Sony XPERIA Z1 "COMPACT" Official Thread, All the Goodness of Z1 with 4.3' Display
alpha0201
Mar 5 2014, 02:40 PM
I was wondering if the Z1 Compact comes with kitkat out of the box by then...coz there're news floating around that kitkat update will arrive around the same time we get the phone here.
I'm just being optimistic.
+Newbie+
Mar 5 2014, 02:43 PM
To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
i wonder how long before telcos have subsidized packages?
Godevil
Mar 5 2014, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Mar 5 2014, 02:40 PM) I was wondering if the Z1 Compact comes with kitkat out of the box by then...coz there're news floating around that kitkat update will arrive around the same time we get the phone here. I'm just being optimistic. not gonna happen. most Z1C stocks already delivered or delivering. And they need to get re-approval if pack with new update.
GravityFi3ld
Mar 5 2014, 02:55 PM
Godevil
Mar 5 2014, 02:59 PM
I cannot believe this.
they previously announced a date for an event just to announce the launch date will be announce soon?
launching in April. that's the only information in today's event?
This post has been edited by Godevil: Mar 5 2014, 03:00 PM
alpha0201
Mar 5 2014, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(Godevil @ Mar 5 2014, 02:55 PM) not gonna happen. most Z1C stocks already delivered or delivering. And they need to get re-approval if pack with new update. Oh well. I'm suprised that Z2 has a shorter time frame than Z1C since they're gonna be sold at the same time.
sickx
Mar 5 2014, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Mar 5 2014, 02:40 PM) I was wondering if the Z1 Compact comes with kitkat out of the box by then...coz there're news floating around that kitkat update will arrive around the same time we get the phone here. I'm just being optimistic. too optimistic i guess  for me if got update OTA is enough already.
TSTOMEI-R
Mar 5 2014, 03:04 PM
Please note that the Xperia Z1 Compact is still running on Jelly Bean 4.3 as of now. Android 4.42 Or Kitkat update is not yet available.
kevin613
Mar 5 2014, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Mar 5 2014, 02:59 PM) Oh well. I'm suprised that Z2 has a shorter time frame than Z1C since they're gonna be sold at the same time. they already said their flagship is going for 6 months refresh cycle, so if they dont start selling Z2 ASAP, then they can forget about selling it at all.. Z3 is due in august-september if Sony stick to their new strategy.
TSTOMEI-R
Mar 5 2014, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Mar 5 2014, 03:08 PM) they already said their flagship is going for 6 months refresh cycle, so if they dont start selling Z2 ASAP, then they can forget about selling it at all.. Z3 is due in august-september if Sony stick to their new strategy. Its actually boring to see flagship phone life cycle become so short. It just became like Samsung. People dont really care or cant really care about what is the latest flagship as there are too many models and replacement models come out too fast and current models becomes outdated too soon . This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Mar 5 2014, 03:13 PM
alpha0201
Mar 5 2014, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Mar 5 2014, 03:08 PM) they already said their flagship is going for 6 months refresh cycle, so if they dont start selling Z2 ASAP, then they can forget about selling it at all.. Z3 is due in august-september if Sony stick to their new strategy. I see. I guess they're trying to match Samsung 2 flagship a year strategy.
Zer0 c00L
Mar 5 2014, 03:16 PM
If so should we be expecting a Z2 compact in 6 months time?
by the time we truly get this Sony might be close to launching Z2 compact instead loll
TSTOMEI-R
Mar 5 2014, 03:23 PM
Its actually not new models coming out too soon that is bothering me, what bothers me is the price we pay for the "Current" model and then it drops likes mad when another "Newer" model comes in.
kevin613
Mar 5 2014, 03:28 PM
i use my phone till it rots unless there's something critically wrong with it, so 2 flagships a year wont affect me.. but for those who upgrade frequently by trading in, ouch.
Zer0 c00L
Mar 5 2014, 03:33 PM
I also use my phone till it rots but can't help feeling a bit short changed if I pay top dollar for a non flagship phone given that the flagship is just around the corner
GravityFi3ld
Mar 5 2014, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Mar 5 2014, 03:33 PM) I also use my phone till it rots but can't help feeling a bit short changed if I pay top dollar for a non flagship phone given that the flagship is just around the corner well said
kevin613
Mar 5 2014, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Mar 5 2014, 03:33 PM) I also use my phone till it rots but can't help feeling a bit short changed if I pay top dollar for a non flagship phone given that the flagship is just around the corner you can always play the "wait and see" game, though some may disagree.. pandai-pandai lah, if rumours of a successor are spreading like wildfire, then dont go grab the current model and regret later..
SUSAmeiN
Mar 5 2014, 03:43 PM
now just hope price will be cheaper..
Zer0 c00L
Mar 5 2014, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(kevin613 @ Mar 5 2014, 03:42 PM) you can always play the "wait and see" game, though some may disagree.. pandai-pandai lah, if rumours of a successor are spreading like wildfire, then dont go grab the current model and regret later.. the issue here is with the regional launch dates I believe, seeing how 'late' we get official sets, the timing couldn't be worse
GravityFi3ld
Mar 5 2014, 03:53 PM
release late and still need wait for more 'white tikus' to test ..in the end, z2c come liao..and 6month.. by the time you wanna get z2c - z3c come liao..oh wai..nokia 3310 where art thou