these parts out for free. The higher management must be desperate to enforce this new rule, assuming that the sales adviser that attended to you would not be keeping the stuff for himself and then selling it and keeping the money all by himself!
wingwp
post Apr 3 2017, 02:58 PM

639 posts

my personal opinion, no big deal sc doesn't want to give me parts upon warranty expiry, if the reason is valid then it's fine by me which I think its fair but I'll still ask for it anyway. And I won't brag or encourage it. double-standard is just your own implication

QUOTE(Dwango @ Apr 3 2017, 07:21 AM)
Uhmm, not too sure what that policy is if it is "normal" for Sime Darby to follow the policy. All I can see is double-standards, whether it is policy or not.

And secondly, I wouldn't use the term "special treatment. As right now, nobody knows what is the policy that they are practicing. They give out the free spare parts to some, and they don't' give them out to others. Imagine if you are in someone's shoes whereby you don't get any free parts and others are getting them. What would you feel?

If you want to attack the issue, it is the double-standard practice by Sime Darby that you should be attacking. Not the so-called "special treatment" that some owners are getting just because they are getting these free spare parts.
wingwp
post May 22 2017, 05:36 PM

639 posts

mine is door panel loosen, crack sound when heavier bass, try pressing the door

QUOTE(jayxunned @ May 22 2017, 11:38 AM)
My front speaker attached on doors starting to have crackling sound. Anyone has that issue? This is not under Ford Warranty parts & service right ?
wingwp
post Jun 23 2017, 10:28 PM

639 posts

tackle too many fast corner this

QUOTE(wkalvin @ Jun 22 2017, 10:22 AM)
my ff 3 years old tyres already start tearing...
quoted Michelle PS4 at RM515/pc
anybody changed focus tyre recently?  can share info?
tqvm
wingwp
post Jul 10 2017, 08:15 PM

639 posts

Xiaoyi, i use charging port not dare to touch the box, not difficult to hide the cable

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jul 10 2017, 11:54 AM)
folks, any recommendation for dash cam for Mk3? and did you guys tap to power box on driver right hand side to hide the power cable?
wingwp
post Jul 11 2017, 04:05 PM

639 posts

y buy so expensive.. China product work great ald. now day dashcam use capacitor to store electricity to discharge in probably few second to replace the internal battery method for more reliable

QUOTE(Chungyehkoo @ Jul 11 2017, 07:07 AM)
They are some dash-cam that can be directly connect to fuse box and will not use your cigar port, but they are not cheap. Black Vue and IRoad are both can be found in Malaysia easily. They cost more than RM800
These cams installation does not "tag" on existing power cable, but they are install into with a new fuse. I have check with the Ford Technician and they advise me that as long as no "cut" or tagging on existing cables, warranty are intact. Some have a box smart box as optional item to cut off power when your car battery detected low (for camera that will also record when an events is detected when you park your car).

I was planning either Black Vue or iRoad, but I am still looking for others if I can find any.

I have yet install 1 as to myself, to be safe, I am going to wait until end November to install as that would be my warranty over. Currently I am using an old cheapo China made "spy" camera that using USB power (it cut off when you switch off your car).

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0294sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:38 PM