i propose creating a new Border Regiment involving Wataniah to fill up the gap/shortage of regular troops in ESSCOM
under police got liao... they should hv better cooperation... but now d prob is hard to stop... too many indos, pinoys, banglas, nikkas around already... at least 1-3 million at least
Beli 12....tp apsal 8 je pakai....4 nak buat floating spares?? Mcm poyo je
You do not want to ground a vessel and wait for equipment/spare parts to arrive when there's a break down. The arrival of the spare parts may take weeks at best. It is a wise recommendation by RMN.
If we have done this previously for our air force Mig 29, RAF wouldn't have to cannibalized the planes for parts. Every procurements especially for craft needs to have a certain amount spare parts and other important parts for fast replacement and cut down the grounding time of our fleets.
This post has been edited by Piros: May 13 2014, 12:12 PM
You do not want to ground a vessel and wait for equipment/spare parts to arrive when there's a break down. The arrival of the spare parts may take weeks at best. It is a wise recommendation by RMN.
If we have done this previously for our air force Mig 29, RAF wouldn't have to cannibalized the planes for parts. Every procurements especially for craft needs to have a certain amount spare parts and other important parts for fast replacement and cut down the grounding time of our fleets.
No...its not suppose to be like this. Its only apply when that equipment is no more in production. Canibalization is the process that must be avoided.....
It must come with fresh spares..... thats why military procurement very expensive. But I know why..... because if we buy 8 but with many spares....some idiots will say to expensive for 8 boats...so we buy 12 without spares....then its like buy 12 with same price....hahaha
This post has been edited by LTZ: May 13 2014, 01:32 PM
No...its not suppose to be like this. Its only apply when that equipment is no more in production. Canibalization is the process that must be avoided.....
It must come with fresh spares..... thats why military procurement very expensive. But I know why..... because if we buy 8 but with many spares....some idiots will say to expensive for 8 boats...so we buy 12 without spares....then its like buy 12 with same price....hahaha
Imo, we should just focus on getting more cb90s. if can get up to 60units for esscom. Gumdoksuri class also gooding 500tons ship with 40knots should be suitable to operates at sulu sea.
Imo, we should just focus on getting more cb90s. if can get up to 60 units for esscom. Gumdoksuri class also gooding 500tons ship with 40knots should be suitable to operates at sulu sea.
Gumdoksuri class good for patrol that area, and cheap too. for latest development, the kidnap chinese fish farm manager 2 week ago, Esscom said kidnapper using 200hp high power outboard engine at there boat, now we see if 15 feet or less small boot using 200hp outboard engine, it can reach 40~45 knots, that speed on par or faster than our cb90( max speed 40 knot), so that is one reason kidnapper can escape our boot Pursuit. some more Philippine boarder only 20km+-, so left 15 min+- for as to intercept/pursuit.
so i think ESScom also need interceptor can speed reach more than 45 knot, best if Esscom can get few 50~60 knot intercepter boot.
Gumdoksuri class good for patrol that area, and cheap too. for latest development, the kidnap chinese fish farm manager 2 week ago, Esscom said kidnapper using 200hp high power outboard engine at there boat, now we see if 15 feet or less small boot using 200hp outboard engine, it can reach 40~45 knots, that speed on par or faster than our cb90( max speed 40 knot), so that is one reason kidnapper can escape our boot Pursuit. some more Philippine boarder only 20km+-, so left 15 min+- for as to intercept/pursuit.
so i think ESScom also need interceptor can speed reach more than 45 knot, best if Esscom can get few 50~60 knot intercepter boot.
I was wondering if there is any technology transfer for the CB90 purchase or not. It is wise for us to negotiate a deal that would allow us to build the CB90 if possible.
Prolly deswai navy is ady looking into used US Navy Mark V Special Operations Craft for short-term solution, can go 65+ knots!
I was wondering if there is any technology transfer for the CB90 purchase or not. It is wise for us to negotiate a deal that would allow us to build the CB90 if possible.
I think our shipyard can already build such a boat. But it's much cheaper to buy.
Esscom lack of asset even with new intercept boats it still lack of no to cover the esszone coastlines. there will always be loophole there and here. we need a very comprehensive arrays of assets that cover all the defense aspects.
I think our shipyard can already build such a boat. But it's much cheaper to buy.
Indonesia opted to built locally the KMC Komando (similar type of design as to the CB90) as it's more cheaper than buying from abroad.
On April 29th 2014, the Indonesian Army unveiled a new model of Fast Assault Craft known as the Kapal Motor Cepat (KMC) Komando, manufactured by local shipbuilder PT Tesco Indomaritimin in collaboration with a group of technicians and experts from local universities. The KMC Komando shares several design attributes with Swedish built CB90-class fast assault craft.
Indonesian Army chief of staff Gen. Budiman said that as of now, the Army and its partners had built two of the Fast Assault Craft, but planned to have another eight this year. He said that one of the boats cost Rp 12 billion (about 1 Million USD) which is cheaper than buying from abroad.
“Finland manufactures the same type of speedboat and it costs Rp 24 billion, so it’s far cheaper if we build them by ourselves,” he said.
i propose creating a new Border Regiment involving Wataniah to fill up the gap/shortage of regular troops in ESSCOM
There is a Border Regiment plan for S&S mentioned before but not as easy compared to peninsular where it was formed from existing 300 series wataniah. There is none in S&S to quickly form one.
actually this type more like assault ship( send speciall force/army to mission via sea) , not really suit for patrol at sea and only 35 knot ....
The CB90 is also classified as a fast assault craft or a combat boat (hence the acronym CB) & according to it's specification could carry up to 21 troops with full equipment.
I was actually referring to MrUbikeledek reply about buying abroad (such craft like the CB90) is much cheaper than building locally. It's not like the craft is difficult to built locally & i'm quite sure that Malaysian shipyard could make such craft or any type of boats. The Petir Boat (Thunder Boat) is one good example.
Anyway Indonesia is developing new ones that can reach 45 knots.
The “Komando” speedboats can be operated on the high sea, coastlines, rivers and swamp areas, and have a capacity of 31 passengers and three crewmembers. “Currently, the boats can only reach a maximum of 35 knots, but we are developing newer ones that can reach 45 knots,” he added.
Proposal On Sea-basing System To Be Tabled Before Cabinet
KUALA LUMPUR, May 9 (Bernama) -- The Defence Ministry will table a proposal on the implementation of the sea-basing system before the Cabinet as soon as possible in an effort to strengthen security off Sabah waters.
Its minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said the sea-basing system entailed deployment of military assets in the middle of the ocean to facilitate operations in Sabah waters quickly.
"The sea-basing concept infers to deployment of interceptor boats offshore from the parent operation platform such the Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) auxiliary ships belonging to the Malaysian International Shipping Corporation (MISC), namely Bunga Mas 5 and Bunga Mas 6.
"The parent platform together with other platforms can provide support such as refuelling and supplying water to interceptor boats so that they do not have to return to bases to save time and costs.
"It also provides accommodation and meals for crew of the 24 interceptor boats, a helipad, medical facilities and a forward operation centre," he said in a statement here today.
Navy chief Admiral Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Jaafar yesterday said the proposed sea-basing concept involved the placement of navy vessels and personnel, including the creation of a small naval base offshore, that could intercept unknown ships or intruders far from the country's coastlines.
He said that under the system, strategic areas would be fortified to combat abductions and intrusion.
Hishammuddin said Bunga Mas 5 and Bunga Mas 6 vessels were used by the navy to perform specific tasks, including accompanying MISC Berhad vessels passing through the Gulf of Aden, the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean.
Currently, Bunga Mas 6 is still involved in the ensuing search for the ill-fated Malaysia Airlines MH370 in southern Indian Ocean while Bunga Mas 5 has just returned to the Lumut naval base upon completion of 'Ops Fajar', he said.
Hishammuddin said both ships were able to stay at sea for a long period and use other platforms, including oil and gas rigs in the middle of the ocean, which had basically been offered as naval platforms.